pizzaboy
post Jun 9 2009, 08:59 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Jun 9 2009, 08:15 PM)
Are you clustering Lance Armstrong and Phelp together?
Hell no.
Not want them cancer.
tennis4life
post Jun 10 2009, 12:39 AM

278 posts

Maybe you just have a body that can take it? From the jogging u do?

I don't know enough about dieting though to say why it happened. Skipping rice does help a lot but to explain why the weightloss happened even after massive cheat meals.

Although, chatting with a friend, we were kinda shock at Michael Phelps high carb diet. 9000 calories per day. Then again, competitive athletes may be taking that much I guess.

Phelps's diet isn't shocking. Fitness instructor's that conducts 5 classes per day consumed around 5000-6000 kcal.
wink.gif
badutman
post Jun 10 2009, 09:35 AM

307 posts

i do jog, but lately, i jog more milage/day than last year (daily 3-6km rather than 2-4km). hoping that KG deficit still go on until 60kg smile.gif

btw yester-noon WO (manage to hit gym):
Upper body stretch
A circuit of 10rep*4set with 10lbs DB perhand: bicepcurl + frontraise + shouldershrug + uprightrow
Latpulldown 40lbs 10*4 (machine)
Pecfly 40lbs 10*4 (machine)
Tricep extension 40lbs 10*4 (machine)

Treadmill:
Walk3min 4-5-6
Jog7min 7-7-8-8-8-8-8
HIIT10min 12-8-12-8-12-6-12-8-12-8
Cool2min 7-6.5
=192cal 3.01km 22m

Doing weight first instead of doing cardio do taxing my body too much sweat.gif

kianweic
post Jun 10 2009, 09:59 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

@Badutman

It's better to do weights before cardiovascular exercises.

There are a few reasons behind this. For eg. depleting your energy in weights and continue with cardio exercises for fat loss.

However, it would be more optimal if one can exercise 5-6 times a week for an hour of each session without mixing cardio and weights together.

Also from my point of view,weights training takes more concerntration than cardiovascular (with the exception of HIIT), this might differ from one person to the other.
redninja
post Jun 10 2009, 11:05 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 9 2009, 01:37 PM)
I wouldn't believe all these sources really. There were numerous sources that said Michael never lifted weights and on youtube, we have videos of him training and talking about lifting weights.

Then they say he trains for six hours a day, 6 days a week. Where did he find the time to smoke pot, party, have sex and all that the media is saying, WITH photos. But he's a great athlete that I'll give it to him.

I wanna live that lifestyle too. Sex, drugs, and Olympic gold medals.
It's possible. His lifestyle is possibly AFTER all those Olympic gold medals. He only recently entered the first competition since the Olympics about a week ago. Training for the Olympics is a 3+ year event so it makes sense that he takes time off for rigorous training for a bit.

I used to swim twice a day (2 - 3 hours each). Wake up at 3am, mom drive to pool, swim practice, get ready for school, go to school, after school go to 2nd swim practice in afternoon 3pm or sometimes it is at 7pm. Then come home. Usually eat meals in car and do homework in car, go to sleep really early. A few times a week we will have strength sessions before swim training or even a jog around the park. Also to 'diversify' or tweak different muscles we would also play other sports like tennis, squash/racquetball or whatever else. Also individual gym sessions on your own when you have the time.

It is a full-time job. But not possible in Malaysia with our education system and lack of support by the government, schools etc. It's all from the effort of the parents (mostly) - and the swimmer (a little or just in the pool heh) biggrin.gif

So Mr Michael Phelps? With the outstanding sports system there in the US + being a "full-time" swimmer? Easy peasy to dedicate himself to working out all day and eating 10,000 calories per day.

This post has been edited by redninja: Jun 10 2009, 11:13 AM
pizzaboy
post Jun 10 2009, 11:17 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ Jun 10 2009, 11:05 AM)
It's possible. His lifestyle is possibly AFTER all those Olympic gold medals. He only recently entered the first competition since the Olympics about a week ago. Training for the Olympics is a 3+ year event so it makes sense that he takes time off for rigorous training for a bit.

