140 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*

BlueKM
post Apr 14 2009, 01:23 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 14 2009, 12:11 PM)
why love letter biscuit? convinience?
isn't eating those will suffer from pimples!!? i eat like 5 piece a day cny time and suffer pimple problems buu! ):
charge-n-go
post Apr 14 2009, 01:39 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 14 2009, 12:11 PM)
why love letter biscuit? convinience?
among the free biscuits available, I like this the most.

isn't eating those will suffer from pimples!!? i eat like 5 piece a day cny time and suffer pimple problems buu! ):

not CNY type. It's a love letter roll.
that CNY love letter, i used to eat half a tin per day. Too tasty ady.

add on:
It seems like 2x love letter + 3 table spoon of glucose is not enough for my gym session.

Today burnt 100kCal during rowing warm up (10 min).
After that, burnt 600kCal on elliptical (30 min). The last 5 min on elliptical is exhausting, although heart rate maintain at 135. Hand and leg feel soft.

After that, static stretching, split, and chest muscle strength training. Fuuuhhhh, tiring.

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Apr 14 2009, 01:42 PM
myremi
post Apr 14 2009, 02:23 PM

1,846 posts

charge-n-go : Hmm...I'm going to stop giving advice and just give you a generic explaination so that you can do some tweaking to your diet as well as hunting for information.

All the advices that I've given you is based on what the body does. How it all comes together, it's a bit different from a person having a moderate lifestyle and an athlete-type of lifestyle (like you). At the same time, I'm learning myself about what happens in the body of these 2 different lifestyle situations.

Ultimately, it's about where your body is going to get the energy for you to do all the exercises and moving about. For a person who is losing weight, we have to watch the GI. But for you who are an athlete-type, it may not be so simple because the rate at which you burn energy is going to be a lot faster. So, you will need more energy than we do.

Because you need more energy at certain periods (e.g. before, during and after the exercise), you may be needing some moderate GI food to bring up the blood sugar level to even form the necessary energy fuel (whether it's glucose or glycogen). You will need to tweak your diet so that you can achieve that balance of eating enough not and the well-being feeling after a good workout.

And that's the hardest bit : the tweaking. It's not easy because athletes typically has smaller muscle mass compared to bodybuilders and weightlifters. So you're going to be processing the blood sugar faster than they are. Yes you lift weights but you also do martial arts where dexterity and speed needs huge bursts of speed i.e. a lot of fuel is burnt and this fuel will come from blood sugar but in what form, not sure whether it's gluocose or glycogen.

The tweaking is in the from of pre-workout, during-workout and post-workout nutrition. It's different from person to person, athlete to athlete. All the body functions remains the same. It's just a matter of changing diets to suit your needs.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=25108635

The above is a discussion going on about cardio in bodybuilding and it does provide some insight into the science of it all. And, it's not an exact science because to create the perfect scenario is going to take some time to tweak. Why the tweak? The body has an equal and opposite reaction for every action. For every glycogen produced, there's probably something in the body that is going on to make sure that it's not overproduced (probably because there's another health impact that will come along later) to maintain a "normal balance".

Just remember : all bodily functions are the same, whether it's for a normal person, an obese person, an athlete or a body builder. The difference is that all of those people have created different environments for their body to behave so certain processes take precendence over the other.

Trying to explain in layman terms is hard...

charge-n-go
post Apr 14 2009, 02:49 PM

4,060 posts

WIKI-san, I need your advice on diet, or perhaps put in another word, I need your useful information on various types of diet. Yeah, I can do the tuning according to my needs.

I was actually switching between normal lifestyle and athlete lifestyle. When I want to burn fats, I go all out in exercise. If I am lazy, I have only 1 aerobic session per week only. When I reach my target, then I will slow down again to enjoy my life besides camping in gym laugh.gif

I am really amazed on the diet and body knowledge that you've gained ! I really want to learn more so that I can maintain a good body all time.
myremi
post Apr 14 2009, 02:52 PM

1,846 posts

One other thing to add : people who do extreme diet (obese, anorexic) and people who do extreme exercises (bodybuilding, athletics, joggers, marathons) will be doing one thing the same :

PUSHING THE BODY TO THE MAX

So there may be health problems, granted that it's different health problems but with all the beating that the body is taking, something will give way.

