115 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

franklooi96
post Nov 22 2012, 09:19 PM

b**ch
575 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Nov 22 2012, 12:40 PM)
For the short holiday of 1 week, recommended just tour the South Island for 1 week, recomended 3 night on  QT, 1 day Milford Sound, 1 night on Lake Takipo, In QT, u can stay at the Youth Hotel@ Lakefront,  u can book two x3 bedroom for family member,  the room is clean, quite big, arround 20x20' , all single bed without double desker, and near the kitchen. Rent a Estima shall be goog enough to bring  yrs family member to move around.

In CNY,  not much festival atmosphera in NZ, but u have  yrs family of six for gathering and cooking, can bring yrs own card or mahjong if too boring. Well, it should be fun and memorable even after many year.  They are not much nightlife in South Island, NZ, unless u like gambling, then QT have some sub-par casino, but dun expect Genting standard loh.
Hello, I did some research on your suggestion. So in Queenstown, the best things to do are water activities and air sightseeing?

This seem to be a nice thing to do: http://www.queenstownnz.co.nz/information/...mily-adventures

I'm thinking of this for the 1 day in Milford Sound: http://www.queenstownnz.co.nz/information/...y-real-journeys

The Lakefront Youth Hostel at Lake Wakatipu is irresistible.

What are your suggestions on the Helitours & the best way to fly there?

Thank you thumbup.gif
youngman28
post Nov 26 2012, 03:15 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(franklooi96 @ Nov 22 2012, 10:19 PM)
What are your suggestions on the Helitours & the best way to fly there?

Not been they with heli yet, due to travel with younger kids. Personal view is that during CNY, the South atmosphera is on Summer, thus, dun expected too much ice/glacial on the Alps.

On the Milford Sound, we used the Real jorneys as well, you can get up to 45% discount by buying coupon from Grabone, NZ website.

This post has been edited by youngman28: Nov 26 2012, 03:24 PM
ifuato
post Nov 26 2012, 07:34 PM

i am plannning to go to new zealand april 2013. but almost everyone that is close to me would not be available that time as it is not musim cuti. so i thought i want to find a buddy to go there with, or else i'd go there all by myself cry.gif

new zealand is a very very beautiful country that i've long waited to go. most people are just not aware enough of the wonder of the country, that makes them feel no interest with it. so, please, if anyone interested please reach me by any means, maybe to get to know each other a bit and plan for the wonderful trip together!
Listiani
post Nov 26 2012, 09:05 PM

No worrylah even if you have to go alone. You will met others single travellers like what my sister did. I'll be going to NZ with my hubby but we are going in March 2013. 7/3/13-21/3/13. Don't worry, NZ is safe country. Safer than Malaysia.

QUOTE(ifuato @ Nov 26 2012, 07:34 PM)
i am plannning to go to new zealand april 2013. but almost everyone that is close to me would not be available that time as it is not musim cuti. so i thought i want to find a buddy to go there with, or else i'd go there all by myself  cry.gif

new zealand is a very very beautiful country that i've long waited to go. most people are just not aware enough of the wonder of the country, that makes them feel no interest with it. so, please, if anyone interested please reach me by any means, maybe to get to know each other a bit and plan for the wonderful trip together!
foccacia
post Nov 26 2012, 09:54 PM

38 posts

I would encourage renting a car to drive. The roads are great. Also be aware that there is a 2hour ferry trip between North Island n South Island so try to the ferry station early.

I dont recommend hitchiking la. There were a few cases bout german woman getting murdered, a japanese or korean guy went missing. Even though nz is safe, common sense is still required.
Listiani
post Nov 27 2012, 09:37 AM

Yeah, we will be renting a car from Auckland drive to Rotorua & Matamata & return it at Auckland airport and fly to Christchurch and from CC drive around South Island until Queenstown. Stay Queenstown for 3 nites and drop the car at QT airport and fly to Auckland. Stay another 2 nites in Auckland before heading back to KL.

QUOTE(foccacia @ Nov 26 2012, 09:54 PM)
I would encourage renting a car to drive. The roads are great. Also be aware that there is a 2hour ferry trip between North Island n South Island so try to the ferry station early.

