135 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

SUSMike3300
post Jun 2 2009, 02:06 AM

6,866 posts

I would and should make a fuss about it, just got myself an i3G 8GB. I bought the prepaid plan and I'm entitled for the free 500MB data for 12 months, however I still got charged even I just check the weather and the data is less than 1MB for the penny sake. Where is your word Maxis? doh.gif
davidmak
post Jun 2 2009, 10:53 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(yewjin @ Jun 1 2009, 10:43 PM)
I think there is a confusion between wifi and 3G - which one will be clocked?

From where I see it, with both wifi and 3G turned on, if wifi signal is weak, 3G will step in. This is what I gathered from one of the staff but I could be wrong.
Yeah in which case, the WIFI logo will be replaced with 3G/E logo.

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 2 2009, 02:06 AM)
I would and should make a fuss about it, just got myself an i3G 8GB. I bought the prepaid plan and I'm entitled for the free 500MB data for 12 months, however I still got charged even I just check the weather and the data is less than 1MB for the penny sake. Where is your word Maxis? doh.gif
Err... checking weather app would trigger it to update new information from the online servers. That would mean a cellular connection (if you're not on WIFI) and will incur charges even if its just 1kB you use. Maxis runs on 1MB block just like its voice minutes (30 secs per block).

But I think it is high time for Maxis to introduce 1 sec blocks like how other telcos are monitoring. I think Maxis is using this 'monitoring limitations' at its economical advantage.
TSyewjin
post Jun 2 2009, 12:11 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jun 2 2009, 01:36 AM)
Should i just quietly pay my bills ? Or should i make a fuss about it ? Im thinking of changing my mobile service provider to digi as my friend who is using an iphone doesnt have any of this issues.
I always believed that the Value Plus plan that Maxis offers is a good plan. The iValue Plan was a get rich quick scheme for Maxis to gain more $$$$.

They must know that most users or at least 10% will exceed their Data plan and will be forced to pay the RM250.00 additional. Some will not utilise the free usage and on top of that have to pay additional for sms & international calls.

So in my opinion if you must take a maxis plan - take the Value plus plan + unlimited data or the idata of 3GB at RM99. I think hardly any of us has exceeded 3GB right? no?
davidmak
post Jun 2 2009, 12:53 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Agreed but the driving factor for many to go with iValue Plans was due to the 'special price iPhones'. Granted the usual Value Plus plans do entitle you to get some discounts but its not as much as using iValue. By the way, I agree how we hate SMS charged separately. What for? Also international calls are inaccurate, it should be international calls made when roaming (which is understandable). Dialing an international number from domestic locations will incur appropriate rates deducted on your iValue plan. Shouldn't be charged separately.

I don't actually understand why many would envisage themselves using so much data on an iPhone. Unless of course you guys are talking about tethering which isn't happening yet (officially). Maybe some of you likes video streaming but 1GB is aplenty! I would ride on 'pay for what is enough' approach. No point getting so much when you can't finish it even though its cheap, less of course it really make a difference kind of cheap.

Now individual usage is very subjective, no plans can cover every type of usage. Best would be to get something just enough and if you happen to exceed a bit, pay that extra. Whats the big deal? There's no enormous penalty for exceeding.

TSyewjin
post Jun 2 2009, 02:55 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 2 2009, 12:53 PM)
Agreed but the driving factor for many to go with iValue Plans was due to the 'special price iPhones'. Granted the usual Value Plus plans do entitle you to get some discounts but its not as much as using iValue. By the way, I agree how we hate SMS charged separately. What for? Also international calls are inaccurate, it should be international calls made when roaming (which is understandable). Dialing an international number from domestic locations will incur appropriate rates deducted on your iValue plan. Shouldn't be charged separately.

I don't actually understand why many would envisage themselves using so much data on an iPhone. Unless of course you guys are talking about tethering which isn't happening yet (officially). Maybe some of you likes video streaming but 1GB is aplenty! I would ride on 'pay for what is enough' approach. No point getting so much when you can't finish it even though its cheap, less of course it really make a difference kind of cheap.

Now individual usage is very subjective, no plans can cover every type of usage. Best would be to get something just enough and if you happen to exceed a bit, pay that extra. Whats the big deal? There's no enormous penalty for exceeding.
That's true but the horror stories of some who is in the ivalue 155 with 1GB data plan has exceeded 1GB usage is very scary. I am on that same plan and I have utilise only about 500MB+ while my other half is on the ivalue 100 did in fact exceeded her 500MB allotment which caused us to pay the extra RM250 (very painful) eventhough she was very careful not to exceed her given data plan but when the bill came we were surprised.

