973 posts

can i replace this lappy hdd with ssd?
sendoh_7
post Aug 17 2009, 08:58 AM

520 posts

hello all,

i'm the latest K40AB proud owner..
currently using vista ultimate and so far so goooood!
lchan
post Aug 17 2009, 10:45 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(NoirReaver @ Aug 16 2009, 10:16 PM)
Yes, I have changed from Powerxpress to dGPU in BIOS, still BSOD.

Is the sound really normal? Cause it sounds like something can really fly out from the drive bay...
I really think that if I place the laptop in a room and have the door locked, I can still hear the sound...

Thanks anyway javascript:emoticon(':D')
If its really load and your loading times are slowing down, possibly your HDD is dying. Regardless, there are some HDD that are extremely noisy. While my K50AB is quiet, i have another laptop that sounds embarassing in a quiet room. You will need ot make that decision on whether to send it in for a check.

Possible your ATI drivers giving you BSOD? Use vista, it works like a charm.
garsenal
post Aug 17 2009, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(NoirReaver @ Aug 16 2009, 06:01 PM)
Sorry, seems that Smart Login does not work on XP...

But you can have a look here http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread...t=225991&page=4.

Btw, may I know your buying price and where are you from?
tq!its just rm1999,seducing me with athlon x2 n ati graphic biggrin.gif ,n im from jb
exanaxe
post Aug 17 2009, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(NoirReaver @ Aug 16 2009, 01:03 AM)
Just bought a ASUS K50AB from The Hub, 3rd Floor, Lowyat Plaza today.  biggrin.gif

RM 1940, that is with the whole box + 1 gb ram addition.

In All IT, there is only one display unit left, price RM 1870

To open the back cover, only 5 screws need to be unscrewed. 4 at the front + one at the battery area

That is so much more better that trying to force my v3828AU cover from opening...
I got a second Asus K50AB for my bro biggrin.gif Got it from All-IT Lowyat, rm1999 with 2gb extra RAM (total 4GB) and charged to credit card without any extra charges wink.gif

luv this baby!
NoirReaver
post Aug 17 2009, 10:50 PM

46 posts

biggrin.gif Ya, the ATI Radeon HD 4570 really is sweet.

Switched to Vista Ultimate too. But faced a lot of problems during installation...

When installing, switch the SATA mode to Native IDE in the BIOS... or the installation will face BSODs...

For those who have 3Gb ram, try to remove your extra 1gb ram if you face BSODs during installation, that *Might* be the cause of the problem.

Added on August 17, 2009, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(lchan @ Aug 17 2009, 10:45 AM)
If its really load and your loading times are slowing down, possibly your HDD is dying. Regardless, there are some HDD that are extremely noisy. While my K50AB is quiet, i have another laptop that sounds embarassing in a quiet room. You will need ot make that decision on whether to send it in for a check.

Possible your ATI drivers giving you BSOD? Use vista, it works like a charm.
Sorry, it was the DVD drive which is giving the loud noise. Weirdly enough, when installing Vista, the DVD drive is nice and quiet. laugh.gif

Thank you for the feedback anyway biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by NoirReaver: Aug 17 2009, 10:58 PM
superdog
post Aug 17 2009, 11:11 PM

151 posts

juz bought two from jb pcfair....1899, freebie is cooling pad
haha,cheaper than kl pcfair
darchangel
post Aug 17 2009, 11:11 PM

From what i know,Native IDE is for installing XP only, how come you need to change to NativeIDE when installing vista?
NoirReaver
post Aug 17 2009, 11:15 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(darchangel @ Aug 17 2009, 11:11 PM)
From what i know,Native IDE is for installing XP only, how come you need to change to NativeIDE when installing vista?
What happen is when I switch away from Native IDE, I will face BSOD even when logging into Vista...