I dont recommend hitchiking la. There were a few cases bout german woman getting murdered, a japanese or korean guy went missing. Even though nz is safe, common sense is still required.
tehtmc
post Nov 27 2012, 01:33 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Nov 26 2012, 03:15 PM)
Personal view is that during CNY, the South atmosphera is on Summer, thus, dun expected too much ice/glacial on the Alps.

I've spent a Christmas in Franz Josef. Glacier was still easily accessible.
Mt Cook is still covered with snow in summer, lesser of cos la.
Summer in NZ is not too warm, unlike Oz.
lencent
post Nov 30 2012, 01:20 PM

1,719 posts

personally, i wouldnt recommend to stay in Queenstown for too long. It's a tourist spot where everything is expensive. I would recommend to have 1 day exploring the town, 1 day to Milford Sound (dont stay overnight there, nothing to do at all).

And you must try the Fergburger! it's superb huge and delicious!! biggrin.gif

Driving in the NZ is really easy. they do not have highway like malaysia, but the roads are well maintained. The roads on west coast has very few traffic, but on east coast, you will encounter a lot trucks and police cars tongue.gif
pixietail78
post Nov 30 2012, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(lencent @ Nov 30 2012, 01:20 PM)
personally, i wouldnt recommend to stay in Queenstown for too long. It's a tourist spot where everything is expensive. I would recommend to have 1 day exploring the town, 1 day to Milford Sound (dont stay overnight there, nothing to do at all).

And you must try the Fergburger! it's superb huge and delicious!! biggrin.gif

Driving in the NZ is really easy. they do not have highway like malaysia, but the roads are well maintained. The roads on west coast has very few traffic, but on east coast, you will encounter  a lot trucks and police cars tongue.gif
Agree... you must not miss the Fergburger when you are in Queenstown. Besides that must beware of the speed trap!
lencent
post Nov 30 2012, 02:14 PM

1,719 posts

QUOTE(pixietail78 @ Nov 30 2012, 01:31 PM)
Agree... you must not miss the Fergburger when you are in Queenstown. Besides that must beware of the speed trap!
gosh, visiting this page brings back a lot of my memories in NZ... went there in May 2012 for about 2 weeks before the AAX cancelled the route to CHC. Spent about RM5k inclusive on flight ticket, accomodation, expenses, transport etc. Well spent i would say smile.gif

My driving course was: CHC-Fox glacier-Wanaka-Milford-Queenstown-Tekapo-Mt Cook-Kaikoura-CHC
The most enjoyable drive was from Queenstown to lake tekapo where you will pass by lake wakatipu, mountain ways reaching altitude of 900m, patches of greenery etc. Lake Tekapo itself is a very beautiful and quiet town. IMO, it is the most beautiful town that i have visited in NZ to relax smile.gif

Wanaka is another beautiful town! Comparable to Lake Tekapo but with more civilization, ie: have shopping districts etc. Initially we wanted to left Wanaka 9am in the morning, but the scenery was so beautiful that we decided to sit at the lakeside to enjoy the scenery while having our breakfast smile.gif lovin' it!!

For stargazing, Lake Tekapo and Mt Cook are some of the best spots. First time in my life to see a belt of stars so bright and clear right smack in my face! and managed to see few meteors too!!! smile.gif

I guess when i have earned enough, i will definitely go back to south island again!!
munkeyflo
post Dec 6 2012, 04:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Auckland hit by deadly tornado this morning in Hobsonville. My dad suppose to fly back to KL today but all flights delay. sad.gif

http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/deadly-auc...s-homes-5267375
jemmirose
post Dec 7 2012, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(lencent @ Nov 30 2012, 02:14 PM)
gosh, visiting this page brings back a lot of my memories in NZ... went there in May 2012 for about 2 weeks before the AAX cancelled the route to CHC. Spent about RM5k inclusive on flight ticket, accomodation, expenses, transport etc. Well spent i would say smile.gif

My driving course was: CHC-Fox glacier-Wanaka-Milford-Queenstown-Tekapo-Mt Cook-Kaikoura-CHC
The most enjoyable drive was from Queenstown to lake tekapo where you will pass by lake wakatipu, mountain ways reaching altitude of 900m, patches of greenery etc. Lake Tekapo itself is a very beautiful and quiet town. IMO, it is the most beautiful town that i have visited in NZ to relax smile.gif

Wanaka is another beautiful town! Comparable to Lake Tekapo but with more civilization, ie: have shopping districts etc. Initially we wanted to left Wanaka 9am in the morning, but the scenery was so beautiful that we decided to sit at the lakeside to enjoy the scenery while having our breakfast smile.gif lovin' it!!

