135 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

Christopher7
post Sep 13 2010, 07:29 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

Today i received a message from Maxis saying that I exceeded the 500MB data
But I checked on my Iphone only 450+
and most of the time I'm on WiFi!

GosH!

Added on September 13, 2010, 7:31 pm
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Sep 9 2010, 10:06 PM)
Just some correction here. Now Digi stop the RM58/month plan,
it is running RM68/month already...
Secondly, your data usage is cap at 3GB. After 3GB, you still can surf, but with EDGE speed.
What do u guys think about the EDGE speed?
Acceptable or Bad?

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Sep 13 2010, 07:31 PM
inachi
post Sep 13 2010, 10:43 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Sep 13 2010, 07:29 PM)
Today i received a message from Maxis saying that I exceeded the 500MB data
But I checked on my Iphone only 450+
and most of the time I'm on WiFi!

GosH!
did u switch off ur cellular data everything?
coz i turn off d but every month i stil got charged around rm50 though i nvr use 3g at all

AhBoy~~
post Sep 15 2010, 04:43 AM

1,149 posts

MaXis kind of like scamming money from us... count data by KB if over the plan but never send any sms or info saying that we are using over.... then just charge like that...
soul2soul
post Sep 15 2010, 10:38 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

It is.

I am waiting for my 1 year contract with maxis to finish, then I might port to Digi smart plan
xaw5126
post Sep 15 2010, 11:34 AM

3,488 posts

why did you sign the contract, if you didn't read it?
now only want to complain here complain there.
Maxis already explained all the terms n conditions in the contract, and all you wonderful people just buta-buta sign?

yes, being charged for overages, and your CS saying 'we also dunno' is VERY sucky.
what are you gonna do about it? whine in this forum? whine on the maxis twitter account? the only effective action you can take is take your business & your money to a competitor
johnny doe
post Sep 16 2010, 10:54 PM

58 posts

would be glad if anyone could help here.. I am finding a lot of unknown data charges on my maxis prepaid.. its definitely not a Maxis problem, as I searched online and found that users in America, US, Japan, Sweden, etc... also have the same problem of "Rogue/Unknown data charges"

I am using a MAXIS Pre-Paid number and it is unbearable now, as I have to constantly reload credit onto my phone.. Could any of you please give me any suggestions towards a possible solution..

Cheers..

I attached a picture of a bit of the data charges, shown by the e-statement on "hotlink"...

sicklad77
post Sep 17 2010, 12:42 AM

532 posts

used to had that too.
i just got my ip4, reloaded rm 10 then suddenly not long during later that day it ask me to top up to continue service.
the a pop-up window msg kept asking me to reload and was getting really annoyed.
forgot how was the msg my ip4 kept showing thou.
i guess my phone went to the internet or whether some app on my phone wanted to connect into the internet i guess.
still not sure of what happen.
i read from somewhere also that first time activation of facetime also that iphone would send a hidden international sms to the apple server in us and the user got charged( source from hardwarezone forum iphone)

had enough of this and port to digi unlimited plan to prevent any hidden charges incase it tries to connect to the internet again.
so far nothing happen when my bill came recently smile.gif
JasonSky
post Sep 17 2010, 02:44 PM

Spectre
757 posts

When I first received my iPhone4 was messing around trying the new features of getting apps, light surfing, push email etc. 2 weeks later I was slapped with a data bill of RM160++ for 16000 kb.

Sigh since I am stuck with this company line got no choice but to sign up for Maxis expensive data only package.

Just a small warning to new iPhone users.
matthewctj
post Sep 17 2010, 03:39 PM

1,304 posts

Was in Sydney and had no choice but to use data roaming for maps app to locate a street/hostel. I think I used about 10mb of data in only a span of 2 minutes. Bill arrived and got a whopping RM300 bill just for data roaming.

So fellas, remember to turn it off when you go overseas. This is Maxis ....
xaw5126
post Sep 17 2010, 03:42 PM

3,488 posts

@jonny_doe
is your iPhone running iOS4?
YES > then just go to Settings > general > network > Cellular Data (On/Off) .

