125 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Nintendo Wii Discussion Thread V3, FAQS and queries go right here!

DarkTenno
post Jan 19 2010, 11:57 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 19 2010, 11:41 AM)
coz
1. u buy a game for 180rm, play once and immediately sell it off. u think u can sell it for 180rm?
2. if softmodded the cost is zero, only labor required
3. if hardmodded the chip is usually old and cheap
4. its 2nd hand. some of the stocks they use are really 2nd hand. as in used. who will find out? buyers don't expect it to be untampered, coz after all its modded.
5. it comes with issues (there is no such thing as a perfect mod), so should be cheaper lor for the hassles u will get later on.
I asking about why does the CONSOLE price differ between modded and unmodded, Umodded selling around RM1.2k+ modded selling RM799 the diffrent is hugeeee

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 19 2010, 11:41 AM)
if u don't get those korean transexual units, yes can revert. else can't revert. for the nonkorean modded wii, its very simple. just update through nintendo to the current version 4.2 firmware. 4.2 will remove everything foreign and u will get an unmodded wii again.
So if I bought let said US modded set I can just Update to the lasted firmware to revert it back to original firmware just like those psp firmware?

THANKS!
Dragonflyz
post Jan 19 2010, 12:55 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Jan 19 2010, 11:57 AM)
I asking about why does the CONSOLE price differ between modded and unmodded, Umodded selling around RM1.2k+ modded selling RM799 the diffrent is hugeeee
So if I bought let said US modded set I can just Update to the lasted firmware to revert it back to original firmware just like those psp firmware?

THANKS!
Now unmodded NTSC-US Wii ain't that expensive anymore, a basic console package is now only RM950. Adding an extra wiimote and nunchuk adds up to RM1k.

About the question on why modded sets are cheaper than unmodded sets is because:
1) Korean Wii cheaper than US Wii for a number of reasons, for example, Original Wii sports which Korean Wii are not included with, and Korean Wii lacks GameCube backward compatibility.

2) ONE word, WARRANTY

That's all that I can think of right now. rclxms.gif

Correct me if I'm wrong guys!
SUSgogo2
post Jan 19 2010, 12:57 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Korean Wii cannot play gamecube game? But it got gamecube connector.. I just bought my Wii yesterday for RM990 with 2 set of control. Is it ok? Motion plus need to add extra RM100. WHat is the cheapest price for Wii Fit and Motion plus?
ramz
post Jan 19 2010, 01:39 PM

21,306 posts

dragonfly, u r korek la. add that to d list. warranty is d important thing i forgot. and korean wii, i read somewhere (i like to read ma), that memang got problem with gamecube games. but i also read somewhere somebody did something and his korean wii can now play gamecube games. but i guess u can't believe everything on the net. and even if true is an exception.
LostWanderer
post Jan 19 2010, 05:28 PM

315 posts

korean wii does not have legal GC backwards compatibility

if there are any backdoor access...i don't know...probably cause i didn't do any research on it
chris@cstorie
post Jan 19 2010, 10:27 PM

131 posts

Halo all.. i'm having a super wii promotion price now...

Anyone interest to getting some wii accessories? icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by chris@cstorie: Jan 19 2010, 10:27 PM
LsChong
post Jan 19 2010, 11:55 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(chris@cstorie @ Jan 19 2010, 10:27 PM)
Halo all.. i'm having a super wii promotion price now...

Anyone interest to getting some wii accessories?  icon_rolleyes.gif
how super is your super wii promotion? yes, you can pm me what is your super offer cos i'm looking some acessories.
ramz
post Jan 20 2010, 07:01 AM

21,306 posts

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Jan 19 2010, 11:57 AM)
yup. your question spark me to do more browsing. and i been hearing success stories so far. but all softmodding has a risk, and that includes unmodding. different modded wiis have different mod setup. so if u so happen to have a mod setup that is not 'mainstream', those sucess stories may not apply to u.
chris@cstorie
post Jan 20 2010, 08:46 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:57 PM)
Korean Wii cannot play gamecube game? But it got gamecube connector.. I just bought my Wii yesterday for RM990 with 2 set of control. Is it ok? Motion plus need to add extra RM100. WHat is the cheapest price for Wii Fit and Motion plus?
wii motion i'm selling RM85.. wii fit RM350 free silicon case.. and 1 original game.. rclxms.gif
UnderTheSun
post Jan 20 2010, 10:35 AM

