QUOTE(lawl @ Oct 23 2009, 01:48 AM)
yeah the ac adapter. there will b an extension to plug into the white square thing before connecting into the plug.plug this into the white square thing before connecting to the plug.
Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
Oct 23 2009, 02:01 AM
2,197 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(lawl @ Oct 23 2009, 01:48 AM) yeah the ac adapter. there will b an extension to plug into the white square thing before connecting into the plug.plug this into the white square thing before connecting to the plug. |
Oct 23 2009, 07:18 AM
2,642 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
Oct 23 2009, 08:11 AM
112 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
i got the same experience on my alu body, but it only happened to me when i unplug the charger and running with the time machine with firewire plugged. no problem when it's in charging...
Oct 23 2009, 08:41 AM
1,484 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 22 2009, 11:01 PM) @Kernkraft400, hahaha... don't make me laugh XDU don't haf to keep telling people that U just got an MBP and don't want Apple to update their products. If Apple don't keep coming up with new re-engineered products, how then do u think they're going to be doing so well in their profits?! anyway, Apple, Inc considered quite good already. I dunno if i'm right or not, i found out that others brands update thier product like, how many N times in half a year? |
Oct 23 2009, 09:47 AM
1,359 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Hmm, just now when i pointing my mouse over my dock there, the dock dint enlarge and those expose functions are all off. Then i decided to restart my it, but it stuck at the shutting down screen for quite a time. So i press my power button to force it off, but then when i trying to switch it on again, my mac stuck at the white apple screen for few mins. the loading circle is not moving at all. And i do force it off and switch it on. luckily this time my mac back to normal. just want to ask that is this thing caused by 72hours running of machine?
Oct 23 2009, 10:05 AM
197 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ginolo @ Oct 23 2009, 09:47 AM) Hmm, just now when i pointing my mouse over my dock there, the dock dint enlarge and those expose functions are all off. Then i decided to restart my it, but it stuck at the shutting down screen for quite a time. So i press my power button to force it off, but then when i trying to switch it on again, my mac stuck at the white apple screen for few mins. the loading circle is not moving at all. And i do force it off and switch it on. luckily this time my mac back to normal. just want to ask that is this thing caused by 72hours running of machine? Emm...it could be many reasons behide to cause this problem.....sometime is bcoz ur motherboard is overheated...and sometime is bcoz ur HDD.....and it also possible there is some crash with ur RAM......emm....just be aware of it....if it is only happen once....then is ok....if quite often then need to send for servicing and checking... |
Oct 23 2009, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(ginolo @ Oct 23 2009, 09:47 AM) Hmm, just now when i pointing my mouse over my dock there, the dock dint enlarge and those expose functions are all off. Then i decided to restart my it, but it stuck at the shutting down screen for quite a time. So i press my power button to force it off, but then when i trying to switch it on again, my mac stuck at the white apple screen for few mins. the loading circle is not moving at all. And i do force it off and switch it on. luckily this time my mac back to normal. just want to ask that is this thing caused by 72hours running of machine? 72hrs non stop? my machine is already on for 7d 20h~ |
Oct 23 2009, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(chowdm @ Oct 23 2009, 10:05 AM) Emm...it could be many reasons behide to cause this problem.....sometime is bcoz ur motherboard is overheated...and sometime is bcoz ur HDD.....and it also possible there is some crash with ur RAM......emm....just be aware of it....if it is only happen once....then is ok....if quite often then need to send for servicing and checking... I see, thanks for the information. if its the heat problem, then i probably need the smfan2 d. |
Oct 23 2009, 04:28 PM
Okay, i got some question now. I'm already installed the smc fan2. Just want to ask that will my fan speed auto adjust once the temp is going up? or its already turned to manual?
Oct 23 2009, 05:29 PM
3,749 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Sydney, AU |
QUOTE(chizzu @ Oct 22 2009, 11:18 PM) if you notice the new iMacs with Core i5/i7 processor is riding with ATI Radeon HD 4850 graphic card Supposedly no more Nvidia chipset at least for now. Nvidia has issued a temporary stop on chipset development for future Intel processors until the licensing dispute is resolved.So i guess no nvidia chipset for Core i5/i7 QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 23 2009, 12:57 AM) thx i just noticed that. so what's the chipset for the core i5/i7 models? I suspect it is an Intel chipset. Anyway only Intel has chipset for its i5/i7 processors, no one else has an idea on its QPI bus technology. So it has to be an Intel chipset. There reasons why i5 is not available for mid-end products maybe due to price of the i5 and the contract between Apple and Nvidia to use its chipsets and integrated GPU. For high-end products, Apple usually slap in a dedicated graphics card, so they are not restricted to a chipset with integrated GPU. So they are free to venture elsewhere.if intel were to replace the 9400M, lets hope its a better chipset. if it isnt, well, im expecting a price cut ;p i agree that the macbook is priced too near to the 13" mbp. with the 13" mbp at that price range, i think apply shud've priced the macbook lower so those PC types cant talk abt apple tax hehe. but no battery indicator? wuts up with that? I think Intel chipsets are anytime better than 3rd party designs. After all they know their processor architecture and platform inside out. Its only their integrated GPU that sucks big time. They know that they are at a disadvantage because of all those API standards. After all, Intel is not in the business of making graphics card. That is why they decided to re-invent the wheel with the introduction of x86 programming for graphics namely Larrabee project. They are big and influential and they can afford to do this. Nvidia and ATI has to follow what Microsoft says on the Direct X QUOTE(lawl @ Oct 23 2009, 01:42 AM) Erm. Guys i have a question. After using my mbp for a while, the alu part except track pad got something like electric current like that. Hmm.. How to say it ar.. Like moving my skin on the alu part, feel a bit vibration. Is that common? I think I feel that several times. At first notice, I think its the surface of the aluminum being anodized. And when you slide your fingers over them, it will jump since its not really smooth. Don't think its electric current. Imagine such an event! It would be disastrous. If you have opened up the MBP before, you'll see that all the crucial compartments are layered with insulation materials for heat and conductivity (those black stickers stickers). The aluminum unibody construction not only acts as a heat conductor but also as a large ground plane and ESD protection. The power circuitry are completely isolated from everywhere and only interfaces with the magsafe. If you really feel a charge, best is to switch power point and location. Or tryout a new extension cable. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:46 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
its static. im pretty sure its a common issue.