The scary part is not knowingly exceeding the data allotment but being charge more than what we have used. and there is no argument - losing battle if we fight with Maxis.
davidmak
post Jun 2 2009, 05:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(yewjin @ Jun 2 2009, 02:55 PM)
That's true but the horror stories of some who is in the ivalue 155 with 1GB data plan has exceeded 1GB usage is very scary. I am on that same plan and I have utilise only about 500MB+ while my other half is on the ivalue 100 did in fact exceeded her 500MB allotment which caused us to pay the extra RM250 (very painful) eventhough she was very careful not to exceed her given data plan but when the bill came we were surprised.

The scary part is not knowingly exceeding the data allotment but being charge more than what we have used. and there is no argument - losing battle if we fight with Maxis.
Hey, can you share with us exactly how much MB she exceeded from the pre-allocated 512MB data? Cause RM250 extra on top of the RM100 monthly sounds a lot.

By the way anyone can tell how much cents is charged per extra 1MB or 1kB?
KimisonAKAfatkimi
post Jun 18 2009, 04:58 PM

38 posts

my case today very suck maxis.... celaka dan gampang

last month rm467++ my bill

so iam very carefull this month

and everyday check my bill using shorcut *100*7*2

till 14jun 2009 my bill out i need pay rm5++ more for jun bill

wht the f***

now already pay 1000++

ask maxis why my bill so expensive??

he said iam using data to much and total rm4k++ and after discount 3k++

just need pay rm250 ... (caps limit) + my voice bill and sms and mms

total may bill rm500++

after may bill out 14jun i ask maxis subscribe me to unlimited data service rm99 per month so my bill must rm155 (ivalue 2) + 99 total jun bill rm254 everymonth

and today my bill rm260+) include data and voice call after 4 days my may bill out... already pay him rm500++ and now need to pay again

wht the hell its it... so suck maxis... celaka dan haram...
he said my unlimited activated today, not last 3 days

so tht amount for my data usage rm250 around thi 4 days

celaka punya maxis... iam very not sastified for this situation

so suck

Added on June 18, 2009, 5:03 pmand maxis said iam already used 800,000 kb mean its it 8gb or 800mb

not so sure.. but maxis still suck my money like hell

i ask again where my ivalue plan gone... how about my 1gb free?? if caculate 1gb use if normal rate around rm500 for 1gb data service (0.5cent per kb)

i monitor from my iphone till now not more than 1gb ..

wht the hell ya maxis.... where i must to report ... waaaaaa

This post has been edited by KimisonAKAfatkimi: Jun 18 2009, 05:03 PM
Toriton
post Jun 18 2009, 05:03 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 2 2009, 02:06 AM)
they can simply say you actually had used more than that... they have your data usage record... and there is nothing you can do to prove they are wrong... tongue.gif

deodorant
post Jun 18 2009, 06:28 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Not to be an ass, but now that I read up on all you guys' horror stories I'm so glad I bought a Singtel set and went Value 50 + 99 unlimited instead of the Maxis plans.

I did get a bit pissed off @ the first bill cos the first bill = RM 153.xx ... which exceeded my credit limit of RM 150.00 ... so Maxis immediately barred my phone on the billing date. Before the bill even reach my hands already phone barred, zzzz.
NXaqua
post Jun 19 2009, 03:19 PM

921 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ May 29 2009, 02:33 PM)
Hi guys,

Just off the phone with Maxis CallCenter 10minutes ago in regards to my complaint on the excessive data usage (2K MB over 4 hours on the same day vs 460MB or so for the whole month,displayed under the Iphone's usage).

Their final respond : The data usage displayed under Iphone's usage needs to be reset daily in order to get accurate reading.But since I was not advised during the purchase of Iphone nor was it stated in the agreement,they have agreed to allow me 50% rebate in next month bill.End of my complaint.
Hi guys,

Just got my May statement and as promised they credited RM56.00 as goodwill on the data mix up ..

raycol97
post Jun 20 2009, 01:00 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 18 2009, 06:28 PM)
Not to be an ass, but now that I read up on all you guys' horror stories I'm so glad I bought a Singtel set and went Value 50 + 99 unlimited instead of the Maxis plans.

I did get a bit pissed off @ the first bill cos the first bill = RM 153.xx ... which exceeded my credit limit of RM 150.00 ... so Maxis immediately barred my phone on the billing date. Before the bill even reach my hands already phone barred, zzzz.
lol... MAXIS really never improve one..

I was a Maxis 3G unlimited user too (after i get my iphone 3G in Aug '08).. and the same thing happened to me.
I chose the Value 50 + 99 unlimited plan, so, after adding the 5% service tax, the 1st month bill came out immediately exceed RM150 credit limit and they barred my phone.

I called to them immediately and scolded the operator "hard hard".. then only they increased my credit limit to RM200...

