A.C.Ryan Playon!HD, Half-baked m-player, no BD-J or HD audio

lightning69
post Aug 31 2009, 07:00 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Aug 31 2009, 12:18 AM)
[question from lighting69]
Heard that currently it doesn't support DTS-MA and Dolby TrueHD. what about external subtitles on mkv?

[answer from singapore disti]
Currently it does not support, but will be fixed Oct - confirmed. External
Sub on MKV no problem.
I heard it works with internal sub but not external sub. WDTV works for both

lightning69
post Sep 3 2009, 11:03 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Sep 2 2009, 05:46 PM)
WDTV can go play far far. Don't even have HDMI 1.3. biggrin.gif
Dvico is an established player in the market. Why do U think they can command a high price?
ACRyan and Xtreamer are newcomers to the playing field. Basically both are the same on the inside as they are using the same Realtek chipset. Difference is only on their customized firmware. There are also a lot of other companies coming up with their own players based on the same 1073DA/DD Realtek chipset.
WDTV can play most of the mkvs and output to 1080P even it DO NOT have HDMI v1.3. Is that a big problem? To me its not as most of the bluray rip in mkvs do not requires HDMI1.3. Its something good to have but don't really matter if you do not have.
lightning69
post Sep 3 2009, 01:00 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 3 2009, 11:28 AM)
blu-ray rip =/= MKV..

cheers..  smile.gif
MKV Quality = thumbup.gif
MKV Price = thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
lightning69
post Sep 27 2009, 12:18 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 27 2009, 12:11 PM)
depends on the spec/ feature lor.. it's like saying now got rm800-1000 PC so other PC that costs 1500-5000 cannot sell? 

the realtek cannot do what the C-200 and Dune can (play Blu-rays with Java) .. so how to compare in the 1st place..
Who cares it can do it with java.....as long as it can play BD iso and its cheaper!!!

For me, if it can play high bit rate 1080P mkv...then its more than good enough. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lightning69: Sep 27 2009, 12:19 PM
lightning69
post Sep 27 2009, 03:50 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 27 2009, 02:01 PM)
Actually for me, so long as the player can play .avi, .rmvb, .mkv, have output for HDMI, YPbPr, can support both internal and external HDD, network support, have remote in english, have an outlook that I think is nice (one man's meat.... brows.gif ) and priced acceptably, my requirements are fulfilled. BD.iso not really necessary as I'm too lazy to rip/download and my peasant ears don't really need all the canggih lossless sounds whistling.gif
I am not sure how canggih the lossless audio is, but the last time a saw website which tested the lossless audio against the crappy DTS and DD and could not tell a difference whistling.gif
lightning69
post Sep 28 2009, 11:24 AM

2,298 posts

What is the highest bitrate 1080P mkv that the Playon!hD and play without shutter?

I know that the Planet Earth birds scene is a tough scene to play and also the Fifth Element where the girl was looking down from the building about to jump where there is tons of flying vehicles?

Anyone can confirm this because I would like to purchase one if it can play all the high bitrate 1080P without shutters.
lightning69
post Sep 28 2009, 12:47 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Sep 28 2009, 11:28 AM)
That scene no problem at all. I think reference frames should be used to judge instead of "which scene in which movie".
Sorry...what do you mean by reference frames?

All I know is the wdtv tends to shutter when playing scenes with lots of small moving things like thousands of fish swimming and moving across the screens at once, the tiny dust movement in the Golden Compass always lags, etc. This type of scenes puts to much processing on the chips and lessing capable chips just cannot handle it. So how is PlayOn!HD do in this kind of scenes?
lightning69
post Sep 28 2009, 01:24 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(summer4128 @ Sep 28 2009, 01:06 PM)
I've tested Chai Ching/.m2ts/43GB/DTS-HDMA, Joey.Yung.Star.Light/.ts/44GB/DTS-HDMA.LPCM & Seven Swords/.ts/41GB/DTS-HDMA.LPCM.DD61 no problem with the audio.. no lagging at all..  thumbup.gif
Does it bit stream the DTS-HDMA?
lightning69
post Sep 29 2009, 05:25 PM

2,298 posts

Don't worry. Today its out of stock. Tomorrow its out of date. Then the day after is stock clearance! smile.gif

Its always true with tech stuffs.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Sep 29 2009, 05:27 PM
lightning69
post Sep 29 2009, 09:44 PM

2,298 posts

Re we watching movies or we watching menu...LOL
lightning69
post Sep 30 2009, 03:11 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Mypalm @ Sep 30 2009, 02:55 PM)
I Thought C-zone no more stock yesterday? Like lightning said. "Today its out of stock. Tomorrow its out of date. Then the day after is stock clearance!"

