140 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*

myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 04:35 PM

1,846 posts

errr...my blog in the early days very fatty lah. 1st food blog in Malaysia and that was back in 2003. smile.gif Then in 2004-2005, lost mood already. Got distracted by online games. Trying to do again but hai, no mood. Distract by LYn forums.

And your lunches were healthier than mine. mix grain + taugeh + curry chicken (no santan + no milk).

Roasting some brinjal atm. Never knew that it has a lot of worms in them. Seriously. Speaking to Granny, she mention it's very common. If no worms, then alot of pesticides for brinjal and have to remove the skin.

Added on April 11, 2009, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 11 2009, 03:58 PM)
my lunch is 4 slices of wholemeal bread with microwaved sliced of chicken breast...with wifey-made coffee........that's all........
Options for micrwave sliced chicken breast

1. get one of those tenderizer (kitchen equipment, not the liquid tenderizer made from papaya enzymes) and pound the chicken breast a bit. then balut it with some chopped dried fruit or fresh fruit and then zap it. dried fruit - prune, mango, cranberries, raisin. fresh fruit - pineapple, apple, mango, orange.

2. squeeze some lemon juice or lime juice and since you're in KL, some fresh dill. dried dill will do too.

3. rub some balsamic vinegar and then a dash of herbs e.g. rosemary, thyme, oregano.

4. 5-spice poweder (the best ones are from the traditional chinese medicine shop. always more fragrant than even some of the locally packaged ones) and some ginger + onion strips.

All seasonings are calorie free. Some are expensive to buy in the beginning (I ended up with nearly 10 bottles each costing RM11-RM18, some are in packets of RM4 each though) but they will last you over a year.

Since I started this diet, I have a lot of seasonings, on top of my Granny's asian seasoning.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 11 2009, 04:43 PM
richard3200
post Apr 11 2009, 05:11 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 11 2009, 03:58 PM)
good lunch Sky-Live........

my lunch is 4 slices of wholemeal bread with microwaved sliced of chicken breast...with wifey-made coffee........that's all........

Sky-Live and RICHard....you two are now like One kati vs 600gramme....You two should just motivate in each and us (all) while executing all your weight loss program.

Go Go Go...burn all the unnecesary FAT.
Haha, sky.live and me are really sitting on the same boat. Btw sky.live, where do u come from and wad u normally do for ur exercises?

myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 05:21 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 11 2009, 04:00 PM)
I cant take pepper, it makes me feel awful.
Hmm.... real pepper tastes very different from the commercial pepper in supermarkets because the commercial pepper would have been soak with chilli seeds.

My Granny has a small pepper vine at the back of her garden. When I first tasted the pepper powder that was grinded from the peppercorn, there was no immediate spicy taste but a nice aftertaste. And when added into dishes, the flavouring became very different from the commercial pepper.

Probably don't use too much of the commercial one. Or try to look for the ones that says Sarawak Pepper by the Sarawak Pepper Board.

http://www.pam4you.com/pages/products/oliveoil/index.jsp : Just bought this spray last Friday. RM11 per bottle, ouch. Trying it out to see if it can really help ppl lose weight or not.

Also, the roasted brinjal after 20 min @ 200C (Gas Mark 5 I think) in the oven. Later on, will make some tomato sauce with tomato and onion, put on top with some mozzarella and back it again.

The white paper is baking paper sprayed with the PAM olive oil sprayed on the sheet and then on top of the brinjal.

Sky.Live
post Apr 11 2009, 06:35 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

My house's pepper are bought from sarawak by my relative, i am born in Sabah in fact but grown up in KL. It is in seed form and need to punch it to powder, my sister is a pepper lover, when she cook i always complain.

Your brinjal looks great but i dont take brinjal, only exceptionally once which my grandma plant herself which taste so great, those bought from the market, yucks.. > <

@richard
I'm from KL chears

BTW, how to reduce stretch mark?

also thinking what elses i can add to my salad on next time, so far thought of onion ring, lettuce, purple cabbage, celeri. Thought of adding some nuts too
Any other dressing?

p/s found this site
http://nutrition.about.com/od/healthymainm.../mmm_salads.htm

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 11 2009, 06:41 PM
pizzaboy
post Apr 11 2009, 06:55 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 11 2009, 03:23 PM)
hahaha, I just took Pizzahut garden salad as my lunch just now. No mayonese and salad sauce of course tongue.gif
Didja know that all that wonderful vitamins and minerals, cannot be absorbed without fat? You throwing the mayonnaise away, well ....you get what I'm saying.
myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 07:21 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 11 2009, 06:55 PM)
Didja know that all that wonderful vitamins and minerals, cannot be absorbed without fat? You throwing the mayonnaise away, well ....you get what I'm saying.
There's such a thing called olive oil which is usually found in italian dressing and french dressing. The mayo tends to be higher in fat compared to ordinary olive oil.

Only thing is, I dunno whether pizzahut got such oil dressings.