I used to swim twice a day (2 - 3 hours each). Wake up at 3am, mom drive to pool, swim practice, get ready for school, go to school, after school go to 2nd swim practice in afternoon 3pm or sometimes it is at 7pm. Then come home. Usually eat meals in car and do homework in car, go to sleep really early. A few times a week we will have strength sessions before swim training or even a jog around the park. Also to 'diversify' or tweak different muscles we would also play other sports like tennis, squash/racquetball or whatever else. Also individual gym sessions on your own when you have the time.

It is a full-time job. But not possible in Malaysia with our education system and lack of support by the government, schools etc. It's all from the effort of the parents (mostly) - and the swimmer (a little or just in the pool heh) biggrin.gif

So Mr Michael Phelps? With the outstanding sports system there in the US + being a "full-time" swimmer? Easy peasy to dedicate himself to working out all day and eating 10,000 calories per day.
I wish they had this for their weightlifters as well. Those poor boys have to go to university, survive on a USD2000 budget from the government and allowances frm their parents and that's only if they manage to join the national team.
myremi
post Jun 10 2009, 12:34 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 10 2009, 09:59 AM)
It's better to do weights before cardiovascular exercises.
Do both lah. tongue.gif
metalfreak
post Jun 10 2009, 01:23 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

Yes we can do both but the order of which should come first is important

Do weights FIRST then only cardio. Why? because by doing cardio first, you'll use up most of your energy...how are you gonna lift?

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/drobson24.htm

Although there is no right or wrong, the choice is totally up to ourselves smile.gif

Anyway, i usually separate cardio and workout days. After a good workout...almost no energy to even run 1KM. Shiok feeling haha.

Right Kianweic? biggrin.gif

kianweic
post Jun 10 2009, 01:48 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

@metalfreak

+1

Anyway, if one doesn't do any exercises, I would say any form of exercises is good exercises and doesn't have to fall strictly into bodybuilding terms or sports.
badutman
post Jun 10 2009, 02:32 PM

307 posts

halu fatsos!
today treadmill WO:
Walk3min 4-5-6kmph incline1.0
Jog2min 7-7kmph incline1.0
Jog5min 8kmph incline2.0
Jog5min 9kmph incline1.0
Jog5min 8kmph incline2.5
Jog5min 9kmph incline1.5
Jog5min 8kmph incline3.0
Jog5min 9kmph incline2.0
Interval11min 7-8-10-8-10-8-10-8-10-8-10 incline0.0
Cool4min 7-6.5-7-6.5 incline0.0
=488cal 6.97km 50min

totally happy for today's WO n rewarding myself half serving of nasiayam (~300cal?) nyumnyum.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by badutman: Jun 10 2009, 02:34 PM
myremi
post Jun 10 2009, 02:46 PM

1,846 posts

badutman : Good on the exercise but it's usually a bad idea to use food as a reward. It's easy to get into a runaway reaction.

kianweic : I'd say that it depends on the goal and the person. Any form of exercise these days may not be enough. 20-30 years ago, maybe but probably not today.

I got frustrated with a lot of ppl saying that it takes time, perservere on and maybe one day weight loss will happen. Apparently, dieting is not as simple it's depicted to be and neither is all forms of exercise able to give the same result for everyone.

It's a damn pain to study though but if results are what people want to see, big sacrifices required.
metalfreak
post Jun 10 2009, 03:09 PM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jun 10 2009, 02:46 PM)
badutman : Good on the exercise but it's usually a bad idea to use food as a reward. It's easy to get into a runaway reaction.

kianweic : I'd say that it depends on the goal and the person. Any form of exercise these days may not be enough. 20-30 years ago, maybe but probably not today.

I got frustrated with a lot of ppl saying that it takes time, perservere on and maybe one day weight loss will happen. Apparently, dieting is not as simple it's depicted to be and neither is all forms of exercise able to give the same result for everyone.

It's a damn pain to study though but if results are what people want to see, big sacrifices required.
Frustration is good. So use that as your motivation to prove them wrong. That is how i manage to progress. I'm not saying did it for them, i memang wanted to lose weight but i guess anger was a 2nd factor of motivation.

