Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

WyjSwmW
post Jul 4 2009, 09:48 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 4 2009, 08:16 PM)
I applied for PR almost immediately after I got my EP.

IMHO, PR applications are approved on a case by case basis. If your application is strong enough (ie. you have good qualifications, good work experience (not only in Sg but anywhere)), they'll give you a PR because you're young, highly fertile and of the most... ummm, acceptable nationality & ethnicity (assuming you're Chinese or Indian Malaysian).
How about Malay Malaysians?
WyjSwmW
post Jul 5 2009, 03:22 AM

862 posts

WTF...

Today I only knew that the land of Tanjong Pagar Railway station and its rail tracks are under Malaysia's sovereign.

Malaysia still wants to occupy and bully this land scarce nation.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Jul 5 2009, 03:31 AM
WyjSwmW
post Jul 5 2009, 10:53 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Jul 5 2009, 10:43 AM)
I can't agree with your "bullying" statement.
It's under agreement since the Singapore independent from Malaysia. There so many agreement when Singapore split from Malaysia. Raw water supply, rail station / track are one of them. According to the agreement, the railway station, land along the track are belongs to KTM (Malaysia) and it can only be used for Railway purpose. THere is proposal to relocate Tanjong Pagar station to Bukit Timah, to free up the land for other development. But there is some argument between Mys and Sg regarding the Station. If you know how much the land cost.. then you will not be surprised.
I not sure who has signned this agreement in the 1st place. I strongly believe nobody in this entire world today will sign a stupid lease term of 999 years to allow a railway track to be constructed in a foreign country and at the same time has a sovereign over the track and station.

Imagine before 2004, Malaysia government put a "Welcome to Malaysia" signboard at the Tanjong Pagar Station. What the shit is this?

Malaysia has all the benefits, but what Singapore will get in return for this stupid agreement?
WyjSwmW
post Jul 5 2009, 11:20 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jul 5 2009, 11:09 AM)
I don't blame you for not knowing history, I doubt this matter is taught either in MY or SG.

Lee Kwan Yew got in exchange what he wanted the most, which is the independence of SG. A strip of land in a remote and unimportant (for that time) part of the island pales in comparison.

Instead of expelling SG from MY in 1965, the other option was to have LKY and the PAP leadership arrested under ISA. If Tunku took this option, you can be quite sure that SG would be a very different place today.
U sure onot? I have search the Wiki and it did mention the railway track is related to SG's independence. The agreement is signned in 1918, far beyond before SG independence on 1965

Moreover, just bcos SG allow MY to build a railway station and track, MY granted independence to SG? sounds ridiculous..

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Jul 5 2009, 11:21 AM
WyjSwmW
post Jul 5 2009, 05:56 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 5 2009, 04:24 PM)
went for my interview on thursday... the company says i am very suitable for the job but the HR say it is very hard to get a EP for me because my qualification is very low. I am only a STPM grad and the worst part is, i didn't collect my STPM original cert from my school. Now i have to go to the gomen to get my cert and e-mail it to the HR. The HR personal do inform me that there is a high % of my application getting reject. izzit true? the HR person is a Korean btw.
Wat job u interviewed? Salary above $2.5K? Otherwise, why not apply for a work permit, it is easier to get a work permit than an employment pass.
WyjSwmW
post Jul 5 2009, 06:08 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 5 2009, 06:01 PM)
I am not sure how much they paying me, but i am asking for $1.8k the HR say any job above $1.8k have to get EP.  they have incentive and OT as well, so i think if $1.8k basic, then can fetch $2k+ 1 month lo. Its just a technical support call center job.
Really? My staff's salary within this range all apply for work permit only. EP they rejected.
WyjSwmW
post Sep 14 2009, 11:18 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(sunraintome @ Sep 14 2009, 05:53 PM)
Yeah I got think of this also.. now relax in malaysia and thankful to God and my family/company that I'm quite happy and progress well with my work.
Each month I can save roughly RM4000 (as I don't eat meat and stay at home with home meal).

In Malaysia I found myself a bit hard to find a job, if to jump I will ask for RM7000++ but I am in IT line, not very strong in programming (compare to fresh grad), not so old enough to be a manager post… a bit difficult to find the job scope I like…

I felt since I still young at this point, I like to go outside and 'suffer' err.. gain working and life experience smile.gif
I think I will give myself 1 or 2 years to explore this opportunity.

For my future, I wish to migrate to maybe New Zealand, Australia or Canada as I like 4 season country. So another reason I move to SG is that the SG currency more stronger than RM.

Anyway, thanks for your advice!!
I agree with your statement on the migration and work overseas.

As long as Malaysia is still under UMMO, we can pack our bags and look for better opportunities in the outside world.

SG is a good country to start with your career.

However in another 10-20 years to come, Singapore will lose its competitiveness to cities like Shanghai and Bangkok.

