Business The Truth about Actuarial Science, It is not only about the Math

SUSPuting Vladimir
post Apr 12 2017, 10:24 PM

70 posts

is this course oversaturated already? can anyone confirm?because it was really popular and hype a few years ago
HweiYee
post Apr 13 2017, 10:23 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Searingmage @ Apr 12 2017, 03:50 PM)
Yes. But it's a very very small paper. Shouldn't affect you too much whether it is exempted or not.
Do note that UM course is 4 years while ukm is 3 years.
Yup, I've read the previous pages. Someone mentioned about the period of course for these two also biggrin.gif Thanks for reminding! ^^

VEE will only affect you when you want to obtain the ASA title. If you are short of VEE credit, then you must either go back to university to attend certain subject or take online course endorsed by soa which can cost up to 1k+- USD. Note that VEE is not exams but courses, they provide exposure for non-actuatial related stuff like economics, corporate finance etc.
Ohh I see I see icon_idea.gif

Thanks alot! rclxm9.gif

This is a great thread! Totally worth my time to start from the first page till the end! laugh.gif
Michael_Light
post Apr 13 2017, 09:44 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Puting Vladimir @ Apr 12 2017, 10:24 PM)
is this course oversaturated already? can anyone confirm?because it was really popular and hype a few years ago
This industry is saturated with entry level grads for Malaysia market. Most freshie struggle to get an entrance ticket for actuarial related job and have to take up non-actuarial position or many is offered contract position. However, IMHO experience staff with good paper progression is still well appreciated.
Searingmage
post Apr 14 2017, 11:57 PM

1,809 posts

What Michael_Light say is generally true. Entry level is always extremely saturated...
Even internship in actuarial department could be difficult to obtain.

However, generally chances are much higher for those with good attitude and external exam progress to land themselves with an actuarial job.
Uni results are relatively more important for AS students as well..
ZeonKid
post Apr 15 2017, 12:13 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Michael_Light @ Apr 12 2017, 09:39 PM)
VEE will only affect you when you want to obtain the ASA title. If you are short of VEE credit, then you must either go back to university to attend certain subject or take online course endorsed by soa which can cost up to 1k+- USD. Note that VEE is not exams but courses, they provide exposure for non-actuatial related stuff like economics, corporate finance etc.
not that expensive lah...for some credits you can just take exam which is around 250 USD and is reimbursed by your company.
and no one actually goes back to uni to get the vee credit...
ZeonKid
post Apr 15 2017, 12:21 AM

48 posts

extremely oversaturated, even if i only look at 1st class + minimum 3 external papers, i still have to go through over 50+ candidates to choose.

the number of malaysia actuarial graduate from oversea and local uni more than 1000 per year, and the demand only like 25~50 per years.
basically it is safe to say less than 10% of fresh grads could land an actuarial job.

but once you able to enter the actuarial department, the reward is good blush.gif

Searingmage
post Apr 15 2017, 12:31 AM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(ZeonKid @ Apr 15 2017, 12:21 AM)
extremely oversaturated, even if i only look at 1st class + minimum 3 external papers, i still have to go through over 50+ candidates to choose. 

the number of malaysia actuarial graduate from oversea and local uni more than 1000 per year, and the demand only like 25~50 per years.
basically it is safe to say less than 10% of fresh grads could land an actuarial job.

but once you able to enter the actuarial department, the reward is good  blush.gif
While definitely more than 1k fresh grad per year, many gave up on even entering actuarial industry before graduating...
Depending if you're looking at "effective" rate of entering (i.e. only consider those who are actively looking for actuarial job), the % could be a lot higher than the grim 2.5%...

Perks in actuarial department are relatively good given that they provide study leave as well as study material reimbursement.. However, it may be a bit stretch to say the reward is good.. The reward is good if you are able to consistently pass papers, and are able to strike a balance between studying and working.. Which is generally a painful process..
ZeonKid
post Apr 15 2017, 12:44 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(HweiYee @ Apr 10 2017, 04:33 PM)

I'm currently waiting to be offered into either UM or UKM AS degree. Is it true that the syllabus in UM are more updated as compared to UKM? I'm not very sure about it but rumors had it that the syllabus in UKM are mostly syllabus in 90s and students have to put in comparatively more effort for the external papers.
congrats! one thing you need to consider entering UKM is that they use BM to teach. and even writing thesis in BM.

and one thing I notice these years is that UM grads are getting stronger and stronger, even small number of their statistics/math students manage to get actuarial job!

but in UM I heard they have a lot of assignments which could hinder their external papers progress.
ZeonKid
post Apr 15 2017, 12:48 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Searingmage @ Apr 15 2017, 12:31 AM)
While definitely more than 1k fresh grad per year, many gave up on even entering actuarial industry before graduating...
Depending if you're looking at "effective" rate of entering (i.e. only consider those who are actively looking for actuarial job), the % could be a lot higher than the grim 2.5%...

