11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

dvlzplayground
post Dec 2 2009, 07:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Dec 2 2009, 11:05 AM)
I can run windows 7 on bootcamp but i cant play games wtf -.-
care to elaborate?

QUOTE(diners @ Dec 2 2009, 01:19 PM)
recently my uMB going cuckoo.. quite laggish... i wonder why? i'm in 10.6.2
u too hehe...can explain what kind of lag? bcuz of heavy apps...always hang...?

anyway i remember some1 searching for the Apple USB Modem in this forum..cant find who in which thread. I saw it at a local apple reseller here they're selling it for RM199. i can help if u want. if u are reading this lah. haha
dvlzplayground
post Dec 2 2009, 08:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Dec 2 2009, 08:34 PM)
i just run mail, safari, itunes and adium....
or maybe i open too much tabs in safari? but last time i never face these problem b4
and wad's with the modem thing?
the modem thing is about some1 else ;p

launch Activity Monitor to see if there are any apps using too much CPU cycles n memory. pay attention to the CPU (those are in percentages...max is 200%) and RSIZE. at the bottom, pay attention to CPU n system memory. try to let Activity Monitor run when u're using ur mac...whenever u experience the lag, check for any 'spikes' in AM indicating any apps are using too much CPU or memory

what do u think that makes u lag? is it only when u're watching videos, etc...?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 2 2009, 09:56 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

if images shouldnt be a problem... as i said, the objective way is to look at the numbers in activity monitors...

lagging only during surfing is it?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 06:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yeah...why 1.75gb? this is a macbook right?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 3 2009, 07:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Dec 3 2009, 06:58 PM)
[attachmentid=1336889]

this is the NEW one. just took @ 6.57pm
i'm not sure why got 1.75GB.
and yes, mine's a uMB.

i just rmb somethine, last time i did play around with this virtual machine thinggie and already deleted it.
and i think i choose 256mb ram for it.
but i've already deleted it, i thought the virtualmachine will "give" me back my 256mb?
argh!! frust la.
oh btw, when i'm doing the virtual machine i'm in 10.5
when i install my 10.6 i did a clean install

Added on December 3, 2009, 6:59 pmstress la... see my macbook like got alot rubbish like that T.T
it should give back. i have 2 VM both allocated 256mb...i still have 2gb total.

maybe cuz its 1.75gb then cannot support double channel, causing the lag? possible? tongue.gif any pro can comment?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 02:31 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jc79 @ Dec 3 2009, 11:22 PM)
hi... i'm new to macbook and i found it's better than windows laptop since 19 nov 2009 when i got myself a macbook white. Now, i'm thinking of selling it and get myself a macbook pro 13" (RM4499) which the spec is almost the same....

any advice from you guys?

NO! unless u can sell ur uMB full price ok la. lets say u sell rm3k... so have to topup 1.5k to get the 13" MBP...so not worth it bro. juz play with what u have now. if wanna upgrade, as others mentioned, wait for refresh later. although i too doubt the i5 will show up in the 13". anyway if u wanna upgrade, go for a 15" with dedicated GPU, u'll feel a big difference.

alternatively u can juz spec up ur current macbook. get 4GB of RAM and a good SSD.

QUOTE(MinK @ Dec 4 2009, 01:24 PM)
ur 2gb is shown as 1.75GB because the system reserved 256MB for ur 9400M nvidia graphics card. in leopard it doesnt show, but in snow leopard it shows as 1.75.
oooo no wonder i still see 2gb when using 9400M. haha

Added on December 4, 2009, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(jc79 @ Dec 3 2009, 11:22 PM)
hi... i'm new to macbook and i found it's better than windows laptop since 19 nov 2009 when i got myself a macbook white. Now, i'm thinking of selling it and get myself a macbook pro 13" (RM4499) which the spec is almost the same....

any advice from you guys?

NO! unless u can sell ur uMB full price ok la. lets say u sell rm3k... so have to topup 1.5k to get the 13" MBP...so not worth it bro. juz play with what u have now. if wanna upgrade, as others mentioned, wait for refresh later. although i too doubt the i5 will show up in the 13". anyway if u wanna upgrade, go for a 15" with dedicated GPU, u'll feel a big difference.

alternatively u can juz spec up ur current macbook. get 4GB of RAM and a good SSD.

QUOTE(MinK @ Dec 4 2009, 01:24 PM)
ur 2gb is shown as 1.75GB because the system reserved 256MB for ur 9400M nvidia graphics card. in leopard it doesnt show, but in snow leopard it shows as 1.75.
oooo no wonder i still see 2gb when using 9400M. haha

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 4 2009, 02:33 PM
dvlzplayground
post Dec 4 2009, 03:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i lagi malu... 6 star kalah with 1 star ;p
dvlzplayground
post Dec 5 2009, 04:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ Dec 5 2009, 01:11 PM)
i just got back my MBP after topcase and speaker replaced for free  rclxms.gif
cool!

QUOTE(M@Y @ Dec 5 2009, 03:37 PM)
Guys, i want to hear out your opinion. My current White Macbook is with Intel GMA 950, bought for RM4000 at Mac Studio few years ago, and i've been considering to trade-in and get the latest version with NVIDIA GeForce 9400M at Mac City for RM3,599 or buy online with Education price for RM3,399.