For stargazing, Lake Tekapo and Mt Cook are some of the best spots. First time in my life to see a belt of stars so bright and clear right smack in my face! and managed to see few meteors too!!! smile.gif

I guess when i have earned enough, i will definitely go back to south island again!!
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
kord
post Dec 24 2012, 01:06 PM

348 posts

Hi guys.. anoyne been to palmerston north/study in massey u? i'm going there for a short training this january-feb and would like to know what kind of attraction there in nearby area. will be having a break on weekends and its pretty boring to just stay in the hostel alone without doing anything.. pls suggest if there's any good places to visit within 100km radius from massey..appreciate it smile.gif
may_510
post Dec 25 2012, 01:30 AM

Any "must-buys" from NZ?
hoiho
post Dec 25 2012, 06:46 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kord @ Dec 24 2012, 01:06 PM)
Hi guys.. anoyne been to palmerston north/study in massey u? i'm going there for a short training this january-feb and would like to know what kind of attraction there in nearby area. will be having a break on weekends and its pretty boring to just stay in the hostel alone without doing anything.. pls suggest if there's any good places to visit within 100km radius from massey..appreciate it smile.gif
nothing much in palmerston north. there's a rugby museum though. but u can drive to new plymouth to see mt taranaki (mt fuji in the last samurai movie). nearby also has a windmill hills but i dun know where exactly it is. just saw it when the bus passed by. enjoy!

kord
post Dec 25 2012, 09:13 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(hoiho @ Dec 25 2012, 06:46 PM)
nothing much in palmerston north. there's a rugby museum though. but u can drive to new plymouth to see mt taranaki (mt fuji in the last samurai movie). nearby also has a windmill hills but i dun know where exactly it is. just saw it when the bus passed by. enjoy!
hi hoiho..thanks for the suggestion.. will check it out..actually i was really hoping for places which they filmed lotr to be nearby palmy tho.. LOL. not sure if there is any.. thinking to watch the hobbit there tho.. just to have that "feeling".. haha
youngman28
post Dec 26 2012, 11:46 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(may_510 @ Dec 25 2012, 02:30 AM)
Any "must-buys" from NZ?
For me, it Manuka Honey, 3 litre pack red wine

This post has been edited by youngman28: Dec 26 2012, 11:47 AM
kord
post Jan 14 2013, 01:14 PM

348 posts

Finally i'm here.. But not sure if NZD500 is going to be enuff to cater my whole stay here.. sweat.gif seems like everything is abit pricey..
replymela
post Jan 15 2013, 11:14 AM

39 posts

hi guys, going here with family-(total 6) from mar 16 - apr 2. thats about 18 days. flying to Auckland then taking a domestic flight south- not sure which place yet. planning to rent an estima and drive all the way back to Auckland thumbup.gif any suggestions? should we travel east or west of south island? which is nicer during this time? thanks
tehtmc
post Jan 15 2013, 12:36 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(replymela @ Jan 15 2013, 11:14 AM)
hi guys, going here with family-(total 6) from mar 16 - apr 2. thats about 18 days. flying to Auckland then taking a domestic flight south- not sure which place yet. planning to rent an estima and drive all the way back to Auckland thumbup.gif any suggestions? should we travel east or west of south island? which is nicer during this time? thanks
Most people fly from Auckland to Christchurch and start the road journey from there. 18 days to cover both islands is kinda rushed too.
Most the the beautiful sceneries are on the west coast of South Island.
Nice period to visit, mild temps, not too cold but colours of the leaves haven't changed yet (May).
Must-see places -
Queenstown, Milford Sound, Franz Josef, Wanaka, Mt Cook, Tekapo, Rotorua
Heard the TransAlpine railiway trip from Chch to Greymouth is worth taking. Anyone tried?

115 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:52 AM