79 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Movies Horror Movies, Discussing and Sharing Frights!!

Hackezkk
post Nov 1 2010, 08:13 PM

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~
1,959 posts

The Last House On The Left [2009]
that movie is good...

Anyone watched Dead Silence? James Wan (Saw 1 director) horror movie?
de4thscythell
post Nov 1 2010, 08:26 PM

in progress
1,941 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ Nov 1 2010, 08:13 PM)
that movie is good...

Dead Silence.. the one that cut your tongue if you scream?

Scary wooden puppet sweat.gif

Nice movie. The ending was so shocking! ohmy.gif
Oceanic6
post Nov 1 2010, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(de4thscythell @ Nov 1 2010, 08:26 PM)
Dead Silence.. the one that cut your tongue if you scream?

Scary wooden puppet  sweat.gif

Nice movie. The ending was so shocking!  ohmy.gif
Awful movie, watched it in theater at a screening with the director presence. Kinda felt asleep, I felt bad....
TSMov_freak
post Nov 2 2010, 09:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Blade II (2002)

Say what you want about Guillermo del Toro, there is always something ORGANIC about his works!

Have anyone here watched his Chronos! Blood Brilliant (That's right Quickfire, I LUV that movie tongue.gif)

Having just finished watching Blade II, here are several observations

1) If they manufacture the batteries that Blade use for the solar bombs, everything we use would rely on Solar energy, and we would have the
pollution issue licked!!

2) The people who you think are baddies usually end up not so bad. The people that you think are not bad turns up bad (kinda like real life)

3) I wonder if Donnie Yen was behind the action/kung fu choreography for his movie!! smile.gif

My Two Sen
yaser352
post Nov 3 2010, 02:05 AM

just pass by to say paranormal act 2 is S**T
irisong
post Nov 8 2010, 04:35 PM

should watch

Wrong Turn series.. is awesome
The Hills Have Eyes series... cool
Saw series... damm good
TSMov_freak
post Nov 8 2010, 10:11 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

30 Days of Night: Dark Days (2010)

Is a Perfect example of why sequel may not necessary be a good idea...

It is so mediocre and the ending....

*Sigh*

(In case it was not clear to you Quickfire, this movie SUCKS!!! Er... no pun intended!! tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 29 2014, 11:55 AM
TSMov_freak
post Nov 25 2010, 12:36 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Hole (2010)

Hey anyone here watched The Hole before?

I'm watching it now and it is actually very spooky!!

I wonder why this movie doesn't do more at the box office...

Lovers of Chucky will love it.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 29 2014, 11:56 AM
n00b13
post Nov 25 2010, 01:26 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 25 2010, 12:36 AM)
The Hole (2010)

Hey anyone here watched The Hole before?

I'm watching it now and it is actually very spooky!!

I wonder why this movie doesn't do more at the box office...

Lovers of Chucky will love it.

My Two Sen
I thought it started out great but ended up quite meh. My review is here.

TSMov_freak
post Nov 25 2010, 11:23 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Nov 25 2010, 01:26 AM)
I thought it started out great but ended up quite meh. My review is here.
Gosh, movie nowadays are changing everyone to sheep.... tongue.gif

You are right, the ending is weak.

Was surprising to see Joe Dante's name shooting out at me, at the end!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 25 2010, 11:24 AM
CargoCult
post Nov 25 2010, 11:30 AM

230 posts

I re-watched one of my favorite sci-fi horrors recently - Event Horizon. Supremely under rated. Check it out if you haven't already seen it. For fans of Alien/Aliens and other spooky outer space films.
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 25 2010, 02:18 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(Hackezkk @ Nov 1 2010, 08:13 PM)
that movie is good...

Dead Silence is a crap movie. Period.

Started off pretty well, but after the first 15 minutes, it sucked so bad.
CargoCult
post Nov 25 2010, 04:15 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Forum Goon @ Nov 25 2010, 02:58 PM)
all us horror movies are complete trash. the last good horror movie i saw was Sam Raimi's Drag Me to Hell, although the recent Devil was good also. Oh and yeah Pranormal Activity was kinda good too.

europe is equally trash also. Most of them are basically just brainless gore/torture porn like Forntiers and Martyrs.

asian horror movies are even worse. every movie has a long-haired, white dressed lady ghost. And the plot is always the same; some vengeful ghost haunting a certain object/place and seeks retribution. Every asian horror movie is like this.

