Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Lester1987
post May 6 2010, 03:31 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 6 2010, 03:14 PM)
Wah, cant imagine such racist attitude still occurs in Malaysia's society today. It is so unfair.
My situation now is one of my relative, ie both parents are Malaysian PR resiting in SG and her mum is going to give birth perhaps in Aug 2010 and they prefer their son to become a Malaysian. Both the parents are Chinese.

So, the only way is to go to JB to give birth rite now?

On the other hand as per your case, I wonder why your cousin husband's wife cant be a PR?
I tot if either husband or wife is a native Singaporean, then its spouse can easily apply for a dependent PR?
yup, ask them to give birth in JB, when the child is born in malaysia, they cannot deny that he/she is a Malaysian.
My Aunty didn't apply PR bcoz the husband got no income (taxable). All my Uncle's income is "ahem" money and cannot see light de. when the husband got no income, they can't apply PR for the spouse.
cks2k2
post May 6 2010, 03:33 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 6 2010, 02:14 PM)
Any one have any idea on this?

Mum = Malaysian PR
Dad = Malaysian PR
But their baby born in SG, so the baby will be Singaporean or Malaysian?
Definitely not Singaporean. You don't get citizenship automatically by being born there anymore.

My cousin is Malaysian with SG PR. Her husband is Filipino with SG PR. When she gave birth, they had to choose between Malaysian or Filipino citizenship for her baby. They chose Malaysian, and registered with Malaysian embassy in SG. Then they registered with SG govt to get dependent PR status for the baby.

What happens a lot is ppl forget to register with the embassy, then get into trouble.

This post has been edited by cks2k2: May 6 2010, 03:34 PM
Jurlique
post May 6 2010, 03:38 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 6 2010, 03:33 PM)
Definitely not Singaporean. You don't get citizenship automatically by being born there anymore.

My cousin is Malaysian with SG PR. Her husband is Filipino with SG PR. When she gave birth, they had to choose between Malaysian or Filipino citizenship for her baby. They chose Malaysian, and registered with Malaysian embassy in SG. Then they registered with SG govt to get dependent PR status for the baby.

What happens a lot is ppl forget to register with the embassy, then get into trouble.
but AFAIK, SG now encourage ppl to become their citizen bcos the birth rate of native Singaporeans remain low.

This is why SG gomen attract couples to give birth more by granting 4 mths of maternity leave.
cks2k2
post May 6 2010, 03:49 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 6 2010, 03:38 PM)
but AFAIK, SG now encourage ppl to become their citizen bcos the birth rate of native Singaporeans remain low.

This is why SG gomen attract couples to give birth more by granting 4 mths of maternity leave.
Yes, ONLY IF you are already a citizen to begin with.
If they allowed someone to claim citizenship based on they being born there, believe me, a lot of pregnant women will swim into SG to give birth, just like how Mexican illegal immigrants sneak into the US to give birth.

Anyway, best for your relative to contact the MY embassy. In my cousin's case she thought her baby will get SG citizenship, but SG govt won't prepare the birth cert as the parents are not citizens. So she had to register in MY embassy.
r1v3r
post May 6 2010, 05:14 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 6 2010, 02:14 PM)
Any one have any idea on this?

Mum = Malaysian PR
Dad = Malaysian PR
But their baby born in SG, so the baby will be Singaporean or Malaysian?
200% Malaysian (2 kids). You can decide to apply PR or long term pass for them.

last time have to que at High Comm at 5am just to get the number to register malaysian birth cert for the baby. Good luck.

Added on May 6, 2010, 5:28 pm
QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 6 2010, 03:38 PM)

only true if at least one of the parent is Singaporean at the time of birth and the parent ddecide they want the baby to be singaporean. (sometime the hospital staff "by default" declare your child as Singaporean)

true the gov encourage PR to convert but when they give out $$ as in baby bonus, they are very clear only singaporean get it. If your child is Singaporean, the mother will get 4 months maternity leave (at least in civil service) compare to 2~3 months for others.

Added on May 6, 2010, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(cks2k2 @ May 6 2010, 03:49 PM)
Yes, ONLY IF you are already a citizen to begin with.
If they allowed someone to claim citizenship based on they being born there, believe me, a lot of pregnant women will swim into SG to give birth, just like how Mexican illegal immigrants sneak into the US to give birth.

Anyway, best for your relative to contact the MY embassy. In my cousin's case she thought her baby will get SG citizenship, but SG govt won't prepare the birth cert as the parents are not citizens. So she had to register in MY embassy.
ok, brave yourself. Say a malaysian couple give birth to a baby in a SG hospital

1) The hospital will issue you a SG birth cert (product certification..haha) but stated "Nationality : Malaysian" and a "white card" valid for ~2 months.

