iPhone OS3.0(OUT NOW) | iPhone 3G[S](31/7) V2, 3GS registration-booking etc discussion

janson_kaniaz
post Jul 18 2009, 12:09 AM

6,955 posts

Hey guys,

can i pay the deposit using credit card instead of cash? can it be done?
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 18 2009, 10:38 AM

6,955 posts

guys, called the maxis centre at 1U, they told me they have plenty of stock on launch day because they will be doing a road show from 31st till 2nd. So if you havent paid the deposit i would suggest go for maxis centre rather than machines. You can later buy the accesories from machines if you feel guilty dumping them lol.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 18 2009, 03:12 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(dopamine @ Jul 18 2009, 02:53 PM)
hi guys do i need to place online order and wait for confirmation email then only pay it in maxis centre or can i straight go to make an order in maxis centre or maxis rep??
You can go straight in and register there, but it's gonna take some time. But it only can be done in maxis centre, not machines (i think).
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 18 2009, 03:22 PM

6,955 posts

i really dun think there's such thing as installment plan for apple product. it's either you buy it or you dont. at least for iphone it hasnt been done any where else in the world.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 18 2009, 11:46 PM

6,955 posts

Hmm the reason I chose Maxis centre and not Machines to purchase my iphone is that they can guarentee me my iphone on 31st which Machines can't.

As for the free membership and free RM20 voucher, I would say fair enough. Since they can't guarentee that everyone gets the iphone, they need to convince it in another way.

Well I just paid my deposit in Maxis centre @1U. Can't wait, less than 2 weeks to go!!!
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 19 2009, 02:47 PM

6,955 posts

yea, otherwise why do u think everyone is rushing to get their hands on this baby. Because there might be a shortage after the launch. I'm not surprised you'll see some stock on ebay selling up to RM4k.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 19 2009, 04:52 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 19 2009, 04:32 PM)
Are you sure on this? Then what is the point paying the deposit for the booking?

You do get a receipt after you paid for the deposit, right? If they didn't check the email/booking number, how do they issue the receipt?  sweat.gif
The email/booking number is quite pointless. The only reason they do this is to avoid long queue at Maxis centre/machines during registration. As for my case, I booked to collect from Machines but later on I changed my mind and I walked straight in to Maxis centre and register there, with no email/booking number whatsoever. As for my email booking to collect from Maxis, it will be void after 5 days, so who cares...
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 19 2009, 05:56 PM

6,955 posts

i dun think the initial booking details you printed out before paying the RM200 deposit are important. It is the receipt after you have paid RM200 that is important. Your receipt should have the model you want as well as the plan and confirmation of the payment. Those details are good enough for you to collect the iphone on 31st.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 19 2009, 07:01 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 19 2009, 06:35 PM)
Yup, if the deposit is not for securing a unit of iPhone but for the registration, then why people that wish get prepaid plan need to pay so much? I can just grab a Hotlink starter pack and wait until Maxis launch the phone... doh.gif
The reason that I can see why Maxis is asking for deposit is to roughly estimate the number of iphone 3gs required to be shipped to Malaysia. I may be wrong, but I believe the stocks are not here yet and that is why their deadline is 24th so that they have enough time to get the stock shipped here. If they have asked only booking without payment, that would be suicidal as probably only 50% would be interested and the extra stock would be deemed useless. I guess they have learned from the previous iphone 3g mistake.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 19 2009, 07:34 PM

6,955 posts

yea i wanna ask from previous iphone maxis 3g launch, did they give any goodies?
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 19 2009, 07:58 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 19 2009, 07:39 PM)
Just like you pointed out; Maxis need a rough figure of units that needed to be order right? So, by right those who had paid for the deposit will get their phones as expected, since we should have higher priority than those walk in customers, right?

It wouldn't do Maxis much good if they ffk those buyers that already paid for the deposits; it will only bring more bad news for their service to other potential customers..
Knowing the rough number is one thing, getting the stock for everyone from Apple is another. What if Apple cannot meet the demand (hopefully they can), tats the only reason why Maxis cannot provide the iphone to everyone.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 20 2009, 05:31 PM

6,955 posts

I don't find the reason to discuss about the launch which to me is pretty useless since we are not getting the iphone. Guys, get over it. Lets focus on 31st.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 20 2009, 07:54 PM

6,955 posts

haih, i just feel we have like 10 more days and there isnt much to talk here anymore. it's going to be tough 10 days to go thru...
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 04:03 PM

6,955 posts

This is really not in the topic but I think the reason why Maxis has made the new iphone more affordable is because probably it could be part of the agreement with Apple since they are selling iphone 3g at a much later time (late March) that any other telco in the world and may be because of that Apple has agreed to lower the price for Maxis if they agree to help Apple clear the stock. The second reason which is more sound is the fact that this is the second batch of the iphone series that Maxis is selling. If you noticed other telco in the world, when iphone 3g came out, it is relatively 'cheap' if compared to the old 2g because of the fact that Apple subsidised the 2nd batch of iphone, perhaps that is the reason why we have a cheaper iphone 3gs since this is our 2nd batch of iphone. It is very likely the next version of iphone next year is not as cheap as you may get for iphone 3gs.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 04:21 PM

6,955 posts

@tinkerbel

Haha I know, I use the word cheaper just to compare, RM9k is still cheaper RM10k rite. Anyway it's an Apple product, so I still think it's worth every penny.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 04:30 PM

6,955 posts

well if the price is rm2964, i would still choose maxis for the free 500mb per month and one year warranty. smile.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 04:47 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(tony9973 @ Jul 21 2009, 04:44 PM)
Well! just got the confirmation email on Sunday so the pick up location is at Switch, Mines Resort City,
pick up date on 31/7/09, pick up time 10am- 2pm. So yesterday paid up the deposit at Switch got the
receipt and told by them to wait for it to come. You guys who have booked is it the same procedure as
I have done? I just want to know in this case is it confirm already? icon_question.gif
Dude, just relax, this is not an exam to test you accuracy in following procedures.

As long as you have paid the deposit of rm200 and received the receipt, just sit down and relax and wait for 31st, ok? biggrin.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 21 2009, 10:02 PM

6,955 posts

@tony9973

What do you mean by booking online at maxis centre?

It's either you book online and specify the pick-up point to be Maxis centre/Machines OR you go straight to Maxis centre and place an order there.

Either way, wherever you pay your deposit is the place to collect your iphone on 31st.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 22 2009, 01:06 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 01:02 PM)
@bluesky87,
Unfortunately at present there's no such system.  Perhaps U people can err write a petition and send in to Maxis biggrin.gif
Agree! It should have been like that anyway, if Maxis is concerned about the welfare of its customers, not just money.
janson_kaniaz
post Jul 22 2009, 09:55 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Jul 22 2009, 08:06 PM)
it is the most convenient place to pick up the phone for me.

neways, is it true that even if we book the phones. chances are that there might not be enough of phone for all that booked.??

or the Salesperson is just pulling a fast one.?
All i can conclude after reading so many posts is only Maxis centre can guarentee stock for its customer on 31st. The rest of the stores depend on the stock allocated by Maxis to them. So once they run out of stock, they will have to wait for Maxis 2nd batch which nobody knows will take how long. Therefore, they will apply the first come first serve basis. Safest is still Maxis centre.

0.0487sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:29 AM