Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

chess_gal
post Jun 5 2009, 11:11 AM

1,006 posts

yiivei,

do you happen to have relatives in singapore? best to stay with your relatives as it will be close to a month before getting any replies. Local graduates from NTU and SMU are graduating real soon, so most probably local firm will hire the locals first since they are eligible for the Job;s credit scheme (Gov subsidies local staff cost).

A risk to take to come here without a job.
Joshua_0718
post Jun 5 2009, 11:57 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jun 5 2009, 11:11 AM)
yiivei,

do you happen to have relatives in singapore? best to stay with your relatives as it will be close to a month before getting any replies. Local graduates from NTU and SMU are graduating real soon, so most probably local firm will hire the locals first since they are eligible for the Job;s credit scheme (Gov subsidies local staff cost).

Graduating soon? I thought they have graduated in May, no?
chess_gal
post Jun 5 2009, 12:08 PM

1,006 posts

or was it SMU, i forgot. Cause usually my firm has 2 intakes but now reduce to only one intake in sept.
yiivei
post Jun 5 2009, 01:28 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jun 5 2009, 11:11 AM)
yiivei,

Ya. I do take note of that. Tats wat worrying me. I got friends over ther. I can bump at their place w/o worries.. Btw, i hav no intention to re-join audit line..
seantang
post Jun 5 2009, 01:49 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

chess_gal has got a point. The Jobs Credit Scheme makes local employees (citizens and PRs) around S$300 per month cheaper in cash terms vs previously. After tax, it's around S$375 since the cash payment from the govt are tax free and I have not heard that the tax deduction claimed on employee salaries is reduced by this amount.

So if the job pays 3K, a Singaporean or PR will actually be 10+% cheaper than before. This scheme compensates the employer for the 14% employers CPF contribution that they have to pay for locals but not foreigners. It basically narrows the cost advantage of employing foreigners over locals.
giorgene
post Jun 5 2009, 05:41 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2009, 01:49 PM)
chess_gal has got a point. The Jobs Credit Scheme makes local employees (citizens and PRs) around S$300 per month cheaper in cash terms vs previously. After tax, it's around S$375 since the cash payment from the govt are tax free and I have not heard that the tax deduction claimed on employee salaries is reduced by this amount.

So if the job pays 3K, a Singaporean or PR will actually be 10+% cheaper than before. This scheme compensates the employer for the 14% employers CPF contribution that they have to pay for locals but not foreigners. It basically narrows the cost advantage of employing foreigners over locals.
If same amount 3k paid to foreigners and locals, employer doesn't have to pay 14.5% CPF to foreigners, right?
I don't get u..

Or u mean employer needs to pay tax for foreigners, but the CPF paid to locals will be compensated by Jobs Credit Scheme?

seantang
post Jun 5 2009, 05:54 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 5 2009, 05:41 PM)
If same amount 3k paid to foreigners and locals, employer doesn't have to pay 14.5% CPF to foreigners, right?

Right.

giorgene
post Jun 5 2009, 06:15 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2009, 05:54 PM)
Right.
why company prefer locals compare to foreigners? since they don't have to pay 14.5% CPF..
seantang
post Jun 5 2009, 06:55 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 5 2009, 06:15 PM)
why company prefer locals compare to foreigners? since they don't have to pay 14.5% CPF..

Like I said initially, the employers won't get job credits for foreigners.

giorgene
post Jun 5 2009, 08:49 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2009, 06:55 PM)
Like I said initially, the employers won't get job credits for foreigners.
Now I understand, company get tax free for the job credits that compensate CPF contribution, right?
Although employer doesn't have to pay CPF to foreigners, but the good thing to hire locals is they get tax free job credit to cover the CPF contribute to locals.
seantang
post Jun 5 2009, 11:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 5 2009, 08:49 PM)
Now I understand, company get tax free for the job credits that compensate CPF contribution, right?
Although employer doesn't have to pay CPF to foreigners, but the good thing to hire locals is they get tax free job credit to cover the CPF contribute to locals.

Yup, you've got it. At least that's what I think is the unpublicised intention of job credits anyway.

hkhk
post Jun 6 2009, 10:52 AM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

For a company, there is a quota on how many Foreigner they can employ base on how many Local Citizen / PR they have.
For example: maybe for every Sg citizen, they can employ 5 foreigner. And in these 5 foreigner, only 2 can be holder of WP, 2 can be S-pass and the other 2 must be holder of Q-pass or higher. If there is no such quota, all the company will employ many Foreign worker, and there will be no job for the local.. Since local always ask for more. There is a levy for WP holder and EP holder at different rate.

