11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Serious Making Cupid's Corner great, A serious discussion

p3nguin
post Jul 27 2009, 11:51 PM

291 posts

I'm more partial to #3, though the audio preview sounds good. I can imagine some monotonous voice saying "Pics Or GTFO", it;ll be hilarious. Then again, the sound can always be shut off.

One thing's certain about CC though, is that we need more mods. Baronic alone isn't enough.
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 12:10 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(p3nguin @ Jul 27 2009, 11:09 PM)
Though, what constitutes as going overboard? For some people, what may seem as going overboard may not be to others. For example, if someone were to detail their case and another person were to reply, "Respect, brother, you have balls" or something of that nature, it might be seen as a spam post by some as it does not help the TS in any way, yet, some may be completely fine with it.
Things like "pics or GFTO" are spam.Or crap racism,sexually explicit threads are spam too.

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jul 27 2009, 11:25 PM)
2) A place for people to mingle
This used to be in kopitiam, but I'm sure many people have shifted over to CC due to the crapfest that is kopitiam.
Yeap,thats why most of us are here.

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 27 2009, 11:35 PM)
I've seen the "Karma" system in action before though, and I must say that it doesn't work. It merely allows an idiocracy to truly entrench themselves in the culture by sheer weight of numbers.
Isnt it the Karma system same as the Good and Bad system that LYN is implementing soon?
nickisthemost
post Jul 28 2009, 12:16 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(p3nguin @ Jul 27 2009, 11:51 PM)
I'm more partial to #3, though the audio preview sounds good. I can imagine some monotonous voice saying "Pics Or GTFO", it;ll be hilarious. Then again, the sound can always be shut off.

One thing's certain about CC though, is that we need more mods. Baronic alone isn't enough.
especially mods that have real knowledge in convincing people (attitude) and sense of humour (i know which is hard to comeby sad.gif ) other than a mod that seem to be like a robot which have no freindly interaction what so ever with fellow forummer other than, "your thread not related" closed, how boring is that =\
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 12:18 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Getting a good mod isnt easy.

CC isnt the only subforum that is lack of mods.

There are a few section that is also lack of mods.

Mobile Computing suffers more than CC.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 12:21 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 28 2009, 12:10 AM)
Isnt it the Karma system same as the Good and Bad system that LYN is implementing soon?
Well, if Lowyat is going to implement the Good and Bad system it's probably going to work very well in forums like health and fitness and careers, education, etc, but fail spectacularly in Kopitiam AND in here.

Reason being CC is too amorphous which is just one step above the blank slate that Kopitiam is. A karma system will probably see a troll resurgence of sorts as they see a way of increasing their e-prestige and k-influence and internet lolz.
silverhawk
post Jul 28 2009, 12:28 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Jul 28 2009, 12:16 AM)
especially mods that have real knowledge in convincing people (attitude) and sense of humour (i know which is hard to comeby sad.gif ) other than a mod that seem to be like a robot which have no freindly interaction what so ever with fellow forummer other than, "your thread not related" closed, how boring is that =\
Ever moderated a forum before? Its not easy to be both friendly and authoritative at the same time, especially when the members are so immature.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 12:29 AM

140 posts

Moderators alone, no matter how many, will never be able to steer or direct a medium that is so heavily reliant on quality participation as a forum.

If we want to make a change, then we have to do it together: moderators and staff together with participating members who are willing to effect change.

We cannot just push responsibility to people in positions of power and expect them to take care of us. If we want change, then we must take on the responsibility of effecting it. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Dickson Poon: Jul 28 2009, 12:31 AM
goldfries
post Jul 28 2009, 12:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

biggrin.gif each mod will surely interact in their section. other section, no choice la we just have to attend to report and post notice if needed.

i just close a few threads in /k/ and now i got posts / threads about me already. i LOL. at least CC is not that bad, the general participants are less and we more BETTER people around to keep things in check.
p3nguin
post Jul 28 2009, 12:33 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 28 2009, 12:18 AM)
Getting a good mod isnt easy.

CC isnt the only subforum that is lack of mods.

There are a few section that is also lack of mods.

Mobile Computing suffers more than CC.
Well, at the very least, mobile computing is a bit more self regulating, and people don't spam so much there. Though it could with a bit less of those "laptop A vs laptop B" threads.

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 28 2009, 12:21 AM)
Well, if Lowyat is going to implement the Good and Bad system it's probably going to work very well in forums like health and fitness and careers, education, etc, but fail spectacularly in Kopitiam AND in here.

Reason being CC is too amorphous which is just one step above the blank slate that Kopitiam is. A karma system will probably see a troll resurgence of sorts as they see a way of increasing their e-prestige and k-influence and internet lolz.
Hmm. I didn't think of that earlier. I do see the logic here now.
goldfries
post Jul 28 2009, 12:36 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

another thing to share about MODERATOR hunting.

