11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

dvlzplayground
post Nov 18 2009, 10:11 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kai1492 @ Nov 18 2009, 06:17 PM)
Hi! just got a MacbookPro  biggrin.gif
welcome to the club!
dvlzplayground
post Nov 19 2009, 01:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Nov 19 2009, 10:31 AM)
i just got latest  macbook white  two weeks ago. working with excel file is really pain especially when i need to switch between windows and mac so often. so im thinking of getting parallels desktop. are you guys using the version 4 or 5? any significant improvement on the 5? or just get version 4 would be fine since it's cheaper. tongue.gif
where can u buy version 4 for cheap price? ;p. i didnt feel any noticeable speed bump in version 5 on leopard, but not sure about snow. so i guess if u're running XP, version 4 would do fine... Windows 7 maybe version 5 got better support... if Vista, dont use vista lol (win7 runs faster than vista in parallels in my experience)
dvlzplayground
post Nov 19 2009, 09:50 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(MaxLaw @ Nov 19 2009, 05:34 PM)
Merged as in, For example:
There's a new Folder A and an old Folder A.
The new Folder A has new files that are not existing in old Folder A.

If I copied the new Folder A to replace the old Folder A, the files inside old Folder A will be removed entirely and replaced with all the files in new Folder A.
But if I do that in Windows, new files in new Folder A will sort of "append" to the existing files in old Folder A.
hmm.gif

I just did that copy and paste folders in my mac and my files are now missing...  sad.gif
yeah i had that as well before... lost pretty important stuff bcuz of it tongue.gif

juz remember to open the new folder, select all, and paste into the old folder. u'll get used to it soon hehe
dvlzplayground
post Nov 20 2009, 02:10 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jc79 @ Nov 20 2009, 01:28 AM)
hey guys, i jz got my Macbook White latest version from Machines in Gardens on Thursday....

well, this is my first mac and i'm still exporing the cool features!

can some one tell me is this mb white comes with light sensor as well? i've been told it has, but i cann't find it wor... or do i need to activate it? if so, how to configure?

no need to activate. IINM the sensor is under the keyboard.

i think its activated by default. anyway, click on the apple logo on the top left corner of the screen n go to System Preferences. click on Display under Hardware. in the Display tab, check the box for Automatically adjust brightness as ambient light changes.

try using the notebook in a brightly lit room at night, then turn off the lights. u should notice your screen automatically turn down the brightness when the room is dark.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 20 2009, 04:19 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jc79 @ Nov 20 2009, 02:46 AM)
thanks dvlzplayground, u gt what i mean... but i can only found resolutions, brightness, detect displays and show displays in menu bar only... i think mb white doesn't has the feature:(
dont have this? anyone on SL can verify?

dvlzplayground
post Nov 20 2009, 11:32 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 20 2009, 05:46 AM)
the sensor is beside isight, no under keyboard

1st gen MBP has it beside keyboard (both side)
oh ya sorry tongue.gif its to the left of isight. now we know macbook dun have this~
dvlzplayground
post Nov 24 2009, 11:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 24 2009, 08:16 PM)
Anyone know is mac have the feature of "task manager" in Windows?
Because i feel opened few softwares and the ram eat up almost all. sigh.
Or any other way to see what program is open so i can close it?
Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor. can check CPU n disk usage as well. if u just wanna see what program is open, juz use CMD+Tab...while still holding down Cmd, u can use the arrow keys (or cursor) to highlight the app u wanna close n press Q. for more stubborn apps that dont wanna quit, option+cmd+esc to force quit.

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 24 2009, 08:32 PM)
Can the MBP use any regular laptop ddr3 ram or it needs a specific one?
QUOTE(itypewithkeyboard @ Nov 24 2009, 10:58 PM)
hurm yeah its the same.
u have to choose the 1066mhz or higher and you are good to go.
i think so.
i also dunno.
thinking of upgrading my ram too to 4gb.
but theres one thread called OCZ ram.
is it good guys?
there's a thread about this. theoretically all DDR3 1066 Mhz RAMs should work, but there are reports of come incompatibilities for certain brands. iinm hynix, micron n samsung chips are fine
dvlzplayground
post Nov 25 2009, 11:17 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 25 2009, 04:42 AM)
apple engineer did limit it i believe cuz in bootcamp windows the volume just boost up like mad
and VLC? ;p
dvlzplayground
post Nov 25 2009, 08:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(THE DEEPER @ Nov 25 2009, 11:36 AM)

I'm getting a Macbook Pro 13" soon. I plan to use the machine as my main PC for my work with graphic, programming, video editing stuff...in short, so many windows and cluttered workspace. So I guess the 13" screen won't be enough.  But I chose it, anyway, over the 15" coz of the portability. And with the price difference, I plan to buy a 24" or 30" Dell Monitor to compensate for the small screen.

My question is: will the GPU in the notebook be able to support high resolutions in these monitors? and how easy it is to setup the dual screen mode? any special stuff I need to know about?

