Tire discussion thread V1~, come in n discuse about tires~

ychwang
post Mar 11 2010, 09:13 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

Wanna check with you guys,
normally u go change tyre when is the manufacture date? 1month? 3month, 6month 9month or 1year?
I just change from my 17k mileadge NCT5 to Michelin Primacy LC, but the noise level is almost the same and i cant feel so much improvement, is it bcoz of my new michelin LC tyre is 9month old? Yr 2609.
Compare to when i got my new car with new NCT5, its more quiet than current tyre.
Can i request them to change to new tyre for me?
michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 09:23 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

bro ychwang, pls post only in Tire discussion thread...

tat is ok... the quietness is very subjective as the road and also ur car sound insulation is not good already NCT5 quiet after 50% used it is not any more...

what car are you driving?
1 yr from the manufacturing date is ok...

BTW i totally banned NCT5 already it might take lifes... all GY Tires in the middle and lower range sucks... their top range F1 series is good...

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 11 2010, 04:18 AM)
Im currently using Yokohama A Drive 165/55/14, any other good tires with this size ? This tire is not that good under wet driving, its like floating when i cross the water at moderate speed sweat.gif
if not mistaken ur is a Kelisa or Kenari... try Kumha ESPT or Michelin PP2... this is give you ample of grip in wet...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 11 2010, 09:25 AM
ychwang
post Mar 11 2010, 09:43 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2010, 09:23 AM)
bro ychwang, pls post only in Tire discussion thread...

tat is ok... the quietness is very subjective as the road and also ur car sound insulation is not good already NCT5 quiet after 50% used it is not any more...

what car are you driving?
1 yr from the manufacturing date is ok...

BTW i totally banned NCT5 already it might take lifes... all GY Tires in the middle and lower range sucks... their top range F1 series is good...
if not mistaken ur is a Kelisa or Kenari... try Kumha ESPT or Michelin PP2... this is give you ample of grip in wet...
Is it reasonable for me to request change to new tyre? since when i got the tyre i seen the rubber already quite old. I believe new tyre with softer rubber will do much better.

I'm using persona, when first i got the new car its very very quiet with brand new NCT5 tyre. I dun believe a new Michelin LC can noisier than new NCT5. Somemore the car is just about 1year old with 17k mileage n i only drive for around 6-9month(oversea).

michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 09:59 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

the tires is it new??? u saw colors line on the thread when they install it???
i'm not sure whether u can or not... but frankly speaking it might not be the tires but the wheels bearing... i heard of this kinda case b4... check and see...
ww26 09 i think that is ok... as tire life is at least 5 years from the manufacturing date... so safe to say buy tires which is less than 1 yrs on the rack is ok...
ychwang
post Mar 11 2010, 10:29 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

Nop, i didnt see the color line thread on the wheel, It only have the sticket which is quite very worn out.

1 or 2tyre show 2609, but the rest of the tyre only show year 2009, maybe its week 20 year 09 or it only show the year as 2009 only.

when going over normal road i can hear humming sound.. i only feel the quietness whenever there is newly paved road. This is unreasonable right? it should only feel noise on rough road, the rest should be feel quiet.

This post has been edited by ychwang: Mar 11 2010, 10:31 AM
michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 10:43 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

hard to say but if not mistaken most Michelin tires are marked with Colored line for new tires...
yes the 2009 means ww20 yr09,... still ok... but when you say it does not have colors then i need to confirm with ppl i remember michelin have small red lines on the thread to prevent ppl resale it as new tire after use a lil...

but the noise is very subjective my fren... NCT 5 is quiet i duno... but might be ur wheel bearing give out the sound who knows anything can spoil even u use it low mileage so what... parts in the car also might fail in a while... even high quality parts also got warranty claim after few months...

try to call Michelin Malaysia 1-800-388-368 for verification... and say i are not satisfy with the so call quiet drive... ask them whether new tires is there any marking or not as u suspect the tire is used...

how much u bought it?