Added on June 6, 2009, 11:01 am
QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 4 2009, 11:00 AM)
Come to think of it, I believe it's SGD20 instead of SGD30.

Thee's also a flat COE charge of SGD5 for Malaysian registered cars if you are driving into ERP designated areas.

Added on June 4, 2009, 11:08 amThe only "loophole" would be to stay in Johor and commute daily to and from Singapore with a Malaysian registered motor vehicle.
It;s a flat ERP charge of SGD5 to your AutoPass, not COE.

If you are a SPR staying in JB will not allow you to drive your Malaysia registered vehicle into Sg. Only EP / WP holder can do that.
They are suppose to get a SG Driving license after staying in SG for more than 1 year. But I believe many of the driver didn't convert their license.

This post has been edited by hkhk: Jun 6 2009, 11:01 AM
giorgene
post Jun 6 2009, 11:58 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Jun 6 2009, 10:52 AM)
For a company, there is a quota on how many Foreigner they can employ base on how many Local Citizen / PR they have.
For example: maybe for every Sg citizen, they can employ 5 foreigner. And in these 5 foreigner, only 2 can be holder of WP, 2 can be  S-pass and the other 2 must be holder of Q-pass or higher. If there is no such quota, all the company will employ many Foreign worker, and there will be no job for the local.. Since local always ask for more. There is a levy for WP holder and EP holder at different rate.
Locals always ask for higher salary, but if a company hire foreigners or PR, they can expect them to work harder than locals for the same or lower salary.
I think most of the foreigners come here to make money, of course will work harder to make life better..
chess_gal
post Jun 6 2009, 01:05 PM

1,006 posts

When you mention taht locals alw ask for higher salary, any source to support your claim? If you are referring to labour worker, aunty uncles at food court, perhaps yes.

But if you are referring to professionals talent, then I think locals and the foreigners are on equal opportunity and pay scale. At least that is what I think and encounter at my work place.
omniknight86
post Jun 6 2009, 02:40 PM

LYN 6 Star Forum Member
1,647 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jun 6 2009, 01:05 PM)
When you mention taht locals alw ask for higher salary, any source to support your claim? If you are referring to labour worker, aunty uncles at food court, perhaps yes.

But if you are referring to professionals talent, then I think locals and the foreigners are on equal opportunity and pay scale. At least that is what I think and encounter at my work place.
if think naively then what you said is true, every countries had discrimination problem such as discrimination based on nationality. even in countries such as UK has it or Australia has it. i don't think Singapore can be excluded out of it, plus i have friends that worked there and said that the countries are discriminating against malaysian because singaporean thinks that they are better than us
Mackiddo
post Jun 6 2009, 09:06 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(omniknight86 @ Jun 6 2009, 02:40 PM)
if think naively then what you said is true, every countries had discrimination problem such as discrimination based on nationality. even in countries such as UK has it or Australia has it. i don't think Singapore can be excluded out of it, plus i have friends that worked there and said that the countries are discriminating against malaysian because singaporean thinks that they are better than us
they are not ? in term of equal opportunity for all, we have already lost out to them.
omniknight86
post Jun 6 2009, 09:14 PM

LYN 6 Star Forum Member
1,647 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 6 2009, 09:06 PM)
they are not ? in term of equal opportunity for all, we have already lost out to them.
ya, we are worse. we are not equal even among our ownself. Thanks to the Malays thinking of Ketuanan Melayu and they think that this land belong to them and we are just outsider. third class thinking no wonder many people leave this country smile.gif
ubsacc2004
post Jun 6 2009, 11:10 PM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

haha outsiders ? we had contributions to economy leh. but that is why indonesia and malaysia culture is diff fr singapore. wat we can do ? not many thinks like mahathir.
hkhk
post Jun 7 2009, 11:24 AM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

Sorry no proof. It's for the entry level. not experienced staff. Example from my company is Like tat. A Singaporean guy with NS, salary is about $500-$700 higher than a guy w/o NS.. and these guys, (at least 3 ppl I talked to) still complaining salary too low.
nicvoo
post Jun 7 2009, 11:49 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

totally disagree sg freshie in my industry min 2.7k msia wif 1-2y xp 2.5k
lol so wheres the equal opportunity?

can chk this out on the pay if u join the civil service

http://www.scdf.gov.sg/Career/index.html so far i think only they post the salary online

250 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:33 PM