250 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Mackiddo
post Jun 10 2009, 01:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Jun 10 2009, 11:38 AM)
Hi guys,

I need your advice here:-

SGD 1.00 = RM 2.40
AUD 1.00 = RM 2.80
AUD 1.00 = SGD 1.10

Tat's mean if i use my SGD to convert all to AUD and then convert back to RM, I will gain alot on this? Anyone try this before?
nope. it'll never work sad.gif
titanhrk
post Jun 10 2009, 01:07 PM

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 10 2009, 10:50 AM)
where will u be ? town area ?  laugh.gif
come AMK eat Botak Jones wif me this saturday lah.  laugh.gif
dude, i'm from cari also...hehe
i know akfoo and baimunan them...

but cari ppl all speak mandarin, so i tot of coming here in lowyat, to find some english speaking malaysian for gathering...

this saturday, let me confirm with you! smile.gif

This post has been edited by titanhrk: Jun 10 2009, 01:09 PM
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 10 2009, 01:14 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Hi.

How is it there?
Compare to Malaysia.
I mean the positive part that Malaysia don't have.
yiivei
post Jun 10 2009, 01:15 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

every1 is a millionaire if tats work!! cheers!!
Chrisky
post Jun 10 2009, 01:19 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Jun 10 2009, 11:38 AM)
Hi guys,
I need your advice here:-

SGD 1.00 = RM 2.40
AUD 1.00 = RM 2.80
AUD 1.00 = SGD 1.10

Tat's mean if i use my SGD to convert all to AUD and then convert back to RM, I will gain alot on this? Anyone try this before?
i suppose its not like that coz the buy price is always different with the sell price.

QUOTE(titanhrk @ Jun 10 2009, 01:07 PM)
dude, i'm from cari also...hehe
i know akfoo and baimunan them...

but cari ppl all speak mandarin, so i tot of coming here in lowyat, to find some english speaking malaysian for gathering...

this saturday, let me confirm with you! smile.gif
haha ya i guess so coz i think i saw ur nick before. laugh.gif

nvm lah u wan me speak english wif u also can 1. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Jun 10 2009, 01:14 PM)
Hi.
How is it there?
Compare to Malaysia.
I mean the positive part that Malaysia don't have.
well the more obvious 1 :

- general safety
- public transport
- more organized Infrastructure / facility

This post has been edited by Chrisky: Jun 10 2009, 03:00 PM
dveHetal3
post Jun 10 2009, 01:28 PM

253 posts

ok, let say my salary is SGD 2,500 per month

If I dun convert to AUD, I straight convert to RM, I will get RM 6,000

If I convert to AUD 1st, I will get AUD 2,273, ok I will take AUD 2,273 bring back M'sia to convert to RM and I will get RM 6,364.

I will gain RM 364.

What's ur view on this?
titanhrk
post Jun 10 2009, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 10 2009, 01:19 PM)
i suppose its not like that coz the buy price is always different with the sell price.
haha ya i guess so coz i think i saw ur nick before.  laugh.gif

nvm lah u wan me speak english wif u also can 1.  biggrin.gif

Added on June 10, 2009, 1:22 pm
well the more obvious 1 :

- general safety
- public transport
- more organized infrastruction / facility
hehe, good good,
actually don't get me wrong in my previous post.
its not that i despise ppl that speak mandarin, just that i have been speaking a lot of mandarin since i came here and i think my english is getting 'koyak'...
lol
hope to see you soon bro! smile.gif

oh ya, how often do lowyat ppl do gathering in sg?

seantang
post Jun 10 2009, 01:33 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 10 2009, 01:19 PM)

Chrisky's spot on. All currency transactions will have a lower buy and higher sell price (from the bank or money changer's perspective). That represents the spread which the bank or money changer profits from.

So when you buy, they give you their higher sell price. And when you sell, they give you their lower buy price. It's like a casino. They've already calculated all the possibilities when they set their spread. You cannot beat them at their own game.

Besides, if there was such a big kapla jumping on the street, would you be the first person to capitalise on it? No... right?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 10 2009, 01:35 PM
washabushi
post Jun 10 2009, 01:34 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Jun 10 2009, 01:28 PM)

If I convert to AUD 1st, I will get AUD 2,273, ok I will take AUD 2,273 bring back M'sia to convert to RM and I will get RM 6,364.

