Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

dvlzplayground
post Mar 29 2010, 07:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Mar 29 2010, 05:04 PM)
end-2009 models
lol i didn't know there's so many revision
1st gen MBP is on january 2006... u expect no revision? tongue.gif

QUOTE(siaukia @ Mar 29 2010, 06:38 PM)
sigh, i realized that in order to upgrade to 8gb ram, i need to “throw” away the stock 2gb x 2 since there's only 2 slot
2gbx2 u can sell, im sure a lot of ppl wanna buy, even more if ur 2gbx2 is the stock RAM. those with 1gbx2 hard to sell
dvlzplayground
post Mar 29 2010, 07:49 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

see? biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Mar 29 2010, 09:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

if i were you, i juz buy n get the free ipod touch tongue.gif

anyway no 'experts' would know when the next batch is coming. even resellers dont know. all of us are just waiting for apple's announcement. simple as that.

but then if u want an iMac, they already have i5 and i7 models, so go buy now!
dvlzplayground
post Mar 29 2010, 10:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

wah? what apps are u running? try check Activity Monitor see what's the culprit

the only thing i realise after moving to 4gb from 2gb is performance when running VM. when i'm not, everything feels the same
dvlzplayground
post Mar 29 2010, 11:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

under System Memory tabs, how much is ur Page Ins and Page Outs?
dvlzplayground
post Mar 30 2010, 06:54 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Blop89 @ Mar 30 2010, 11:14 AM)
But when I upload using window 7 it appears to be better quality.
i dont think so tongue.gif it's a limitation by facebook, not the app or OS. if u want good quality juz upload at flickr etc
dvlzplayground
post Mar 31 2010, 02:48 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Mar 30 2010, 10:42 PM)
after i install new hdd i feel my OS very slow. why?
wut hdd? i got same prob before... change the hdd at the shop also stil same prob. end up juz use it as external hdd tongue.gif

QUOTE(josephchan90 @ Mar 30 2010, 11:30 PM)
anyone has any idea about the pricing for the coming MacBook Pro? more expensive than the current MBP? when isit coming out? and what are the spec upgrade? sorry, i've been searching around but i cant find any "nearly complete info". so im geting in here for advice instead of keep searching on...  thanks...
that's because there's no info at all tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 5 2010, 04:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

if new MBP got improved battery life + IPS panel... hoho

IMBA
dvlzplayground
post Apr 6 2010, 08:21 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

A new report claims that Apple could release updates to its MacBook, MacBook Pro and MacBook Air notebook computers in April, with alleged Intel processor supply issues said to be resolved.

Taiwanese newspaper Apple Daily reported on Monday that Apple plans to release updated MacBooks, MacBook Pros and MacBook Airs this month. The report alleged that the computers have taken longer than expected to hit the market because of shortages of Intel's newest chips.

The roughly translated report claims that the new MacBook Pro systems will sport 640GB hard drives, or have an option of 248GB solid state drives. It also states that the computers will offer 8 hours of battery life.

Last month it was revealed that Intel was struggling to meet demand for its new family of Core mobile processors. The CPUs have been widely expected to turn up in the next round of updates to Apple's MacBook and MacBook Pro lines. The report claimed that Intel's Core i3, Core i5 and Core i7 processors are all facing tight supplies due to a large order from manufacturer Acer.

AppleInsider has also shared alternative factors that are possibly contributing to the lengthy wait for MacBook upgrades, with dual graphics improvements expected to turn up in new MacBook Pros sometime this year. Sources have said the Mac maker has tested several next-generation notebooks that can switch between their integrated and discrete graphics processors automatically.

For months there have been rumors of new MacBook Pros based on Intel's new Core i7 and Core i5 mobile processors. The 32-nanometer chips offer improved speed, better graphics capabilities and lower power consumption than their Core 2 Duo predecessors.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/10/04..._line_soon.html

icon_idea.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 9 2010, 11:59 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Apr 8 2010, 10:26 PM)
thanks for the suggestion, will try it later since have not tried looking at istat yet

but any other reason? i had changed the 'bengkak' battery last few month also.
another suggestion 4 u...try to run with only one RAM stick 1st. if it still happens, run with the other stick.

