Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

Listiani
post May 21 2012, 09:33 AM

Hello!! Friends. Need some help with my trip to NZ March 2013 with my hubby. So many things to do but so little time. Kindly help me with my itinerary. Below are my initial itinerary:

Day 01
Depart from KLIA to Auckland by MAS

Day 02
Arrive Auckland at midnite and overnite at the hotel nearby Auckland airport. Early morning depart from Auckland to CHC. Sightseeing in CHC. What to see and recommended to see??

Day 03
CHC/Tekapo/Mt Cook

Day 04
Mt Cook/Omaru with stop at Twizel

Day 05
Omaru to Dunedin

Day 06
In Dunedin

Day 07
Dunedin to Te Anau

Day 08
Te Anau/Miford Sound/Te Anau

Day 09
Te Anau Queenstown

Day 10
In Queenstown

Day 11
Queenstown/Wanaka/CHC

Day 12
CHC/Auckland by plane. Rest and free and easy in Auckland

Day 13
Auckland/Rotorua with stop at Matamata

Day 14
Rotorua to Auckland

Day 15
Auckland back to KUL (our flight depart from CHC at 0135am. We will book 1 nite stay in CHC until our departure to the airport)

I wanted to go Fox Glacier/Franz Josef but it looks very far from where we want to go. How do I turn around my itinerary?? We will rent a car throughout our trip in NZ.

Just want to chk if any farm stay in NZ?? I mean I want to stay in the farm experience fruits picking/plucking and sheep herding.
Listiani
post May 21 2012, 10:00 AM

I think I want to fly from Queenstown to Auckland instead of return to CHC.

BTW,any animals to see along the way on our journey?? My husband love animals. Penguin, seal or others?

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 21 2012, 09:50 AM)
The glaciers are amazing, but I guess if you're driving/hiking up to Mt Cook you get a feel for it there. I think someone else may have to chime in here as well.

There's Walter Peak's farm at Queenstown, very nice demo of sheep herding, shearing and animals there. No fruit stuff though. I liked it, it's a half day visit.

If there's anything I'd say that you're spending way too much time on the road. Queenstown to CHC for example is almost a whole day drive and it's tiring since the roads are regular kampung roads, not highways.
Listiani
post May 22 2012, 01:24 PM

OK, I change my plan and redo my itinerary as below:

Day 01
Arrive Auckland and take the rental car straigh to Rotorua

Day 02
Rotorua/Matamata/Rotorua

Day 03
Rotorua/CHC

Day 04
CHC/Lake Tekapo/Mt Cook

Day 05
Mt Cook/Oamaru

Day 06
Oamaru/Dunedin

Day 07
In Dunedin

Day 08
Dunedin/Te Anau

Day 09
Te Anau/Milford Sound

Day 10
Milford Sound/Queenstown

Day 11
In Queenstown

Day 12
Late afternoon Queenstown/Auckland

Day 13
In Auckland

Day 14
Depart Auckland to KL

BTW, do you thing better to rent GPS along with the car or map is enough?? I rent a car in Australia before but without GPS and it was ok. But not sure in NZ.

QUOTE(youngman28 @ May 21 2012, 11:15 PM)
Agreed, nothing much to see on Fox Glaciar / FJ Glaciar, driving whole day to watch the brady glacial may not justify the time and money.

Personally like to suggest 3-4 nite solely on QT and surround area, the scenery in QT much better, and you need to slow down to enjoy the scenery, food and environment they, different time have different view, surroundnmg area like Arrowtown (LOTR), Cromwell, Glenochy(LOTR), watch sheep farming, visit winery, buugy jump site.

Try not everyday driving for 300-400km for the sake to cover all the area. During March, they are less chances to catch the snow on Mt Cook, The Authur Pass will look normal without snow cover on top. Thus, you can focus more on Lake, beach area.

For yrs infor, alot of the road is a coastal road and some road build on the edge on the mountain/lake, it take time and patient to drive, although no much car here.

