115 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

yiyibrowers
post Jun 8 2012, 12:40 PM

751 posts

I once time called locksmitch... They just come and take a pin then it open in less than 1 action and less than 5mins also charged NZ$ 150... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
So ended up my cousin do all the cleaning after winter because of the mold... Good food, good quality but certain electronics stuff are more expensive than here and the electricity bill also water bill are way expensive than here...

Job over can get easily but needed to depend on what job scope.. Got one is lawyer but no good pay somehow so ended up working as property agent... Now my cousin migrating to Sydney already because many big company moving to Australia after the earthquake... My cousin say she earn NZ$ 6k but after the taxes, she only get NZ$ 4k that range only....
munkeyflo
post Jun 8 2012, 01:17 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jun 8 2012, 12:27 PM)
Haha, they'll be independent soon after that, doing everything themselves, and if they come back, they'd have learned all sorts of things there. Lol. Handyman/woman in making tongue.gif

Long time no see by the way. It has been long since I dropped into the Travel forum. Lol.
I haven't dropped into NZ thread for some time edi also. Haha. Haven't been there for almost a year already, probably outdated with the travel news there. Lol.

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 8 2012, 12:40 PM)
I once time called locksmitch... They just come and take a pin then it open in less than 1 action and less than 5mins also charged NZ$ 150... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
So ended up my cousin do all the cleaning after winter because of the mold... Good food, good quality but certain electronics stuff are more expensive than here and the electricity bill also water bill are way expensive than here...

Job over can get easily but needed to depend on what job scope.. Got one is lawyer but no good pay somehow so ended up working as property agent... Now my cousin migrating to Sydney already because many big company moving to Australia after the earthquake...  My cousin say she earn NZ$ 6k but after the taxes, she only get NZ$ 4k that range only....
Yup, 5 minutes they charge you per hour rate or something like that! My parents also kena few times edi when they first went there. Haha.
Electricity bill will kill you too especially during winter and if you on the heater 24/7. Oh and if you live in a house with a garden outside, you'll have to cut the grass every 1-2 weeks during the summer, if it gets too long, you may get a warning. doh.gif

For job, mostly you'll need to get their local experience first. One of my family friend was holding a high executive post, went over there and the only job she could find was office girl - photostating documents in the office, now she ended up working as property agent go on either basic or commission salary. Taxes is like that la. Put money in FD and bonds, tax almost 10% (if not mistaken) on the interest earned. rclxub.gif
digitalz
post Jun 8 2012, 01:55 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 8 2012, 01:17 PM)
I haven't dropped into NZ thread for some time edi also. Haha. Haven't been there for almost a year already, probably outdated with the travel news there. Lol.
Same here. The last time when I went back was during Sept-Oct period. Took some time off there and it was good to be back there. Cruising around, chilling out with my buddy on top of Cashmere at night and stuff. Good old time.

Haven't been to any place this year yet. Slightly "occupied" lol. Haha.
McDonalds
post Jun 8 2012, 05:19 PM

86 posts

What the best time to go south island & to
View flower farm like lavender farm or others.

I am planning for october, for a two week self guide tour.
But look like the weather is still cool.

What about end of october?
From last week of the month of october.

This post has been edited by McDonalds: Jun 8 2012, 05:19 PM
Listiani
post Jun 8 2012, 06:22 PM

End of October already approaching summer. March already autumn. June start winter. Follow by spring by Sept. So take your pick. Australia and NZ 4 season not same like in Europe, US and other 4 season countries. Their season 'terbalik" biggrin.gif

QUOTE(McDonalds @ Jun 8 2012, 05:19 PM)
What the best time to go south island & to
View flower farm like lavender farm or others.

I am planning for october, for a two week self guide tour.
But look like the weather is still cool.

