The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!
lightning69
Jun 15 2009, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 15 2009, 10:58 PM) The waiting list for SVS AS-EQ1 is miles long. Heard that it is now til August. I wonder whether I could get it soon if I buy this. Btw, tested my SVS PC-12Plus for concert. Feels like in concert. I like my SVS PC-12Plus so much. Everything i read about SVS is just incredible. Can't wait for SVS to get back to me with alternative shipping.
htkaki
Jun 16 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 15 2009, 11:29 PM) Everything i read about SVS is just incredible. Can't wait for SVS to get back to me with alternative shipping. Bro, you ditched the REL? Gald to hear that another SVS member in da house
lightning69
Jun 16 2009, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 16 2009, 08:45 AM) Bro, you ditched the REL? Gald to hear that another SVS member in da house  The REL T1 that I audition is good but somehow during my audition when i bring up the volume, the REL T1 produce "Blat" sound. I guess the very small size of the T1 just could not go very loud. Its good for small size room as the bass is incredible tight but at RM2900 is too expensive considering I can get the SVS PC12-NSD at less than RM4k. Still trying to solve the shipping issue with SVS. By the way, Ron of SVS did mention to me that you are going to meet him in Singapore on the 19thJune. He invited me to meet up with him but too bad I'm still working offshore during that time. Hope that you can work out something with him and get the dealership of SVS in Malaysia. This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 16 2009, 11:05 AM
htkaki
Jun 16 2009, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:01 AM) The REL T1 that I audition is good but somehow during my audition when i bring up the volume, the REL T1 produce "Blat" sound. I guess the very small size of the T1 just could not go very loud. Its good for small size room as the bass is incredible tight but at RM2900 is too expensive considering I can get the SVS PC12-NSD at less than RM4k. Still trying to solve the shipping issue with SVS. By the way, Ron of SVS did mention to me that you are going to meet him in Singapore on the 19thJune. He invited me to meet up with him but too bad I'm still working offshore during that time. Hope that you can work out something with him and get the dealership of SVS in Malaysia. Alamak, cat out of the bag Hopefully, it is a smooth sailing trip
elmer
Jun 16 2009, 11:59 AM

So HTkaki, can you get PB12-NSD for 3k? If can I don't need to drive down to Singapore to get it... haha. QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 16 2009, 11:35 AM) Alamak, cat out of the bag Hopefully, it is a smooth sailing trip 
nadky
Jun 16 2009, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:01 AM) The REL T1 that I audition is good but somehow during my audition when i bring up the volume, the REL T1 produce "Blat" sound. I guess the very small size of the T1 just could not go very loud. Its good for small size room as the bass is incredible tight but at RM2900 is too expensive considering I can get the SVS PC12-NSD at less than RM4k. Still trying to solve the shipping issue with SVS. By the way, Ron of SVS did mention to me that you are going to meet him in Singapore on the 19thJune. He invited me to meet up with him but too bad I'm still working offshore during that time. Hope that you can work out something with him and get the dealership of SVS in Malaysia. May I know where did you audition the REL T1?
htkaki
Jun 16 2009, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:36 AM) wah... if htkaki gets dealership we all in trouble of  liao   I didn't poison you guys, right? But, it is indeed a GOOD sub, if not excellent. QUOTE So HTkaki, can you get PB12-NSD for 3k? If can I don't need to drive down to Singapore to get it... haha. Probably around RM3K - RM3.4k range. Still waiting for final confirmation.
s6xs9x
Jun 16 2009, 02:30 PM
I was quoted d2d from Erik for a PB10NSD and it cost USD500 and d2airport is 310USD.
How do you manage to get a PB12NSD for 3K? I have to say that these SVS and Velo are completely 2 different categories, I don't think it's wise to make side by side comparison.
How many SVS owners are there in this forum. Anyone in KL? I'm not sure if it's sounding like how it should now at my place.
I don't seem to find anything rattling, in my house. But as I increase the volume, I find it hard to breath and as if i'm being pressed down. So i wrote to them, and here's the reply;
The "harder to breathe" comment makes me think that you're getting lots of deep bass SPL, and that everything is working as it should. It may just be that you’re used to more to more midbass like the ******** is tuned to, and not all scenes have all that midbass. I'll bet the longer you use the PB10 the better it will sound to you ..... and it's sounding just as accurate in terms of what's really recorded (vs. what lesser subs create on their own in terms of boom and distortion).
