go for PP2.. u won't go wrong with it!
Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~
Mar 12 2010, 08:45 AM
3,943 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Johore - |
go for PP2.. u won't go wrong with it!
Mar 12 2010, 08:58 AM
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 11 2010, 12:05 PM) as micheal has verified~ No, the colour marking is not to prevent resale. These are what you call run-out markings to indicate the balance of the tyre. The tyres are not uni-formally balance and some offset is expected. This line will tell which the side the balance bias and how straight the tyre will run.every new michelin tires there's a colour marking line to code d tires n will go off after install it on the road after 2-3k kms~ Sometimes the tyre shop fits it wrongly and have both tyres with the same weight bias and the car will not run straight, no matter how you align the tyres. This lines help the tyre shop match the balance bias of both tyres on each sides of the car to make alignment easier. Added on March 12, 2010, 9:03 am QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2010, 12:12 PM) thanks bro CheeAnn for Verify... No. Those lines are not what cheeann said they are for. Furthermore, if those tyres were not new, you should have been able to see the scrubbing on the treads. Those lines do not appear on all tyres unless they have serious run-out issues. They are not 'new tyre' markings. If the tyre is balance out of the factory, they do not have the run-out lines or have the lines right in the middle.can he go back to the shop to ask for replacement??? seems like the set is not new tire at all... Since you have already used the tyre, there is no way for you to raise the issue of them not giving you a mint tyre. That issue should have been raised at the shop if you see any scrubbing on the tyres when they were fitting it. Anyone can see the scrubbing on 'not new' tyres and manufacturers do not need to put indicators for it. Again, the colour lines are there to indicate the balance of the tyre and not the 'new-ness' of the tyre. This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Mar 12 2010, 09:05 AM |
Mar 12 2010, 09:04 AM
9,799 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 12 2010, 09:43 AM) Banned Conti CC-1... Eagle GA, again GY lower end tires sucks.... 165/55-14 if u can get rm160 then pls tell me where cuz tat tire is below cost price n i can sell it higher as actual price is lowest is rm190-210 per piece~for me XM1 the clear choice, then A Drive... even PP2 is more than that Advan sure got that cheap or not... PP2 is around RM160 if not mistaken... even goodyear eagle ducaro also rm140-160 already~ QUOTE(Intrigue @ Mar 12 2010, 09:45 AM) PS3 is replacing PP2 QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Mar 12 2010, 09:58 AM) No, the colour marking is not to prevent resale. These are what you call run-out markings to indicate the balance of the tyre. The tyres are not uni-formally balance and some offset is expected. This line will tell which the side the balance bias and how straight the tyre will run. bro,sleepwalker~Sometimes the tyre shop fits it wrongly and have both tyres with the same weight bias and the car will not run straight, no matter how you align the tyres. This lines help the tyre shop match the balance bias of both tyres on each sides of the car to make alignment easier. those line is not about regarding about sale but is to tag d tires sizes cuz michelin tires they code it by lines n colours as certain saiz there's 2 lines n each tires had diff colours not jus 1 colour~ i've been selling tis brand of tires for so long n i always notice it~ [btw those colour lines is for only michelin tires~] This post has been edited by cheeann: Mar 12 2010, 09:06 AM |
Mar 12 2010, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 12 2010, 09:04 AM) 165/55-14 if u can get rm160 then pls tell me where cuz tat tire is below cost price n i can sell it higher as actual price is lowest is rm190-210 per piece~ Yes, they are called run-outs and comes in 2 or sometimes 3 lines. I'm surprised that as a tyre seller you do not know of this. Furthermore, if you notice, those lines differ from tyre to tyre as they indicate the run-out balance of each tyre. As a tyre seller, you are suppose to match the left and right run-outs as closely as possible so that you do not have balance issues.even goodyear eagle ducaro also rm140-160 already~ PS3 is replacing PP2 bro,sleepwalker~ those line is not about regarding about sale but is to tag d tires sizes cuz michelin tires they code it by lines n colours as certain saiz there's 2 lines n each tires had diff colours not jus 1 colour~ i've been selling tis brand of tires for so long n i always notice it~ So if the right tyre run-out lines are closer to the outside, you have to find the left tyre with the run-outs closer to the outside too, to prevent alignment issues and vice versa. |
Mar 12 2010, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Mar 12 2010, 10:08 AM) Yes, they are called run-outs and comes in 2 or sometimes 3 lines. I'm surprised that as a tyre seller you do not know of this. Furthermore, if you notice, those lines differ from tyre to tyre as they indicate the run-out balance of each tyre. As a tyre seller, you are suppose to match the left and right run-outs as closely as possible so that you do not have balance issues. then if all tires also like tat then isn't those tires got prob??So if the right tyre run-out lines are closer to the outside, you have to find the left tyre with the run-outs closer to the outside too, to prevent alignment issues and vice versa. everytime my dad orders those tires n comes in a stacks of 20-40pieces every 2weeks n those lines of each sizes is identical n it doesn't effect alignment or balancing issue like wat u said~ neva i did or need to match those lines like wat u have jus said cuz michelin tires is at least 90% perfect round donuts if u would have to compare wit local's tires like silverstone,sime tires n also goodyear~ so far i have no encounter any issue of performing alignment+balancing on those donut~ |
Mar 12 2010, 09:21 AM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 12 2010, 09:04 AM) 165/55-14 if u can get rm160 then pls tell me where cuz tat tire is below cost price n i can sell it higher as actual price is lowest is rm190-210 per piece~ bro CheeAnn ya lo price has been hike crazily... even goodyear eagle ducaro also rm140-160 already~ PS3 is replacing PP2 bro,sleepwalker~ those line is not about regarding about sale but is to tag d tires sizes cuz michelin tires they code it by lines n colours as certain saiz there's 2 lines n each tires had diff colours not jus 1 colour~ i've been selling tis brand of tires for so long n i always notice it~ [btw those colour lines is for only michelin tires~] I think i'm in love with PS3 already... wanna try to Crazily... here is the review by a bro in AW Forum who used PS2 and also GY F1 Asy also... Yummy review... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 12 2010, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 12 2010, 09:16 AM) then if all tires also like tat then isn't those tires got prob?? It's called run-outs. Each tyre when manufactured, as perfect as it maybe, the weight is not 100% balanced. That means when you roll the tyre, it will not track in a straight line. everytime my dad orders those tires n comes in a stacks of 20-40pieces every 2weeks n those lines of each sizes is identical n it doesn't effect alignment or balancing issue like wat u said~ neva i did or need to match those lines like wat u have jus said cuz michelin tires is at least 90% perfect round donuts if u would have to compare wit local's tires like silverstone,sime tires n also goodyear~ so far i have no encounter any issue of performing alignment+balancing on those donut~ You will not encounter problems when balancing. The problem comes when trying to make the car track in a straightline. I can see most tyres shop align the tyre straight but the car still does not track straight. They then have to do minor adjustments to make the car track straight. The better they match the run-out lines, the less work they have to do to make the car track straight. This is not applicable to Michelin only. All the other tyre manufacturers do the same with their tyres. |
Mar 12 2010, 09:32 AM
haiya no need to argue... it might be run in indicator, or assist ppl to do alignment and balancing... but the fact is when u purchase new tire don sit there dump fat happy... go and see whether they are putting new donut onto ur car or not, look properly the Manufacturing date...