Anyway, I shifted to Celcom's Executive 20 plan + RM98 unlimited data plan in Dec '08 as it is cheaper to me.. rolleyes.gif
vui_msia
post Jun 20 2009, 02:26 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Toriton @ Jun 18 2009, 05:03 PM)
they can simply say you actually had used more than that... they have your data usage record... and there is nothing you can do to prove they are wrong...  tongue.gif
they have your data usage record <== I actually concern this before i sign up ivalue100, seems like we cant do much but just let Maxis sucks on us. I have been calling them and ask them how they keep track, or how can us (Users) check on data usage. They saying that they do not have a system for this, but they will know at the end of the month...

- Wondering what kind of system do they keep track? they dont know
- Can they system show the current usage? they cant
- how they come out with the final usage ACCURATELY if they cant even check the current usage? They silent for a sec and replied me, they dont know too..

at the end of the tele conversation, they told me, they will inform me once i reached my max limit.. which is HOW MUCH? i do not wish this happen on me , might end up with paying RM250 for data?

I think Maxis really needs to have a proper system on this....

Added on June 20, 2009, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(raycol97 @ Jun 20 2009, 01:00 PM)
lol... MAXIS really never improve one..

I was a Maxis 3G unlimited user too (after i get my iphone 3G in Aug '08).. and the same thing happened to me.
I chose the Value 50 + 99 unlimited plan, so, after adding the 5% service tax, the 1st month bill came out immediately exceed RM150 credit limit and they barred my phone.

I called to them immediately and scolded the operator "hard hard".. then only they increased my credit limit to RM200...

Anyway, I shifted to Celcom's Executive 20 plan + RM98 unlimited data plan in Dec '08 as it is cheaper to me..  rolleyes.gif
same.. it is annoying.. I am on ivalue100 + RM10 for additional SMS. AND, I paid deposit RM200 when signing for ivalue plan, then they offer credit limit RM150 blink.gif

EVERY MONTH END.. i received sms etc to say that exceed limit and going to bar my line and so on.. isn't it stupid.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jun 20 2009, 02:32 PM
geo-milano
post Jun 20 2009, 03:07 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(friends @ May 22 2009, 04:29 PM)
I had almost the same experience as Derlin did.... but my case was the SMS subscription issues (like those 32332 numbers).
I never subscribed to any of those 3rd-party numbers' subscriptions, but I was billed several consecutive months of those SMS received.
Most probabily ur phone number is recyle number . blink.gif
c010
post Jun 20 2009, 06:18 PM

281 posts

hey guys, why dont u all monitor your data usage at setting => general => usage

from there you are able to find out how much data been used for both sent and received. to be more accurate, reset the stats each month.

if maxis claimed that u use more than certain amount, you can argue with them base on the stats.
nokia2003
post Jun 20 2009, 06:22 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jun 20 2009, 06:18 PM)

from there you are able to find out how much data been used for both sent and received. to be more accurate, reset the stats each month.

if maxis claimed that u use more than certain amount, you can argue with them base on the stats.
it is your word against theirs. if that was indeed arguable, this thread wouldn't have expanded until 6 pages long.
davidmak
post Jun 20 2009, 07:16 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jun 20 2009, 06:18 PM)

Yes, thats how I track my usage too and even though I do a lot of FB, chatting, etc, I don't really use up my entire allocated bandwidth. I've never been billed extra. Nokia! Hehehe, I agree with you too...
GShock
post Jun 20 2009, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 20 2009, 07:16 PM)
Yes, thats how I track my usage too and even though I do a lot of FB, chatting, etc, I don't really use up my entire allocated bandwidth. I've never been billed extra. Nokia! Hehehe, I agree with you too...
I think the best option will be ...don't get the maxis iphone offer. Get the singtel set and use digi.....problem won't occur.
raycol97
post Jun 21 2009, 12:15 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(GShock @ Jun 20 2009, 11:11 PM)
I think the best option will be ...don't get the maxis iphone offer.  Get the singtel set and use digi.....problem won't occur.
Why get the singtel set? I thought Maxis also got prepaid sets (no contract) now: 8gb - RM2,540. 16gb - RM2960. At least got 1 year warranty mah.
Brick1235
post Jun 21 2009, 01:09 PM

440 posts

Maxis don't have any such thing as stop usage if we reach the limit of our plan?
davidmak
post Jun 21 2009, 03:14 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(GShock @ Jun 20 2009, 11:11 PM)
I think the best option will be ...don't get the maxis iphone offer.  Get the singtel set and use digi.....problem won't occur.
I assume when you get an iPhone, you would consume data too right. You still need to pay for it and without any 'special' plans, you're on your pay-as-you-go rates which is expensive.

135 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:57 PM