i think dickson just got too much time on the internet where he don't know anywhere to spent lulz
just my opinion =P
Serious Making Cupid's Corner great, A serious discussion
Jul 27 2009, 11:34 AM
388 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: your memory |
i think dickson just got too much time on the internet where he don't know anywhere to spent lulz
just my opinion =P |
Jul 27 2009, 12:31 PM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
There was a time when I read here that the intention for Kopitiam was for members to discuss topics that had no 'home'. Topics that did not have any relevance with the many subforums/hobbies/pets/health sections.
It was no means for people to post no holds barred. I'm by no means an old resident. I haven't seen the golden age of these sub forums as some of you have mentioned. Having said that from my observation, the root of the problem is the posting style has permeated into this sub forums. Because of this, it isn't surprising that people call it Stupid's Corner, and this is true. One doesn't have to look far why some people call it that. With regards to sticky? I suspect that people won't read the stickys. Even if they do, they will have this nagging sensation that tells them their problem is different and thus go and create a nice thread for themselves. Personally I don't have problems with the repeat threads - though it can get tiring. My main beef is with people whom adopt selective hearing. Secondly, the nonsensical threads which from observation have no purpose. Solutions? Martial Law. Fully clamp down on this section that posts have to be informative and proper either that, 3 day ban. Malaysians mentality are such that if there are no punishment, there will be no enforcement. Leaving it to ethics and (un)common sense is as good as no having it. |
Jul 27 2009, 02:46 PM
140 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Jul 27 2009, 03:01 PM
1,861 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(Baronic @ Jul 27 2009, 11:04 AM) 1. the idea has merit, and while i'd love to sticky such a thread, who will maintain it, who decides what posts are good and not. it will have to be a non mod so that the TS AND the mod can help maybe, two people at least better than 1. but still, its gonna be a look of work Would like to help but no idea how. What are /k/ style posts im not very up to date with lowyat slang D:2. i actually do flag for VACATION idiots who really spam /k/ style posts in cupid corner. whenever i come into a thread and see something really worthless, i flag it. what i need is a more self regulating cc community that actually helps reports these posts. aside from dicksoon poon and a VERY few others, noone reports, so they get away with it, and they repeat |
Jul 27 2009, 03:11 PM
7,606 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Subang |
what's not great about cupid's corner now? I already feel smarter by comparison after reading all these posts. And I have a good loling time
Jul 27 2009, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Baronic @ Jul 27 2009, 11:04 AM) 1. the idea has merit, and while i'd love to sticky such a thread, who will maintain it, who decides what posts are good and not. it will have to be a non mod so that the TS AND the mod can help maybe, two people at least better than 1. but still, its gonna be a look of work Hmmm, I'm beginning to see the predicament. 2. i actually do flag for VACATION idiots who really spam /k/ style posts in cupid corner. whenever i come into a thread and see something really worthless, i flag it. what i need is a more self regulating cc community that actually helps reports these posts. aside from dicksoon poon and a VERY few others, noone reports, so they get away with it, and they repeat 1. The overall tasks of arbitrating quality posts from the not so good is definitely too much for even two or three people to do. The more popular stickied threads are so good that they inspire people to add their two cents of support, or intrigue them to start provoking thoughts and questions which they proceed to post in the same thread, and perhaps some may even feel that they need to be contrarian and push forth alternate own views. Attempting to filter all of these would indeed be a lot of work. +_+" My proposal: We could set up a rule that stickied threads shall only be summaries and explanations of points and point of views raised, and we can have discussions held and linked to the main CC forum itself where things can be more free flowing. Then when quality positions are reached, we could add these to the sticky. Edit to add: Meaning that, instead of a single thread containing links to all the "greatest hits", why not have stickies addressing the most common concerns and debates in CC? If we can collect our thoughts and summarise our positions in a way that readers can understand (so that they at least have a basic of understanding) we can go further in depth to the specifics of whatever their concerns are in a particular thread. (I hope I'm making sense. I'm running out of brain juice fast. Thoughts? O_o" 2. Okay, so now we know that the problem is that few people report infractions, there is an easy solution for this. We can deputise reliable, stable forum members to act as your eyes and ears. For example, we have regulars in the SC, WTA and COBH threads who check in there quite often, we can give them guidelines and encourage them to report infractions and other trolling behavior to you. P.S: I'm a bit pre-occupied with other things at the moment, I will add more here when I get home. +_+' This post has been edited by Dickson Poon: Jul 27 2009, 10:03 PM |
