^_^ Cat Lovers Version 5 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

TSelfreakz
post Sep 29 2009, 03:46 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Sep 29 2009, 09:11 AM)
Guys, I've just adopted a kitten (am guessing she is at least 4 weeks old) and was thinking what is the best food for kitten that have no mom.. her momma left her right after birth  cry.gif  She was called  Garfield, but i changed it to Gaga.. hehe  tongue.gif  She is a DLH with tail only 3/4 of normal cats..  laugh.gif

I tried several ways:-

[1] I bought Friskies - Tuna in gel, & the kitten biscuits.
[2] I bought Whiskas - Ocean Fish (the RM1.20) packets.
[3] I bought Blackwood for kitten (last night).
[4] I took my sister's kitten milk formula (for the milk replacement)

(to date, the kitten is only 3 days with me)

So i was thinking what is the best method to feed Gaga.. She seems do not liking biscuits much, maybe because it is hard for her to chew? Is mixing up (BW/Friskies + milk) is a better way to do it? Last night the seller (Ikano pet shop) was suggesting Royal Canin - for kitten to feed Gaga.. is that better?

She seems to prefer Friskies Tuna in gel on top of others.. but the kitten biscuits from Friskies is not in her liking.. hrmm.. can someone enlighten me on whats best? Oh.. am missing her at home!~  biggrin.gif

Thanks!
If that kitten is 4 weeks old... she can eat already.

yes Royal Canin Babycat is good for small kitten due to the small size of the kibbles and the nutritions. but i know Royal Canin babycat is so expensive. or you can the royal canin kitten slightly bigger than babycat size.

You can also feed both dry food and wet food at the same time. growing kitten need more food and nutrition. but don't teach her to eat wet food all the time. else she grow up to be WET FOOD SEEKER.

Friskies, whiskas, smartheart dry food is a low grade food. which means the contain is more towards grains,rice,wheat,etc rather than meat product. all low grade food can be found at normal kedai runcit and supermarket. (CHEAP)

Royal canin, Iams, Science Plan, blackwood, etc... can be found at petshop only. this is all premium food. mixture of both grains product and meat product. different from low grade food, premium food has more meat product than grains.

Orijen, Innova evo, etc... hard to find.. only at certain shop... is a SUPER premium food. which mean, 100% meat product. NO GRAINS like low and premium food.

Since you have 1 kitten, i advice you to feed her Royal Canin Baby cat or Royal Canin Kitten for few months...maybe until 4 months old. I know its expensive for few kilograms, but the good side is you only feed 1 kitten right. it will last longer.

After 4 months, then you decide what's the best... if u want reasonable price but not bad quality, you can go for Science Plan and Iams. if you have more budget, go for Royal Canin... but if money is not a problem for you... go for Orijen smile.gif

remember, don't make a cat turning into hole in your wallet. there is always ways to make a happy family with reasonable budget smile.gif

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Sep 29 2009, 03:50 PM
TSelfreakz
post Sep 29 2009, 03:49 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(swayhecker @ Sep 28 2009, 03:26 PM)
Any of you guys have any idea on how to know if the cat is pregnant? My kitty seems a little "chub" lately.  Should there be any signs?

Don't ask me to go to the vet.

Thanks ya'll.
Refer here:

Check to see if her nipples are larger. Around day 21, a pregnant female's nipples will often turn bright pink. If they are, she is pregnant. If not, wait another week, and check again. Some may not turn bright pink or become enlarged, but most will.

The gestation period for a cat is between 60 and 67 days with the average being 63 days. It is easy to remember, nine months pregnancy for humans, nine weeks pregnancy for cats.

Very gently run your hand over the surface of her tummy to see if you feel a sort of swelling and small lumps the size of walnuts. DO NOT put too much pressure on the lumps.

When a cat becomes pregnant, her personallity may change. Pregnant cats become very affectionate, and not all teeth and claws.

Stand back and look at your cat's overall shape. From the side, pregnant cats frequently look a little swayback with a slightly distended tummy. From the top looking down at the cat, a pregnant cat's tummy is frequently distended slightly more than halfway from the neck to the tail. This look has been compared to the posture of a burro. If your cat's profile has changed from normal to burro, she might be pregnant.

To distinguish pregnant from fat: fat cats are fat all over, including the neck, the legs. etc. Pregnant cats are not. However, keep in mind that fat cats can be pregnant too!

Your cat may also become very lazy and more lovable.