i will walk around my car and also checking the labour work also... so pls check, it is sad that things happen... my dad even put the car at his favourite shop for tire change after a while only he come and take, still ok maybe that is ppl lo... some like to take advantage... again sorry for bro ychwang, next time call cheeann for tire change... |
Mar 12 2010, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Mar 12 2010, 10:26 AM) It's called run-outs. Each tyre when manufactured, as perfect as it maybe, the weight is not 100% balanced. That means when you roll the tyre, it will not track in a straight line. i know it's call run outs jus tat i couldn't find d words earlier on~You will not encounter problems when balancing. The problem comes when trying to make the car track in a straightline. I can see most tyres shop align the tyre straight but the car still does not track straight. They then have to do minor adjustments to make the car track straight. The better they match the run-out lines, the less work they have to do to make the car track straight. This is not applicable to Michelin only. All the other tyre manufacturers do the same with their tyres. for a car to run a straight line also depending on da person who did d alignment was it good or not also~ wen i said only for michelin tires cuz i'm in to tat brand more n others not sure how they do it~ i dun think all tires manufacturers did tat as i've seen those tire's like BfGoodrich,goodyear,silverstone n sum other few more band doesn't have d run outs lines~ but tell me bro sleepwalker if those tires have no run outs lines n wat does tat means?? i do agree wit u sum times tires might not make d car go straightline even thou u've done alignment according to run outs line then how about those without run out lines?? |
Mar 12 2010, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 12 2010, 09:32 AM) haiya no need to argue... it might be run in indicator, or assist ppl to do alignment and balancing... but the fact is when u purchase new tire don sit there dump fat happy... go and see whether they are putting new donut onto ur car or not, look properly the Manufacturing date... This is not even arguing. I'm just stating the facts. There is nothing to argue about the facts.i will walk around my car and also checking the labour work also... so pls check, it is sad that things happen... my dad even put the car at his favourite shop for tire change after a while only he come and take, still ok maybe that is ppl lo... some like to take advantage... again sorry for bro ychwang, next time call cheeann for tire change... |
Mar 12 2010, 10:21 AM
wait... fact is facts but still there is other point of view from different ppl la...
i understand ur stand coz i'm in that position b4 also... cheeers..... |
Mar 12 2010, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 12 2010, 10:21 AM) wait... fact is facts but still there is other point of view from different ppl la... Sorry but facts are facts and point's of view cannot be taken into consideration. This is not a negotiation or a discussion. We are not discussion about what those lines mean. We already know what those lines mean and other point of views will not change that fact.i understand ur stand coz i'm in that position b4 also... cheeers..... |
Mar 12 2010, 11:41 AM
i know... jus to share...
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 12 2010, 12:24 PM
1,404 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Puchong |
just change to michelin XM1 last 2 wks, LOVE IT!! very quiet!
Mar 12 2010, 12:58 PM
1,132 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(cheeann @ Mar 12 2010, 09:04 AM) 165/55-14 if u can get rm160 then pls tell me where cuz tat tire is below cost price n i can sell it higher as actual price is lowest is rm190-210 per piece~ XM1 had the best wet grip??even goodyear eagle ducaro also rm140-160 already~ PS3 is replacing PP2 bro,sleepwalker~ those line is not about regarding about sale but is to tag d tires sizes cuz michelin tires they code it by lines n colours as certain saiz there's 2 lines n each tires had diff colours not jus 1 colour~ i've been selling tis brand of tires for so long n i always notice it~ [btw those colour lines is for only michelin tires~] Noise is not important to me.... I juz wan more wet grip.... How bout XM1 vs A.Drive on wet grip...?? |
Mar 12 2010, 01:31 PM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
I dun know the performance of PP2 but might try PS3 for the next change.
Mar 12 2010, 01:54 PM
Mar 12 2010, 02:06 PM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Mar 12 2010, 02:27 PM
then it is a step higher than it... RE-001 is something like PP2... they are in the Ultra High Performance Category
while pilot sports is in the Max Performance Category |
Mar 12 2010, 04:14 PM
3,988 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:33 AM |