Jul 27 2009, 05:09 PM
72 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
CC is excellent now, theres no other things to be improved
keep up good job, baronic!!! |
Jul 27 2009, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(Tatsumaki @ Jul 27 2009, 12:31 PM) There was a time when I read here that the intention for Kopitiam was for members to discuss topics that had no 'home'. Topics that did not have any relevance with the many subforums/hobbies/pets/health sections. I'm listening. I feel what you're saying. At some level in my gut, I feel a twinge of apprehensiom. I shudder at the thought of a Cupid's Corner without a little silliness. Isn't love supposed to be playful? All the same, I've seen some rather ridiculous things in here and kopitiam, ranging from posts recommending "falcon punching" PREGNANT women in the stomach to people actually laughing at people who have been killed and beaten to death just because they were tranny sex workers. I'm sorry, I'm not a shining example of virtue, but even I have my limits. It was no means for people to post no holds barred. I'm by no means an old resident. I haven't seen the golden age of these sub forums as some of you have mentioned. Having said that from my observation, the root of the problem is the posting style has permeated into this sub forums. Because of this, it isn't surprising that people call it Stupid's Corner, and this is true. One doesn't have to look far why some people call it that. With regards to sticky? I suspect that people won't read the stickys. Even if they do, they will have this nagging sensation that tells them their problem is different and thus go and create a nice thread for themselves. Personally I don't have problems with the repeat threads - though it can get tiring. My main beef is with people whom adopt selective hearing. Secondly, the nonsensical threads which from observation have no purpose. Solutions? Martial Law. Fully clamp down on this section that posts have to be informative and proper either that, 3 day ban. Malaysians mentality are such that if there are no punishment, there will be no enforcement. Leaving it to ethics and (un)common sense is as good as no having it. I think the bigger problem with CC as it is right now is not Kopitiam style posts, however. 1. I think that Cupid Corner's identity is rather amorphous and poorly defined compared to all the other sub-forums and sections in here. I think that the other sub-forums have a purpose and direction that is tangible and easily felt and even understood, but Cupid's Corner does not have this. Because of this, Cupid's Corner merely exists, its members and participants move along with the waves, there are ebbs and flows, but nobody is at the helm to direct the place. 2. Let's give CC a purpose and direction. Rather than being reactive, let us be proactive. Let us think, what do we want to achieve here? What purpose should this section have? Which direction do we want to go? And then once that is decided, let us think about how we can do all of that. This means that the emphasis shall become less on responding and reacting to posts, and more on creating a form and structure to benefit the members, participants and viewers here. 3. I believe that our greatest strength is our diversity of opinion, character and experience. This means that although we can disagree and sometimes very vehemently, we are capable of doing so meaningfully. This is actually an advantage that we should acknowledge and embrace. Done correctly, no party should fear dominion by the other. Rather we would all be assured that we will be equally heard and equally acknowledged as is fitting. 4. We can't just talk about things and in the end do nothing. If we want to make this a better place, it's time we stood up and made a contribution, no matter how big or small, to the overall picture. It's not difficult and it's not overwhelming if it's a collective, community effort. Thoughts? In the meantime I am proceeding with the next few baby steps. |
Jul 27 2009, 10:23 PM
365 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
the current CC is already quite okay. if we set up more rules, it might turn this section into a dead zone because of the freedom of posting has been limited. after all, CC is one of the Kopitiam sub topic where forumers can post whatever they like as long it is not a single line posting or against the existing forum rules. But if we wan a better CC, then we should move it out from the kopitiam subtopic and place it somewhere else.