NEVER ever poke, prod or fondle your cat's tummy. To do so could cause miscarriage, stillbirth or other serious complications!

DO NOT rub your cats belly hard at all just lightly move your hand over her belly!!!

croomaniac
post Sep 29 2009, 04:14 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Sep 29 2009, 03:46 PM)
If that kitten is 4 weeks old... she can eat already.

yes Royal Canin Babycat is good for small kitten due to the small size of the kibbles and the nutritions. but i know Royal Canin babycat is so expensive. or you can the royal canin kitten slightly bigger than babycat size.

You can also feed both dry food and wet food at the same time. growing kitten need more food and nutrition. but don't teach her to eat wet food all the time. else she grow up to be WET FOOD SEEKER.

Friskies, whiskas, smartheart dry food is a low grade food. which means the contain is more towards grains,rice,wheat,etc rather than meat product. all low grade food can be found at normal kedai runcit and supermarket. (CHEAP)

Royal canin, Iams, Science Plan, blackwood, etc... can be found at petshop only. this is all premium food. mixture of both grains product and meat product. different from low grade food, premium food has more meat product than grains.

Orijen, Innova evo, etc... hard to find.. only at certain shop... is a SUPER premium food. which mean, 100% meat product. NO GRAINS like low and premium food.

Since you have 1 kitten, i advice you to feed her Royal Canin Baby cat or Royal Canin Kitten for few months...maybe until 4 months old. I know its expensive for few kilograms, but the good side is you only feed 1 kitten right. it will last longer.

After 4 months, then you decide what's the best... if u want reasonable price but not bad quality, you can go for Science Plan and Iams. if you have more budget, go for Royal Canin... but if money is not a problem for you... go for Orijen smile.gif

remember, don't make a cat turning into hole in your wallet. there is always ways to make a happy family with reasonable budget smile.gif
TQ elfreakz.. guessed that i'll have to visit the petshop again tonight for the Royal Canin Kitten.. yupp, only 1 kitten, a tin of tuna (RM3.90) i bet would last for a couple of week whistling.gif If a RM20 Royal Canin (400 grams) would last say 3 weeks, than its OK lah.. not that burden rolleyes.gif

Wah.. WET FOOD SEEKER.. that scares me.. sweat.gif later on can give such troubles too.. hehe

I just read about Whiskas, Frieskies, Smartheart - which reportedly caused (some) cats experiencing heart attacks, kidney stones, back/heap pain.. wah.. kinda takut that one too.. shocking.gif guessed that i'll seek out the best food for her so that she'll stay healthy!~ thumbup.gif

Later I would post out Gaga's pictures!~ biggrin.gif

Thanks!
Chinchillas
post Sep 29 2009, 07:06 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Sep 29 2009, 04:14 PM)
TQ elfreakz.. guessed that i'll have to visit the petshop again tonight for the Royal Canin Kitten.. yupp, only 1 kitten, a tin of tuna (RM3.90) i bet would last for a couple of week  whistling.gif  If a RM20 Royal Canin (400 grams) would last say 3 weeks, than its OK lah.. not that burden  rolleyes.gif

Wah.. WET FOOD SEEKER.. that scares me..  sweat.gif  later on can give such troubles too.. hehe

I just read about Whiskas, Frieskies, Smartheart - which reportedly caused (some) cats experiencing heart attacks, kidney stones, back/heap pain.. wah.. kinda takut that one too..  shocking.gif  guessed that i'll seek out the best food for her so that she'll stay healthy!~  thumbup.gif

Later I would post out Gaga's pictures!~  biggrin.gif

Thanks!
Do not use Whiskas, Frieskies, Smartheart or brand that you can easily get in supermarket like giant and carefour, those is not mean to be eaten by cat.

Since you welling to spend some money on canned food, get the canned food instead, like Natural Balance, Evo, or even addiction will be good choice. If you can paid for Royal Canin, then use that money to pay for Orijen or Evo.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Sep 29 2009, 07:07 PM
croomaniac
post Sep 29 2009, 08:12 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 29 2009, 07:06 PM)
Do not use  Whiskas, Frieskies, Smartheart or brand that you can easily get in supermarket like giant and carefour, those is not mean to be eaten by cat.

Since you welling to spend some money on canned food, get the canned food instead, like Natural Balance, Evo, or even addiction will be good choice. If you can paid for Royal Canin, then use that money to pay for Orijen or Evo.
Not supposed to be eaten by cats, but the whole world knew there are cats used for their ads.. hehe.. and thanks for the reminder..