Added on April 11, 2009, 7:24 pmOr the other way is to get the fat is through cheese.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 11 2009, 07:24 PM
Syd G
post Apr 11 2009, 07:26 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

mayo tends to be higher in fat?

omg.. olive oil = 100% fat sleep.gif;
myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 07:33 PM

1,846 posts

skylive : sounds like your sister has a heavy hand at pepper. Tell her to not put as much. It sounds like she's saturating the meal with pepper so much that the actual food flavours aren't coming out.

Anyway, this was the final dish.

After roasting the brinjal, I kept it aside. Cut some onion rings which I stir-fry with 1 tsp olive oil until soft. Then I threw in some tomato sauce that I made a month ago (they were in ice-cube form - think it was celery, carrot, tomato, onion) with a bit of water. Then drop in some cherry tomatoes and stir-fry until the tomato was soft but not hancur. Then put on top of brinjal, then sprinkle some mozzarella (had to bang the plastic bag hard coz I forgot I left the mozzarella in the freezer). This was 10 min in the oven, could be longer so that the cheese was burnt but my Granny was hungry.

No salt except what was in the cheese. Although, I did season both the tomato+onion mix and roasted the brinjal with this herb mix : http://www.mccormick.com/Products/Herbs-an...-Seasoning.aspx

Surprisingly tasted like pizza. Even my Granny said that. Pizzahut puts brinjal on their vegetarian pizza I think, or they used to. I can only eat brinjal like this or as babaganoush. Chinese style, looks too icky.

Added on April 11, 2009, 7:41 pmErrr...we didn't finish everything lah. That was a dish for 4 ppl.

Added on April 11, 2009, 7:48 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 11 2009, 07:26 PM)
mayo tends to be higher in fat?

omg.. olive oil = 100% fat sleep.gif;
Pandai this woman. *piak*

Higher in bad fats. And it's not going to be like going to take that much olive oil lah. tongue.gif

Go google. If olive oil was that bad, then why it's used in a lot of controlled diet plans compared to mayo. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 11 2009, 07:48 PM
charge-n-go
post Apr 11 2009, 07:50 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 11 2009, 06:55 PM)
gotcha dude !

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 11 2009, 07:21 PM)
There's such a thing called olive oil which is usually found in italian dressing and french dressing. The mayo tends to be higher in fat compared to ordinary olive oil.

Only thing is, I dunno whether pizzahut got such oil dressings.
wiki-san, how about vinegar?
pizzaboy
post Apr 11 2009, 07:55 PM

9,495 posts

Oh they have olive oil in the Pizza Hut salads? Didn't know that.
charge-n-go
post Apr 11 2009, 07:57 PM

4,060 posts

I didn't see in Pizzahut la. But some shops selling premium pizza does have olive oil.
Syd G
post Apr 11 2009, 08:04 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 11 2009, 07:33 PM)
Pandai this woman. *piak*

Higher in bad fats.  And it's not going to be like going to take that much olive oil lah. tongue.gif

Go google. If olive oil was that bad, then why it's used in a lot of controlled diet plans compared to mayo. tongue.gif
Ah. I didnt say it was bad, I'm just saying that it's 100% fat yanno. 10g of olive oil has more fat than 10g of mayo wink.gif

Your dish looks amazing!! I jz hate things saltless - "The use of salt is valuable in low blood pressure. Until the blood pressure reaches normal levels through proper dietary and other remedies, it is essential that you take salty foods and half a teaspoon of salt in water daily." thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif er.. hurray for low blood pressure? wink.gif

Btw an interesting insight I received after a questionnaire today :

You're a fast oxidizer.

Because you crave salty foods, cheeses, and meats, you may be a fast oxidizer. This is the fancy term for your metabolic rate. It simply means that you burn through the nutrients in your food rapidly and that you therefore produce energy instantly. If the energy is not used immediately, it is stored as fat. Carbs only speed your oxidation and energy production further. So to best serve your metabolism and feel energized both physically and mentally, you require foods with higher percentages of proteins and fats. Make sure that there is protein in everything you eat, including snacks. Your ideal meals and snacks should break down to a ratio of 20% carbs, 50% protein, and 30% fat.
myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 08:07 PM

1,846 posts

charge-n-go : vinegar should be fine as long as you don't take the pre-mix salad dressing types. I prefer to mix my own salad dressing so that I can control the fat and sugar.

I like balsamic vinegar because the vinegar taste is not so strong. The other ones I currently have at home are red wine vinegar (sauvignon) and white wine vinegar (chardonnay) which are bought from the store. If you have leftover wine, just let it go sour and voila, you have wine vinegar. The alcoholic ones have some calories but it's not going to be so much per 1/2 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon which is the most you're going to put into salads anyway.

Hmmm....I do have a small recipe for a nice salad dressing but only take it if you're exercising regularly and you have cut down your carbo. Also, only for occasional use.

