Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

fallout
post Mar 11 2013, 09:53 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(cheerz~ @ Mar 11 2013, 01:35 PM)
Anyone here that is planning to sell off their NZ Lonely planet copy?
I had one... the one before the first earthquake... everything about CHC obsolete now.

Actually you can get a 2nd hand LP there easily, just head to 2nd stores or backpackers hostel
mrtuba
post Apr 2 2013, 01:08 PM

Hi all, any idea where can i apply for a working visa in malaysia ? I need to work there for a couple of weeks in my company's branch there. I understand that NZ doesnt have immigration branch in Malaysia rather than Singapore.
munkeyflo
post Apr 2 2013, 03:21 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Mar 11 2013, 02:14 PM)
Hog the road?? Is funny isn't it?? I follow the speed limit & get scolded for that. They can see from behind my car is CAR RENTAL meaning I am a tourist. Sometimes we drive slow & seems lost because we are tourist not local. It was totally different experience for me while driving in Australia. They are more lenient & give away to tourists renting a car.
Driving in NZ is actually very stressful. laugh.gif
When we were driving in Europe, the car rental agency adviced us to put big big sign TOURIST at the back window. This really helped a lot with rude drivers and some even honk and wave at us, dunno they were being friendly or teasing us lol. Car rental might not mean tourists.
munkeyflo
post Apr 2 2013, 03:23 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(mrtuba @ Apr 2 2013, 01:08 PM)
Hi all, any idea where can i apply for a working visa in malaysia ? I need to work there for a couple of weeks in my company's branch there. I understand that NZ doesnt have immigration branch in Malaysia rather than Singapore.
Pretty sure all NZ immigration stuffs has to be done in Singapore, even renewing the PR. Try checking their immigration website or call up Singapore branch.
munkeyflo
post Apr 2 2013, 03:24 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Return ticket KL-Auckland transit in Singapore by Jetstar @ RM2573.00
Gonna be in Auckland from 16th April to 21st May, spending 1 week or so in south island. laugh.gif
Listiani
post Apr 5 2013, 06:33 PM

Yeah, it was. The best part was, the guy gave us middle finger sign after overtaking us & glared at us.

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 2 2013, 03:21 PM)
Driving in NZ is actually very stressful. laugh.gif
When we were driving in Europe, the car rental agency adviced us to put big big sign TOURIST at the back window. This really helped a lot with rude drivers and some even honk and wave at us, dunno they were being friendly or teasing us lol. Car rental might not mean tourists.
munkeyflo
post Apr 5 2013, 07:02 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Some will wind down window and scold you foul words plus the middle finger sign too. They are very impatient.
Also one thing those who wanna drive in NZ should know is that once you signal means you wanna come out. In KL, we can signal for 5 minutes and nobody will give way to us. But over there once you signal means you are cutting into their lane. And if you see the car behind is moving very fast and you signal, you still have to go out, cannot wait or scared dowan to go out. Or else the car pass you by that time sure you will kena scolding edi.

The other thing is roundabout, if you are going 9 oclock or 12 oclock, keep on the left lane and signal left when you exit the roundabout. If you're going 3 oclock, you must keep on the right lane and signal right then left when you exit.
neo.liv
post Apr 5 2013, 08:54 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 11 2013, 12:27 AM)
MAS promo - RM2700  biggrin.gif

no brainer aite?gonna discuss with my mates and act fast.
really?until when is the promotion?is it still available?
endrylim
post Apr 22 2013, 06:09 PM

96 posts

Had anyone tried driving a campervan for 8 days in the South Island? Which do you guys recommend? Rent a car and spend a little bit more on accommodation or
I should just rent a campervan and try going around south island? Britz Trailblazer should be comfortable for two right?
endrylim
post Apr 22 2013, 06:16 PM

96 posts

Or should I try renting a car and start going around campsites for stop of the day?
youngman28
post Apr 23 2013, 01:24 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(endrylim @ Apr 22 2013, 07:16 PM)
Or should I try renting a car and start going around campsites for stop of the day?
Travel with Caravan is suitabale for a family, couple, or 2-3 close friend travel together, it anything more than this, i dun thing is suitable. U save on hostel fee, if u have long holiday like 15-20 day, why not try once?

For 8 day, it not enough time to cover all the major tourism spot in SI, bear in mind, Caravan can not drive like normal car speed, it take double the time for one place to another place as compare with car/MPV. The better ideal was travel with renting a car and stay in a youth hostel, it more flexible and can cover the place as u like.