2) With the SG birth cert + parent married cert (you need the blue malaysian version even you ROM in SG!) + parent birth cert, IC etc you apply a Malaysian birth cert at Malaysian High comm. Google it to find the detail as when you have to bring the new born baby to high comm to finger print the birth cert application!

3) Tell the high comm you want to apply passport too, they will ask you to que at another counter to get a stamp so that you don't have to bring your new born there again for passport application.

4) wait... wait... wait, once you collected the malaysian birth cert then you can apply a malaysian passport at high comm for your child.

5) Take the baby passport and the "white card" to ICA. You can either apply PR or social visit pass so that your child can stay in SG legally with you. Or you can just get a chop on passport and bring your baby out of SG.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: May 6 2010, 05:49 PM
cks2k2
post May 6 2010, 06:10 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ May 6 2010, 05:14 PM)
200% Malaysian (2 kids). You can decide to apply PR or long term pass for them.

last time have to que at High Comm at 5am just to get the number to register malaysian birth cert for the baby. Good luck.

Added on May 6, 2010, 5:28 pm

only true if at least one of the parent is Singaporean at the time of birth and the parent ddecide they want the baby to be singaporean. (sometime the hospital staff "by default" declare your child as Singaporean)

true the gov encourage PR to convert but when they give out $$ as in baby bonus, they are very clear only singaporean get it. If your child is Singaporean, the mother will get 4 months maternity leave (at least in civil service) compare to 2~3 months for others.

Added on May 6, 2010, 5:48 pm

ok, brave yourself. Say a malaysian couple give birth to a baby in a SG hospital

1) The hospital will issue you a SG birth cert (product certification..haha) but stated "Nationality : Malaysian" and a "white card" valid for ~2 months.

2) With the SG birth cert + parent married cert (you need the blue malaysian version even you ROM in SG!) + parent birth cert, IC etc you apply a Malaysian birth cert at Malaysian High comm. Google it to find the detail as when you have to bring the new born baby to high comm to finger print the birth cert application!

3) Tell the high comm you want to apply passport too, they will ask you to que at another counter to get a stamp so that you don't have to bring your new born there again for passport application.

4) wait... wait... wait, once you collected the malaysian birth cert then you can apply a malaysian passport at high comm for your child.

5) Take the baby passport and the "white card" to ICA. You can either apply PR or social visit pass so that your child can stay in SG legally with you. Or you can just get a chop on passport and bring your baby out of SG.
First-hand experience? whistling.gif
seantang
post May 6 2010, 06:35 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

As far as I know, Malaysian citizenship of a newborn is via the paternal bloodline. If the father is Malaysian, the child is automatically a Malaysian citizen no matter where he was born... invoking the "law of blood". If the mother is Malaysian (but the father is not), then the child is automatically a Malaysian citizen ONLY if he was born in Malaysia... invoking the "law of soil".

In Singapore, any minor child of a PR is automatically a dependent PR. Upon reaching the age of 18, the child may choose to remain a PR or become a citizen, both on condition of fulfilling national service. Singaporean citizenship is not conferred on children where neither of the parents are Singaporean.

A birth certificate issued by either Malaysia or Singapore does not amount to nationality.
jae
post May 6 2010, 10:20 PM

359 posts

Just a quick question, does anyone here have any idea if I could open a savings bank account (with DBS) with just my passport and MoM's Approved-In-Principal letter for my EP pass?
Fyi I have my medical report ready, just that my appointment with the MoM is another 12days away + a few days for it to be processed, so it would be at least another 2 weeks or more before I would get my EP card.

P/S: Btw, I have already started working so I would prefer to have an account opened as soon as I could.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by jae: May 6 2010, 10:23 PM
dokidoki
post May 6 2010, 10:54 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(jae @ May 6 2010, 10:20 PM)
Just a quick question, does anyone here have any idea if I could open a savings bank account (with DBS) with just my passport and MoM's Approved-In-Principal letter for my EP pass?
Fyi I have my medical report ready, just that my appointment with the MoM is another 12days away + a few days for it to be processed, so it would be at least another 2 weeks or more before I would get my EP card.

P/S: Btw, I have already started working so I would prefer to have an account opened as soon as I could.

Cheers.
u apply the ep after u start work in SG?
jae
post May 6 2010, 11:00 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 6 2010, 10:54 PM)
u apply the ep after u start work in SG?
Nope, but I was given a kinda short notice to start work so I only had my approved-in-principal letter when I started.
Argiope
post May 6 2010, 11:11 PM

300 posts

Well not sure about DBS but i opened an account in OCBC and they didn't ask for my EP. Just the passport and $500 for initial deposit will do.
jae
post May 6 2010, 11:19 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ May 6 2010, 11:11 PM)
Well not sure about DBS but i opened an account in OCBC and they didn't ask for my EP. Just the passport and $500 for initial deposit will do.
Do you get charged for withdrawing from a non-OCBS ATM? I don't really have any preference with the choice of bank, just that they (DBS & POSB) have the most ATMs around.
Argiope
post May 6 2010, 11:23 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(jae @ May 6 2010, 11:19 PM)
Do you get charged for withdrawing from a non-OCBS ATM? I don't really have any preference with the choice of bank, just that they (DBS & POSB) have the most ATMs around.

