ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

Someonesim
post Jul 25 2009, 06:41 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 25 2009, 06:14 PM)
for Intel laptops, high FSB with low RAM speed or vice versa is bad... best is when FSB and RAM are of the same speed...

for AMD, it's all abt RAM speed... the faster RAM u ve, the more bandwidth u ve... that's y gamers and servers would like to use AMD also...
agree with both feet up. Becoz intel and amd had different memory controller. Intel had best combination when both same speed to eliminate bottleneck on whether side. AMD which having better experience in designing memory controller embedded.
InFe_eD
post Jul 25 2009, 07:12 PM

Can you imagine?
929 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 25 2009, 04:03 PM)
Generally DDR3 > DDR2 - Its memory speed

Think of it is BMW 3 series (DDR2) vs BMW 7 series (DDR3). Generally DDR3 is faster , and it just beats the crap out of DDR2 - in terms of power consumption , speed and such
Generally, you are right, but keep in mind higher speed resulted in loosen memory timing too, which mean not much different in the end, at least for now.

Added on July 25, 2009, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 25 2009, 06:41 PM)
agree with both feet up. Becoz intel and amd had different memory controller. Intel had best combination when both same speed to eliminate bottleneck on whether side. AMD which having better experience in designing memory controller embedded.
Well, Intel just rip-off the AMD Hyper-Transport and name it QPI or whatever on their i7, i5 and i3.
Which mean AMD have nothing to fight with intel now..... The olny thing they can do is cut, cut and cut their cpu price to remain competitive, Which is good for us, consumers laugh.gif

Added on July 25, 2009, 7:19 pm
QUOTE(Batusai @ Jul 25 2009, 12:17 AM)
lolz.. so Turion will be a much better offer.. but wonder why its not available in malaysia.. uh.. any chance there will be ppl offering turion in pc fair? a singapore company? lolz..

i have zero knowledge on the processor stuffs.. haha.. all i know turion saves mroe power and cooler eh..

well.. rm300-400.. it cost quite a sum eh.. i guess.. im left with pirated vista as choice..
Turion and Athlon have almost the same performance. Keep in mind only the Turion ultra ZM series have larger L2 cache, the normal turion have only 1mb L2cache just like their Athlon brother.

This post has been edited by InFe_eD: Jul 25 2009, 07:19 PM
astria
post Jul 25 2009, 07:27 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

Athlon is 512KB only la... laugh.gif

anyway, for K8, it's the speed that matters, the cache doesn't help much... if u notice, the 90nm Windsor K8 has got more cache than the newer 65nm Brisbane K8, but for the same model number, Brisbane is 100MHz faster...

Turion x2 Ultra mainly is to refine the production process to push the speed further...

only when u go into K10 with shared cache then it's good...

This post has been edited by astria: Jul 25 2009, 07:27 PM
royfsc
post Jul 25 2009, 07:41 PM

111 posts

Just bought K50AB from lyp, thought going to install win xp, any sifu-sifu here could guide me to the SATA hitachi driver?? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
sheikomatic
post Jul 25 2009, 07:45 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(sheikomatic @ Jul 25 2009, 04:27 PM)
can i know the memory type of the k40ab 4570? cant find it

is it DDR2, DDR3 or GDDR3..
QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 25 2009, 05:09 PM)
And yet you include GDDR3 inside which was impossible since is a graphic memory type.
I'm not asking the RAM, I'm asking about the type of VRAM on the 4570..
is it DDR2, DDR3 or GDDR3.. its depends to the manufacturer to choose which one..

anyone knows about the type of VRAM on the k40ab?

InFe_eD
post Jul 25 2009, 07:46 PM

Can you imagine?
929 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 25 2009, 07:27 PM)

Ummm ok, maybe i shud be more specific sweat.gif

Athlon QL = 512kbx2 L2cache = 1mb total
Turion RM = '''''''''''''''''''same''''''''''''''''''''

Turion Ultra ZM = 1mbx2 l2cache = 2mb total

Now I hope there would be no more people asking about why only athlon and no turion......... doh.gif

TSNajmods
post Jul 25 2009, 07:47 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 25 2009, 07:27 PM)

anyway, for K8, it's the speed that matters, the cache doesn't help much... if u notice, the 90nm Windsor K8 has got more cache than the newer 65nm Brisbane K8, but for the same model number, Brisbane is 100MHz faster...

