QUOTE(zerorulez @ Aug 30 2009, 05:11 AM)
this player is very tempting wan.. wud be my second choice after WDTV for my 2nd media player.... DTS downmix.. 
shouldn't it be a better choice over WDTV ? costs aside..A.C.Ryan Playon!HD, Half-baked m-player, no BD-J or HD audio
Aug 30 2009, 09:32 AM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Aug 30 2009, 12:37 PM
1,251 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: In Between Places... |
Aug 31 2009, 12:18 AM
3,658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
[question from lighting69]
Heard that currently it doesn't support DTS-MA and Dolby TrueHD. what about external subtitles on mkv? [answer from singapore disti] Currently it does not support, but will be fixed Oct - confirmed. External Sub on MKV no problem. |
Aug 31 2009, 02:55 AM
171 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Just receive this unit..
Front panel ![]() Back ![]() Blue LED on front panel PLAYON!HD ![]() Accessories include manual.HDMI cable,component cable,AV cable,USB cable,remote control ![]() Remote Control ![]() Blue led on remote ![]() REALTEK 1073 ![]() Opening Screen ![]() Main Menu ![]() Video setting,24P on ![]() |
Aug 31 2009, 03:54 AM
2,170 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Keng! So fast deflowered liao.
Aug 31 2009, 07:00 AM
2,298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
QUOTE(k8118k @ Aug 31 2009, 12:18 AM) [question from lighting69] I heard it works with internal sub but not external sub. WDTV works for bothHeard that currently it doesn't support DTS-MA and Dolby TrueHD. what about external subtitles on mkv? [answer from singapore disti] Currently it does not support, but will be fixed Oct - confirmed. External Sub on MKV no problem. |
Sep 1 2009, 10:26 PM
Taken from SG Hardware Zone forums, posted by ACeRyan who is an employee of A.C.Ryan:
The development for Bluray support is already in stages, our Playon!HD can already support .M2TS container format right out of the box, and now it supports PGS subtitles with the latest firmware. The next big thing to come would be the support for Bluray ISO or a direct 1-1 ripped of your Bluray disc. These development needs time to program and diagnose. But rest assured it will be delivered in future firmware releases. and another reply We will also receive new SDKs from Realtek which promises of new features, support or bug fixes. The next one that we are going to develop on will be the pass-through support of the TrueHD and DTS-HD MA cores, Bluray ISO and menu support, just to name a few. Looks like I'm keeping mine... |
Sep 1 2009, 10:31 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(chewkl @ Sep 1 2009, 10:26 PM) Taken from SG Hardware Zone forums, posted by ACeRyan who is an employee of A.C.Ryan: some fella in some forums say this thing only 90+ USD? The development for Bluray support is already in stages, our Playon!HD can already support .M2TS container format right out of the box, and now it supports PGS subtitles with the latest firmware. The next big thing to come would be the support for Bluray ISO or a direct 1-1 ripped of your Bluray disc. These development needs time to program and diagnose. But rest assured it will be delivered in future firmware releases. and another reply We will also receive new SDKs from Realtek which promises of new features, support or bug fixes. The next one that we are going to develop on will be the pass-through support of the TrueHD and DTS-HD MA cores, Bluray ISO and menu support, just to name a few. Looks like I'm keeping mine... |
Sep 1 2009, 10:32 PM
USD169 lah...USD90 maybe U get the casing only.
Sep 2 2009, 07:02 AM
617 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Mars |
A renown pc shop in Low Yat has a huge batch of this player on the way. I will update once it arrived and also their selling price.
Sep 2 2009, 01:03 PM
214 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
chewkl or someone who can help,
i have just upgraded my ac ryan with the latest firmware (r1402) which is supposed to be able to handle subtitles changes - Add subtitles position (up, down) and font size (left-decrease, right-increase). But I don't seem to be able to do so from my remote control. Have you tried it? Can anyone share with me how to adjust the subtitle font size and position in the screen? Thanks. |
Sep 2 2009, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(barry @ Sep 2 2009, 01:03 PM) chewkl or someone who can help, Bro Barry, the subtitle size / move can only be done for external subs like .srt files. It won't work for m2ts PGS subtitles. Not sure if internal subs in mkv can be resized or moved though...i have just upgraded my ac ryan with the latest firmware (r1402) which is supposed to be able to handle subtitles changes - Add subtitles position (up, down) and font size (left-decrease, right-increase). But I don't seem to be able to do so from my remote control. Have you tried it? Can anyone share with me how to adjust the subtitle font size and position in the screen? Thanks. |
Sep 2 2009, 01:59 PM
214 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Thanks, chewkl. I only have mkv files, but i do have one mkv movie (independence day) with ext subtitle file. Will try it out. How to adjust on the remote?
Sep 2 2009, 03:13 PM
Bro, just use the cursor keys...left/right = resize, up/down = move.
Sep 2 2009, 03:26 PM
467 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(sailou @ Sep 2 2009, 07:02 AM) A renown pc shop in Low Yat has a huge batch of this player on the way. I will update once it arrived and also their selling price. any updates? roughly when will they hav this player here...today i was at lowyat (the plaza) and saw alot shops selling clamul..one guy was testing them, not too impressed...also quite a few other media players - VONO or something & some mini media player too..less than RM200... but din see anyone with the Playon!HD... |
Sep 2 2009, 04:52 PM
19 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 31 2009, 03:54 AM) At the bottom you can open to install a 3.5inch HD, can see the whole insides of the unit.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7cCwr3Ukiuc Friend got mine from Carrefour SG for SGD249 over the Merdeka weekend. Comes with a 2m HDMI cable. |
Sep 2 2009, 05:07 PM
1,409 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
bro k8118k
since you're the expert in this field.. what r de differences between WDTV, AC Ryon, Dvico and Xstreamer in terms of which can and which cannot 1) playable format like iso, m2ts, mkv & the what BDsometning 2)output trueHD, DTS-HD etc 3)losless like AAC. FLAc etc 4) PQ & AQ which is more superior (in terms of ranking 1,2,3,4) hope you r able to lend a helping hand on these comparisons thank you This post has been edited by moomoos: Sep 2 2009, 05:36 PM |
Sep 2 2009, 05:31 PM
3,658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 2 2009, 05:07 PM) bro k8118k serious i more into sales.since you're the expert in this field.. what r de differences between WDTV, AC Ryon, Dvico and Xstreamer in terms 1) playable format like iso, m2ts, mkv & the what BDsometning 2)output trueHD, DTS-HD etc 3) losless like AAC. FLAc etc 4) PQ & AQ which is more superior (in terms of ranking 1,2,3,4) hope you r able to lend a helping hand on these comparisons thank you you can alwasy goto www.mpcclub.com > forum. china silu > forum alot user go there diccuss. |
Sep 2 2009, 05:36 PM
1,409 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Sep 2 2009, 05:46 PM
WDTV can go play far far. Don't even have HDMI 1.3.
Dvico is an established player in the market. Why do U think they can command a high price? ACRyan and Xtreamer are newcomers to the playing field. Basically both are the same on the inside as they are using the same Realtek chipset. Difference is only on their customized firmware. There are also a lot of other companies coming up with their own players based on the same 1073DA/DD Realtek chipset. |
| Change to: | 0.0687sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:19 AM |