NO > call the maxis hotline for help, cos you should have 500MB free data.

If you bought the Hotlink separately from the iPhone, PM me.
deepan84
post Sep 17 2010, 03:45 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(johnny doe @ Sep 16 2010, 10:54 PM)

would be glad if anyone could help here.. I am finding a lot of unknown data charges on my maxis prepaid.. its definitely not a Maxis problem, as I searched online and found that users in America, US, Japan, Sweden, etc... also have the same problem of "Rogue/Unknown data charges"
I am using a MAXIS Pre-Paid number and it is unbearable now, as I have to constantly reload credit onto my phone.. Could any of you please give me any suggestions towards a possible solution..

Cheers..

I attached a picture of a bit of the data charges, shown by the e-statement on "hotlink"...
pls go n off ur celular data in settings. it wud stop the data from leaking. its good dat in os4 u can off data in the settings itself, compared to the old OS where you have to either insert gibberish numbers in APN or JB ur fone.
johnny doe
post Sep 17 2010, 06:11 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 17 2010, 03:42 PM)
@jonny_doe
is your iPhone running iOS4?
YES > then just go to Settings > general > network > Cellular Data (On/Off) .

NO > call the maxis hotline for help, cos you should have 500MB free data.

If you bought the Hotlink separately from the iPhone, PM me.
yep, got the same suggestion from a couple of other sites too.. since i dont use MMS or gprs for internet surfing or anything else, I turned the cellular data off.. can still make calls and sms.. which is basically all i do.. only use the internet when i am at home or at another wifi zone..

cheers for the heads up, guys

thumbup.gif

but i really hope that the november release of ios 4.2 fixes this issue..

Added on September 17, 2010, 6:17 pmAlso, did any of you guys notice that the WIFI connection randomly acts up after 5-10 minutes.. you have to turn the WIFI off and on again for it to work.. this sucks..

i checked around and found a remedy, (at least temporarily for my case)

just went to:
settings > general settings > reset > reset network settings..

after that, its been 2days and i havent had any major problems.. its still not completely bug free.. but its bearable.. and works great most of the time..

this happens with all the wifi networks i tried, MCd's Starbucks, one at my Uni, one at home and at a friends place too.. so it cant be router specific in my opinion.. but as i am not an IT specialist or networking expert, thats not for sure either...

let us know if any others have had similiar experiences with WIFI connections acting up on the iphone 4...

This post has been edited by johnny doe: Sep 17 2010, 06:17 PM
SUSs3an_looi
post Sep 17 2010, 08:55 PM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

omg.. so scary when reading these horror stories on high bill.
Guys.. i really need your input on this now.

Maxis vs Digi (as of September 2010).

Maxis 500mb upload AND download is a real put off. Definitely not keen especially when the bill can come up to 250/month. Digi seems like the better choice as there is no extra charges for extra data usage.

BUT!

I heard that Maxis 3g speed is 3.6mbps and Digi is 0.7mbps... is this true?
Does it matter? How about coverage area?

Overall it looks like Digi has the better value, but that's on the surface. You guys have experienced it so what is your opinion?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 17 2010, 09:43 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(JasonSky @ Sep 17 2010, 02:44 PM)
When I first received my iPhone4 was messing around trying the new features of getting apps, light surfing, push email etc. 2 weeks later I was slapped with a data bill of RM160++ for 16000 kb.

Sigh since I am stuck with this company line got no choice but to sign up for Maxis expensive data only package.

Just a small warning to new iPhone users.
any phone on any network, without data plan, even light surfing costs a lot. 10sen for 10kb. u dun need a smartphone to reach rm160 tongue.gif i remember using my dumbphone to check cinema showing times (i forgot the sms code to check) n got charged rm40 for it. u shud go for maxis mobile internet, rm58 for 500mb

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Sep 17 2010, 03:39 PM)
Was in Sydney and had no choice but to use data roaming for maps app to locate a street/hostel. I think I used about 10mb of data in only a span of 2 minutes. Bill arrived and got a whopping RM300 bill just for data roaming.