1. those that volunteer are generally incapable, and have track record for being nuisance to begin with.

2. those that are the truly capable people don't volunteer, it's almost always we approach them to offer the post but many rejected due to fear of commitment. so best we could do is give them the ELITE tag, you'll see that they're almost always the next moderator candidate.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 12:42 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2009, 12:36 AM)
another thing to share about MODERATOR hunting.

1. those that volunteer are generally incapable, and have track record for being nuisance to begin with.

2. those that are the truly capable people don't volunteer, it's almost always we approach them to offer the post but many rejected due to fear of commitment. so best we could do is give them the ELITE tag, you'll see that they're almost always the next moderator candidate.
Good point.

Being a moderator is a heavy responsibility. It can definitely become very thankless. rclxub.gif

Goldfries, is it possible to move Cupid's Corner out of Kopitiam? This may be very beneficial.

Apart from moving Cupid's Corner out of Kopitiam there are also a couple of things we the members can do to make the section truly worthy, I hope to be able to develop my very rough ideas here and later get a committee or movement to implement those that we agree on collectively. nod.gif
goldfries
post Jul 28 2009, 12:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

me is quite like that idea. wait for other mods to hear.

the rest of you, share your thoughts on moving it out of Kopitiam as well.

AFAIK CC was like shit la, remember that time when i moved thread around? that also was attempted clean up, Baronic not around yet i think.
p3nguin
post Jul 28 2009, 12:46 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2009, 12:44 AM)
me is quite like that idea. wait for other mods to hear.

the rest of you, share your thoughts on moving it out of Kopitiam as well.

AFAIK CC was like shit la, remember that time when i moved thread around? that also was attempted clean up, Baronic not around yet i think.
I believe a great number of us agree on having CC moved out of /k; at least those who posted in this thread.
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 12:51 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I,for one agreed to move CC out of Kopitiam entirely.

It has matured to an independent subforum of it's own.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 12:57 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 28 2009, 12:51 AM)
I,for one agreed to move CC out of Kopitiam entirely.

It has matured to an independent subforum of it's own.
Good point!

I agree, the forum has definitely matured. I see a lot of very good, thoughtful and wise contributors here, too many for me to list down, all of whom have a wide diversity of experiences, character, and points of views.

This makes me believe that we can definitely move this section to the next stage. notworthy.gif
goldfries
post Jul 28 2009, 12:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

for me, i think CC should have matured people giving advice, not some shitty emo teen who couldn't even hit first base in relationship.

people who seek advice are emotionally troubled, hence we should not post insensitive remarks (like how some fellas do) as if taking people's like problems as a joke.

it hurts, and it could lead people to do worse.

when people have problem, they need right-minded people to give proper advice in order to see the path and get senses set straight.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 01:02 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2009, 12:59 AM)
for me, i think CC should have matured people giving advice, not some shitty emo teen who couldn't even hit first base in relationship.

people who seek advice are emotionally troubled, hence we should not post insensitive remarks (like how some fellas do) as if taking people's like problems as a joke.

it hurts, and it could lead people to do worse.

when people have problem, they need right-minded people to give proper advice in order to see the path and get senses set straight.
+1! blush.gif
Baronic
post Jul 28 2009, 01:11 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

i've always been for CC moving outta /k/opitiam. suggested before, but at the point of suggestion, admin had written CC off as a craphole, just like the mother forum kopitiam itself. but i think we've cleaned up quite a bit, and definitely enough that the forum members themselves want the change (turning self regulated, which is the ideal forum. see my Windows Mobile community. i'm so proud of it XD). So yes, its time to shift out. As for the "Is it feasible, can it be done?" question, yes it can, quite easily me thinks, reorganising the Handphone and PDA section into one was much harder. So, in the end it all comes down to greenlight from the admins
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 01:14 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

If we have a small community of people who wants to change CC to a better place,im all for improving CC then.

It's pretty much cleaner now,especially when Baronic is back.Mengsuan couldnt handle all the traffic here.
jassonvolt88
post Jul 28 2009, 01:17 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jul 28 2009, 01:11 AM)
i've always been for CC moving outta /k/opitiam. suggested before, but at the point of suggestion, admin had written CC off as a craphole, just like the mother forum kopitiam itself. but i think we've cleaned up quite a bit, and definitely enough that the forum members themselves want the change (turning self regulated, which is the ideal forum. see my Windows Mobile community. i'm so proud of it XD). So yes, its time to shift out. As for the "Is it feasible, can it be done?" question, yes it can, quite easily me thinks, reorganising the Handphone and PDA section into one was much harder. So, in the end it all comes down to greenlight from the admins
+10000 post of the day thumbup.gif time for the CC to move to a higher lvl.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:15 AM