1 egg yolk (hardboiled)
1/2 teaspoon Dijon Mustard (more fatty than normal mustard but better taste)
1 teaspoon low-fat Mayo (add more to taste but remember, the more you add, the more the fat)
pepper
herbs if you want e.g. oregano (make it smell italian), rosemary, thyme

Mash it up. Now taste it. The secret are the eggyolk and the Dijon Mustard. You can add salt in. Pick this recipe up from the Atkins site - yes it's fatty but with a low carbo diet and regular exercise, you wouldn't be putting on a lot of weight unless you take this dressing regularly.
pizzaboy
post Apr 11 2009, 08:12 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 11 2009, 08:04 PM)
Ah. I didnt say it was bad, I'm just saying that it's 100% fat yanno. 10g of olive oil has more fat than 10g of mayo wink.gif

Your dish looks amazing!! I jz hate things saltless - "The use of salt is valuable in low blood pressure. Until the blood pressure reaches normal levels through proper dietary and other remedies, it is essential that you take salty foods and half a teaspoon of salt in water daily."  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif er.. hurray for low blood pressure? wink.gif

You're a fast oxidizer.

Because you crave salty foods, cheeses, and meats, you may be a fast oxidizer. This is the fancy term for your metabolic rate. It simply means that you burn through the nutrients in your food rapidly and that you therefore produce energy instantly. If the energy is not used immediately, it is stored as fat. Carbs only speed your oxidation and energy production further. So to best serve your metabolism and feel energized both physically and mentally, you require foods with higher percentages of proteins and fats. Make sure that there is protein in everything you eat, including snacks. Your ideal meals and snacks should break down to a ratio of 20% carbs, 50% protein, and 30% fat.
Sounds really like me. The thought of a thick juicy steak, with salt and pepper drizzled all over it, with cheese melted all over the top......RAWRRRRR!!!!! I'M HUNGREEEEE
Syd G
post Apr 11 2009, 08:19 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 11 2009, 08:12 PM)
Sounds really like me. The thought of a thick juicy steak, with salt and pepper drizzled all over it, with cheese melted all over the top......RAWRRRRR!!!!! I'M HUNGREEEEE
I have that "I could use some steak with sauteed mushroom, butter n cheese" thought EVERY SINGLE DAY.

*goes fry chicken cubes + curry powder + salt in butter*

charge-n-go
post Apr 11 2009, 08:45 PM

4,060 posts

oh dear,
I just have a belacan chicken curry fried rice for dinner at 7pm,
and after reading you gals punya recipe, I suddenly feel hungry !!

myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 08:45 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 11 2009, 08:04 PM)

Your dish looks amazing!! I jz hate things saltless - "The use of salt is valuable in low blood pressure. Until the blood pressure reaches normal levels through proper dietary and other remedies, it is essential that you take salty foods and half a teaspoon of salt in water daily."  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif er.. hurray for low blood pressure? wink.gif

You're a fast oxidizer.

I know you cheeky woman. brows.gif brows.gif

LOL! Not sure which one is worst, low blood pressure or high blood pressure. Both have diet issues.

50% protein : 25% veggie + 25% meat lor.

Hmm...I haven't had steak in awhile. Only take it when in Germany (the marinade with dark beer is great. A non-alcoholoic version is to use Malta) or at this pork restaurant in Kuching owned by a Sarawakian Lady married to an Austrian Chef. Somehow, European cooking has a lot more herb flavours than American food. Haven't tried cooking steak at home yet. Although my Dad recommended using this :

http://www.cosway.com.my/promotion/redempt...20flipNcook.htm

It's a bit heavy to use but it makes turning the food easier and also can cover for the "pressure" cooking a little bit.

Added on April 11, 2009, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 11 2009, 08:19 PM)
*goes fry chicken cubes + curry powder + salt in butter*
Add pineapple cubes. smile.gif And change to olive oil or granola oil, gal.

Actually, no need curry powder. Rub kunyit ok.

Hmm...Assam Java stir fry with prawn also nice leh. I think that's pretty safe.

Added on April 11, 2009, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 11 2009, 08:45 PM)
oh dear,
I just have a belacan chicken curry fried rice for dinner at 7pm,
and after reading you gals punya recipe, I suddenly feel hungry !!
Speaking of curry, sigh. I'm going to miss eating salted fish curry with prawn and pineapple that my Granny make. One of my favourites before. Now totally cannot eat.

Sigh sigh sigh.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 11 2009, 08:51 PM
myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 08:58 PM

1,846 posts

Hmm...lemme show you a picture of something. What's wrong with the picture? In terms of dieting

Digressing a bit from the topic but since we're on a discussion about fat...

Make a guess.
charge-n-go
post Apr 11 2009, 09:06 PM

4,060 posts

That's a bowl of super fattening mayo! laugh.gif
myremi
post Apr 11 2009, 09:06 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 11 2009, 09:06 PM)
That's a bowl of super fattening mayo! laugh.gif
Warm but not quite.

140 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:44 PM