Business The Truth about Actuarial Science, It is not only about the Math

joonwei23
post Aug 4 2011, 07:59 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 4 2011, 04:07 PM)
I got a scholarship to study Actuarial Science in University of Southampton, is that a good university for as?
I'm pursuing my degree in Actuarial Science this year at Southampton.
Well, hoping for the best as always. smile.gif
Angel01
post Aug 5 2011, 12:34 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Hey, want find accomodation together?

I missed the 1st August deadline...
By the way where are you from?
lets get to know each other smile.gif

Searingmage
post Aug 6 2011, 03:49 PM

1,809 posts

@ Angel01, Southampton university should be a good university for actuarial science.
Angel01
post Aug 6 2011, 07:33 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

QUOTE(Searingmage @ Aug 6 2011, 03:49 PM)
@ Angel01, Southampton university should be a good university for actuarial science.
Dear Searingmage, on what basis would you say that?

I notice you use * should *...
Any heads up for me?

Thanks!

Added on August 6, 2011, 9:31 pmHey, i got a question..
Can someone describe to me the path of an actuary, i dun mean the general path, i mean for the exams.. like which year and what requirement for each exam...

Like 2nd year in your actuary degree only can take what paper, or maybe you need working experience to take which paper...

Would appreciate the info..
Assuming you are in UK Btw.

This post has been edited by Angel01: Aug 6 2011, 09:31 PM
RyukA
post Aug 7 2011, 01:13 AM

612 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 6 2011, 07:33 PM)

Can someone describe to me the path of an actuary, i dun mean the general path, i mean for the exams.. like which year and what requirement for each exam...

Like 2nd year in your actuary degree only can take what paper, or maybe you need working experience to take which paper...

I believe when you start attending classes there (in Southampton), ur lecturer and seniors will brief you through which paper is recommended to be cleared first etc. Even though similarly all actuarial schools in the UK are tied to the institute. The sylabus are highly identical, but the order may be quite different.
Some school, teaches probability first, some school starts with financial math, some begins with programming skills.
hence, saying what paper to "clear first" is quite a "it depends" scenario. And would need someone in the same school to tell you whats the best order to tackle the papers.
For general informations regarding actuarial examinations (for any board), just go on to www.actuaries.org.uk Everything is basically up there. Check under "be an actuary" and "student". You will get a better view of whats expected of you, hopefully.

if you have any questions regarding these issues and cannot find an answer from the website, just ask it here (be more specific, of course)

Cheers

This post has been edited by RyukA: Aug 7 2011, 01:14 AM
o.P ace
post Aug 7 2011, 08:35 AM

31 posts

thanx for sharing. smile.gif
LightningFist
post Aug 7 2011, 02:47 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 4 2011, 04:07 PM)
I got a scholarship to study Actuarial Science in University of Southampton, is that a good university for as?
Did you get a full scholarship with 3 years tuition + accommodation?

Southampton is good and reputable enough, I suppose. My teacher went to Southampton (grad school) before getting a PhD from UPenn. Competition in the UK would be LSE and Warwick.
joonwei23
post Aug 7 2011, 03:02 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Aug 7 2011, 02:47 PM)

Southampton is good and reputable enough, I suppose. My teacher went to Southampton (grad school) before getting a PhD from UPenn. Competition in the UK would be LSE and Warwick.
from what I heard H.W in Scotland is quite good actually.
Where are you pursuing your degree at ? smile.gif
LightningFist
post Aug 7 2011, 03:43 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yeah, there have been nice things said about HW. However, as is the norm with Scottish schools, a BSc takes 4 years to complete - though you can easily skip to the second year with good pre-u results, you're basically missing the first year's courses. I'm not sure how that works out in terms of exemptions, but that aside it might even appeal to some - that you can do a 4 year degree in 3 years and it'd still be equivalent to those 3 year degrees offered by the likes of Soton. On the other hand, 4 years could get you an Master's degree in the UK or an Honours degree in Australia (which is almost like an alternative version of a Master's degree).
Searingmage
post Aug 7 2011, 11:21 PM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 6 2011, 07:33 PM)
Dear Searingmage, on what basis would you say that?

I notice you use * should *...
Any heads up for me?

Thanks!

I have a friend studying there, and I'm informed that it's quite good. Should because I heard it from a third party source, not personal experience.
As for exam, unfortunately I am unable to help as I'm studying SoA, not UK's IOA
Angel01
post Aug 8 2011, 10:41 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Aug 7 2011, 02:47 PM)

Hmm as i saw southampton got 8 exemptions while lse and warwick has 7 only...
LightningFist
post Aug 8 2011, 02:44 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

A number of people in the Actuarial profession also come from Oxbridge. As it stands Oxbridge offers a total of 0 exemptions from Actuarial CT or CA exams by undergraduate study. Despite this nearly everyone would be in agreement as to Oxbridge's status as being amongst the top in most areas of study (including Mathematics).
Angel01
post Aug 8 2011, 03:08 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

really?

hmm rarely heard of oxford for actuarial science, ever since small was like heriot watt heriot watt and lse lse...
Searingmage
post Aug 8 2011, 10:34 PM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 8 2011, 10:41 AM)
Hmm as i saw southampton got 8 exemptions while lse and warwick has 7 only...
Personal opinion, which has been stated on the previous page in this thread..
More exemption = better..
Even if the university name is not as nice as another, but offer more exemption, you should prioritize that university..
UNLESS, you think you might choose other fields beside actuarial. If you are dead determined that you want to be an actuary, then go for exemptions..
Angel01
post Aug 9 2011, 11:30 AM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

Yup thats exactly what i thought..
More exemption for me better smile.gif

By the way you can only apply for exemption after you complete the degree?
Searingmage
post Aug 10 2011, 11:42 PM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 9 2011, 11:30 AM)
Yup thats exactly what i thought..
More exemption for me better smile.gif

By the way you can only apply for exemption after you complete the degree?
IINM, the exemption is given after you complete the specific courses required for the exemption..
But bear in mind usually exemption is given to those who can achieve relatively good result, not just everyone who can pass the paper, hence, even if your university have exemption, you may not be exempted if your result isn't good enough.. However, the minimum requirement should be not difficult to achieve.

This post has been edited by Searingmage: Aug 10 2011, 11:44 PM
veger_leong
post Aug 13 2011, 12:54 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(Searingmage @ Aug 7 2011, 11:21 PM)
I have a friend studying there, and I'm informed that it's quite good. Should because I heard it from a third party source, not personal experience.
As for exam, unfortunately I am unable to help as I'm studying SoA, not UK's IOA
hey you are studing soa as well? I just passed my second paper Exam FM so now i completed my first two paper will be doing exam c and fap for next. What exam are you taking now ya? I have no idea how is FAP working hope you can give me some advice and do you have any study guide/books for exam c? I mean soft copy : )

Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Aug 18 2011, 02:56 PM

1,704 posts

Is anyone here pursuing (or already have) the CERA credential? Any insights?
Angel01
post Aug 18 2011, 03:20 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

by the way, does anyone know the grading system in uk?

In malaysia we are still having CGPA and stuff...
RyukA
post Aug 22 2011, 06:48 AM

612 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Aug 18 2011, 03:20 PM)
by the way, does anyone know the grading system in uk?

In malaysia we are still having CGPA and stuff...
your best bet is, check with your Uni.
Should be A,B,C,D......

And annual examinations, unless its semester-ised.

26 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:04 PM