Anyway, in Damansara area, where can I find all those premium brands like orijen? Can't find it at Ikano.. cool2.gif
TSelfreakz
post Sep 29 2009, 09:05 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Sep 29 2009, 08:12 PM)
Not supposed to be eaten by cats, but the whole world knew there are cats used for their ads.. hehe.. and thanks for the reminder..

Anyway, in Damansara area, where can I find all those premium brands like orijen? Can't find it at Ikano..  cool2.gif
yea true..

its a cat food but do not have much nutrition with it.

still better than stray cat eating rubbish and human left over right.

if friskies/whiskas/smartheart is a killer im pretty sure the world will ban this brand. but too bad, they are growing more and more heheheeh....

its a low quality food, just like poor human eat rice and ikan goreng.. can't afford lamb chop. for short term yes the poor people grow.. but long time, they may end up with poor nutrition in the body...
TSelfreakz
post Sep 29 2009, 09:07 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Sep 29 2009, 08:12 PM)

Anyway, in Damansara area, where can I find all those premium brands like orijen? Can't find it at Ikano..  cool2.gif
i bought mine last time at ikano ... pet safari if im not mistaken... there's 1 shop infront uptown mcD also selling it last time. don't know now..
jotaro12
post Sep 29 2009, 11:09 PM

541 posts

Hello guys, just wanna ask if you have an air purifier for your kitty?? I've been thinking about it ever since I browse through a TW cat forum where they mostly have it to purify the air which might contains some cat gems and filter your kitty's hair too. Some more poo poo smell will go away fast haha. Saw some of their recommendation on which model and the price difference is huge as like selling RM800 in TW while M'sia dealers selling RM1400 for the same model. Thinking to get one as my room become easy to get dust lately. Do share if you have any comments, thanks smile.gif
TSelfreakz
post Sep 29 2009, 11:28 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(jotaro12 @ Sep 29 2009, 11:09 PM)
Hello guys, just wanna ask if you have an air purifier for your kitty?? I've been thinking about it ever since I browse through a TW cat forum where they mostly have it to purify the air which might contains some cat gems and filter your kitty's hair too. Some more poo poo smell will go away fast haha. Saw some of their recommendation on which model and the price difference is huge as like selling RM800 in TW while M'sia dealers selling RM1400 for the same model. Thinking to get one as my room become easy to get dust lately. Do share if you have any comments, thanks smile.gif
yeap air purifier and air filter is a good thing to have in a house with cats. for you and your cats too smile.gif

i have both air purifier that use water with ionizer ... another air filter is by amway...

so u actually not only buying for your cats but its for you aswell smile.gif worth it..
syahzan
post Sep 29 2009, 11:35 PM

here is my baby

This post has been edited by syahzan: Sep 29 2009, 11:58 PM
pumpkinn
post Sep 30 2009, 05:49 PM

84 posts

hi el,

the kitty i brought back, mian mian is still with me for certain reasons even though she is being adopted.
she was fine besides the ear mites problem that i mentioned when she was staying with me. when her adopter brought her to see the vet, she was told that mian mian has kurap. and was given a type of transparent fluid medicine. mian mian has to take the medicine once a week for 4 weeks continuous.

right after mian mian took the 1st medication, she had diarrhea and i brought her to see the vet. the vet gave me some medicine to prevent diarrhea and a type of canned food which i have forgotten the brand name for easy digestion. everything goes on well, she didnt have diarrahea anymore. and i stopped the medication as was told by the vet and also the canned food and changed back to dry food yesterday.

this morning i saw the dry food are all vomitted out in the cat litter. and she has diarrhea again and couldnt contol the 'output'. i called the vet and was told i have to changed her food back to the canned food or boiled chicken meat and continue with the medicine given. she still have diarrhea even though she was fed with the medicine this morning. im kinda worry now. any suggestion on what i can do other than chaging the food?

thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by pumpkinn: Sep 30 2009, 05:51 PM
TSelfreakz
post Oct 1 2009, 12:49 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ Sep 30 2009, 05:49 PM)
hi el,

the kitty i brought back, mian mian is still with me for certain reasons even though she is being adopted.
she was fine besides the ear mites problem that i mentioned when she was staying with me. when her adopter brought her to see the vet, she was told that mian mian has kurap. and was given a type of transparent fluid medicine. mian mian has to take the medicine once a week for 4 weeks continuous.

