11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

dvlzplayground
post Oct 29 2009, 11:53 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(SIWIS @ Oct 29 2009, 08:24 AM)
I would like know if the New Macbook (White) with 2GB DDR3 is sufficient enough running Windows XP/Windows 7 pallerel with Snow leopard. I am not heavty duty user. Just do some cad software on Win XP.

Should I get mini display port to dvi / vga if I want display on Dell ST24 LCD and Panasonic 50S10K Plasma. Worth it buy at Apple Store or Lelong/ebay selling cheaper?
i run autocad 2002 a lot in windows xp on parallels 4. pretty smooth.

i've also tried autocad 2008 in windows 7...quite slow ;p but maybe u can turn off some features to make it faster. im not familiar with 2008 hehe
dvlzplayground
post Oct 29 2009, 09:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Oct 29 2009, 05:02 PM)
sorry guys a very noobie to be asked, may I know what is the difference between unibody & without unibody??
*paiseh*
no need to know the difference....now all models are unibody hehe tongue.gif juz remember unibody = good build quality

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Oct 29 2009, 07:01 PM)
got my new macbook unibody, still familiarizing myself to the Mac OS
Any recommendation for protector casing for the body, pretty easy to scratch
i used the Speck thing but a lot of ppl say dust can go in n somehow leave small scratches. i got the speck casing anyway and i opened it up n clean inside atleast once a week. i still get small scratches sad.gif. n some of the clamps broke off cuz i take it out too often.

i got myself zagg invisible skin... rm110 in garage sales. very hard to apply, but at least i know my mac is protected biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 30 2009, 05:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

im not entirely sure about heat dissipation thing, but my temps are good enuff. aircond room though

Attached image(s)
dvlzplayground
post Oct 30 2009, 05:17 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Oct 30 2009, 05:07 PM)
mine one is the new macbook white, speck for the older version of macbook can be used?
it wont fit. the shape is very different
dvlzplayground
post Oct 30 2009, 09:12 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Oct 30 2009, 06:56 PM)
I love speck but they havent release casings for the new MBPs yet, which is

sort of troublesome sad.gif I am relying and hoping my Macbook wont scratch.

Added on October 30, 2009, 6:58 pmI mean, iinm, dvlz, it would fit, but it the casing would cover up the earphone input.
yeap. for the 15" is fine though...it just covers the kensington slot
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2009, 01:30 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:27 PM)
computer noob here.. my macbook pro has been kinda slow recently.. how exactly do i check whether my RAM is sufficient or not?
go to Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor, and click on the System Memory tab. try to keep an eye on the green section...it shows you how much free memory do you have.

i wanna ask something about what are you referring to as 'slow', because ur problem may be ur hard drive. i suggest you try these things:

1. copy and paste huge files (maybe 10gb) around ur hard disk (meaning not from/to external). if it's slow, most likely hard drive problem
2. plug in two USB devices, and copy a file (the bigger the better) from one to another. if ur hard drive got problem, this shud not be slow.
3. when system hang, can you still move the cursor? if yes, likely its the hard drive. normally (from my experience) when not enough RAM, you cant do anything at all
4. have you been experiencing any kernel panics? where you get a black screen and a warning. if yes, more likely bad RAM
5. launch the applications that u normally use (safari, itunes, anything). then launch something heavy (photoshop, games). take note on how long it takes to launch, whether its normal or unusually slow. now quit the heavy app and launch it again. if it still launches slow, u dont have enough RAM. if it launches quickly, but very slow during the initial launch, bad hard drive.

anyway, try to have around 30% of ur hard drive free. the less free space it has, the slower the performance. a simple reason is because OSX is using that free space to kinda help the RAM a bit (virtual memory), so the more free space, the bigger the virtual memory, the better the performance. another more technical reason is about how the hard drive doesnt need to search for the whole disk to look for data...only searching the part it knows you have stuff on.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2009, 11:23 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

simple answer: yes tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 6 2009, 12:50 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Nov 6 2009, 12:40 AM)
Hi guys,

I wanna ask is there any software that's preinstalled in Mac that is similar to "Paint" in Windows where I can edit some pictures, those "brush" and "pen" feature.
haha that was one of the first things i tried to look for in OSX when i first installed it tongue.gif

sadly, no sweat.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 6 2009, 09:19 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 6 2009, 03:26 AM)
hey thanks! very nice biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 10 2009, 12:29 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Nov 9 2009, 11:26 AM)
I know, mighty mouse is bad for me. Magic mouse not sure. Might see if I can find one to play around or not first. Thinking of the VS Nano for now.
razer orochi is nice smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 12 2009, 01:45 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Nov 11 2009, 12:29 AM)
Use Intel SSD la. OCZ slower than INTEL SSD X-25M Generation 2.  biggrin.gif
i second that smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 13 2009, 11:08 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 13 2009, 08:40 PM)
there is no mini DVI to HDMi
actually got, but i never saw one in msia. maybe have to purchase online?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 14 2009, 01:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(deadman8836 @ Nov 14 2009, 01:12 PM)
I'm using the Macbook White 13' (not the latest one).... The port is mini-DVI port isn't it? It seems like it so I don't know what to do.... Do I have to purchase a mini-DVI to DVI then plus a convertor of DVI to HDMI??