What about end of october?
From last week of the month of october.
yiyibrowers
post Jun 8 2012, 07:35 PM

751 posts

Ya, my cousin kena already when winter time... On the heater and the bill went up like crazy.... I fall in that case, my cousin house got two garden... One is inside one is outside.. Every week have to cut the grass if not get warning or worst no warning but a love letter to you... But luckily my neighbour all very friendly... Then every week or month need the local council a fee....
wornbook
post Jun 8 2012, 08:27 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 8 2012, 01:17 PM)
Yup, 5 minutes they charge you per hour rate or something like that! My parents also kena few times edi when they first went there. Haha.
Electricity bill will kill you too especially during winter and if you on the heater 24/7. Oh and if you live in a house with a garden outside, you'll have to cut the grass every 1-2 weeks during the summer, if it gets too long, you may get a warning. doh.gif

For job, mostly you'll need to get their local experience first. One of my family friend was holding a high executive post, went over there and the only job she could find was office girl - photostating documents in the office, now she ended up working as property agent go on either basic or commission salary. Taxes is like that la. Put money in FD and bonds, tax almost 10% (if not mistaken) on the interest earned.  rclxub.gif
10% on interest? More like 30% lor. Bare MINIMUM tax rate is 10.5%. Under the most recent Budget, even the paper boys/girls (i.e. kids) are going to get their meagre earnings taxed.

Added on June 8, 2012, 8:28 pm
QUOTE(puer22 @ Jun 8 2012, 11:57 AM)
i think i read a flyer while i was there last year. but when i check online just now its was (btw this i think for parent n 1 family)  blush.gif  blush.gif :

New requirements

Tier one
People applying under tier one must meet the following requirements:
They must have either
a guaranteed life-time minimum income of $27,203 per annum for a single person or $39,890 per annum for a couple, or
minimum settlement funds of $500,000 which they bring to New Zealand, or
a sponsoring adult child who has an income of at least $65,000 per annum or $90,000 per annum when combined with the sponsor’s partner’s income.
They must not have any dependent children.
They must meet at least two competencies of IELTS Level 4.0, meet an equivalent requirement or pre-purchase English for Speakers of Other Languages tuition at a cost of $1,735.
Tier two
People applying under tier two must meet all of the following requirements:
They must have a sponsoring adult child who has an income of at least $33,675 per annum.
If the applicants have other adult children, the children must all live lawfully and permanently outside the country in which they live.
They must not have any dependent children.
They must meet at least two competencies of IELTS Level 4.0, meet an equivalent requirement or pre-purchase English for Speakers of Other Languages tuition at a cost of $1,735.
All applicants must also meet the general requirements of family relationship (with their sponsor), and be of good health and character. However, a “centre of gravity” requirement will no longer apply to the Parent Category.

http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migrant/stream/live/parent/
This one is not for ordinary PR. It's the criteria for parents of children who are already PR/citizens in NZ... children sponsoring parents in.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Jun 8 2012, 08:28 PM
munkeyflo
post Jun 9 2012, 09:26 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 8 2012, 07:35 PM)
Ya, my cousin kena already when winter time... On the heater and the bill went up like crazy.... I fall in that case, my cousin house got two garden... One is inside one is outside.. Every week have to cut the grass if not get warning or worst no warning but a love letter to you... But luckily my neighbour all very friendly... Then every week or month need the local council a fee....
Good for your cousin. My family's neighbour quite lansi type wan, he's a landscaper and often complain about our grass. lol. When my family is back in Malaysia in December, he does offer to cut our grass for quite a fee. No choice have to let him cut also.

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jun 8 2012, 08:27 PM)
10% on interest? More like 30% lor. Bare MINIMUM tax rate is 10.5%. Under the most recent Budget, even the paper boys/girls (i.e. kids) are going to get their meagre earnings taxed.
Ahhh, must have remembered wrongly.
But yea, I remember the kids trust fund interests getting taxed. Guess the government needs money too.
yiyibrowers
post Jun 9 2012, 11:20 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2012, 10:26 AM)
Good for your cousin. My family's neighbour quite lansi type wan, he's a landscaper and often complain about our grass. lol. When my family is back in Malaysia in December, he does offer to cut our grass for quite a fee. No choice have to let him cut also.
Ahhh, must have remembered wrongly.
But yea, I remember the kids trust fund interests getting taxed. Guess the government needs money too.
We does have one lansi neighbour but too bad he been boycott by all neighbour for his shameful action so he no dare to come n complain us... By the way, my neighbour all usually is from Malaysia, Singapore, Korea, uk. Uk de back home,mstay at home... No social life...
santana
post Jun 19 2012, 05:35 PM

58 posts

I am planning to travel North Island in December and I suppose it will be in Summer, will it be much more expensive compare to other time of the year ?