For CHC, they are nothing much can do here, alot of historical site have bring down for re-build, and alot of road toward the city centre haved blocked to cater for this purpose, unless u like to come here for shopping. U can get yrs grocery at some hypermarket like Countdown, Pak n Save.
Listiani
post May 23 2012, 09:22 AM

I won't skp Mt Cook because my husband wants to try the Glacier Explorer. Quite expensive though. NZ140 but hey!! it's not everyday we can experience this biggrin.gif

Yeah, I thought that too. Can you imagine, we never lost our way driving around in Western Australia. But I couldn't find my way in Shah Alam because the signboard so confusing laugh.gif

What is AA and YHA?? Sorry for the noob question icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(fallout @ May 22 2012, 11:10 PM)
No, don't skip Mt. Cook, the view is awesome and good tracking sites!

Wanaka basically a quiet version of Queenstown where you can have the same activity and good sights but fewer people, not much to do except some tours. If you been to Queenstown, it's not worth staying for long.

I don't have any electronic guidance when I'm there, take a free AA or YHA map. The road are just that straight forward that you won't get lost, plus that it isn't Malaysia where every sign board, there is a tree blocking it... sweat.gif Save $$ and go the traditional way... like good old kiwis
Listiani
post May 25 2012, 12:18 PM

Yeah, for their currency is normal but for me is expensive tongue.gif

OK, noted on the map from AA and YHA. Tks a lot.

Another question, is it ok to bring canned food (like chicken curry canned food) from Malaysia to NZ? They won't consfiscate upon arrival??

QUOTE(fallout @ May 23 2012, 10:54 PM)
Glacier Explorer is the boat trip in the lake? Consider acceptable price in NZ... cannot compare with our price here.

AA = New Zealand Automobile Association - aa.co.nz
YHA = Youth Hostels Association - http://www.yha.co.nz

Map can be acquired from I-SITES, the best one is YHA map. Great detail and with all the YHA discount listed.
Glacier Explorers (Mt Cook) - 15% discount
AJ Hackett Bungy - FREE gift
Skyline Queenstown - $10 off
Lots more... go take a look
Listiani
post May 26 2012, 11:17 AM

Halal is one thing but want to save cost by cooking ourselves tongue.gif

What do you mean by flavour pack??

QUOTE(fallout @ May 25 2012, 11:04 PM)
It's better to bring flavour packs rather than cans... imagine a can weight around 300-400g (not sure, I don't have any cans around). You can buy can food there cheap. Beans, spaghetti (not main food) can get as low as $1 per can. Better ones (main food) around $2-$2.5 per can.

About bringing food, you concern about halal food?
Visit them when you go there, I've never join AA before so not sure. I only know AA's car Insurance...
Listiani
post May 26 2012, 08:46 PM

I was abt to say the same thing tongue.gif

I don't plan to cook like we cook at home. Just simple nasi goreng or spaghetti will do. That's why I was thinking to bring canned food. Easy and simple. Just heat it up and can eat already. I don't plan to cook everyday though. We will eat out for sure.

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ May 26 2012, 03:34 PM)
Is this a cooking tour or what? biggrin.gif
Listiani
post May 27 2012, 06:39 PM

I survived with canned food in Korea for 8 days tongue.gif

If not things to do, can go to bed at 8-9pm laugh.gif

QUOTE(youngman28 @ May 27 2012, 01:54 AM)
For NZ trip, actually nothing much to do after dark,  spend some time to cook will be enjoyable thing to do also. If you brain enough, some simple dishs can be cook within 30 min. R u sure u want to eat nasi goreng and canned food for 15 days?
Listiani
post Jun 1 2012, 03:09 PM

MAS fly to Auckland only & AA discontinue the route to Christchurch.