QUOTE(keepme88 @ Apr 9 2010, 12:51 AM)
hi..i plan to buy a macbook white..is it worth for me(i mean the spec)? should i wait for new spec?
do you know is apple cme out with new spec for macbook(not MBP or MBA)? thanks..cheer~
we dunno if there will be new spec for macbook or not...rumour seems to suggest so. if u can wait until end of the month, juz wait lah.

QUOTE(sam3030 @ Apr 9 2010, 02:13 AM)
mean this coming pc fair will launch for the new mac book ?

Added on April 9, 2010, 2:26 amthe education store price is avaiable at those reseller place? and need any provide for it? student card? or id card? or need any letter for it? reply in pm thankss~
no, education price only available from apple online store. no need to provide anything, just agree with the terms n conditions
dvlzplayground
post Apr 10 2010, 02:13 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(sam3030 @ Apr 9 2010, 02:45 PM)
oo~ so if wan order must be pay by credit card payment?

Added on April 9, 2010, 9:19 pmcan some1 teach me how to get education price?
uhh, try to read posts carefully next time...the link is right on top of this page

QUOTE(siaukia @ Apr 10 2010, 01:41 AM)
Hi there, did some test using istat as suggested, seems like the fan kaput?

When starting up for 1 minute
9:12PM
[attachmentid=1520193]
[attachmentid=1520196]

After running disk utility
9:38PM
[attachmentid=1520198]
[attachmentid=1520200]

Do you think I can get it fixed with a fee at apple shop like machines? the acpp gone case

Added on April 10, 2010, 1:42 amand yes, the macbook did shutdown by itself after a while
yeah seems like ur fan kaput...no sound? try to send to sapura or vr tech, they should be able to fix it faster

dvlzplayground
post Apr 14 2010, 01:34 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

to those who were patient enough to wait for the new MBPs... congrats!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

huge price drop oh. cheapest 15" with core i5 n dedicated GPU only 5899. even 17" also less than 7k if edu price~

also it makes no sense to get macbook white now hehe. i wonder if it'll get a price drop under rm2k
dvlzplayground
post Apr 14 2010, 02:51 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

another good news for those who purchased the new MBPs

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2010/04/...displayport.ars

the new miniDP port finally can do audio-out smile.gif

now im waiting for the benchies hehe... 9600M GT vs 330M... and 9400M vs 320M vs Intel HD. now my 15" MBP already around the same spec with the cheapest 13" MBP except for the GPU n screen... only around half the price +_+ there goes my resale value~
dvlzplayground
post Apr 14 2010, 06:25 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ very true... i think mine now 5k very hard already
dvlzplayground
post Apr 15 2010, 12:45 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i think very possible the macbook will start at rm2k+ biggrin.gif

anyway isnt the geforce 330M in the lower range of GPU these days? MBP always get the midrange ones (x1600, 8600gt, 9600gt)

what a month... ipad la, iphone os 4 la, now new MBP~ MBA really need refresh now!
dvlzplayground
post Apr 15 2010, 01:53 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 15 2010, 01:01 AM)
Don't be fooled by nVidia's naming scheme... According to Notebookcheck, the GT330M is basically a re-branded GT240M which is comparable to ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650, so it's still pretty much mid-range. Unless you've been so engrossed with the gaming world, that the 330M performance is too minute to you...? tongue.gif
That would affect power consumption, and hence misses Apple's target battery life.
i hardly even use my 9600gt tongue.gif plus 330M doesnt have much to do with target battery life, that's what the intel HD is for

anyway dun take me wrong, it's not like im complaining or anything smile.gif if the GT330M is midrange then good lah. really eager to see how they switch GPU, wont have screen flicker or anything?

11 Pages « < 9 10 11Top

0.0450sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:39 PM