Wah! didn't expect it go from out of stock to drop in price so fast.....
tongue.gif

lightning69
post Oct 2 2009, 01:05 AM

2,298 posts

One lady came in here, all the BOYS lost their mind! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lightning69: Oct 2 2009, 01:06 AM
lightning69
post Oct 2 2009, 11:21 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(SweetWorm @ Oct 2 2009, 11:15 AM)
smile.gif  just dropby to learn new thing....hope you all don't mind....
Of course no one would mind...just ask anything and i am sure there are many expert here that will help you out. Good luck on your hunt for the perfect media player (i'm sure its easier than to find the perfect guy!)

Added on October 2, 2009, 11:22 am
QUOTE(sskelviny @ Oct 2 2009, 11:18 AM)
This is the specs:

Supported Formats Video: MPEG1/2/4,RM/RMVB,VC-1,H.264
Video File Extension: .mp4,.mov,.xvid,.avi,.divx,.asf,.wmv,.mkv,.rm,.rmvb,.flv,.ts,.m2ts,.dat,.mpg,.vob
Audio: MP3,WAV,AAC,OGG,FLAC,AIFF
Image: JPEG,BMP,PNG,GIF,TIFF
Subtitle: SRT,SUB,SMI,SSA
I/O Port Input:
DC Power In
1xUSB 2.0 Port
1xUSB 2.0 / eSATA Combo Port
RJ-45 LAN Port

Output:
Composite Video
Composite Audio L/R
S/PDIF Out
HDMI 1.3

Network LAN:
TCP/IP (DHCP or Static IP Address)
10/100Mbps Wired LAN
Accessories AC Adapter
Power Cord
Remote Control
Composite A/V Cable
Quick Start Guide
CD (User Manual)
Dimensions 181.0x125.3x47.7mm(W x D x H)
Weight 491g
Power Power Source: 12V DC, 2A, 24W Power Adapter
Power Consumption: < 10W
Operating Temperature: 5- 35℃ (41- 95 ℉)
What is this spec for? ACryan? O!Play?

This post has been edited by lightning69: Oct 2 2009, 11:22 AM
lightning69
post Oct 2 2009, 03:13 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Oct 2 2009, 11:22 AM)
Oit!!! Go post that Asus player stuff in its own thread lah. mad.gif

Anyways this Asus player not in the same league as ACRyan/Extremer/M6600 lah...

Why wanna compare?
I won't say they are not on the same league....they use the same chip and from what i heard the video performance is the same. The only thing different is the UI and that is subject to preference.
lightning69
post Oct 2 2009, 03:19 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Oct 2 2009, 03:14 PM)
Can U install an internal HDD in the Asus or not? If can, then I will admit it is in the same league.
The last time i heard, most prefer not to put a HD in the ryan to avoid overheating.

If you are smart, you could have ask does the ryan got e-sata to be on the same leaque as the O!play?
lightning69
post Oct 2 2009, 04:24 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Oct 2 2009, 03:23 PM)
Does the Asus support wifi? Oh wait no, it has LAN so its 1 class above the rest. rclxm9.gif
Can you stream 1080P without judder with Wifi? Somethings are more for gimmick than real use.
lightning69
post Oct 2 2009, 04:35 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(barry @ Oct 2 2009, 04:25 PM)
I have another question on the ACR player: Will it be possible to connect up a BDROM drive and play BluRay disks directly?
I don't think so
lightning69
post Oct 5 2009, 02:53 PM

2,298 posts

I just call C-Zone and a guy quote me RM699 fro POHD. What a bullcrap price. The I call Viewnet and the price is RM630.

Why so much different in pricing yet someone can buy for like RM600 only?
lightning69
post Oct 12 2009, 03:34 PM

2,298 posts

So what is the lastest price for AC Ryan POHD? Need 2 units here. Please PM me if there is any seller here.
lightning69
post Oct 12 2009, 09:16 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(jl65 @ Oct 12 2009, 07:56 PM)
Hi, I'm one of the authorized reseller for A.C. Ryan here in Digital Mall, Section 14.
Our new stock expecting to arrive sometime next week, can check out my thread on my signature.
I can offer RM600 for just the player, or RM920 bundled with Samsung 1.5TB hard-disk.
Anyone interested to order/reserve please PM or e-mail me at jlsupercom@gmail.com
Finally someone with a reasonable pricing. C-Zone qouted me RM690...what a rip-off.

Let me know when you receive your stock.

0.0430sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:15 PM