129 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

lilko
post Jul 23 2009, 01:24 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Jul 22 2009, 12:41 PM)
Okay, besides that. Anything else is gonna update/upgrade besides OS?
erm.. din hear anything though.. i dun think got any extra le ba..
but u can keep ur hope up.. biggrin.gif
nimrod323
post Jul 23 2009, 11:42 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jul 22 2009, 11:38 PM)
act for ACPP is good to invest for peace of mind if anything happen your Mac...

Any other major issue regarding the latest 13.3" MBP?
Was planning to purchase 1 very soon....
not that i know of,my gf's still working well.
basura
post Jul 25 2009, 01:51 AM

66 posts

Just a quick question, I have a 15" Aluminium Macbook Pro (2008 version) with NVidia 9600 GT. I've noticed when I play graphic intensive games like HAWX or Lost Remnant (on Windows of course) my Macbook becomes very very hot. I suppose as it is aluminium, heat dissipates fast that's why it's hot on the outside. But my concerns comes with graphic card burning out (or even components melting!) during an intensive gaming workout. Has anybody faced any problems so far? I'm worried about coming soon games like Assassins Creed 2 and Dragon Age: Origins. But right now I can play most games on full (although Sims 3 lag when zooming out dunno why tongue.gif). Other than that, I'm actually impressed with the Macbook Pro performance, it's like between mid and high class gaming laptop. Beats my home PC by miles smile.gif .
chuakz
post Jul 25 2009, 02:02 AM

1,192 posts

guys this might not be related to my macbook just askin opinions....why is it always that my macbook finds it hard to connect to the airport or the ethernet at home....when outside all I have to do is to plug in the cable and I'm on9....but at home...it's so hard to connect...I can wait for half an hr and no connection.....even though it shows on system preferences that I am connected to both ports...
alanelf
post Jul 25 2009, 02:04 AM

The Geek
640 posts

QUOTE(basura @ Jul 25 2009, 01:51 AM)
Just a quick question, I have a 15" Aluminium Macbook Pro (2008 version) with NVidia 9600 GT. I've noticed when I play graphic intensive games like HAWX or Lost Remnant (on Windows of course) my Macbook becomes very very hot. I suppose as it is aluminium, heat dissipates fast that's why it's hot on the outside. But my concerns comes with graphic card burning out (or even components melting!) during an intensive gaming workout. Has anybody faced any problems so far? I'm worried about coming soon games like Assassins Creed 2 and Dragon Age: Origins. But right now I can play most games on full (although Sims 3 lag when zooming out dunno why tongue.gif). Other than that, I'm actually impressed with the Macbook Pro performance, it's like between mid and high class gaming laptop. Beats my home PC by miles smile.gif .
i also want to know about this, i getting my MBP 15" 2.8ghz soon
basura
post Jul 25 2009, 02:07 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jul 25 2009, 02:02 AM)
guys this might not be related to my macbook just askin opinions....why is it always that my macbook finds it hard to connect to the airport or the ethernet at home....when outside all I have to do is to plug in the cable and I'm on9....but at home...it's so hard to connect...I can wait for half an hr and no connection.....even though it shows on system preferences that I am connected to both ports...
Might be modem problem, if ethernet got problem. Or might just be connection problem, if can try with another PC.
yi11
post Jul 25 2009, 02:22 AM

158 posts

my f1 to f9 no function properly...
when i click f5 when suft firefox,it show refresh...
normally it will show keyboard light,may i know which effect i have been change?
basura
post Jul 25 2009, 03:01 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(yi11 @ Jul 25 2009, 02:22 AM)
my f1 to f9 no function properly...
when i click f5 when suft firefox,it show refresh...
normally it will show keyboard light,may i know which effect i have been change?
Go to System Preferences, click on the Keyboard & Mouse icon, then go to the Keyboard tab. Over there there should be a check box which says "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys."
If this box is checked, by default pressing F5 would execute a function which is related to the F5 key.
If this box is empty, by default pressing F5 would execute a function which is related to the picture on your keyboard (or whatever Apple relates it to).
You would want the box to be empty.
Also, the pressing of the fn key would reverse the effects. IE: Pressing the fn + F5 key while box is checked would do a Keyboard Backlight option.