right after mian mian took the 1st medication, she had diarrhea and i brought her to see the vet. the vet gave me some medicine to prevent diarrhea and a type of canned food which i have forgotten the brand name for easy digestion. everything goes on well, she didnt have diarrahea anymore. and i stopped the medication as was told by the vet and also the canned food and changed back to dry food yesterday.

this morning i saw the dry food are all vomitted out in the cat litter. and she has diarrhea again and couldnt contol the 'output'. i called the vet and was told i have to changed her food back to the canned food or boiled chicken meat and continue with the medicine given. she still have diarrhea even though she was fed with the medicine this morning. im kinda worry now. any suggestion on what i can do other than chaging the food?

thanks in advance notworthy.gif
this is so weird.. and i know it will be a big mess for u to go and return back to the vet....

i was wondering why the kitten vomit back the food... surely have digest problem... change back to the canned food that mian mian did not vomit back. any brand wet food.. u go try first. cos if u still feed dry food, i bet mian mian will not eat anything because it go out again....

the canned food u gave is made from? chicken is it?? cos i know some cat like mine.. i have 1 cat allergy to fish LOL... sound weird but she will vomit it back.

cat that eat alot will also vomit back the food..

and some other disease that related to food vomitting... won't cover it here.. u try continue wet food first... or maybe buy 1 type that can afford.. see vomit or not...

good luck.
babypao
post Oct 1 2009, 08:58 AM

139 posts

hi elfreakz,

I had adopt a kitten 8mth ago. Last time, i bring him to vet, the doctor said his backbone like roller-caster which cause him hard to poo. End up the doctor give a liquid to pump into his backside. 2 mth ago, He able to poo out easily but now he has some problem to poo. when i touch his tummy, there is a long long hard poo. I plan to bring him to vet but i'm quite busy of working days.

pumpkinn
post Oct 1 2009, 09:52 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Oct 1 2009, 12:49 AM)
this is so weird.. and i know it will be a big mess for u to go and return back to the vet....

i was wondering why the kitten vomit back the food... surely have digest problem... change back to the canned food that mian mian did not vomit back. any brand wet food.. u go try first. cos if u still feed dry food, i bet mian mian will not eat anything because it go out again....

the canned food u gave is made from? chicken is it?? cos i know some cat like mine.. i have 1 cat allergy to fish LOL... sound weird but she will vomit it back.

cat that eat alot will also vomit back the food..

and some other disease that related to food vomitting... won't cover it here.. u try continue wet food first... or maybe buy 1 type that can afford.. see vomit or not...

good luck.
thanks for your reply El.

yeah...i went there trice in a week. but its ok...mummy always love the weaker child more tongue.gif

the canned food is made by chicken. i just checked the brand name, called precription diet.

i think you are right, she ate a lot....maybe because she was fasting for few days, can only eat 3 meals a day, with an amount of 1 table spoon of precription diet each meal. she has finished 3 cans of prescription diet before i changed her food back to dry food. that night when i gave her dry food, she finished the whole small bowl in the midnight.

yesterday i gave her : dry food + medicine which prevent diarrhea: still diarrhea.
when i gave her boil chicken meat + medicine: unshaped soft poo poo....

is it any possibility that orijen doesnt suit her? rolleyes.gif

croomaniac
post Oct 1 2009, 10:36 AM

269 posts

Guys, would like to present you the picture of my Gaga~ biggrin.gif

Here are some pictures of her~

#1 Hi Hi me name is GaGa

#2 Turn right!~

#3 Hide & Seek behind the TV!~

#4 I bite everything!~

#5 Oh, take a rest first.. tired already.. sigh..

#6 OK, how's my pose this time?

#7 This can be my scratch pad!~ biggrin.gif

#8 Sweety Gaga smile.gif

Thanks for viewing!~ biggrin.gif
OctoberFly
post Oct 1 2009, 07:51 PM

195 posts

@croom: omg so cute biggrin.gif you're such a good photographer.
rida.b
post Oct 1 2009, 09:00 PM

126 posts

hi el,

Can u include me in d cat's lover list? Thanks.

By d way, i found a lost cat n she was really in bad shape. I used to hv a cat as a pet but give up coz move in with in law. So, kinda forget abit here n there abt caring a cat sweat.gif

So back to question. The cat was DLH, and d hair was full with lice eggs. She got some really bad fight wound on her face n ears. In fact, d wound has absent mucus (nanah). Rite now am treating d wound with iodine.