Any recommended place to stay(cheap n comfy) and also name of car rental company.

Thank you.
eueu
post Jun 21 2012, 12:57 PM

766 posts

QUOTE(santana @ Jun 19 2012, 05:35 PM)
I am planning to travel North Island in December and I suppose it will be in Summer, will it be much more expensive compare to other time of the year ?

Any recommended place to stay(cheap n comfy) and also name of car rental company.

Thank you.
I have no idea traveling to North Island. I do traveled to South Island back to last May. Rented a Nissan from APEX for 6 days and the car condition was excellent. It cost me around RM1000 including the GPS and Insurance.

numblink
post Jun 24 2012, 11:07 AM

145 posts

Hi, planning to travel to NZ few 10 days.....any place with breathtaking scenery that is a MUST? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by numblink: Jun 24 2012, 11:08 AM
youngman28
post Jun 24 2012, 04:02 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Jun 24 2012, 12:07 PM)
Hi, planning to travel to NZ few 10 days.....any place with breathtaking scenery that is a MUST? laugh.gif
For Soulth Island, the breathtaking scnenery location:-

-Queenstown to Glenochy(LOTR site)
-Queenstown Lake view
-Lake Tekapo
-Queentown to Arrowtown(LOTR site)
-Anthur Pass winter view
-Lake Wanaka
-Te Anue to Milford Sound

This post has been edited by youngman28: Jun 26 2012, 06:34 PM
lpp
post Jun 24 2012, 05:34 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Jun 24 2012, 11:07 AM)
hi. in which season u'll be in nz.

Queentown/Glenorchy/Kinloch
Arrowtown (best in autumn)
my favorite landscape in the Mackenzie country -Tekapo (full of lupins flower in summer and the lake color is just special)

numblink
post Jun 25 2012, 09:20 AM

145 posts

Most probably going to north island.... not enough time to get to south island ya??? it beginning of spring i think.Anyone have suggestion where to? Thinking of doing the Tongariro Crossing

This post has been edited by numblink: Jun 25 2012, 03:09 PM
lpp
post Jun 26 2012, 09:13 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Jun 25 2012, 09:20 AM)
Most probably going to north island....  not enough time to get to south island ya??? it beginning of spring i think.Anyone have suggestion where to? Thinking of doing the Tongariro Crossing
north island has some nice places also.

rotoroa - experience maori culture there and go to wai-o-tapu to see the geothermal landscape
taupo - huka falls. if u like adventure, can try skydiving/bungy/jetboating
tongariro alpine crossing is great but in early spring, there might still have snow and i'm not sure u can do it on ur own. wat i know is in winter, u gotta follow guide and hike with crampon and ice axe, complete set of equipment. if u're newbie in hiking, there could be some challenge
but in another way, u can try skiing in mt ruapehu, whakapapa ski field.
waitomo - if u're into adventure, black water rafting is super worth the bucks. if not, u can join the tour to see glowworm in the cave
new plymouth/taranaki - a place i simply enjoy...

santana
post Jun 28 2012, 09:31 AM

58 posts

any nice sceneries during summer on North Island?
yiyibrowers
post Jun 28 2012, 12:39 PM

751 posts

Good of summer is it wont be so cold... Also the business hour longer lolz.... u can walk longer
santana
post Jun 30 2012, 03:20 PM

58 posts

Any drive that's has nice scenery at North Island?

yiyibrowers
post Jul 1 2012, 12:29 PM

751 posts

On the way to waitomo.... Nice view

115 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:32 AM