Editted: Ok, maybe I did not get this clear enough.... I was thinking of output my display to a HDMI input LCD monitor that is why I was wondering what is the best solution it can be.... Sorry bro for not explaining it clear enough....  notworthy.gif
yes its a mini-dvi port. yeah i think a mini-dvi to DVI, then DVI to HDMI combination would do the trick. if im not mistaken there was someone in this forum using this setup
dvlzplayground
post Nov 15 2009, 06:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(critter @ Nov 15 2009, 04:00 AM)
really itchy to get mbp,,,should i wait for the rumoured i7 mbp due in jan/feb? or just plunk the money for the 3.06 core 2 duo? If jan/feb apple issues the mbp with i7 then sure "tu lan" one me...!!!!!  ...so damn itchy ...smile.gif
i5 / i7 MBPs will come but no one can be sure when it'll come out. jan/feb seems likely, but not confirmed. if u dont need a new MBP now then can wait for the next update smile.gif.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 15 2009, 08:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Nov 15 2009, 06:16 PM)
ya lo.. i also so interested to get myself a macbook pro.. haih.. waiting for the next update
what if the next update still no core i7 / i5? still gonna wait? hehehe
dvlzplayground
post Nov 16 2009, 02:15 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(critter @ Nov 15 2009, 10:15 PM)
dun like that lah....sure got i7/5 one.....smile.gif Just that the battery life will take a beating lah hahahaha
that was the case with the old i7 chips. they were not really suited for notebooks. the new ones (clarksfield) are very good, and the arrandale (shud b released early next year) is a 32nm proc, meaning much better battery life. the core i7 n i5s are much better at optimizing power usage... they're pretty smart in tuning up/down the clock speed

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 16 2009, 01:44 AM)
finally got myself a macbook white LOL!
now learning learning learning >.<
hope all sifus can teach me ! lol..
even minor stuffs i also dono =S
the basic stuff you can learn at apple.com smile.gif shud b a good start
dvlzplayground
post Nov 17 2009, 11:12 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

normally Macs got no good offers on PC fairs...most of the time the free stuff are junks anyway.

screen protector is not needed, but a body protector (like speck, invisible shield, or both like me hehe) is a must to prevent awful scratches!

chewlf iwork is good but apart from keynote for presentations, i still prefer word n excel for text editing and spreadsheet. still a long way for iwork. of course this depends on ur needs.

RAM and HDD, well, upgrade if u need more. prices for these stuff will go down, so no point in buying it expensive now if u dont need it
dvlzplayground
post Nov 17 2009, 01:17 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 17 2009, 11:43 AM)
Hi dvlzplayground,

Since you use Speck, can you share with me? Is it really ok to use Speck? Actually I like Speck See-Thru Satin but I also read some review said that the dirt inside the case will scratch the body. Do you take out and clean it once in a while? Need your real experience advice.  notworthy.gif

Probably I will buy Moshi palmguard to protect the palm rest area from scratching tongue.gif

im using the moshi palmguard as well. highly recommended despite the price hehehe wink.gif

okay yeah i had some dirt inside that scratched my mbp. i used to take it out n clean inside maybe once a week, but then still got dirt inside n scratched it. also, bcuz of the frequent take out / pasang of the speck, some of the clips broke off sad.gif. in the end i applied invisible shield, put on the speck n never take it off anymore hehe
dvlzplayground
post Nov 17 2009, 03:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 17 2009, 02:17 PM)
How much did you buy the Moshi palmguard? Where did you buy it? I am yet to check out the price. Regarding Speck, I guess I need to think twice since the dirt inside will scratch the body. No point if it will still scratch the body. Maybe invest in better sleeve.  hmm.gif
RM140 from garage sales. i think the best way is to get invisible shield la for scratches... if using sleeve can still get scratches when it's not in the sleeve ;p
dvlzplayground
post Nov 17 2009, 10:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Nov 17 2009, 03:15 PM)
Invisible shield is hard to apply. I got BodyGuardz on my iPod Touch. Not really nice after stick. Maybe skill no good. tongue.gif

Added on November 17, 2009, 3:17 pm

If let say we just want to be able to read those format from Microsoft when ppl sending in email to us, will iWork capable to handle that?
yeah really is damn hard...i cant manage to apply it perfectly myself haha. well at least it protects...thats the most important thing

for simple documents, maybe letters etc, the document u make in iWork saved as .doc would appear normally in Office 2007. but for more complex stuff such as reports with lots of formatting and stuff, dont bet on it. not to say iWork...even Office 2008 for Mac sometimes doesnt turn out right in Office 2007. the best way is to use virtualization like parallels desktop or vmware fusion to install windows and Office 2007 on it. thats the only way to be sure.

of course, another way is to save to PDF from iWork...but then people cant edit it (if that's important)

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:55 AM