Don't take it as a routine, but a lifestyle, enjoy what you are doing and not just think about losing weight all the time.

Might be different for some ppl but thatz just me biggrin.gif

Relax la. Enjoy what you're doing.

Most ppl don't understand what to do or what it takes when it comes to losing weight. For them...its DIET. Dieting is about what we eat and NOT about eating less. Thats already their 1st mistake.

"Oh, I'm on a diet". They better get their facts right. doh.gif

Sky.Live
post Jun 10 2009, 03:32 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ Jun 10 2009, 11:05 AM)

o.O you were one of the kid i saw near the pool i swim, my coach told me they swim twice a day too.

your mom must have committed a lot of effort too.. for fetching you around and preparing meals
myremi
post Jun 10 2009, 04:11 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jun 10 2009, 03:09 PM)
Frustration is good. So use that as your motivation to prove them wrong. That is how i manage to progress. I'm not saying did it for them, i memang wanted to lose weight but i guess anger was a 2nd factor of motivation.

Don't take it as a routine, but a lifestyle, enjoy what you are doing and not just think about losing weight all the time.

Might be different for some ppl but thatz just me biggrin.gif

Relax la. Enjoy what you're doing.

Most ppl don't understand what to do or what it takes when it comes to losing weight. For them...its DIET. Dieting is about what we eat and NOT about eating less. Thats already their 1st mistake.

"Oh, I'm on a diet". They better get their facts right.  doh.gif
Heh! If you only knew how much frustration that built up to my eventual weight loss program for this year. Managed to get the act together and really really see progress for once.

Now, drinking genmai cha and half of a dragonfruit. smile.gif Very healthy.

Cross trainer today. Hopefully making it to the 50-60 min mark without feeling too flat and tired.

Added on June 10, 2009, 4:23 pmOopps lol!

This post has been edited by myremi: Jun 10 2009, 04:24 PM
metalfreak
post Jun 10 2009, 05:16 PM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jun 10 2009, 04:11 PM)
Heh! If you only knew how much frustration that built up to my eventual weight loss program for this year. Managed to get the act together and really really see progress for once.

Now, drinking genmai cha and half of a dragonfruit. smile.gif Very healthy.

Cross trainer today. Hopefully making it to the 50-60 min mark without feeling too flat and tired.

Added on June 10, 2009, 4:23 pmOopps lol!
Way to go biggrin.gif

shit wei...my abs ALWAYS sore on the 2nd day after workout while the rest comes on 1st day. doh.gif

urgh...upper body stiff and i gotta play guitar for BEC meeting later at my place. The funny thing is...I dont even know what the heck BEC stands for LOL. Catholic konon, sweat.gif
TSSyd G
post Jun 10 2009, 09:32 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Hi fatsos, how are you guys doing today? smile.gif

I'm 17 days away from the marathon and I tell ya - I'm a nervous wreck. I cant wait for it to finish ASAP so that I can enjoy chilling out with my significant other after work instead of pounding the synthetic track around KLCC park. Had a slice of cheese cake (YUM!) at work and it gave me enough energy to complete today's workout.

Originally wanted to do endurance running but havent recover from yesterday's interval speed training (13km/h @1min w00t!) on the treadmill. Ended up walking for 7km smile.gif

Tomorrow will be easy run instead of fartlek. Saturday, 22km circuit run (may extend another 3.2km if still got time biggrin.gif) with the Pacemakers.
tengster
post Jun 10 2009, 10:37 PM

5,612 posts

all the best in CR3...you are running with among the top 50 local runners in the country....some of them are dem kheng.
lost_destiny
post Jun 10 2009, 10:37 PM

147 posts

me, Male, 15, 172m, 54kg

TSSyd G
post Jun 10 2009, 10:39 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@tengster,
I prolly finish last but that's ok smile.gif
tengster
post Jun 10 2009, 10:43 PM

5,612 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 10 2009, 10:39 PM)
@tengster,
I prolly finish last but that's ok smile.gif
remember what you told me...it's a battle against Syd G on the track (BJ loop).....not others...

42 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:36 AM