Can anyone help me on this matter? tongue.gif
miahahaha
post Aug 17 2009, 11:33 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

try updating your AHCI...maybe can solve your problem when switch back to AHCI rather than use IDE...
User_Xp
post Aug 18 2009, 12:47 AM

973 posts

just get this lappy yesterday

when installing vista,many times stuck at `completing installation proses`

after many2 time tried...i succes to install vista

i just change to native ide and dgpu
zax2_z
post Aug 18 2009, 09:41 AM

91 posts

Anyone know where to get this babe in Kuching? blink.gif
miahahaha
post Aug 18 2009, 09:44 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

i tot someone said you can get it at PC City in Kuching but don't remember who...maybe you can try search back a few post..
simonsii
post Aug 18 2009, 11:13 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(zax2_z @ Aug 18 2009, 09:41 AM)
Anyone know where to get this babe in Kuching?  blink.gif
I got my K50AB from PC City, Kuching with RM1999. I don't want freebie, so they gave me a special price for my Edifier S2.1M.
For your info, PC City is authorized Sarawak Distributor for Asus Notebook & Edifier Speaker.

astria
post Aug 18 2009, 11:19 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(NoirReaver @ Aug 18 2009, 01:15 AM)
What happen is when I switch away from Native IDE, I will face BSOD even when logging into Vista...

Can anyone help me on this matter? tongue.gif
ui think u installed Vista under Native IDE mode... that's y Vista never copied the AHCI driver during installation...

that's the only reason i can think of...

maybe try installing the chipset driver under safe mode??? not sure if it will work this way though...

anyway, dun need to be so troubled by it la.. afaik, performance difference between the 2 modes is minimal...

This post has been edited by astria: Aug 18 2009, 11:20 AM
hasuji
post Aug 18 2009, 11:19 AM

38 posts

Hi everyone.. im new here.. biggrin.gif
yesterday i bought this lovely baby K50AB..
As follow the guide from 1st page I managed to install Win Xp and drivers.
However there is few prob occurs:

1. whenever i start windows for the first time, the Loading seems takes sometime to load ( i would say almost a minute) then
only the hard disk can be detect. the pict below shows right after i loading windows and try to open My Computer

2. The 2nd prob is when i open Camera using normal wizard or Lifeframe it seems that the screen is on REVERSE view..
i dont know what the prob really is.. pls refer below picture.. (kind funny)

3. it state here that this lappy comes with Red Flag Linux..
can i just delete it? or does it important so i dont need to delete?

Thanks in advance for any helps or comments.. icon_rolleyes.gif
astria
post Aug 18 2009, 11:22 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

1) try do housekeeping like defrag, ccleaner and stuff...

2) afaik, u can reverse it back for any webcam... look under Settings or sth...

3) it's up to u... if u ve no plan to use Linux, juz format it...
hasuji
post Aug 18 2009, 11:40 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Aug 18 2009, 12:22 PM)
1) try do housekeeping like defrag, ccleaner and stuff...

2) afaik, u can reverse it back for any webcam... look under Settings or sth...

3) it's up to u... if u ve no plan to use Linux, juz format it...
thanks for the advise dude.. will try right away and post the result later.. smile.gif
SUSsidefeast
post Aug 18 2009, 12:28 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(hasuji @ Aug 18 2009, 11:19 AM)
2. The 2nd prob is when i open Camera using normal wizard or Lifeframe it seems that the screen is on REVERSE view..
i dont know what the prob really is.. pls refer below picture.. (kind funny)

just install the webcam driver and it'll be fixed. driver can be found at page 46. or maybe 48.

Regarding the delayed load, i think its because of the Avira. u hav to wait till the umbrella at the tray open first before u can access any file on my computer. i hav the same prob also and i nvr know how to solve it. i dont think its about housekeeping though. anyone?

Guys. I have serious situation here.

Since i first switch on this laptop, i never bother anything bout the user account setting at the control panel. But just now, i clicked on it and created another administrator user and put up a password on every activated account. Then i see there are 2 administrators user, the one i just created, and another one i use to create the 1st one (which name cannot be changed. it is fixed as 'administrator'). Then when i restart the laptop, i cant by any way re-access the original administrator, only the new one is available to be selected.

Thus, i cant access everything in that user when im in the new particular admin acc. How can i access back the old admin? i need to print an assignment. must submit in half an hour rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sidefeast: Aug 18 2009, 12:31 PM
ayeen_83
post Aug 18 2009, 01:31 PM

@ hasuji

1. for webcam i think u need to install or check the driver again..
2. for the load thing sorry i dont know never experience before..

This post has been edited by ayeen_83: Aug 18 2009, 01:33 PM

125 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:43 AM