Is it worth it to change just because of the graphic? Please advise.
if juz because of the graphic...i think no. the GMA950 is absolutely useless for intensive 3d, n while the 9400M is much better, its kinda borderline usable. i.e. u can play games on it in minimum quality but sometimes still lag. u probably wont notice the difference.

however i think its a worthwhile upgrade as a whole. the screen is much better, also the battery lasts longer (if u havent replace ur battery, i think u cant get more than 2 hours from ur macbook am i right?).
dvlzplayground
post Dec 6 2009, 02:25 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(finzo @ Dec 6 2009, 12:18 AM)
got it already dude smile.gif. got it just now at the PC fair.
still trying to get used to the key shortcuts and stuff. heheh
mostly juz change ctrl to cmd hehehe. welcome to the club!

got any freebies?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 7 2009, 02:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Dec 7 2009, 12:05 PM)
the main differences : for extra RM900, you get
> aluminium unibody
> battery indicator
> FireWire 800 (high speed connection, often used for external HDD / camcorders)
> illuminated keyboard
and slightly smaller HDD ;p

long term aluminium looks better...white easy to get dirty
dvlzplayground
post Dec 7 2009, 09:56 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Dec 7 2009, 04:28 PM)
1 more thing you must know, if you're planning to get ACPP in future, the price for mb and mbp is diff. So maybe its just like with the price of mb+acpp, you can only get a mbp 13" only.
ACPP for macbook and 13" MBP is the same. the bigger ones are more expensive

QUOTE(Sol_FW @ Dec 7 2009, 05:32 PM)
Hey, thanks for the reply, I've read a lot of reviews on the Macbook and Macbook Pro 13". Some are good reviews while some are not so much, but overall, both are good laptops. I'm planning to get mine from Machines at JB because I'm studying there. And I think I wanna get a Macbook Pro 13" biggrin.gif

Though there are some reports that made me skeptical though. Some say that the WiFi signal on the MBP is not that good because of the metal chassis. And it tends to get really hot.

The MB... well, the polycarbonate chassis is definitely not scratch proof but at least it won't dent and stuff. Too bad it doesn't have an SD card slot, I'll be using that a lot since I prefer transferring the photos from my camera using the SD card directly.

Oh well, either one will be good, I'll just let the seller sway me into buying either one, haha. MB and MBPs are just like an Ixus... when style meet substance... biggrin.gif
its hotter cuz aluminium conducts heat better than plastic. which is better than letting the heat trapped inside smile.gif. both are very solid machines, u'll be satisfied either way hehe. dont let the seller sway u though..sometimes they can give u wrong info tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 7 2009, 10:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Dec 7 2009, 10:25 PM)
[attachmentid=1343481]
eventually, i saw this dot thinggie in the middle of my FINDER magnifying icon when clicking aounrd my uMB.
wad isit about? i never see this before.
i just installed photoshop cs4 and M$ 2008 these 2 days anyway.
the reason spotlight is very good is because of indexing (as in the screenshot). to put it simply, is abt OSX learning what is where on ur hard disk. let it complete...dun turn off ur mac. it's just a one-time operation
dvlzplayground
post Dec 7 2009, 10:34 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

anyway i never realised got dot in the middle during indexing tongue.gif you've got an eye for detail there bro
dvlzplayground
post Dec 7 2009, 11:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Dec 7 2009, 11:21 PM)
i for one cant wait for the next macbook showcase as recent pc fair shows other laptop makers catching up to mb and mba design

time for apple to wow us again
nevermind, other makers still far behind tongue.gif. got one MSI notebook very thin n design like macbook air, but the build quality is very bad...feel like can break anytime

talking about ixus... my first digital camera was an ixus... it was rm900-1000 and had 2 MEGAPIXELS! ;p
dvlzplayground
post Dec 8 2009, 02:46 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Dec 8 2009, 10:37 AM)
ah butt, even if you have a bigger HDD and it fails fully laden with your data also no point, better to get an external that has the data copies tongue.gif.
smaller HDD that fails fully laden with data also same thing right ;p
dvlzplayground
post Dec 9 2009, 11:37 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kai1492 @ Dec 9 2009, 01:25 PM)
hey guys as i've said in my previous post..im a new macbookpro user..my 1st mac...wondering how i can run windows 7 in it rclxub.gif
u can find ur answer in this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/979861
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 02:46 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kai1492 @ Dec 10 2009, 12:28 AM)
thx man...really appreciate it...still trying to get used to OSX...kinda awkward at times for me sweat.gif
no prob. all of us 'converts' here had a hard first week or two with our 1st macs hehe. u'll do fine smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 01:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i agree with cRazYee...of all brands i think HP has the worse trackpad surface

DotA can run fine. Doom 3 i managed to run at ultra quality in parallels desktop 3 before on my previous MBP (with radeon x1600...i think abt the same performance as the 9400m or slightly faster) so no problem at all in bootcamp smile.gif

red alert 3 is playable but have to tone down the graphics a bit
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 04:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(neoadv @ Dec 10 2009, 02:58 PM)
if uols don't mind, i wanna ask, how about graphic software like adobe photoshop or illustrator? Any problem running those type of programs?
9400M can handle both photoshop n illustrator, no worries smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 10 2009, 08:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Sol_FW @ Dec 10 2009, 08:34 PM)
Finally got myself a Macbook Pro 13 inch!!!! It is as awesome as people say it is. No flaws in design! I think I'll be sticking to this one for years to come, no matter how many updates Apple announces. After all, this is my first Mac biggrin.gif
wait till u try to use a fat USB drive haha

welcome to the club!

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:25 PM