Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V29!, The Orange Legion
yuenzhi
Aug 14 2009, 03:31 PM

hi people. im using a200 and thinking of buying a new lens to replace my kit lens. my choice is between SAL 16-105 and Tamron 17-50. im more into landscape and portrait, please advice
ryzan76
Aug 14 2009, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 14 2009, 03:27 PM) As long as you have properly exposed an image, noise will be less apparent. So you can shoot at ISO800 outdoors; it is not a problem even on the A200. bro albert, i want setup my studio light.where can i find flash trigger for it  can i use this one... alphanatics...minimuffinThis post has been edited by ryzan76: Aug 14 2009, 03:35 PM
ahtsong
Aug 14 2009, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 14 2009, 03:31 PM) hi people. im using a200 and thinking of buying a new lens to replace my kit lens. my choice is between SAL 16-105 and Tamron 17-50. im more into landscape and portrait, please advice landscape : 16-106 potrait : 17-50 so buy both...
Sp00kY
Aug 14 2009, 03:38 PM
yuenzhi: 16105..i just dont like 1750 hahaha Added on August 14, 2009, 3:39 pmQUOTE(albnok @ Aug 14 2009, 03:27 PM) As long as you have properly exposed an image, noise will be less apparent. So you can shoot at ISO800 outdoors; it is not a problem even on the A200.  true..  .and try avoiding black backgrounds This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 14 2009, 03:39 PM
lildaredevil906
Aug 14 2009, 03:44 PM
noted noted.. will try to mess around with the settings and the shots more..
im using the A300, so got live view.. amazing how these things works..
eh when wanna TT? =P got new member di.. ^^
This post has been edited by lildaredevil906: Aug 14 2009, 03:46 PM
yuenzhi
Aug 14 2009, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Aug 14 2009, 03:36 PM) landscape : 16-106 potrait : 17-50 so buy both... i wish i had that kind of money =) Added on August 14, 2009, 3:46 pmim thinking of buying minolta 50mm f3.5 for portrait, reviews saying that they are razor sharp This post has been edited by yuenzhi: Aug 14 2009, 03:46 PM
ryzan76
Aug 14 2009, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 14 2009, 03:44 PM) i wish i had that kind of money =) Added on August 14, 2009, 3:46 pmim thinking of buying minolta 50mm f3.5 for portrait, reviews saying that they are razor sharp  buy this one....1680
NewCell
Aug 14 2009, 03:50 PM
hi need some help from all the sifu here,
This coming Saturday going to help up friend to shoot shop opening event with lion dance. (morning session)
should i go with a300+18-70mm+F58 or a300+28-100mm+F58
shootkk
Aug 14 2009, 03:53 PM
Loyal Sony A100 User
yuenzhi : If you want bokeh then try the 18-250 and shoot anywhere between 120mm and 200mm and you'll get bokeh for the background.
Of course you might wanna stand quite a distance away.
That said, you could probably use any lens to shoot portraits. If you know what you're doing, the focal length is a small issue really. For landscape, the 16mm will give you a nice wide view.
Newcell : Definitely the 18-70! You will NEED the 18mm for a wider shot. The 28mm will bound to frustrate.
This post has been edited by shootkk: Aug 14 2009, 03:54 PM
Braynumb
Aug 14 2009, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 14 2009, 03:31 PM) hi people. im using a200 and thinking of buying a new lens to replace my kit lens. my choice is between SAL 16-105 and Tamron 17-50. im more into landscape and portrait, please advice well... best sugestion is to buy both... but seeing as budget would be a problem, get the 16105 1st because of the range. then, can save up for the 1750... doing that right now...
yuenzhi
Aug 14 2009, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Aug 14 2009, 03:47 PM) CZ ? too expensive bro
ryzan76
Aug 14 2009, 03:56 PM
yuenzhi

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 14 2009, 03:54 PM) well... best sugestion is to buy both... but seeing as budget would be a problem, get the 16105 1st because of the range. then, can save up for the 1750... doing that right now...  i see. how's yr 16105 so far ?
ahtsong
QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 14 2009, 03:55 PM) just get the 16105 then save up to get a 50mm
yuenzhi
Aug 14 2009, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Aug 14 2009, 03:38 PM) yuenzhi: 16105..i just dont like 1750 hahaha Added on August 14, 2009, 3:39 pm true..  .and try avoiding black backgrounds  y dont u like the 1750 bro ?
ahtsong
Aug 14 2009, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Aug 14 2009, 03:56 PM) SAL 16-105 and SAL 16-80z actually not much dif...at least for my eye. i will not pay extra 1k for the not much dif and shorter range. i would rather use the 1k for other stuff
Braynumb
Aug 14 2009, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 14 2009, 03:56 PM) i see. how's yr 16105 so far ? not yet buy wo... still saving for the 16105 1st... hehehe...
yuenzhi
Aug 14 2009, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Aug 14 2009, 03:57 PM) SAL 16-105 and SAL 16-80z actually not much dif...at least for my eye. i will not pay extra 1k for the not much dif and shorter range. i would rather use the 1k for other stuff agree with u. anyone know is there any diff between 16105 and 1750 ? from what i know the sharpness is abt the same. the major diff is tamron has a constant aperture and SAL doesnt, anymore ?
ryzan76
Aug 14 2009, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Aug 14 2009, 04:02 PM) agree with u. anyone know is there any diff between 16105 and 1750 ? from what i know the sharpness is abt the same. the major diff is tamron has a constant aperture and SAL doesnt, anymore ? if u want 16105...go alphanatics...someone sell for rm1.4k....2 month old
MechaHerc
Aug 14 2009, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Aug 14 2009, 03:31 PM) bro.. seems no one cant answer our problem la. i oredi bump 3x the questions  but still in the dark again...