So fellas, remember to turn it off when you go overseas. This is Maxis ....
not only maxis...any telco will charge you a lot for data roaming. our local telco will charge you a certain amount, + some other charges by the telco you're currently using in that country. also realize that our local data plans doesnt apply overseas. so you know how surfing w/o data plan is already super expensive, n now we're talking about roaming data tongue.gif

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Sep 17 2010, 08:55 PM)
omg.. so scary when reading these horror stories on high bill.
Guys.. i really need your input on this now.

Maxis vs Digi (as of September 2010).

Maxis 500mb upload AND download is a real put off. Definitely not keen especially when the bill can come up to 250/month. Digi seems like the better choice as there is no extra charges for extra data usage.

BUT!

I heard that Maxis 3g speed is 3.6mbps and Digi is 0.7mbps... is this true?
Does it matter? How about coverage area?

Overall it looks like Digi has the better value, but that's on the surface. You guys have experienced it so what is your opinion?
maxis speed is not a stable 3.6mbps...that's the maximum. digi is supposedly a constant 0.7mbps. for me, using maxis i get around 0.7mbps too in my area. best way to make sure is to get both maxis n digi prepaid simcard n try their network at ur area
JasonSky
post Sep 17 2010, 10:26 PM

Spectre
757 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 17 2010, 09:43 PM)
any phone on any network, without data plan, even light surfing costs a lot. 10sen for 10kb. u dun need a smartphone to reach rm160 tongue.gif i remember using my dumbphone to check cinema showing times (i forgot the sms code to check) n got charged rm40 for it. u shud go for maxis mobile internet, rm58 for 500mb
Hehe yeap guess I learned the hard way!

Will be signing up for the Data package tomorrow.

For those who don't know the prices of Maxis Data packages:

500mb - RM58
1.5gb - RM78
3gb - RM88

* Price defers for prepaid users.
SUSs3an_looi
post Sep 17 2010, 11:22 PM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 17 2010, 09:43 PM)
not only maxis...any telco will charge you a lot for data roaming. our local telco will charge you a certain amount, + some other charges by the telco you're currently using in that country. also realize that our local data plans doesnt apply overseas. so you know how surfing w/o data plan is already super expensive, n now we're talking about roaming data tongue.gif
maxis speed is not a stable 3.6mbps...that's the maximum. digi is supposedly a constant 0.7mbps. for me, using maxis i get around 0.7mbps too in my area. best way to make sure is to get both maxis n digi prepaid simcard n try their network at ur area
A friend of mine said Digi's speeds supposed to be the fastest in Malaysia.. reaching 7.2mbps even.
Can someone confirm this?
Any mistake?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 17 2010, 11:55 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Sep 17 2010, 11:22 PM)
A friend of mine said Digi's speeds supposed to be the fastest in Malaysia.. reaching 7.2mbps even.
Can someone confirm this?
Any mistake?
let me guess, ur friend said that when digi's 3g is still new? tongue.gif

any new broadband service sure very fast...simply cuz not much ppl using it yet
SUSs3an_looi
post Sep 17 2010, 11:56 PM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 17 2010, 11:55 PM)
let me guess, ur friend said that when digi's 3g is still new? tongue.gif

any new broadband service sure very fast...simply cuz not much ppl using it yet
nah... guess wrong. just said it today.
but perhaps ur right. maybe he's just quoting what he KNEW... when it was NEW.
reefxgen
post Sep 19 2010, 01:54 AM

48 posts

newbie here....just use celcom prepaid on my iphone 3g...sometimes it take my credit go away...any recommendation???
richardtham
post Sep 19 2010, 10:47 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(JasonSky @ Sep 17 2010, 10:26 PM)
Hehe yeap guess I learned the hard way!

Will be signing up for the Data package tomorrow.

For those who don't know the prices of Maxis Data packages:

500mb - RM58
1.5gb - RM78
3gb - RM88

* Price defers for prepaid users.
There is also 100 MB for Rm18 for maxis postpaid

135 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:47 AM