QUOTE(santana @ Jun 1 2012, 02:22 PM)
Why South ? Better scenery ?
More places to visit as in ?
MAS n AA don fly to Christchurch anymore right ?
Listiani
post Jun 8 2012, 11:26 AM

The grass always look greener on the other side biggrin.gif

Added on June 8, 2012, 10:57 am
Minimum income to get a work visa?
Cause if you're talking about getting a PR by investing in the country, it's no where near thousands of dollar.

Do also know that rental and taxes are higher there. Food cheaper and better quality, of course better benefits than what you are getting in our home country. smile.gif
But places like government hospitals also have to make appointment in advance and wait few weeks to see doctor. Also it will be good if you're a handyman yourself, or else you'll be paying thru your nose for services like plumbing, electrician, painter and all that.

[/quote]

Listiani
post Jun 8 2012, 12:35 PM

My sister studied in UK and decided to accept the job offfer in one of the university. After 6 years, ack came back for good last year. As you said, for retirement maybe but living there?? Big No.

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 8 2012, 12:24 PM)
True laugh.gif
It actually really depends on individual personality and adaptation though.
I personally known a few people who sold off everything here and moved to NZ but came back here in the end. My own family (except me) also migrated to NZ but they found a few friends there and is enjoying their retirement/social life there while my brother goes to school there.

I guess if you're migrating there for retirement, then it's all good. But going there to start a business and dream of being rich, might be an issue.

My dad got a electricity socket installed in the bathroom last week and cost him over NZ$200. Painting a wall can go up to thousand of dollars. rclxub.gif Not like back home, pay a thousand ringgit and get a live in maid serving you day and night. It's a really different lifestyle over there. If you guys wanna migrate, better be prepared for it. wink.gif
Listiani
post Jun 8 2012, 06:22 PM

End of October already approaching summer. March already autumn. June start winter. Follow by spring by Sept. So take your pick. Australia and NZ 4 season not same like in Europe, US and other 4 season countries. Their season 'terbalik" biggrin.gif

QUOTE(McDonalds @ Jun 8 2012, 05:19 PM)
What the best time to go south island & to
View flower farm like lavender farm or others.

I am planning for october, for a two week self guide tour.
But look like the weather is still cool.

What about end of october?
From last week of the month of october.
Listiani
post Nov 26 2012, 09:05 PM

No worrylah even if you have to go alone. You will met others single travellers like what my sister did. I'll be going to NZ with my hubby but we are going in March 2013. 7/3/13-21/3/13. Don't worry, NZ is safe country. Safer than Malaysia.

QUOTE(ifuato @ Nov 26 2012, 07:34 PM)
i am plannning to go to new zealand april 2013. but almost everyone that is close to me would not be available that time as it is not musim cuti. so i thought i want to find a buddy to go there with, or else i'd go there all by myself  cry.gif

new zealand is a very very beautiful country that i've long waited to go. most people are just not aware enough of the wonder of the country, that makes them feel no interest with it. so, please, if anyone interested please reach me by any means, maybe to get to know each other a bit and plan for the wonderful trip together!
Listiani
post Nov 27 2012, 09:37 AM

Yeah, we will be renting a car from Auckland drive to Rotorua & Matamata & return it at Auckland airport and fly to Christchurch and from CC drive around South Island until Queenstown. Stay Queenstown for 3 nites and drop the car at QT airport and fly to Auckland. Stay another 2 nites in Auckland before heading back to KL.

QUOTE(foccacia @ Nov 26 2012, 09:54 PM)
I would encourage renting a car to drive. The roads are great. Also be aware that there is a 2hour ferry trip between North Island n South Island so try to the ferry station early.