We are still trying to understand how God's creation really works i.e. how the human bodies works the way it does. Until then, it's still a bit of guessing work and tweaking here and there. smile.gif

We do live in interesting times, no? smile.gif
charge-n-go
post Apr 14 2009, 02:59 PM

4,060 posts

hahaha, pushing the body to the max is my favourite. I never know where is my body limit until today. It is improving day by day. (if lazy and never train, then story is terbalik la! tongue.gif)

I study on different body trainings (athlete types training), as I was a part time instructor 3 years back. However, I am seriously noob in diet. I am starting to pick up this year, because I felt the body is improving slower, and I guess this might be due to my diet.

Well, I have never take MC for 2 years and not even a flu. Perhaps I take a lot of organic health supplement which consists of anti-oxidant, blood circulation related, respiration system related, mix-fruits and etc.

The main problem now is, I don't know how to eat carbo / protein to tweak my body. laugh.gif

We do live in interesting times, no?

hi-5 !

Added on April 14, 2009, 3:06 pmone thing to add.
This is specially for athletes, like martial artist or footballers.
What we need is power training, not strength training.

Power = (strength x distance)/ time.

We can only have good power with strength, speed and durability.

Let's say if we kick football, got strength no speed, the ball cannot go far. Besides, if we kick 1 time and then exhausted, we cannot continue for the next 40 minutes. So, athletes training is a lot more demanding, because one need to maintain the maximum power over a long duration. Gotta train up the VO2 and lactose tolerance level ALOT!

Oh well, that's for people who are interested in becoming athletes. Don't need to go so extreme for body builders and fat burners. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Apr 14 2009, 03:08 PM
Syd G
post Apr 14 2009, 03:22 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I found a new motivation!!

flex.gif

charge-n-go
post Apr 14 2009, 03:26 PM

4,060 posts

sydG, is that your dream to be a runner?
Syd G
post Apr 14 2009, 03:32 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

charge-n-go,
am running a full marathon for standard chartered kl marathon in june smile.gif
myremi
post Apr 14 2009, 03:36 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 14 2009, 02:49 PM)
WIKI-san, I need your advice on diet, or perhaps put in another word, I need your useful information on various types of diet. Yeah, I can do the tuning according to my needs.

I am really amazed on the diet and body knowledge that you've gained ! I really want to learn more so that I can maintain a good body all time.
Errr... I can only share information but you also have to take it with a pinch of salt. Because I've not read up much on pre-workout and post-workout meals.

What kurtbob78 said about fruits and fructose is correct. But it may not be the whole picture either because when one does something extreme, something else has to give way i.e. the balancing effect.

Majority of the information online has been condensed and summarized to paint one picture, whether it's good or bad. It's not always easy to discern whether the impact is positive or not. You have to do a lot of cross-referencing on your own, comparing what you've read and what your body feels like. Or just spend 1-2 hours in a bookstore reading about nutrition but my guess is that there's very few books about athletic nutrition. You may have to spend some money to get those type of information.

Keeping a blog helps. If that's too much of a hassle, keep a hardcopy journal. Then you can backtrack and check each time. When I started dieting, I keep a small notebook in my handbag to watch what I ate for the first 3 weeks. When you're doing your tweaking, it may take more than 3 weeks.

Give yourself 1-2 months to do your tweaking. It's a long period yes but sometimes, if one has a busy workschedule, have to be a bit slow.
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 14 2009, 03:37 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Hi all.

I'm starting to feel hungry a lot (a.k.a hungry 24/7). Eat lunch, 2 hours later hungry ady. eat dinner, 2 hours later hungry again. Eat a bit of supper (bread, or milk), and hungry again @@

What should I do?

I want to cut down my flabby stomach as well.

Anywhere to refer to for basic food intake planning? Thanks!

--

Oh btw I'm generally lean, besides my stomach only. dry.gif

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Apr 14 2009, 03:38 PM
myremi
post Apr 14 2009, 03:53 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 14 2009, 03:32 PM)
charge-n-go,
Awesome Syd G! smile.gif

Waiting for after work to check out the video. >.>

My old boss was a long-distance runner and she was a 4 feet 9 inch wonder. But her diet was really extreme and she was thin. Just didn't have the mood to eat much and she doesn't eat much. I used to see her eat an apple for lunch for years and a lot of greens. Very little meat.
charge-n-go
post Apr 14 2009, 04:09 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 14 2009, 03:32 PM)
charge-n-go,
add oil add oil !
ooops, should be minus oil, so that the body can become more efficient.

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 14 2009, 03:36 PM)
Errr... I can only share information but you also have to take it with a pinch of salt. Because I've not read up much on pre-workout and post-workout meals.

Keeping a blog helps. If that's too much of a hassle, keep a hardcopy journal. Then you can backtrack and check each time. When I started dieting, I keep a small notebook in my handbag to watch what I ate for the first 3 weeks. When you're doing your tweaking, it may take more than 3 weeks.