Turion x2 Ultra mainly is to refine the production process to push the speed further...

only when u go into K10 with shared cache then it's good...
Clock to clock the Windsor is faster, since it has lower CPU cycle to fetch data from L2 cache, it only took 12-13 cycle tested using CPU-Z latency check,
Brisbane is supposed to have larger cache than Windsor in the first place but somehow they don't implement it, maybe the performance difference is not huge. When I check the QL-64 latency it reaches 20 cycle sweat.gif

I've play a bit with k50AB just now, spec is the same but its way too big and slightly too heavy for me, and the IQ is not as good as the 14". Price is the same, I guess they cut LCD quality to maintain same pricing as k40

QUOTE(sheikomatic @ Jul 25 2009, 07:45 PM)
is it DDR2, DDR3 or GDDR3.. its depends to the manufacturer to choose which one..

Its DDR2, with 500MHz (1GHz effective) speed

This post has been edited by Najmods: Jul 25 2009, 07:49 PM
InFe_eD
post Jul 25 2009, 07:49 PM

Can you imagine?
929 posts

QUOTE(sheikomatic @ Jul 25 2009, 07:45 PM)

IIRC, Najmod told me that 4570 on the k40ab is using ddr2 Vram, not that it make much different anyway, with its puny 64 bit bus-width....
OrenDUTt
post Jul 25 2009, 11:05 PM

so for k40ab, is it worth to add ram?
DoubleU
post Jul 25 2009, 11:10 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

hm... so the K50AB has arrived as well.. how's the temperature like?
astria
post Jul 25 2009, 11:24 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(OrenDUTt @ Jul 25 2009, 11:05 PM)
so for k40ab, is it worth to add ram?
depends on wat u do...

normally 2GB is pretty sufficient for day-to-day use and light gaming...
OrenDUTt
post Jul 25 2009, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 25 2009, 11:24 PM)
depends on wat u do...

normally 2GB is pretty sufficient for day-to-day use and light gaming...
lol. thaNks.. just got this lappie..happiii with it~ just too shiny liao.. left so many fingerprints on it..
TSNajmods
post Jul 26 2009, 12:34 AM

5,211 posts

2GB is sufficient, unless you multitask (opens boatload of programs at the same time). I got not enough memory at one time, when I open 50+ tabs in Firefox and decided to play Crysis while the browser is still in the background, during the game, it gives lack of memory. I doubt you'll do what I do, but if you does, buying 4GB now is a good bet, since DDR3 is becoming mainstream and DDR2 prices will going to raise because of it
dennis_san
post Jul 26 2009, 06:06 AM

508 posts

WTT>My Asus K40AB (brought on 24/07/09) to urs Asus K50AB pm me if interest....
astria
post Jul 26 2009, 07:33 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(dennis_san @ Jul 26 2009, 06:06 AM)
laugh.gif... so fast got such things already ah...
Xehanort
post Jul 26 2009, 07:59 AM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jul 26 2009, 12:34 AM)
2GB is sufficient, unless you multitask (opens boatload of programs at the same time). I got not enough memory at one time, when I open 50+ tabs in Firefox and decided to play Crysis while the browser is still in the background, during the game, it gives lack of memory. I doubt you'll do what I do, but if you does, buying 4GB now is a good bet, since DDR3 is becoming mainstream and DDR2 prices will going to raise because of it
im surprise to read tat shocking.gif isn't it kinda difficult to change tab when u have open many tabs
btw, for me
2GB ram enuf
3GB ram useful when u suddenly multitasking
4GB, basically the extra 1GB useless unless u go for 64bit & other heavy application

both is similar hmm.gif u r not satisfy with the temperature?
astria
post Jul 26 2009, 08:12 AM

22,158 posts

it doesn't hurt to get more... moreover, we re now at the pt where DDR2 is being phased out... prices ve already rise from the lowest time earliest this yr... so it will juz get more ex...
ic3rock
post Jul 26 2009, 09:07 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

blink.gif cool, but how much u wanna to add on? Rm500? whistling.gif

TSNajmods
post Jul 26 2009, 09:23 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(Xehanort @ Jul 26 2009, 07:59 AM)
im surprise to read tat shocking.gif isn't it kinda difficult to change tab when u have open many tabs
btw, for me
2GB ram enuf
3GB ram useful when u suddenly multitasking
4GB, basically the extra 1GB useless unless u go for 64bit & other heavy application
I've got used to open so many tabs for years now, with Tab Mix Plus its easier, but of course you need a mouse, touchpad would be PITA

Going for 3GB is silly, since the price of 2GB RAM is cheap why settle for 1GB? Plus you have slight speed boost because enabling dual channel when run 2x2GB
Xehanort
post Jul 26 2009, 09:32 AM

1,002 posts

thanks for suggestion
now i stick with 3GB 1st coz i not really need so much
maybe will buy another one on Dec

125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled