iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

xpresside
post Oct 22 2009, 09:43 AM

1,982 posts

changing apn means cant retrieve/send mms also?
xpresside
post Nov 4 2009, 01:08 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 30 2009, 02:52 PM)
if i subscribed to per month package, rm 58 from hotlink, do u think if i do :

email
normal surfing - 6 hours/day (estimate only.)
download from cydia,app store

should be enough for 500mb?
how come u get rm58??
i check rm68 woooo...
how how..tell meee
xpresside
post Nov 5 2009, 02:26 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 4 2009, 09:16 AM)
[attachmentid=1284729]

Maybe for processing? LOL. Dun remember.  tongue.gif
i think that one is old one?
http://www.hotlink.com.my/web/portal/hotli..._Internet_SA_en

says rm68
the pic u uploaded is for maxis postpaid not for hotlink cry.gif

This post has been edited by xpresside: Nov 5 2009, 02:28 AM
xpresside
post Nov 10 2009, 05:49 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(wz3k @ Nov 7 2009, 10:46 PM)
I have indeed check that my fakeAPN is working. I've tried with multiple apps (App Store & Cydia apps) and confirmed no internet connection is available if I turn off wifi and have fakeAPN enabled. Now I'm tracking my data usage using iphone like a hawk.. hahaha...

One thing I realized is that Maxis does not change your billing cycle. Mine was 17th before changing to iValue and still is afterward. Not sure how they're going to pro-rate stuff as I just got my iphone on 3rd Nov.

Does anybody know of a FREE app that can auto reset data statistics on your billing cycle? Hopefully there is one out there but so far I could not find it.. I know you can manually reset but.. in case we forgot..

Shame on maxis for not providing a way to track data usage online or otherwise. It should be illegal for them to do this!!

Anyway, many thanks for you guys out here.. this forum is a great help..
i stop using fakeapn coz drains my battery, somemore cant use to send mms
now i just edit carrier plist and can edit juz the cellular data apm. can still send mms but no more accident internet usage icon_rolleyes.gif
xpresside
post Nov 11 2009, 09:34 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 10 2009, 07:50 PM)
@xpresside,
I'm with tnsai on the fake APN draining your battery.  I was using that for about 10 months with no battery issues.
hey there are reports on the net that others are having the same issue. so im not the only 1
as many or some of u mentioned b4, iphone tends to connect to the internet whenever it wants to. and trying to keep the apps updated. randomly searching updates for the os. so when it fails to connect it will try to reconnect for a few more times.
when i check my hotlink statement, i can see gprs charges every few hours eventho im not using the phone.
if fakeapn isnt draining ur battery, consider urself lucky or do a quick comparison on how long ur fon last when u off fakeapn n on it.
when using it my phone can barely last a day, now can last more than a day
xpresside
post Nov 12 2009, 01:51 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(clautee @ Nov 12 2009, 09:52 AM)
SBsetting addon FakeAPN is a good tool if u frequent chging the apn
not good coz fakeapn addon disable your mms setting also
xpresside
post Nov 16 2009, 03:37 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(honkit @ Nov 16 2009, 03:11 PM)
this doesnt work on me. i use fakeapn, it disable for awhile. then when i on wifi and use, gprs works without me knowing.
wat model? set from where
xpresside
post Nov 17 2009, 02:03 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Nov 16 2009, 04:57 PM)
Oh, previously xpressside you mentioned about the fakeAPN draining battery, yes it apparently could happen if you turn on FakeAPN and still leave Edge on..

I noticed my battery drain from 100% to 95% in about 57 minutes(standby) . As the article mentioned, the OS goes crazy trying to restablish connection using the fakeAPN and I guess that is what was draining the battery.

Turning off Edge as well fixes the problem, but it leads me to another curious question. As far as I can tell, even with FakeAPN off, turning off Edge effectively cuts me off from data usage. I offed it along with 3G and fakeAPN off(original apn settings) , I wasn't able to access anything.. so maybe we don't even need FakeAPN.. can anybody else verify this on their unit?
i use sbsetting to turn off Edge also can still see the E word beside MY MAXIS
xpresside
post Nov 17 2009, 07:29 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 17 2009, 06:57 PM)
@wc5599,
It's not like you gonna get loads of MMS.  Alternatively, the 500MB data package cost only RM68 p/month.
i always use mms drool.gif
but still...you can disable cellular data network and still be able to use mms

Added on November 17, 2009, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(wc5599 @ Nov 17 2009, 06:22 PM)
I am in aussie now.. but when back in msia.. i DISABLE the cellular internet access.. only access internet via wifi.. it works.. no extra charges..

http://iphoneandre.wordpress.com/2008/07/2...net-access-apn/

but problem is.. mayb u CANT use mms..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1085501/+400#

This post has been edited by xpresside: Nov 17 2009, 07:30 PM
xpresside
post Dec 16 2009, 08:24 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 16 2009, 03:47 PM)
@coduosp,
It really depends on where you're located.  HSDPA speed is possible at certain areas.

@sexbomb,
That's another solution but what's the point of having an iPhone when U can't make use of its other uhm.... benefits?
bcoz we like to have control of what's being transferred in and out?
so the benefits of having iPhone is sucking your credits without notice? rclxms.gif
xpresside
post Jan 5 2010, 04:27 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Jan 5 2010, 02:05 AM)
yeap. my iphone is from maxis. and there is no APN. lol i was googling and most of them mentioned APN, but im guessing for maxis sets there are no APN settings.

so guys with maxis sets and no plan lol, www.iphonenodata.com aight!
...the iphone really sucks data. i dont even use anything and im up 10 bucks in 3 days. T-T
btw mate, thanks for the help smile.gif
can still send/receive mms with that iphonenodata.com thing?
xpresside
post Feb 19 2010, 12:39 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(ronramka @ Feb 17 2010, 11:58 AM)
used all three maxis, celcom & digi data plan..

Digi is da best n the cheapest..huhuhu..

RM48 FTW thumbup.gif
wrong
http://u.com.my/umobile/page/PricePlan/Sur.../AboutSurfWithU
umobile 10bux a month, or 20bux a month..cheaper whistling.gif
xpresside
post Mar 25 2010, 10:48 AM

1,982 posts

u guys on maxis wat the hell la..just use postpaid value50..add value10 = rm 8
then get the 250mb for 30bux..enuff to just surf on the phone..rm88 a month
was on prepaid and using almost 200 a month
xpresside
post Mar 25 2010, 07:27 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Mar 25 2010, 03:53 PM)
?????????? i don't think you get me, yes no one is forcing me to sign up, but if i can't off the 3g/edge, what other clever suggestion you have? don't sign up and pay RM100 for 10mb usage?

Added on March 25, 2010, 4:09 pm

just called them.. only if you get the iphone value plan from maxis only can subscribe the 250mb 30bux thingy.. i got my iphone from my bro so i can't subscribe that one... sad.gif
try your luck at maxis centre..if one of them is blur like the one i got, u can get it rclxm9.gif
xpresside
post Mar 25 2010, 11:21 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Mar 25 2010, 08:06 PM)
just get digi unlimited data plan - RM58 per month

capped at 3gb ...enough said
i dun need unlimited plan. why pay more? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xpresside: Mar 25 2010, 11:23 PM
xpresside
post Mar 26 2010, 10:48 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Mar 26 2010, 01:30 AM)
I just called them, they give reasons such as 'oh iphone is a smart phone, we can't do anything to stop your iphone from using edge/gprs/3g

i want to tell her... so iphone is smart, means maxis people are stupid? XD

omg la maxis...
hmm might be a good idea... i tried calling maxis call center two times with two different person, both tell me that i can't get it... T-T
same la..i asked maxis call center they say cant..then i went to maxis center the guy at the front say cannot. then the time i want to convert my line the girl can do it icon_rolleyes.gif
xpresside
post Mar 26 2010, 10:02 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Mar 26 2010, 09:03 PM)
for all those who tried to ask maxis cs to disable 3g& gprs and failed .. wad u all have to do is juz cal them n say u wan to disable it ...need not to mention ur using iphone.but do take note tat dun remove ur sim once u disabled ur data settings..if not the iphone will somehow auto enable ur data settings...

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:04 pm
haha..btw ...digi offered another 2 plans for data oso ...not unlimited..mayb it will suit u ? juz check up at digi site...btw im curious bout ur avatar ..it looks familiat to me..wad anime it is?
chrome shelled regios..if i wan to switch to digi i've done so since i got very nice number for digi. but since all my friends are using maxis. no choice
xpresside
post May 14 2010, 02:15 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ May 14 2010, 12:48 AM)
Dude, lets count my ways...

Apps store: I have 4GB worth of apps in my iPhone, mostly via PC, but sometimes i update them on the fly (3G)...

Emails: I have an average 80-100 mails per day (work) and another 30 or so (personal)... some comes with attachments...

Data: News and data apps (Berjaya News, Live Cam traffic report from 1Malaysia apps, engadget, CineApps, Google apps like Google Calender, Google Maps - even as i have Papago M6, Google Docs, etc)...

Internet: Safari (thestar.com.my, ign.com, gizmodo, lowyat.net, work related, etc)

Social Network: IM+ always on (24hours)....

Games: Open Fient, multiplayer, etc...

What else??? Youtube (but i dont youtube at all via iPhone, i grab MKVs).

Its easy to hit 1GB if u r using the iPhone as a data smartphone, and not only to sms and call....

Peace...  icon_rolleyes.gif
not sure how u can do all that without having to recharge 2-3 times a day..

0.0500sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:27 PM