140 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*

charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 09:33 AM

4,060 posts

I have a body training journal here:

My Workout Journal
Last week I have no weight lost and waist measurement lost at all biggrin.gif

Need the advice from you. Thanks!
Syd G
post Apr 13 2009, 09:37 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

charge-n-go,

i still think you're undereating wink.gif
charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 09:39 AM

4,060 posts

What is your suggestion Syd G?
myremi
post Apr 13 2009, 12:21 PM

1,846 posts

I'm looking at your journal and just wondering, how on earth did you calculate the kcal for wantan mee and dimsum?

I suspect that you're not having any drop in weight or waist, is because of the foods you're eating. Either underestimation of colories or you're not producing enough glycogen.

I don't have my book with me atm so you'll have to wait until I get back home to check. Glycogen acts as a fat-releasing hormone as well. However, it is also sensitive to insulin content in the blood. So if you eat too much food with high GI, there may be more insulin than there is glycogen. So, no weight loss.

Insulin is used to control your blood sugar levels but if your blood sugar yoyos too much in the body, it's hard for the body to control itself (a nutshell kinda logic). I'll have to get back to you on this one later tonite.

But looking at the foods that you posted in your blog, hmm...I would say that maybe it's the blood sugar effect but guessing game here. It's obvious that you are a very active person. You might need that much carbo anyways.

A lot of processed food around. Since you don't have access to a kitchen, I would suggest for lunch and dinner, try to eat "economy rice" where you can pick and choose your portions. Avoid sauces and gravy but go for food cook from fresh food e.g. vegetables and meat. 2 spoonful of rice, or beans instead since beans are a good source of carbo with low GI. Avoid yams and potatoes except for sweet potato. McD sunday cone is a bomb lah.

The problem with eating "economy rice" is that there's a lot of sugar put into the meals. Even eating at Chinese Restaurants, there is a lot of sugar put into the dishes, just to get rid of any sour/salty/fishy taste/smell. But I guess not much choice. So "economy rice" food choices is the best option for you atm. Avoid the fried stuff and eat fish or chicken.

You may also want to consider the approach that BBers adopt with cutting fat stage. Not to the extreme that they do but just a little bit to drop the amount and then go back to your normal eating habits to maintain the cut.

Syd G
post Apr 13 2009, 12:27 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 13 2009, 09:39 AM)
What is your suggestion Syd G?
can pls take the quiz and report the results? http://www.sensible-alternative.com.au/metabolic.pdf

myremi
post Apr 13 2009, 01:10 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 13 2009, 12:27 PM)
can pls take the quiz and report the results? http://www.sensible-alternative.com.au/metabolic.pdf

Less than 15 a’s: You are a slow or medium oxidizer of carbohydrates. You do not need
to restrict carbohydrates, but you may still feel better with less refined flour and sugar.
You will do well with lighter proteins like fish and goat cheese.

Me atm. The questionairre looks like a survey on low carbo / processed food / fermented food.
Sky.Live
post Apr 13 2009, 01:13 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Slept 5am yesterday rushing project T.T
Woke up 9 today have to rush to putrajaya at 10.

This is my heavy brunch

Ingredient
Hard boiled egg to perfection
2 slices of Cabbage
1/3 of onion cut into ring (note super thick ring)
2 slices of butter lettuce
1 mini tomato
2 spoon of mix vegetable
1 spoon of sweet corn
3 slices of chicken fillet (pan fried with olive oil)

<hide> 1 slice of turkey bacon ham </hide>

2 slices of Jaya Jusco Whole Meal Bread
1 Cup of Dutch Lady full cream milk

Dressing
Freshly squeezed lemon juice

p/s, there is a slice cheese too, but somehow i dont know how to melt it = =" it turns sticking all over my salad

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 13 2009, 01:14 PM
charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 01:22 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 13 2009, 12:21 PM)
I'm looking at your journal and just wondering, how on earth did you calculate the kcal for wantan mee and dimsum?

I suspect that you're not having any drop in weight or waist, is because of the foods you're eating. Either underestimation of colories or you're not producing enough glycogen.
haha, I am just guessing. I read something about a plate of dim sum is roughly how many kCals. I ate about 4 plates only. It is really a rough estimation. tongue.gif

Thanks for your help wiki san.

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 13 2009, 12:27 PM)

gao dim. I got 6 A.
thank you for the link

Sky.Live, Wiki-san, I have put a link to your blogs !
Sky.Live
post Apr 13 2009, 01:25 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Less than 15 a’s: You are a slow or medium oxidizer of carbohydrates. You do not need to restrict carbohydrates, but you may still feel better with less refined flour and sugar. You will do well with lighter proteins like fish and goat cheese.

i got 8As but some of the question i dont really understand such as
28. Are your pupils?
26. Do you react badly to insect bites?

21. Do you have a problem with dandruff?
I used to have but no longer, does it count?

The question asked dont seems to project towards asian diet.