So far Thailand is the king of good horror movies. Movies like Shutter, Alone, Coming Soon, and especially the 4bia series are textbooks at how to make a good horror movie, although lately they've been a surge of crappy thai horror movies.
I agree with you for the most part, however, I think you're short-selling European cinema, slightly. 28 days later (I'd class this as a horror) pretty much re-booted the entire zombie franchise. Suddenly all zombies were now quick, agile and maniacs. The Descent was awesome (the sequel, not so much) it wasn't rushed, you felt a connection with the characters, and then BAM, things start to get crazy. Creep, Dog Soldiers, Isolation, The Orphanage, The Devils Backbone are equally good films, with a good atmosphere and good build up.

The gore/torture genre brought a sense of 'real' horror to viewers. You might not be scared of a monster as you think they're not real, but someone torturing someone else, you can feel that.

Asian horror, I agree is played out. The long haired ghost needs to be put to bed. Thai horror has been good, but now it's become popular, it's become saturated with crappy stories and directors looking for some quick profit.

There's an Australian film called Wolf Creek, not sure if people would class it as a horror, but it's worth a watch because it gets intense.

ray148
post Nov 25 2010, 04:27 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 25 2010, 02:18 PM)
Dead Silence is a crap movie. Period.

Started off pretty well, but after the first 15 minutes, it sucked so bad.
i kinda like it...horror movie with unexpected the twist in the end is always good in my book...

QUOTE(CargoCult @ Nov 25 2010, 04:15 PM)
I agree with you for the most part, however, I think you're short-selling European cinema, slightly. 28 days later (I'd class this as a horror) pretty much re-booted the entire zombie franchise. Suddenly all zombies were now quick, agile and maniacs. The Descent was awesome (the sequel, not so much) it wasn't rushed, you felt a connection with the characters, and then BAM, things start to get crazy. Creep, Dog Soldiers, Isolation, The Orphanage, The Devils Backbone are equally good films, with a good atmosphere and good build up.

There's an Australian film called Wolf Creek, not sure if people would class it as a horror, but it's worth a watch because it gets intense.
dun forget french movie High Tension...very violent n disturbing with wtf ending...

Wolf Creek is pretty good too...make me scared to go australia... laugh.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 25 2010, 08:28 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

I think ive watched enough movies to actually expect what people usually deemed unexpected. im not boasting. tongue.gif im no movie-buff... but American Horror films really like to use up the same shit for every movie.

I can understand why some people dont appreciate the uniqueness of Drag Me To Hell. Coz its really about Sam Raimi coming back with an Evil-Dead like feel to the movie, which I found really good.

I heard WolfCreek is pretty good despite the bad reviews but I havent watch it. haha.

Modern day (in recent times) horror films (Asian and American and anything else) generally lack any scary elements.

Take for instance, Let Me In (albeit a remake), I felt was really poor in terms of a horror movie. What a horror film should be is one that leave the audience with the scare implanted in their minds even after theyve left the cinema. I found 'Tale of Two Sisters (korean)' really creepy. smile.gif
TSMov_freak
post Nov 30 2010, 02:22 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 25 2010, 08:28 PM)
I think ive watched enough movies to actually expect what people usually deemed unexpected. im not boasting. tongue.gif im no movie-buff... but American Horror films really like to use up the same shit for every movie.

I can understand why some people dont appreciate the uniqueness of Drag Me To Hell. Coz its really about Sam Raimi coming back with an Evil-Dead like feel to the movie, which I found really good.

I heard WolfCreek is pretty good despite the bad reviews but I havent watch it. haha.

Modern day (in recent times) horror films (Asian and American and anything else) generally lack any scary elements.

Take for instance, Let Me In (albeit a remake), I felt was really poor in terms of a horror movie. What a horror film should be is one that leave the audience with the scare implanted in their minds even after theyve left the cinema. I found 'Tale of Two Sisters (korean)' really creepy. smile.gif
You want REAL horror?? Watched any of The Twilight movies....