I will gain RM 364.

What's ur view on this?
lulz,
plz refer to chrisky post

buying rate and selling rate are different
this is where most of the money changer earn the money...

titanhrk
post Jun 10 2009, 01:35 PM

I will gain RM 364.

What's ur view on this?
yea, technically speaking you are correct, but just as what chrisky said, the buy price is always different than sell price.

and if you do the maths, you only earn like 6 percent. nod.gif
ah liew
post Jun 10 2009, 01:39 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

I will gain RM 364.

What's ur view on this?
yes u will gain but never do that in a long run.
save the money in SGD not in RM because the value drops tremendously.
so even though the exchange rate is high, convert the money when it's needed to be spent like:
to buy property, cars or etc.
dveHetal3
post Jun 10 2009, 01:47 PM

253 posts

I know the spread.. what the rates quoted is just the middle rate based on today's rate.

seantang
post Jun 10 2009, 01:52 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(dveHetal3 @ Jun 10 2009, 01:47 PM)
I know the spread.. what the rates quoted is just the middle rate based on today's rate.

What's the 'middle rate'?

yiivei
post Jun 10 2009, 01:54 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

Go ahead if u tink its work. No 1 gonna force u. Ppl ald told u the selling/buying rate is different. Tats how money changer makes money from it.
titanhrk
post Jun 10 2009, 02:06 PM

hmmm, so what are you trying to imply? hmm.gif
Chrisky
post Jun 10 2009, 02:42 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(titanhrk @ Jun 10 2009, 01:29 PM)
hehe, good good,
actually don't get me wrong in my previous post.
its not that i despise ppl that speak mandarin, just that i have been speaking a lot of mandarin since i came here and i think my english is getting 'koyak'...
lol
hope to see you soon bro! smile.gif

oh ya, how often do lowyat ppl do gathering in sg?
haha no prob lah, i'm equally comfortable in speaking english with people, althought that doesn't mean my english is very good. tongue.gif

we here ah... not much gathering lol. juz sometimes we went out to hav a drink n chill out only. hey since u stay Yishun we can meet up easily coz i work around Admiralty. biggrin.gif
zenwell
post Jun 10 2009, 02:45 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 10 2009, 10:50 AM)
where will u be ? town area ?  laugh.gif
come AMK eat Botak Jones wif me this saturday lah.  laugh.gif
I will be coming on sunday morning 21st. My colleague book hotel in Orchard Square Court, i suppose it is orchard road la hor. Then sunday I'm free lor. Monday have to masuk office. so sien sad.gif
Chrisky
post Jun 10 2009, 02:57 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Jun 10 2009, 02:45 PM)
I will be coming on sunday morning 21st. My colleague book hotel in Orchard Square Court, i suppose it is orchard road la hor. Then sunday I'm free lor. Monday have to masuk office. so sien sad.gif
u coming to work here ?

well i never heard of Orchard Square Court... Orchard Grand Court i know lah, u sure u got the name right ? biggrin.gif

anyway i'll be ard town on that day, so i'm ok to meet up. smile.gif
zenwell
post Jun 10 2009, 04:02 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 10 2009, 02:57 PM)
u coming to work here ?

well i never heard of Orchard Square Court... Orchard Grand Court i know lah, u sure u got the name right ?  biggrin.gif

anyway i'll be ard town on that day, so i'm ok to meet up.  smile.gif
oh yeah, the place is called orchard grand court. sorry ya my mistake. paiseh. hehe. I will reach around noon i think. can meet up no problem. but don't ask me to suggest place la. cos i dunno mah.

i'm coming to my company's singapore office only la, not work here permanently.
titanhrk
post Jun 10 2009, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jun 10 2009, 02:42 PM)
haha no prob lah, i'm equally comfortable in speaking english with people, althought that doesn't mean my english is very good.  tongue.gif

we here ah... not much gathering lol. juz sometimes we went out to hav a drink n chill out only. hey since u stay Yishun we can meet up easily coz i work around Admiralty.  biggrin.gif
lol. that's cool.
good to know you bro!

ey how come seldom see you come out to cari gathering, my usual gang is coldice them.
though sometimes i'll join for volleyball and other group of ppl.

i don't like to be alone T_T. hell, i never tot i'll be here in singapore either. hehehe, but its really cool to have some friends in singapore.

250 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:47 AM