This post has been edited by youngman28: Apr 23 2013, 01:32 PM
endrylim
post Apr 23 2013, 11:36 PM

96 posts

Thanks Young man! hahaha I will plan accordingly...
55mav
post Apr 28 2013, 05:00 PM

Hey guys! Have you been to New Zealand or want to?

I've been there recently and I have to say, it's a beautiful country. Physically and mentally. Everywhere I go, it's literally like in the postcards.

Here is a photo I've taken in Christchurch, New Zealand. I'm currently submitting this for the Canon EOS Photographer Awards. Could you help me vote if you think this is good? Here is the link to it. http://www.celebrationofcolour.com/gallery...e0b7df252f25770

I REALLY appreciate it! Just trying to see if my amateur photography skills are quality enough with the rest of the world! If I do win, I get to travel all over the world and hopefully take more pictures to show you guys!

Thanks all!
stimix
post Apr 28 2013, 05:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(55mav @ Apr 28 2013, 05:00 PM)

I've been there recently and I have to say, it's a beautiful country. Physically and mentally. Everywhere I go, it's literally like in the postcards.
Here is a photo I've taken in Christchurch, New Zealand. I'm currently submitting this for the Canon EOS Photographer Awards. Could you help me vote if you think this is good? Here is the link to it. http://www.celebrationofcolour.com/gallery...e0b7df252f25770

I REALLY appreciate it! Just trying to see if my amateur photography skills are quality enough with the rest of the world! If I do win, I get to travel all over the world and hopefully take more pictures to show you guys!

Thanks all!
Thread merged
yamato
post Apr 30 2013, 02:16 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

QUOTE(endrylim @ Apr 22 2013, 06:16 PM)
i did a 11D visit to NZ last month. 8D in SI, 3 in NI.
8D in SI is not enought if you wanna fully enjoy the beauty of NZ, so i advice you to spend less time on road, so you have more time to every spots.

imo rent a car, or a MPV is more feasible. staying in backpacker dome only cost NZD$20-30/night. a double room cost 50-80.
i took an estima, and the whole family of 6 are extremely happy with the choice.

drawback of caravan/campervan:
1. cumbersome. slow and difficult to maneuver esp when reversing.
2. most town/city do not allow these vehicles to park at public parking for overnight. you have to look for designated campervan or campsite area, which usually located at the outskirt of the town.
3. have you planned where can u replenish the water & electricity from?
4. are you prepare to spend your vacation in a confined space? drive, eat, sleep, pee&poo all done at the same "hut".
and the list goes on.

if you are prepared for that, then hop in to a caravan and enjoy the whole new holiday experience.
wish you enjoy the trip, NZ did amazed me, i guess u gonna love it too. rclxm9.gif
jaclynjac
post Apr 30 2013, 03:18 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(55mav @ Apr 28 2013, 05:00 PM)

Thanks all!
Nice shot, will vote biggrin.gif
squares90
post May 27 2013, 08:22 PM

36 posts

Hi guys, I've been living in New Zealand for three years and I fell like helping out any Malaysians that want to visit NZ. I heard that MAS is having a promotion for return trip to Auckland currently (2700MYR return). So if guys have any questions, just ask me. I will answer them here. I have no external motivation whatsoever, just want to help fellow Malaysians. Thanks! smile.gif
stimix
post May 27 2013, 10:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(squares90 @ May 27 2013, 08:22 PM)
Hi guys, I've been living in New Zealand for three years and I fell like helping out any Malaysians that want to visit NZ. I heard that MAS is having  a promotion for return trip to Auckland currently (2700MYR return). So if guys have any questions, just ask me. I will answer them here. I have no external motivation whatsoever, just want to help fellow Malaysians. Thanks!  smile.gif
Do help from this merged thread smile.gif
annielee
post May 28 2013, 10:39 AM

294 posts

just bought ticket to Christchurch from 4/12 - 11/12..
thinking to cover SI excluding Queenstown.. will that be enough ?
bearbear
post May 28 2013, 11:22 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ May 28 2013, 10:39 AM)
just bought ticket to Christchurch from 4/12 - 11/12..
thinking to cover SI excluding Queenstown.. will that be enough ?
Very subjective - just the matter of seeing more or less only.

I have to do Auckland - Queenstown in a week laugh.gif

Just plan per your constraint thumbup.gif

115 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:11 PM