Perks in actuarial department are relatively good given that they provide study leave as well as study material reimbursement.. However, it may be a bit stretch to say the reward is good.. The reward is good if you are able to consistently pass papers, and are able to strike a balance between studying and working.. Which is generally a painful process..
can't agree more. it is indeed tiring and exhausting, especially you fail twice and have to bear the exam fee yourself cry.gif 1k USD gone for each failure.
HweiYee
post Apr 15 2017, 07:22 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ZeonKid @ Apr 15 2017, 12:44 AM)
congrats! one thing you need to consider entering UKM is that they use BM to teach. and even writing thesis in BM.

and one thing I notice these years is that UM grads are getting stronger and stronger, even small number of their statistics/math students manage to get actuarial job!

but in UM I heard they have a lot of assignments which could hinder their external papers progress.
Is it??? I personally prefer to be taught in English way more than in BM as my malay langauge is not strong, wayyyyyy weaker cry.gif

Seems like getting into UM would be a better choice. (Not trying to say UKM is bad as both uni are relatively good but UM was and is still my top priority for now) Hopefully I could get an offer letter from UM sad.gif

Thanks for informing! ^^
ZeonKid
post Apr 15 2017, 10:50 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(HweiYee @ Apr 15 2017, 07:22 PM)
Is it??? I personally prefer to be taught in English way more than in BM as my malay langauge is not strong, wayyyyyy weaker  cry.gif

Seems like getting into UM would be a better choice. (Not trying to say UKM is bad as both uni are relatively good but UM was and is still my top priority for now) Hopefully I could get an offer letter from UM sad.gif

Thanks for informing! ^^
yes, UKM conducts their lectures and even exams in BM.
and from my observation, students from UM generally speak and write better english than students from UKM.

i have seen some 1st class students from ukm wrote a report full of grammar mistakes and i have to rewrite the whole things. and i thought my english is bad already.

and UM students have been topping the Actuary Today competition for past few years i think. which is a good indicator for their technical and presentation skills.

HweiYee
post Apr 24 2017, 05:42 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(ZeonKid @ Apr 15 2017, 10:50 PM)
yes, UKM conducts their lectures and even exams in BM.
and from my observation, students from UM generally speak and write better english than students from UKM.

i have seen some 1st class students from ukm wrote a report full of grammar mistakes and i have to rewrite the whole things. and i thought my english is bad already.

and UM students have been topping the Actuary Today competition for past few years i think. which is a good indicator for their technical and presentation skills.
I see. Thank you so much for telling me!! Did not realize that until you told me rclxub.gif

conankun
post Apr 29 2017, 11:39 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(HweiYee @ Apr 10 2017, 04:33 PM)

I'm currently waiting to be offered into either UM or UKM AS degree. Is it true that the syllabus in UM are more updated as compared to UKM? I'm not very sure about it but rumors had it that the syllabus in UKM are mostly syllabus in 90s and students have to put in comparatively more effort for the external papers.
Hi sorry for late reply as I am busy working.

1. I would say as long as any offers from either UM or UKM will be great. Syllabus wise UM just recently revised structure due to strong demand and opinions from students and alumni (including me haha). Deal breaker will be VEE exemption but I am not sure with UKM side as thats not my concern. So maybe u dig deeper whether they do provide course that fulfill all three VEE exemption. In term of UPU application, I myself will favor UM of having more comprehensive subjects which will relate to second point.

2. I would say it is not so easy to get a job in Actuarial field but opportunity is still there. Main reason is most of AS undergrad found out Actuarial is not they want either interest part or work life balance part. Dealing with figures and computer long hours for every weekday and constant overtime working is not everyone cup of tea. However, bear in mind AS programme is well structured that you are going to have both mathematical foundation and financial knowledge such as corporate finance, interest theory, macro micro n etc. So you still able to venture into different kinds of industry which requires logical thinking. Eventually it all depends on employer and your own performance. Maybe this is way too far of your concern but just my 2 cent.

3. As for the competition mentioned by previous post, Actuary Today. Speaking as member of champion (nothing much to brag actually lol), all other universities' AS undergrads are equally bright and talented. However, earlier Industrial Training experiences differentiates us from them as we has first hand experience of dealing with bosses and knowing their concerns. In this case, reputable judges for the competition. Know your audience is important no matter in competition, interview or real life working.

Hope my comments won't be too late and cheers.

pryyl
post Aug 7 2017, 11:25 AM

24 posts

Hi, just wondering if anyone here knows where I can purchase the ACTEX Study Manual for exam P and FM locally? Shipping would cost a bomb and I'm kinda desperate at this point of time. Would really appreciate it, thank you!
maxtan333
post Aug 9 2017, 11:02 PM

This post has been edited by maxtan333: Aug 16 2017, 04:14 PM
ZenithSkirmisher
post Feb 14 2019, 07:24 PM

261 posts

So how rare or common are qualified actuaries in Malaysia?
demon182
post Feb 15 2019, 08:39 AM

50 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by demon182: Jul 23 2019, 09:51 PM
Eurobeater
post Feb 15 2019, 06:18 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(ZenithSkirmisher @ Feb 14 2019, 11:24 AM)
So how rare or common are qualified actuaries in Malaysia?
As far as I know, super rare. Very few (less than 100) people in Malaysia are qualified actuaries.

On one hand, this kinda proves getting the qualification is extremely difficult and demanding. But on the other hand, actuarial science as an undergraduate course is only a recent thing (like less than 20 years ago compared to more established courses like accounting, engineering and mathematics). So, I kinda predict that in 10 more years or so, there would be an increase in qualified actuaries

26 Pages « < 24 25 26Top

0.0158sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:08 PM