Oct 23 2009, 11:11 PM
314 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(diners @ Oct 23 2009, 03:20 PM) Wow what did you do with your mac Mbp is amazing, I don't hear any fan sound(maybe new laptops are mostly like that) nor feel anything blowing out from the laptop. I am not really a laptop user until now, and I was from windows. So this is my first laptop and my first mac tinkerbel> Wow amazing I don't know why but I just laugh when my program crashes on mbp |
Oct 24 2009, 12:43 AM
2,642 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
well, it will cool down eventually
not big deal |
Oct 24 2009, 12:45 AM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 24 2009, 02:33 AM
372 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: O.U.G |
Lol! yea... any program could crash.
Ppl claim that "mac doesn't crash or get virus" is probably a lie. Maybe the proper way to define mac is "it is less likely to crash or get virus". It may happen but not as often as on a windows PC. =) |
Oct 24 2009, 02:39 AM
QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Oct 24 2009, 02:33 AM) Lol! yea... any program could crash. Yeap, thats true. My mac is around 2months age and only crash once and its today. Haha, found pc virus in my pendrive that day but the virus cant affect me Ppl claim that "mac doesn't crash or get virus" is probably a lie. Maybe the proper way to define mac is "it is less likely to crash or get virus". It may happen but not as often as on a windows PC. =) |
Oct 24 2009, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(ginolo @ Oct 24 2009, 02:39 AM) Yeap, thats true. My mac is around 2months age and only crash once and its today. Haha, found pc virus in my pendrive that day but the virus cant affect me Yeah no matter how reliable or robust the hardware or the OS is, if a problem is not coded correctly or encounter a memory fault... things will get stuck sometimes. No biggie. The question should be how does the OS handles such events. A good OS should keep the rest operational while isolating the 'crashed' program giving the option for the user to quickly save important files or just restart the program. Still we can't run away from a kernel panic in an event the driver kicks the bucket hehehehe... |
Oct 24 2009, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(SheepMekk @ Oct 23 2009, 11:11 PM) Wow what did you do with your mac nope, not afraid of getting hot. the mini little fan will run up to 6200rpm to cool my system down.Mbp is amazing, I don't hear any fan sound(maybe new laptops are mostly like that) nor feel anything blowing out from the laptop. I am not really a laptop user until now, and I was from windows. So this is my first laptop and my first mac tinkerbel> Wow amazing I don't know why but I just laugh when my program crashes on mbp and last time i get freaked out and nervous that my uMB will burst or something, but oh well... i don't really care anymore, cuz i know its reliable my mac crashes a few times. most time (or can say everytime?) is crash on safari... oh wait.. no crash.. just lag.. OH YA!! sifus.... wonder why sometimes i send songs via email using MAIL app in my uMB, after i attach the song, the whole MAIL app will hang and unfortunately, i need to force quit it. why? |
Oct 24 2009, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(diners @ Oct 24 2009, 10:13 AM) nope, not afraid of getting hot. the mini little fan will run up to 6200rpm to cool my system down. Hmmm are you sending a legit song? Just joking hehehe... I don't think it hanged. Its just not responding because its attempting to upload the file onto the email server. And we know our upload links are slow, so its waiting for it to finish. Give it some minutes? But I agree... this shouldn't happen. I'm using Entourage and I don't see such a problem. and last time i get freaked out and nervous that my uMB will burst or something, but oh well... i don't really care anymore, cuz i know its reliable my mac crashes a few times. most time (or can say everytime?) is crash on safari... oh wait.. no crash.. just lag.. OH YA!! sifus.... wonder why sometimes i send songs via email using MAIL app in my uMB, after i attach the song, the whole MAIL app will hang and unfortunately, i need to force quit it. why? |
Oct 24 2009, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Oct 24 2009, 12:56 PM) Hmmm are you sending a legit song? Just joking hehehe... I don't think it hanged. Its just not responding because its attempting to upload the file onto the email server. And we know our upload links are slow, so its waiting for it to finish. Give it some minutes? But I agree... this shouldn't happen. I'm using Entourage and I don't see such a problem. the beach ball just occurs after i select the song to attach, i wonder why. but oh well, i just don't send songs that all. haha. Added on October 24, 2009, 2:59 pmi realize something.. last time b4 i install SL.... when playing facebook with external monitor, clamshell closed... the fan will go up to 6200rpm and 60'c even clamshell open with internal screen also around that... but now, same thing but in SL.... external monitor, clamshell closed, fan is 6200rpm and 50'c+ only and clamshell open with internal screen, fan is 3200rpm+ and 50'c.... cool? javascript:emoticon(':blush:') This post has been edited by diners: Oct 24 2009, 02:59 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:50 PM |