I dont recommend hitchiking la. There were a few cases bout german woman getting murdered, a japanese or korean guy went missing. Even though nz is safe, common sense is still required.
Listiani
post Feb 25 2013, 09:03 PM

I pick MAS. Straight to NZ without wasting my time transit here n there. Transit means you lost your days & shorten yr trip. I'll be in NZ from 7/3/13-23/3/13.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 25 2013, 11:01 AM)
with AA not flying to NZ anymore

MAS - 3700+ direct
Emirates - 3300+ transit melbourne
JetStar - 3000 transit Singapore or RM2600 from Singapore
China Southern - RM2700+ transit Guang Zhou

Can anyone share other options or what i can expect in term of budget airlines?
Listiani
post Feb 26 2013, 10:21 AM

MAS RM3700 and no transit in SIN. If use SQ, need to transit in SIN for a while.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 26 2013, 09:56 AM)
RM4000+ Singapore - Auckland
Listiani
post Mar 9 2013, 02:51 AM

I am already in New Zealand. In Rotorua to be exact.Yesterday we drove from Auckland to Matamat@Hobbiton movie set. It was awesome tongue.gif rclxms.gif

From Matamata we drove to Rotorua. They journey takes about 2 hours from Auckland to Matamata & 1 hour from Matamata to Rotorua. I never expect to see rude driver in NZ but we encountered 4 of them. They honk & show middle finger at us for being slow when we actually drive according to the speed limit. We even see a police patrol car but they were so brazen & just speed tongue.gif

QUOTE(bearbear @ Feb 26 2013, 10:55 AM)
Aware of it and if i were to fly from Singapore Jetstar is a better choice - for budget purpose biggrin.gif
Listiani
post Mar 11 2013, 02:14 PM

Hog the road?? Is funny isn't it?? I follow the speed limit & get scolded for that. They can see from behind my car is CAR RENTAL meaning I am a tourist. Sometimes we drive slow & seems lost because we are tourist not local. It was totally different experience for me while driving in Australia. They are more lenient & give away to tourists renting a car.

QUOTE(foccacia @ Mar 9 2013, 02:24 PM)
Actually you're supposed to signal to the left and 'give way' to these drivers...most of them are local and know the roads well...hence drive very fast....esp in rural roads

My dad got pulled over by undercover cop when driving to picton from chch.. the cop told him speed limit is for tourist, but when got space or rest areas to give way to cars behind you, it is recommended to do so.

Well, this does not mean you should drive fast, just give way and dont 'hog' the road.
Listiani
post Apr 5 2013, 06:33 PM

Yeah, it was. The best part was, the guy gave us middle finger sign after overtaking us & glared at us.

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 2 2013, 03:21 PM)
Driving in NZ is actually very stressful. laugh.gif
When we were driving in Europe, the car rental agency adviced us to put big big sign TOURIST at the back window. This really helped a lot with rude drivers and some even honk and wave at us, dunno they were being friendly or teasing us lol. Car rental might not mean tourists.
Listiani
post May 28 2013, 12:54 PM

I was in NZ for 16 days mid March 2013 still not enough tongue.gif

I must visit NZ again. I should include Wellington next time.

QUOTE(yamato @ Apr 30 2013, 02:16 PM)
i did a 11D visit to NZ last month. 8D in SI, 3 in NI.
8D in SI is not enought if you wanna fully enjoy the beauty of NZ, so i advice you to spend less time on road, so you have more time to every spots.

imo rent a car, or a MPV is more feasible. staying in backpacker dome only cost NZD$20-30/night. a double room cost 50-80.
i took an estima, and the whole family of 6 are extremely happy with the choice.

drawback of caravan/campervan:
1. cumbersome. slow and difficult to maneuver esp when reversing.
2. most town/city do not allow these vehicles to park at public parking for overnight. you have to look for designated campervan or campsite area, which usually located at the outskirt of the town.
3. have you planned where can u replenish the water & electricity from?
4. are you prepare to spend your vacation in a confined space? drive, eat, sleep, pee&poo all done at the same "hut".
and the list goes on.

if you are prepared for that, then hop in to a caravan and enjoy the whole new holiday experience.
wish you enjoy the trip, NZ did amazed me, i guess u gonna love it too.  rclxm9.gif

0.2278sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:38 AM