Where a young and impressionable girl's ONLY choices are to

A) Be with a soulless bloodsucking vampire

or

B) Be with a flea bitten werewolf.....

Option C) Study hard, get good grade make something of herself, is NOT even a consideration!!!!!!!!!

SCARY!!!!!!! laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Nov 30 2010, 02:37 PM

209 posts

To each of their own, everyone has their own "horror moment" in their life time.

Some say was this... others say its that...

For me, if it gives a good scare and has a good plot to scare the nerves out of our skin, that's a good horror movie.

Drag Me to Hell is good, but it's not horrific... more of its disgusting (all the spews, vomits and... ugh...). I love Raimi's first Evil Dead, even though its also not horrific.

I have yet found a movie that gives me nightmares (besides mov_freak's Twilight moment laugh.gif )... but I do love the original Wes Craven's A Nightmare on Elm Street; when I was young it "was" scary... but these days, its nothing but gore and grotesque and more gore and more grotesque... even the effects do look fake.

Japanese... Koreans... Americans... Europeans... to each of their own, they have their own scary movies...

By the way, anyone seen Lamberto Bava's Demons? It is not scary but that's what I call a scary effect. brows.gif
dundermifflin
post Nov 30 2010, 03:58 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Nov 30 2010, 02:37 PM)
To each of their own, everyone has their own "horror moment" in their life time.

For me, if it gives a good scare and has a good plot to scare the nerves out of our skin, that's a good horror movie.

this. im not big fan of horror movie simply because i dont believe in ghost generally. something to do with my faith. so no matter how scary it is, i just think, 'meh, thats not plausible'.. tongue.gif

just limit myself to 'non-ghost horror movies'..

hairyLGS
post Nov 30 2010, 04:13 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(dundermifflin @ Nov 30 2010, 03:58 PM)
this. im not big fan of horror movie simply because i dont believe in ghost generally. something to do with my faith. so no matter how scary it is, i just think, 'meh, thats not plausible'..  tongue.gif

just limit myself to 'non-ghost horror movies'..
What about horror of serial killers & murderers? Or massacres? hmm.gif
xy2610
post Nov 30 2010, 09:45 PM

Bachelor of Lostology (Hons)
1,566 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 25 2010, 10:28 PM)

Drag Me To Hell is very entertaining and fun to watch but it does not have the creepiness that I found in the original Evil Dead.
Wolf Creek is not bad. At least, it is quite realistic and it can actually happens in real life or it is happening (?)...And not as over the top as Hostel.
Tales Of Two Sisters is not scary but the storytelling is amazing and the story is well executed.

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 30 2010, 04:22 PM)
You want REAL horror?? Watched any of The Twilight movies....

Where a young and impressionable girl's ONLY choices are to

A) Be with a soulless bloodsucking vampire

or

B) Be with a flea bitten werewolf.....

Option C) Study hard, get good grade make something of herself, is NOT even a consideration!!!!!!!!!

SCARY!!!!!!! laugh.gif
Twilight is one of the most horrifying movies I've seen in ages.
How horrifying it is if I have to choose to live among the vampires or the werewolf...in fact, I have to live with them even if I don't want to choose any one of them.
Btw, a freak watches me sleep in the middle of the night creeps me out.
Sad life.

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Nov 30 2010, 04:37 PM)

Drag Me to Hell is good, but it's not horrific... more of its disgusting (all the spews, vomits and... ugh...). I love Raimi's first Evil Dead, even though its also not horrific.

I have yet found a movie that gives me nightmares (besides mov_freak's Twilight moment  laugh.gif )... but I do love the original Wes Craven's A Nightmare on Elm Street; when I was young it "was" scary... but these days, its nothing but gore and grotesque and more gore and more grotesque... even the effects do look fake.

Japanese... Koreans... Americans... Europeans... to each of their own, they have their own scary movies...

By the way, anyone seen Lamberto Bava's Demons? It is not scary but that's what I call a scary effect.  brows.gif
Demoni scares me since I was 7. I knew I should not watch it when my parents were not around.
I have no courage to watch it again until recently.
It does have its flaw but you will never want to look out for your friend in toilet after watching it.

I must say recent horror movies are more like a quick thrill ride.
Anyway, Jump scare is fun but not horrifying.

79 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0298sec    1.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:25 AM