Even Lee Kuan Yew once told that Singapore will be force to reunite again with Malaysia in 2030.

What a pity.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Sep 14 2009, 11:19 PM
WyjSwmW
post Oct 3 2009, 12:33 PM

862 posts

happy mooncake festival in the midst of the world disaster...
WyjSwmW
post Oct 5 2009, 01:47 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Oct 5 2009, 01:32 PM)
helpdesk is generally lower pay even in malaysia. im not in helpdesk nature, im more into development. how is it for software development prospect in SG?
Salary shld be in the range of $2K to $2.8K depending on qualification and experience.
WyjSwmW
post Oct 6 2009, 10:29 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Oct 6 2009, 09:10 AM)
Assuming the reason you convert back to MYR is to earn a higher interest say 3% higher than what we get in Singapore, are you sure that MYRSGD wont fluctuate more than 3%?
You are absolutely correct that RM earns higher interest in Malaysia.

FD interest in local Malaysian banks for a 3 mths placement is 2.7% whereas FD interest in Singapore could only fetch about 0.335% the most.

So, it is still advisable to convert it to RM and place as FD if you are a low risk taker.

Otherwise, one may invest in Singapore IPO or Malaysia Blue Chips.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Oct 6 2009, 10:29 AM
WyjSwmW
post Oct 6 2009, 10:48 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Oct 6 2009, 10:36 AM)
Nope, I don't think it is advisable to save in RM because the SGD might anytime strengthen against MYR for a few %. From there, if I invest my money in MYR, I already lose out liao. But ultimately depends on where I want to spend my money in the end la.
It depends whether u see a potential in the forex market or capital market.
WyjSwmW
post Oct 18 2009, 02:24 AM

862 posts

Since you all are mentioning Singaporeans vs Malaysians...

I must say in the viewpoint of other foreigners, let's say if u visit other countries and the locals ask you where are u from? if u answer them that you are a Singaporean, u can feel that they will look like you as wah, wow...

On the other hand, if you answer them that you are a Malaysian, their reaction will be different.

If you dun belief me, you may try it during your next vacation to other countries.

But no offence at all, I am not trying to offend any Malaysians here. This is my experience as I have tried to lie to the locals before that I am a Singaporean despite being a Malaysian.
WyjSwmW
post Oct 18 2009, 02:28 AM

862 posts

and just to add-on,

some Europeans even feel that we as Malaysians are still living on trees and some does not even know our country "Malaysia".

This is an experience from my cousin last time during his visit to Europe few years ago.
WyjSwmW
post Mar 22 2010, 01:45 PM

862 posts

Hi check with you guys,

I intend to transfer S$95K to Malaysia on an urgent basis.
Currently, I have 2 options in mind.

1) Via TT
2) Via bank draft (I convert it and the bank draw a cheque in RM in favour of me)

Do I need to declare to both SG and MY authorities? How do I make a declaration if the above is mandatory?

Is SGD a controlled currency?

Will my funds be taxed in MY?

Will the tax autorities question me why suddenly my bank account have such huge amount of funds?

Appreciate your help. Thanks.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Mar 22 2010, 01:47 PM
WyjSwmW
post Mar 26 2010, 09:01 AM

862 posts

Who say SG download will get caught?

They are so many ppl download these days.

My fren which is a Singaporean has been downloading since he was 18 until now, 27.. nothing happen just like we download in Malaysia.
Me every night sure download 1.5GB blueray porn before going to bed.

If download cannot, I sure watch PPS stream oso must get caught.
WyjSwmW
post Mar 26 2010, 10:04 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 26 2010, 09:34 AM)
As far as i know, they say that they will only catch ppl that is dling anime or musics. normally, i just dl TVB drama. All my friends says it is OK to dl TVB drama. But my uncle says who cares what u dl. there are millions of people in Singapore and most of them are dling these days. They can't manage to catch everyone. So just dl and dun care about them.
Hi Lester1987, may I know which website you use to download TVB drama?
WyjSwmW
post Mar 26 2010, 11:24 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 26 2010, 11:20 AM)
So your the one sucking the bandwidth and making night time net surfing a nightmare mad.gif

Not seeding is opposite of the torrenting mantra which is "sharing is caring".
Haha, but I download not using torrent, I use Rapidshare.. rclxms.gif
WyjSwmW
post Mar 26 2010, 03:16 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Mar 26 2010, 02:42 PM)
Any good restaurant to recommend at Holland V area?
You may wanna try the XO fish head noodles.
WyjSwmW
post Mar 29 2010, 03:29 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 29 2010, 03:21 PM)
its 1SGD = RM2.3325 now. this situation is worrying.
This was the result of the appointment of Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek as MCA president ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
WyjSwmW
post Mar 30 2010, 04:26 PM

862 posts

Die liao.. die liao...

I heard RM vs SGD will be like RM2.00 = S$1.00 for the next 3 yrs at least.

0.0567sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:31 AM