I haven't tried but i believe they do charge if i were to draw from a non-OCBC ATM. But there are quite a number of OCBC ATMs around ma. Lots of DBS & POSB ATMs out there but most of them are with long long queues..
Lester1987
post May 6 2010, 11:23 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(jae @ May 6 2010, 10:20 PM)

Cheers.
yes u can, i opened my DBS account with the MoM's Approved-In-Principal letter, just bring SGD 500 to any DBS branch and they will open it for u.
jae
post May 6 2010, 11:33 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ May 6 2010, 11:23 PM)
I haven't tried but i believe they do charge if i were to draw from a non-OCBC ATM. But there are quite a number of OCBC ATMs around ma. Lots of DBS & POSB ATMs out there but most of them are with long long queues..
Yeah, but I have seen many other banks' ATMs with very long queue as well, not just DBS&POSB only.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 6 2010, 11:23 PM)
yes u can, i opened my DBS account with the MoM's Approved-In-Principal letter, just bring SGD 500 to any DBS branch and they will open it for u.
Great, thanks a lot for the information. I will head down to a DBS branch this Sat then. smile.gif
wlcling
post May 7 2010, 12:13 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

UOB atm normally not much queue... can share with ocbc atm also... withdraw free 3 times a mth i think blush.gif

This post has been edited by wlcling: May 7 2010, 12:13 AM
Lester1987
post May 7 2010, 09:32 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ May 7 2010, 12:13 AM)
UOB atm normally not much queue... can share with ocbc atm also... withdraw free 3 times a mth i think  blush.gif
i believe that there is smth call ATM 5 in Singapore, smth like MEPS in Malaysia but its free. I abandoned my DBS account because of the long queue and now i am using Citibank instead. Citibank can withdraw from ABN AMBO, Citibank, HSBC, Maybank, and Standard Chartered ATM Machine. This is what they call ATM 5.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: May 7 2010, 09:35 AM
WyjSwmW
post May 7 2010, 10:57 AM

862 posts

Anybody has received their tax assessment from IRAS?
wKkaY
post May 7 2010, 12:06 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 5 2010, 01:01 PM)
We've been through this with one of the Moderators or Admin in the past. We were told that there is no real physical or technical limit to the number of pages - and the 'limit' (apparently 125 as you mention) is arbitrary.

My preference is to keep this thread. Makes the info we post easy to find, rather than being buried in old threads somewhere. And navigation is no issue, really. We just click "last page" and we're right where we need to be to see updates to this thread.
There's actually a technical reason to this, it has been measured that the forum database server (mysql) a proportionally longer time to show you the last 10 posts of a 2500-post thread compared to a 5000-post thread as it needs to generate the whole result set and discard the first N-10 posts. On a micro level the extra processing is tiny, but on a macro level consider that we get more than a million thread views daily, and there are threads stretching into double-digit versions. So we've arbitrarily imposed a limit of 2500 posts (which we feel is pretty large) and it's become part of our culture.

After having said all that, I will be happy if a volunteer can start a new thread soon wink.gif
r1v3r
post May 7 2010, 01:01 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 6 2010, 06:35 PM)
As far as I know, Malaysian citizenship of a newborn is via the paternal bloodline. If the father is Malaysian, the child is automatically a Malaysian citizen no matter where he was born... invoking the "law of blood". If the mother is Malaysian (but the father is not), then the child is automatically a Malaysian citizen ONLY if he was born in Malaysia... invoking the "law of soil".

In Singapore, any minor child of a PR is automatically a dependent PR. Upon reaching the age of 18, the child may choose to remain a PR or become a citizen, both on condition of fulfilling national service. Singaporean citizenship is not conferred on children where neither of the parents are Singaporean.

A birth certificate issued by either Malaysia or Singapore does not amount to nationality.
not automatically "now". I know some malaysian babies (both parent PR) have not get their PR >6 months after application date.

for Malaysian baby born in SG,
SG birth cert is just to annouce = You are NOT a Singaporean, but "assumed" (as they can't confirm) you are a Malaysian.
MY birth cert is to annouce = You are a Malaysian. That it the official document of your ID.

I have two Malaysian friends married SG wife, babies were born in SG. All Singaporean.

250 Pages « < 244 245 246 247 248 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:34 PM