Would need some opinions on these subs. Anyway I got mine used, hence I'm not sure if it's working correctly or not.
Edited below, it's from their tech support team
Tough to judge what you’re hearing, of course, but one thing I've noticed when folks move to a truly flat, accurate sub like a PB10 is that it initially seems like less bass. If you've had a sub which produces midbass rumble even when it's not supposed to, and has lots of overhang/trailing notes on sounds, then a cleaner sub will sound like it's producing less. Once an accurate, properly calibrated sub is in place, it can take a little getting used to. No idea if that's the case here, but it's fairly common.
This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Jun 16 2009, 02:33 PM
jchong
Jun 16 2009, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 16 2009, 02:23 PM)  I didn't poison you guys, right? But, it is indeed a GOOD sub, if not excellent. Heh, remember you're the Chief Poisoner!
lightning69
Jun 16 2009, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jun 16 2009, 02:30 PM) I was quoted d2d from Erik for a PB10NSD and it cost USD500 and d2airport is 310USD.
How do you manage to get a PB12NSD for 3K? I have to say that these SVS and Velo are completely 2 different categories, I don't think it's wise to make side by side comparison.
What? PB10NSD already cost USD500 d2d? The last time i got quote for PB12-NSD is only USD315.
jwyj
Jun 16 2009, 04:40 PM
I think the USD315 was for KL only. Non KL area is another story.
s6xs9x
Jun 16 2009, 04:49 PM
I'm living in KL bro;
Shipping is going to be:
Door to door $500 Bax Quote Number 4861317
Door to airport $310 Bax Quote Number 4860311
These quotes are for prepaid shipping and a small international handling fee only. Any taxes, duties, brokerage, administrative, etc. fees are your responsibility. The door to door rate includes the brokerage fees and the door to airport does not. The brokerage fees included in door to door rates may not include all local administrative fees.
This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Jun 16 2009, 04:49 PM
jchong
Jun 16 2009, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jun 16 2009, 02:30 PM) Would need some opinions on these subs. Anyway I got mine used, hence I'm not sure if it's working correctly or not. So you got the used PB10 from the hifi4sale seller?
htkaki
Jun 16 2009, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(jwyj @ Jun 16 2009, 04:40 PM) I think the USD315 was for KL only. Non KL area is another story. jwyj, how's your order been going? I've told them about you  If all else fail, then I ship to you via courier. QUOTE I'm living in KL bro;
Shipping is going to be:
Door to door $500 Bax Quote Number 4861317
Door to airport $310 Bax Quote Number 4860311
These quotes are for prepaid shipping and a small international handling fee only. Any taxes, duties, brokerage, administrative, etc. fees are your responsibility. The door to door rate includes the brokerage fees and the door to airport does not. The brokerage fees included in door to door rates may not include all local administrative fees. The expensive cost could probably due to the hefty weight of the unit itself. PC is much lighter.
jwyj
Jun 16 2009, 05:37 PM
I'm getting 2 pieces of PC-12 NDS first, but no news yet. If successfully sent to me, then can buy PC-12+. See how first.
htkaki
Jun 16 2009, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(jwyj @ Jun 16 2009, 05:37 PM) I'm getting 2 pieces of PC-12 NDS first, but no news yet. If successfully sent to me, then can buy PC-12+. See how first. Wow, that's a total of 3 bolsters!!! SVS King of Malaysia
s6xs9x
Jun 16 2009, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 16 2009, 04:56 PM) So you got the used PB10 from the hifi4sale seller? Yep! and i had another friend to help me check out the sub, as I'm totally blur in this division. But i have to say it's nothing like a Velo.
elmer
Jun 16 2009, 05:46 PM

Wow very good price. Anyway I will be going down to Singapore this saturday to pick up my pb12-NSD. Hopefully its as good as they claim to be. QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 16 2009, 02:23 PM)  I didn't poison you guys, right? But, it is indeed a GOOD sub, if not excellent. Probably around RM3K - RM3.4k range. Still waiting for final confirmation.
lightning69
Jun 16 2009, 05:48 PM
I'm still waiting for the reply on whether they can send it to Brunei. I believe there is no tax in brunei. Added on June 16, 2009, 5:50 pmQUOTE(elmer @ Jun 16 2009, 05:46 PM) Wow very good price. Anyway I will be going down to Singapore this saturday to pick up my pb12-NSD. Hopefully its as good as they claim to be. Are they selling it in Singapore during Ron's visit there? It might be good to get from there then. This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 16 2009, 05:50 PM