Added on April 13, 2009, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 13 2009, 01:22 PM)
haha, I am just guessing. I read something about a plate of dim sum is roughly how many kCals. I ate about 4 plates only. It is really a rough estimation. tongue.gif

Thanks for your help wiki san.
gao dim. I got 6 A.
thank you for the link
Sky.Live, Wiki-san, I have put a link to your blogs !
thanks xD
Been a while i have nothing to update for my blog

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 13 2009, 01:26 PM
Syd G
post Apr 13 2009, 01:27 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I scored like... 95% As - they're quite spot on smile.gif

charge-n-go : i think it's pretty clear. keep away from fatty proteins (kfc, pork) n processed carbs

let ppl like us enjoy the fatty proteins tongue.gif
charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 01:31 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 13 2009, 01:25 PM)
thanks xD
Been a while i have nothing to update for my blog
chill bro. Let's share our weight loss journal. We can have more ohm~~!!

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 13 2009, 01:27 PM)
I scored like... 95% As - they're quite spot on smile.gif

charge-n-go : i think it's pretty clear. keep away from fatty proteins (kfc, pork) n processed carbs
let ppl like us enjoy the fatty proteins tongue.gif
hahaha, you reminded me on pork. Last saturday during Ching Ming, I makan 2 big plates of 烧肉 (dunno what is it called in english). Damn, I like pork !!

but now gotta stick to chicken and fish. SydG, i pass the pork to u, u pass the rice to me biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Apr 13 2009, 01:39 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 13 2009, 01:31 PM)
but now gotta stick to chicken and fish. SydG, i pass the pork to u, u pass the rice to me biggrin.gif
I've started taking 2 half boiled C size eggs for breakfast - they fill me better than a huge packet of nasi lemak. I kinda like nasi lemak sad.gif

myremi
post Apr 13 2009, 01:52 PM

1,846 posts

skylive : Some of the questions are based on the concept that "what-you-eat-may-caused-health-problems" e.g. pupils, dandruff, insect bites (it's something to do with some kind of acid forming on your skin that attracts insects, or the rate of skin healing).

With homeopathic "medicine" or naturaopathy, the practice is to avoid taking processed medication and use natural remedies for healing as well as avoiding chemical exposure. There is some true into it and people who have allergic symptoms to chemicals will find it does work more effectively for them than conventional medication.
charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 01:58 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 13 2009, 01:39 PM)
I've started taking 2 half boiled C size eggs for breakfast - they fill me better than a huge packet of nasi lemak. I kinda like nasi lemak sad.gif
nevermind. You can poslaju me the nasi lemak. I'm glad to share your joy.
at the mean time, I will post you some fatty protein.
myremi
post Apr 13 2009, 02:24 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 13 2009, 01:39 PM)
Actually, hmm... wonder if we can "makeover" the nasi lemak to something healthy :

-brown rice
-roast chicken drumstick
-cucumber
-boiled peanuts
-boiled egg

But my head hurts thinking of how to prepare the sambal. Maybe just make the sambal as it is and just go with it. A small portion shouldn't contribute much to weight gain since the rice is not cook in coconut milk anymore no?
tengster
post Apr 13 2009, 02:40 PM

5,612 posts

use evap milk to replace coconut.........but how to replace salt?

use sunflower oil instead of palm oil to cook the sambal.....
myremi
post Apr 13 2009, 02:48 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 13 2009, 01:22 PM)
Ermmm.... very hard to control lor. When eating dimsum, say the prawn + pork meat in dimsum, they will probably use a combination of meat and fat together (e.g. fatty meat, skin). Also, they do at in sugar.

Come to think about it, most Chinese food has sugar in them. Watching my Granny cook some of those restaurant style dishes as well as Penang Nyonya cooking, must say she does have a heavy hand a it.

And the oink-oink you mention is suckling pig?

Added on April 13, 2009, 3:19 pm
QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 13 2009, 02:40 PM)
use evap milk to replace coconut.........but how to replace salt?

use sunflower oil instead of palm oil to cook the sambal.....
Can't replace salt. Maybe have to use seasalt or just adapt to not having salt in food.

Sambal : the problem is sugar. There is alot of sugar in sambal that makes it sweet and to overcome the salty taste from the prawn sambal salty taste.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 13 2009, 03:19 PM
charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 03:40 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 13 2009, 02:48 PM)
Ermmm.... very hard to control lor. When eating dimsum, say the prawn + pork meat in dimsum, they will probably use a combination of meat and fat together (e.g. fatty meat, skin). Also, they do at in sugar.

Come to think about it, most Chinese food has sugar in them. Watching my Granny cook some of those restaurant style dishes as well as Penang Nyonya cooking, must say she does have a heavy hand a it.

And the oink-oink you mention is suckling pig?
I go out with gals to makan dim sum once a week. Like that I also lazy to calculate already, hahaha.

What oink oink? U mean what meat is that oink oink isit?
half fat half thin 1.

Me eat about 2 bowl tat day laugh.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Apr 13 2009, 03:41 PM
tengster
post Apr 13 2009, 03:49 PM

5,612 posts

myremi - make sambal that taste sour......use asam...

chargie - lotof fat in the dimsum.......ALOTOFTHEM.
charge-n-go
post Apr 13 2009, 03:54 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 13 2009, 03:49 PM)
chargie - lotof fat in the dimsum.......ALOTOFTHEM.
Then I'll pump extra 50kCal everyday on my elliptical, hahahaha.

140 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:29 PM