Thank you in advance for helping a new mac convert. tongue.gif
the GPU can handle the 30". if the monitor uses DVI then u need dual-link only for the 30". u can also use HDMI instead of DVI, but u'll need to get a miniDP-to-HDMI adapter..i got one for around rm150 with shipping. if i remember right, dual-link dvi is more expensive.

setup is pretty simple. u get to set which monitor will have the menu bar n dock, n the other one is just plain space where u can drag ur apps to. one annoying thing 4 me is regarding about Spaces. both screens will be recognized as one space. so when u change spaces on ur notebook, the space on the external monitor will change as well.

dvlzplayground
post Nov 26 2009, 09:50 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 26 2009, 09:35 PM)
You mean we can run 64bit win 7 in Macbook?  drool.gif

Hmm...if I run 64bit win 7 then all my other software needs to have 64bit as well, am I right?  rclxub.gif
u said u want 4gb wut tongue.gif. that seems to be the case but IINM got no 64-bit mac drivers yet?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 27 2009, 08:29 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh ya i forgot got 64-bit vista lol. sorry2
dvlzplayground
post Nov 28 2009, 06:58 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Nov 28 2009, 06:10 PM)
Cool. But why not Intel SSD?
was gonna ask the exact same question smile.gif n how much did u get the OCZ SSD for?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Nov 29 2009, 11:01 AM)
alright will give it a try... but what is the reason ntfs is not able to read by mac?
so mostly all the forumers r installed with this 2 applications?? hmm.gif
nfts is windows technology. but at least OSX can READ ntfs.... windows cant do anything with HFS (apple tech). normally when u buy external hdd they're formatted as NTFS. USB drives (afaik) are normally formatted as FAT32. both mac n windows can play nice with FAT32.

so when buying an external hdd, d 1st thing u should do is to format to FAT32. of course u can format as HFS if u dont need it to be accessible to any windows computer. 2 of my external drives are in FAT32 cuz wanna plug into a PS3 ;p

another alternative to read ntfs volumes on OSX is MacFUSE. but if ur external doesnt have much stuff on it, i suggest u copy everything to ur internal drive, format the external drive to fat32, n copy back the files. this way u dont need to install anything.

anyway if u're not clear on how to change the format to FAT32, i'd suggest u read around n dun ever ask here...later u kena bomb.. hahah

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 29 2009, 04:02 PM
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:21 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Nov 29 2009, 04:11 PM)
Just sold my old MBP smile.gif looking to buy a new MBP 13". Do you guys think i should wait til a possible January/February update or get one now?
if there's no harm, i'd wait smile.gif nevermind if no i7... i5 i happy already.. heehe
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:37 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Nov 29 2009, 04:26 PM)
I guess i don't mind waiting, but would the price increase with a spec update?
macbookpro refresh normally the price n go down and/or spec go up. only the latest refresh was different... from the rm7.2k model with 9600m GT... now got the 6.4k w/o 9600 n the 7.5k with 9600. but even the 6.4k model got a speedbump... from 2.4ghz to 2.53ghz.

so maybe we can expect a ~6.4k i5 without a discrete GPU. the 9600 is pretty outdated anyway. well, we can dream smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 11:12 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Nov 29 2009, 09:19 PM)
Guys, how do i add apps to dock ar? Like Frostwire that kind. I cant drag and drop it on the dock. Any idea?
cannot drag n drop from applications folder?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 1 2009, 02:37 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kevin62 @ Nov 30 2009, 10:38 PM)
Dear all SIFU / user of MAC,

Im planning to change my laptop very soon. Im looking for Macbook PRO 13" RM5599.

May i know this spec enough to run AUTO CAD? And i plan to upgrade to 128GB SSD.

Regards,

Kevin
autoCAD in bootcamp no problem. if in VM, more RAM would be nice

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Dec 1 2009, 11:14 AM)
sorry guys still seeking for advise  blush.gif
ur question is already answered...three times. paragon NTFS, MacFuse, ntfs-3g. time to google. other than that, ask ur friends to format to fat32, or use bootcamp tongue.gif

QUOTE(rhymeregim @ Dec 1 2009, 12:25 PM)
Owh..is there going to be a new mbp soon?I thought the current one is the latest...
there's always a new mbp soon hehe. but the next one is RUMOURED to get a quad-core chip, which is a pretty big deal...so if u dont need a new notebook now, waiting for the new model would be wise
dvlzplayground
post Dec 1 2009, 05:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Dec 1 2009, 04:36 PM)
sorry for the three times, but I saw u were saying MAC OS X is able to read NTFS ?
OSX is able to read NTFS natively, but not write. to write, u can use either one of the apps we listed. is there anything i missed?
dvlzplayground
post Dec 1 2009, 07:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Dec 1 2009, 11:44 AM)
Is Bootcamp XP working just like our normal desktop XP at the similar performance and speed?
I felt it is not smoothing working as what i feel on my Desktop PC which is DuoCore 2.67GHZ with 8600M GPU card.

p/s: Mac OS X runs as a charm~!...haha...SEXY OS...
it works just like normal notebook with XP... for example the desktop 8600GT is faster than the mobile version
dvlzplayground
post Dec 1 2009, 09:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kevin62 @ Dec 1 2009, 08:27 PM)
BTW, what is BOOTCAMP? Is it Window for MAC?

Sifus, I plan to use window as my daily work while personal will change to LEOPARD. Is it i need to partition my SSD?

So far anyone using SSD? Please give some comment. So far i quoted RM68++ for 13" with 128SSD.

Regards,
Kevin
it is to install windows on mac...u still need a copy of windows

u got two choices...use bootcamp (its built in so it doesnt cost u anything...n have to partition) or virtual machine (either parallels desktop, vmware fusion or virtualbox...no need to partition). there's plenty of info about this if u care to do a search in this forum.

the rm6800+ u said is for the higher-spec 13" MBP. the lower spec would be RM6k.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:28 AM