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 11 2010, 10:45 AM
ychwang
post Mar 11 2010, 10:52 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

erm... then i suspect they sell me the old tyre. I got it for Rm250 @195/60R15, Together with new rim 15' Rim cost me Rm1680

Btw, they ate my old 17k NCT5 and 3k NCT5 for about Rm300
michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 10:55 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

u need to ask michelin then... hard to tell... Rm250 for that size is still reasonable... but Klang can get around RM230 if not mistaken... try to ask Michelin and see how should a new tire be with colored line on the thread or nothing... call them up don be shy...
ychwang
post Mar 11 2010, 11:06 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

I just call up the michelin, she said say there is no red lining along the thread on the tyre for michelin, anyone can confirm for me?

michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 12:00 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

for new tires??? or white lines??? do not have any marking???
sad to say we cannot help much coz this is as a customer u should check the tire condition and request them to get u new pcs.... sorry to hear that you have this bad experience... i personally will choose the tire myself... and tell them i want this 4... anything bad happen blame myself lo... haha
TScheeann
post Mar 11 2010, 12:05 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2010, 11:43 AM)
hard to say but if not mistaken most Michelin tires are marked with Colored line for new tires...
yes the 2009 means ww20 yr09,... still ok... but when you say it does not have colors then i need to confirm with ppl i remember michelin have small red lines on the thread to prevent ppl resale it as new tire after use a lil...

but the noise is very subjective my fren... NCT 5 is quiet i duno... but might be ur wheel bearing give out the sound who knows anything can spoil even u use it low mileage so what... parts in the car also might fail in a while... even high quality parts also got warranty claim after few months...

try to call Michelin Malaysia 1-800-388-368 for verification... and say i are not satisfy with the so call quiet drive... ask them whether new tires is there any marking or not as u suspect the tire is used...

how much u bought it?
QUOTE(ychwang @ Mar 11 2010, 12:06 PM)
I just call up the michelin, she said say there is no red lining along the thread on the tyre for michelin, anyone can confirm for me?

as micheal has verified~
every new michelin tires there's a colour marking line to code d tires n will go off after install it on the road after 2-3k kms~

michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 12:12 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

thanks bro CheeAnn for Verify...

can he go back to the shop to ask for replacement??? seems like the set is not new tire at all...
TScheeann
post Mar 11 2010, 12:31 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2010, 01:12 PM)
thanks bro CheeAnn for Verify...

can he go back to the shop to ask for replacement??? seems like the set is not new tire at all...
i dun think so cuz most tire shop in kl/pj doesn't care n responsible for wat they sold cuz majority were under commission base type~
my except my dad did offer my customer for change from 195/55-15 to 195/50-15[of cuz da line marking still thre] as d new set of tire was scrubbing d fender a lil bit wen goin thru bumps but he says ok wit it n knock a lil bit on his fender so tat won't hit even thou i sold him da set of tires a week later as he prefer more comfort n dun speed but likes cornering more which gives him more feels~ laugh.gif
so better to inspect those tires wen they install it in order future's hassle, if there's anythng very hard cuz tire shops can always says n claim it's a new tire~
michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 01:38 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well ya... there is a lot of shops that give problem... unethical kinda shops...
uzairi
post Mar 11 2010, 01:41 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

thanks bro notworthy.gif
spadecrew
post Mar 11 2010, 02:17 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 11 2010, 09:07 AM)
not sure la... ur size special... don expect much from this cheap tires... R18 tires mostly is up to RM500 already... try to look around and see...
ouh ok....pelik2 punye saiz tongue.gif tongue.gif .....can i use other tyre etc 225/35/r18?? very2 noob at wheels..
michael9413
post Mar 11 2010, 02:48 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

really no idea... maybe u can call shops in Klang or Sunway to confirm...
Ronald_loulan
post Mar 11 2010, 10:02 PM

1,132 posts

Hi guys..
Which 175/70R13 tyre perform best grip on wet surface...??
Noise is not important...
A.Drive?XM1?Conti?Eagle GA?

uzairi
post Mar 11 2010, 10:07 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

How about advan neodva or potenza ? Price range would be around 150ish hmm.gif
michael9413
post Mar 12 2010, 08:43 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Ronald_loulan @ Mar 11 2010, 10:02 PM)
Hi guys..
Which 175/70R13 tyre perform best grip on wet surface...??
Noise is not important...
A.Drive?XM1?Conti?Eagle GA?
Banned Conti CC-1... Eagle GA, again GY lower end tires sucks....
for me XM1 the clear choice, then A Drive...

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 11 2010, 10:07 PM)
How about advan neodva or potenza ? Price range would be around 150ish  hmm.gif
even PP2 is more than that Advan sure got that cheap or not... PP2 is around RM160 if not mistaken...

126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:26 AM