This post has been edited by basura: Jul 25 2009, 03:04 AM
arshad
post Jul 25 2009, 07:22 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

I got poisoned for the new Macbook Pro 13" sad.gif lol. Anyway, will they give the OEM disc installation? Thanks.
basura
post Jul 25 2009, 08:11 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Jul 25 2009, 07:22 PM)
I got poisoned for the new Macbook Pro 13" sad.gif lol. Anyway, will they give the OEM disc installation? Thanks.
Yes, but it will only work on Aluminium Macbook Pros. Maybe even just your model, as the 15 and 17" has different hardware.

Can anybody answer my question whether or not Aluminium Macbook Pros have burnt out graphic cards or melted components after some intense gaming (everything full for newest games except AA)
preducer
post Jul 25 2009, 09:55 PM

2,839 posts

@basura,

try refering or asking in this thread instead > http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/843514
nimrod323
post Jul 25 2009, 10:14 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Jul 25 2009, 07:22 PM)
they have been doing this for many many many many years

Added on July 25, 2009, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(basura @ Jul 25 2009, 08:11 PM)
Yes, but it will only work on Aluminium Macbook Pros. Maybe even just your model, as the 15 and 17" has different hardware.

Can anybody answer my question whether or not Aluminium Macbook Pros have burnt out graphic cards or melted components after some intense gaming (everything full for newest games except AA)
each cd kit will only work with its accompanying laptop it cant be used for another computer.

The Alu Unibody MBP as far as Applebyte is concerned,there have been no users that complained about it so far.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 25 2009, 10:16 PM
MetalZone
post Jul 25 2009, 10:17 PM

2,515 posts

basura, you can check out this thread as well. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/960634/+40
Hopefully you'll find something useful.
arshad
post Jul 25 2009, 10:48 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Sorry bro. I didn't know. First time buying apple laptop. Hehe.

Added on July 26, 2009, 5:57 pmBought my Macbook Pro at Machines, The Gardens. Kekeke.

This post has been edited by arshad: Jul 26 2009, 05:57 PM
basura
post Jul 26 2009, 06:15 PM

66 posts

To preducer, MetalZone, and Nimrod, thanks for helping out. It's common to think that laptops (especially hot ones like these) can burn their graphics cards and components out. After further research however, I found that this such occurrence is extremely rare and is actually non-existent in the Macbook line-up.
I've noticed that my laptop gets hot real quick, but loses heat just as quick. This is to say, its safe to believe that "hot" is how the laptop should be when its using a lot of resources. And also, whenever temperature exceeds a certain limit, the resources will halt and the application would crash, giving ample of time for it to lose heat again. Think of it like the laptop is getting tired, just give it time to rest.
To Macbook Pro gamers, remember to keep the back of the macbook (underneath the screen, where the ventilation is) well ventilated. Elevate your Macbook if possible, or play it on a material which dissipates heat fast. I play mine on an Ikea glass table, it runs well as heat is dissipated quickly. When I move to a wooden table or put it on something like a cushion, it overheats quickly.

This post has been edited by basura: Jul 26 2009, 06:16 PM
lb2k9
post Jul 26 2009, 07:40 PM

hi, here's a simple step by step tutorial on how to change harddrives in a macbook.

It's not that hard and only takes little of your time!

Good Luck!!

http://computerticket.blogspot.com/2009/07...k-drive-in.html

nimrod323
post Jul 26 2009, 07:42 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(lb2k9 @ Jul 26 2009, 07:40 PM)
hi, here's a simple step by step tutorial on how to change harddrives in a macbook.

It's not that hard and only takes little of your time!

Good Luck!!

http://computerticket.blogspot.com/2009/07...k-drive-in.html

thats a very old topic to comment on haha
chypher
post Jul 26 2009, 11:04 PM

859 posts

my earphone dock got problem. Is like when I plug in my earphone, i need to turn and twist the "connector" to get the right sound. it seems loose.

Should I claim for warranty? I just got my mac in May.
jind86
post Jul 26 2009, 11:44 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(chypher @ Jul 26 2009, 11:04 PM)
my earphone dock got problem. Is like when I plug in my earphone, i need to turn and twist the "connector" to get the right sound. it seems loose.

Should I claim for warranty? I just got my mac in May.
yes you should.. provided you're sure its not your earphone thats the problem.. your iPod should not have that kind of issue..
cRazYee
post Jul 26 2009, 11:55 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(basura @ Jul 25 2009, 01:51 AM)
because the whole thin is aluminum, heat expose to everywhere, alu is heat conductor
unlikey other laptop build from plastic, you wont feel the heat cuz plastic is not good heat conductor

maybe you get external keyboard while play games

it happen the same in my mac (perhaps same maybe), get a cooler pad

129 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:13 PM