124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

iPhone OS3.0(OUT NOW) | iPhone 3G[S](31/7) V2, 3GS registration-booking etc discussion

raptar_eric
post Jul 21 2009, 12:44 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

jfarm86: It depends on the particular Maxis rep that you're dealing with. As for mine, I booked for the 9-1 slot, and my dad booked for the 2-5 slot, the Maxis rep that dealt with me told me that both me and my dad can collect it at the 9-1 slot.

The time slot is so that there won't be any congestion, nothing to do with the stock availability.
saikua
post Jul 21 2009, 01:00 PM

21 posts

Did my booking at machines 1u yesterday. Was told not to be bothered with the dates/time we have booked online for collection. Will have to wait for them to call and then we go collect. They can't comfirm when they'll b getting their stock either.

Spoke to people from MacCiti 1U. The staff there said stock will only arrrive for their outlet end of August. Ask if it's the same with other outlets she say she wouldn't know.

nokia2003
post Jul 21 2009, 01:17 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 21 2009, 10:09 AM)
@Jacky96136,
Collection date remains for 31/7 and U aren't able to go in to pick it up any earlier.

@nokia2003,
What's the name of that app?  Will it work for Maxis users too or it's specifically meant for Optus users only?!

it is called iiQuota. it will not work with anything "un-australian". hence it will only cover all major networks and broadband providers in oz

like i was telling teikwing, i got pretty annoyed with the same question repetition and i just assume that the rest were thinking that i was patronising/deceiving them laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on July 21, 2009, 1:17 pmand hence i posted that printscreen of that app

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jul 21 2009, 01:17 PM
realfcbstuff
post Jul 21 2009, 02:03 PM

100 posts

they should have put in an upgrade plan..
for all the previous iphone 3g user who bought from em.
soonwai
post Jul 21 2009, 02:27 PM

11,458 posts

Even if Maxis has an upgrade plan, I bet it won't be worth the paper it's printed on. I suggest you try to sell it off privately.
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2009, 02:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@rmvalues,
The Maxis sets are officially unlocked sets hence does not need further unlocking. You will also be able to use it with any SIMs. Please check out pinned threads on i3GS & FW 3.0 for more information.

@ricky1990,
I totally agree with ah1, I think it's uncool of your friend to do that, seriously!

@jfarm86,
I don't think Maxis will mind but if there's a queue for that time slot U will not be given a preference.

@nokia2003,
iiQuota? hMm.... well it looks pretty cool - perhaps we could get one of our M'sian developers to try developing something like this but it will need data from Maxis and that's gonna be difficult to obtain. Also, the stewpid telco of mine (read:Maxis) doesn't reveal how much data I'm using p/month.

@realfcbstuff,
If an upgrade is coming for those who previously purchased the i3G, it probably won't be until after the i3GS launch. Also, U shouldn't be comparing with other telcos.
TuX
post Jul 21 2009, 03:14 PM

593 posts

Will we be charged if we use GPS for navigation system?
soonwai
post Jul 21 2009, 03:22 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(TuX @ Jul 21 2009, 03:14 PM)
Will we be charged if we use GPS for navigation system?
The only GPS navigation software (that I know of) in the AppStore now for Malaysia is Sygic MobileMaps. You'll need to pay for the app. There won't be any other charges since Sygic doesn't use a data connection and GPS satellites are free to use.

If you use IDA, available from Cydia, then you'll have to pay for the app as well as data charges as it downloads maps/routes from Google. However there are ways to preload the maps onto your iPhone.
k3v1n
post Jul 21 2009, 03:30 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 21 2009, 03:22 PM)
The only GPS navigation software (that I know of) in the AppStore now for Malaysia is Sygic MobileMaps. You'll need to pay for the app. There won't be any other charges since Sygic doesn't use a data connection and GPS satellites are free to use.

If you use IDA, available from Cydia, then you'll have to pay for the app as well as data charges as it downloads maps/routes from Google. However there are ways to preload the maps onto your iPhone.
How this Sygic MobileMaps work actually? Does Iphone 3Gs capability to connect to satellite signal?
nitsujyuen
post Jul 21 2009, 03:51 PM

572 posts

omg, need to charge data services when using gps... sad.gif

@jfarm86
i booked mine on 1st Aug & timeslot is at 2-5pm. I guess they can accomodate you if you reach there earlier.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 04:03 PM

6,955 posts

This is really not in the topic but I think the reason why Maxis has made the new iphone more affordable is because probably it could be part of the agreement with Apple since they are selling iphone 3g at a much later time (late March) that any other telco in the world and may be because of that Apple has agreed to lower the price for Maxis if they agree to help Apple clear the stock. The second reason which is more sound is the fact that this is the second batch of the iphone series that Maxis is selling. If you noticed other telco in the world, when iphone 3g came out, it is relatively 'cheap' if compared to the old 2g because of the fact that Apple subsidised the 2nd batch of iphone, perhaps that is the reason why we have a cheaper iphone 3gs since this is our 2nd batch of iphone. It is very likely the next version of iphone next year is not as cheap as you may get for iphone 3gs.
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2009, 04:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@janson_kaniaz,
Er.. RM3k for a phone is not what I'll call cheap tongue.gif We sure have different perspectives of what's cheap and what's not cheap smile.gif
ah1
post Jul 21 2009, 04:10 PM

106 posts

Quite subjective.

but it end up just 2 result. JUST BUY OR IGNORE IT.
soonwai
post Jul 21 2009, 04:14 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Jul 21 2009, 03:30 PM)
How this Sygic MobileMaps work actually? Does Iphone 3Gs capability to connect to satellite signal?
It works just like any satnav system (Garmin, Mapking etc...). Both the 3G & the 3GS has a GPS while the 3GS also has a magnetic compass.
nitsujyuen
post Jul 21 2009, 04:15 PM

572 posts

@janson_kaniaz
subjective matter. i would say it is at reasonable price for the 3gs. judging back the price tag for 2g version and 3g version.

@tinkerbel
hahaha, me too. 3k for a phone definitely not "cheap". Can buy laptop liao...in the end it boils down to preferences tongue.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 04:21 PM

6,955 posts

@tinkerbel

Haha I know, I use the word cheaper just to compare, RM9k is still cheaper RM10k rite. Anyway it's an Apple product, so I still think it's worth every penny.
soonwai
post Jul 21 2009, 04:22 PM

11,458 posts

The 3GS 32GB Maxis RM2998.80 price is still more expensive than HK or AU which is about RM2900-2950 based on the exchange rate last week.
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2009, 04:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@nitsujyuen,
Act I think he meant it's reasonable lah. I was just teasing tongue.gif

@ah1,
Yes that is right hence I've no intentions of getting it tongue.gif

@soonwai,
Er.. I thought the HKD sets are more expensive?! *shrugs* I did a rough calculation before and it came up to RM4k+

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 21 2009, 04:23 PM
twinkles
post Jul 21 2009, 04:25 PM

GOD behind You !
656 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 21 2009, 04:22 PM)
The 3GS 32GB Maxis RM2998.80 price is still more expensive than HK or AU which is about RM2900-2950 based on the exchange rate last week.
For now , the cheapest rate for iPhone 3G compare HK or AU , Malaysia still the cheapest.
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2009, 04:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@twinkles,
If U can get GST rebate on the AU sets, the 32GB is A$945 x 2.85 = RM2693.25 hence that makes the AU units cheaper than our Msian sets. At the normal price of A$1040 X 2.85 = RM2964 hence it's still cheaper but it's not considerately cheaper tongue.gif

124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:27 PM