Jul 27 2009, 10:32 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(jassonvolt88 @ Jul 27 2009, 10:23 PM) the current CC is already quite okay. if we set up more rules, it might turn this section into a dead zone because of the freedom of posting has been limited. after all, CC is one of the Kopitiam sub topic where forumers can post whatever they like as long it is not a single line posting or against the existing forum rules. But if we wan a better CC, then we should move it out from the kopitiam subtopic and place it somewhere else. With this kind of mentality,CC aint going anywhere as /k people just want to have fun here and cause trouble everywhere.Chat threads are ok,as they have their own purpose. Other than that,especially threads with serious issues,people should be there to help,advise or enlighten them.If not,be like me,dont post at all if you cant help. |
Jul 27 2009, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 27 2009, 10:32 PM) With this kind of mentality,CC aint going anywhere as /k people just want to have fun here and cause trouble everywhere. u r right. the prob now is that the CC is placed under kopitiam.perhaps can move it to a higher lvl so that we can reduce the number of irrelevant posts from there. if no, every1 especially the newcomers will simply post anything w/o thinking twice as it is under KOPITIAM...Chat threads are ok,as they have their own purpose. Other than that,especially threads with serious issues,people should be there to help,advise or enlighten them.If not,be like me,dont post at all if you cant help. |
Jul 27 2009, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(jassonvolt88 @ Jul 27 2009, 10:37 PM) u r right. the prob now is that the CC is placed under kopitiam.perhaps can move it to a higher lvl so that we can reduce the number of irrelevant posts from there. if no, every1 especially the newcomers will simply post anything w/o thinking twice as it is under KOPITIAM... Yes,thats why some of the senior members here have been saying that CC needs to be out of Kopitiam,if the staff wants CC to have it's own function.Just put CC as a separate subforum at the lifestyle section will do. |
Jul 27 2009, 10:51 PM
291 posts Joined: May 2009 From: The United States of America |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 27 2009, 10:42 PM) Yes,thats why some of the senior members here have been saying that CC needs to be out of Kopitiam,if the staff wants CC to have it's own function. I disappear for a few days and miss this thread? Man...Just put CC as a separate subforum at the lifestyle section will do. I agree with this decision too; there're just too many threads around that sound like /k threads with /k style answers. It's quite turning off for people who actually want to post in genuine problems in here since all one might get are /k style answers. In fact, CC might be better off in RWI than in /k. |
Jul 27 2009, 10:57 PM
I think RWI is a bit too serious for CC.A mixture of fun and silliness like chat threads and serious threads like "what im gonna buy for my gf? " would be better.
Just like someone say above,love and relationship isnt just about being serious,it's also about fun too. The problem we are having here is,the fun part has gone overboard and it's interfering with the more serious nature threads.Even chat threads are also affected. |
Jul 27 2009, 11:09 PM
291 posts Joined: May 2009 From: The United States of America |
Though, what constitutes as going overboard? For some people, what may seem as going overboard may not be to others. For example, if someone were to detail their case and another person were to reply, "Respect, brother, you have balls" or something of that nature, it might be seen as a spam post by some as it does not help the TS in any way, yet, some may be completely fine with it.
Jul 27 2009, 11:12 PM
then maybe we can suggest to baronic to put it under lifestyle subtopic..
Jul 27 2009, 11:25 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
As far as I know, cupids corner serves 2 purposes
1) A place to seek advice/help on love/relationship related problems This aspect is quite possibly taken for granted, instead of seeking help many people come in here to rant. Which in itself isn't so bad, but once you combine it with the intelligence of /k/ you get mindless topics and mindless posts. Its entertaining for a while then it becomes tiresome. 2) A place for people to mingle This used to be in kopitiam, but I'm sure many people have shifted over to CC due to the crapfest that is kopitiam. |
Jul 27 2009, 11:25 PM
364 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
This is not an easy problem to solve. In fact, it may be one of the great problems of the Internet Age:
http://www.cracked.com/article_16765_5-way...g-internet.html I'm partial to the Karma idea under #4 in the above list. I think that works best given CC's current situation. But I doubt the LYN architecture allows for that. But I would certainly support an initiative to move CC out of /k/. It's the least that can be done. |
Jul 27 2009, 11:34 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jul 27 2009, 11:25 PM) This is not an easy problem to solve. In fact, it may be one of the great problems of the Internet Age: I'm more partial to #3. If the community slowly stops allowing bullshit, it'll stop coming in. This reverse happened in RWI, where the standards dropped and relaxed enough for lesser minds to enter.http://www.cracked.com/article_16765_5-way...g-internet.html I'm partial to the Karma idea under #4 in the above list. I think that works best given CC's current situation. But I doubt the LYN architecture allows for that. But I would certainly support an initiative to move CC out of /k/. It's the least that can be done. |
Jul 27 2009, 11:35 PM
Noob13, thanks for the article, I'm reading through it now. Will post my thoughts later.
Ok, does anybody know if it's possible to move CC out of Kopitiam, according to the forum architecture? I must apologise, I know nothing about internet stuff. Can anybody here ask? I am a noobfart and lack the proper standing to talk to the moderators -------- Oooh, I've just finished the article. What a good read. I agree with number 3 and 4. I've seen the "Karma" system in action before though, and I must say that it doesn't work. It merely allows an idiocracy to truly entrench themselves in the culture by sheer weight of numbers. This post has been edited by Dickson Poon: Jul 27 2009, 11:44 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0193sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:46 PM |