Give yourself 1-2 months to do your tweaking. It's a long period yes but sometimes, if one has a busy workschedule, have to be a bit slow.
Yeap, I really like to have some information. I'd like to read them on and off too. I am maintaining 5 private blogs to keep track on my various progress besides body training, haha. I am just applying the same to this area only.
Thanks for your sharing WIKI-san.

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 14 2009, 03:37 PM)
What should I do?
Don't be lazy, start doing cardio with the same amount of food intake for 20 minutes alternate days flex.gif
myremi
post Apr 14 2009, 04:16 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 14 2009, 03:37 PM)
Hi all.

I'm starting to feel hungry a lot (a.k.a hungry 24/7). Eat lunch, 2 hours later hungry ady. eat dinner, 2 hours later hungry again. Eat a bit of supper (bread, or milk), and hungry again @@

What should I do?

Anywhere to refer to for basic food intake planning? Thanks!

--

Oh btw I'm generally lean, besides my stomach only. dry.gif
Hi, welcome to the thread where a lot of proposals and solutions abount.

Perhaps, itmay help if you tell us what you normally eat, what time, how it's cook and what is your exercise time like?

People will post from there. smile.gif

Added on April 14, 2009, 4:18 pmBut I see charge-n-go has charged right in...

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 14 2009, 04:18 PM
Sky.Live
post Apr 14 2009, 05:01 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Went pool swimming, just swam 30mins then close liao = =, only done 5.5 laps. I took the form to enroll for swimming course edi, oldest noob in class later xD
tengster
post Apr 14 2009, 05:06 PM

5,612 posts

sky - you swim in Bandar TUnRazak arhhhhh....not that I am stalking you but I am deciding to send my kid to there as well...just that logistic and commitment of driver needs to be sorted out....

apa nama itu club?
Sky.Live
post Apr 14 2009, 05:13 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 14 2009, 05:06 PM)
sky - you swim in Bandar TUnRazak arhhhhh....not that I am stalking you but I am deciding to send my kid to there as well...just that logistic and commitment of driver needs to be sorted out....

apa nama itu club?
It's a very nice place to swim. Even better than 99% of clubs, condos swimming pool, just that the depth is only like 1.6m.
It used to be very lousy with dirty water, i think they changed the management there already.
It's also good thing to be in swallow pool, when i swim in very deep pool the psychological factor come in that if i got cramp and drown.

Why not learned with your kid, unless you are already a pro xD.
I drive like 15 ~ 20mins all the way from hussein onn, if you know where it is xD

p/s i saw also a big group class of small children learning just now, the coach seems very fun them

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 14 2009, 05:22 PM
tengster
post Apr 14 2009, 05:17 PM

5,612 posts

i am not a swimmer. cant even thread water......been considering.....

everyweekend we are swimming in other condo pool.......my distance is twice yours....driving distance......
chloe_yee87
post Apr 14 2009, 05:19 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 14 2009, 05:13 PM)
It's a very nice place to swim. Even better than 99% of clubs, condos swimming pool, just that the depth is only like 1.6m.
It used to be very lousy with dirty water, i think they changed the management there already.
It's also good thing to be in swallow pool, when i swim in very deep pool the psychological factor come in that if i got cramp and drown.

Why not learned with your kid, unless you are already a pro xD.
I drive like 15 ~ 20mins all the way from hussein onn, if you know where it is xD
oh..there's a swimming area in bandar tun razak? what's the name of the place? or better, do u happens to have map for it?
sorry ya if this seems a bit out of place to ask...i'm staying in tmn connought, and dying to learn how to swim smile.gif
Sky.Live
post Apr 14 2009, 05:27 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 14 2009, 05:17 PM)
i am not a swimmer. cant even thread water......been considering.....

everyweekend we are swimming in other condo pool.......my distance is twice yours....driving distance......
Where are you staying?
Swimming is a good sport for all age, all gender, all race, also for ultra obese for me

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Apr 14 2009, 05:19 PM)
oh..there's a swimming area in bandar tun razak? what's the name of the place? or better, do u happens to have map for it?
sorry ya if this seems a bit out of place to ask...i'm staying in tmn connought, and dying to learn how to swim smile.gif
google map should lead you there
keyword to search: Bandar Tun Razak Public Swimming Pool‎

It's only RM2 on the weekday RM3 on the weekend

weekday 3-5pm 6-8pm session
weekend 8.30-10.30 ( i think so, never been before) 3-5pm 6-8pm

140 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:12 AM