But, the mite n lice r very hassle for me to comb off coz i end up scratching myself. I google n some caresheets recommended to chop of the hair. But, some said it evil to do tht to d cat. Prob is, she become too skinny n so sedih looking at her condition.

So, should i cut her hair or should i send to vet to do it for me?
TSelfreakz
post Oct 1 2009, 09:50 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(babypao @ Oct 1 2009, 08:58 AM)
hi elfreakz,

I had adopt a kitten 8mth ago. Last time, i bring him to vet, the doctor said his backbone like roller-caster which cause him hard to poo. End up the doctor give a liquid to pump into his backside. 2 mth ago, He able to poo out easily but now he has some problem to poo. when i touch his tummy, there is a long long hard poo. I plan to bring him to vet but i'm quite busy of working days.

that sound like "cacat dalaman" ??

i bet its hard to handle this kind of cat.. but im pretty sure, what you help, you will get in return.

but how can you feel the poo inside your kitten tummy?? can't you feed the liquid by yourself without going to the vet all the time??? what liquid the vet supply you? is it the hairball type?
TSelfreakz
post Oct 1 2009, 09:59 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ Oct 1 2009, 09:52 AM)
thanks for your reply El.

yeah...i went there trice in a week. but its ok...mummy always love the weaker child more tongue.gif

the canned food is made by chicken. i just checked the brand name, called precription diet.

i think you are right, she ate a lot....maybe because she was fasting for few days, can only eat 3 meals a day, with an amount of 1 table spoon of precription diet each meal. she has finished 3 cans of prescription diet before i changed her food back to dry food. that night when i gave her dry food, she finished the whole small bowl in the midnight.

yesterday i gave her : dry food + medicine which prevent diarrhea: still diarrhea.
when i gave her boil chicken meat + medicine: unshaped soft poo poo....

is it any possibility that orijen doesnt suit her?  rolleyes.gif
some cat will get soft poo.. not watery.. diarrhea is water type, like when its out it has the most unwelcome smell ehehe.. and it look like water - so no shape at all.. some will turn out to be greenish color and brownish color.

soft poo on the other hand, still look like the normal shape just that it look like half cook ahahaah soun disgusting hahaha yes its look half cook.. nice shape and soft tongue.gif

hard poo is the one like well done cooked eheheh... some look like hangus already eheheh over cooked tongue.gif

but hard it get the less smell...

i was wondering, she ate orijen before? does he had diarhea with orijen before? or you just change the food to orijen recently after diarrhea?

the thing is, you still involve with food changes... wet to dry or maybe old dry food to a new dry food.

you need to know another thing, with orijen some cat will get soft poo.. because of the contain is 100% meat and high protein + fat.

have you tried mix the orijen with the wet food? like smash orijen into small pieces and mix it? so with this, your cat stomach will learn about the exist of orijen (if she never ate orijen b4)..

p/s the wet food vet gave you is by science hills pet right.. white color... it come with a code like s/d and etc...
TSelfreakz
post Oct 1 2009, 10:02 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(rida.b @ Oct 1 2009, 09:00 PM)
hi el,

Can u include me in d cat's lover list? Thanks.

By d way, i found a lost cat n she was really in bad shape. I used to hv a cat as a pet but give up coz move in with in law. So, kinda forget abit here n there abt caring a cat sweat.gif

So back to question. The cat was DLH, and d hair was full with lice eggs. She got some really bad fight wound on her face n ears. In fact, d wound has absent mucus (nanah). Rite now am treating d wound with iodine.

But, the mite n lice r very hassle for me to comb off coz i end up scratching myself. I google n some caresheets recommended to chop of the hair. But, some said it evil to do tht to d cat. Prob is, she become too skinny n so sedih looking at her condition.

So, should i cut her hair or should i send to vet to do it for me?
yea shaving all the fur is last thing to do if you can't handle it.. or the lice/mites/fleas/ringworm/other parasite is TOO MUCH....

short hair cat took 4-5 months to grow back the fur.. so i bet long hair cat abit longer..

but the best part, parasite will be gone forever if you put your cat in parasite free place....

so you decide this actually... if u want fast recover, shave it all... about the skinny part, im pretty sure after vet check up with medicine, care and love, she will grow bigger while waiting for fur to grow back smile.gif

p/s added your name to the list smile.gif

141 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:04 AM