100 posts

Hello,

Newbie here. Thanks for all the infos. I spent about a day reading and trying to digest this lengthy thread. May I know where to get original accessories like nunchuk? It is disappointing to discover that many shops are selling transvestite @ gay Korean accessories. Tq
TSKyoyagami
post Jan 20 2010, 10:42 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Well, korean accessories aren't bad actually. Its the consoles that goes into surgery and becomes transexuals. laugh.gif

However, if you want US accessories, I do have them, but the price, is steeper than the korean ones. The only problem is u might not understand the manual, but that's not a real problem at all. biggrin.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 20 2010, 11:47 AM

347 posts

thanks for the useful information smile.gif btw how to distinguish between console region set? by it serial number? sticker? i never seen a WII at close before tongue.gif
TSKyoyagami
post Jan 20 2010, 12:00 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Take a look at the box. If its Korean, you will see 3 vertical bars on the top right of the box (The one displaying the console and wii remote.)

To look at US region consoles (note, I said region), there are 2 ways.
1. The Wii Sports is included as the original game, with the sticker on the right of the display box.
2. Take a look at the sides of the box. If you can find USA or ASI at a certain corner, it should be the US console.
3. On the sides too, if you can find a singapore and malaysian address, then its a Wii with US region in it.

How to check the region in the console, is actually tougher, but you could do so by these small steps.
1. Check firmware version. If its 4.2U, it is US. It hasn't been cracked yet.
2. If you have checked the box thoroughly, and opened it to see that the channels in the console are as similar and default as other Wiis (No Neo gamma launchers), then you by chance should own an US Wii.

I may be wrong, so go ahead and correct me if possible. With the regards to the box, that's all accurate. Thanks.
Dragonflyz
post Jan 20 2010, 01:04 PM

239 posts

There's also the way of checking the sticker at the bottom of the Wii(when its placed vertically).

There's something like "RVL JPN" for Japanese Wii, "RVL KOR" for Korean Wii.
Serial numbers that start with LUXXX.. for US Wii, LJXXXX.. for JPN Wii, LEXXX.. for PAL Wii and etc..

And the language on sticker for the Warning is also dependent on the region of the Wii too, Japanese for Japanese Wii, Korean for Korean Wii etc..

You get the idea~ icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Dragonflyz: Jan 20 2010, 01:04 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 20 2010, 02:02 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Hi sifu, nowaday, Wii Korea are soft modded is it? Can I change it back to non-Modded?
ramz
post Jan 20 2010, 02:21 PM

21,306 posts

the korean wii in malaysia is modded. the korean wii sold in korea is not. not only its modded, it when through a language change. so is like a change sex operation.

a formal answer would be cannot. coz tukar jantina operations are difficult to undo. but my personal opinion - it is just software. and any software engineer will tell u that u can make software do anything - . it is a question of effort and complexity. but so far i haven't heard any success story. having said that, a hardcore modder will tell u don't unmod, instead press on and mod it somemore.

UnderTheSun
post Jan 20 2010, 02:28 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 20 2010, 10:42 AM)
Well, korean accessories aren't bad actually. Its the consoles that goes into surgery and becomes transexuals. laugh.gif

However, if you want US accessories, I do have them, but the price, is steeper than the korean ones. The only problem is u might not understand the manual, but that's not a real problem at all. biggrin.gif
Hmm... I got confused by this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=939583 . It says 'Original Taiwan' and 'Fake Korean'. rclxub.gif

US accessories are at steeper price? How much?

SUSgogo2
post Jan 20 2010, 02:36 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 20 2010, 02:21 PM)
the korean wii in malaysia is modded. the korean wii sold in korea is not. not only its modded, it when through a language change. so is like a change sex operation.

a formal answer would be cannot. coz tukar jantina operations are difficult to undo. but my personal opinion - it is just software. and any software engineer will tell u that u can make software do anything - . it is a question of effort and complexity. but so far i haven't heard any success story. having said that, a hardcore modder will tell u don't unmod, instead press on and mod it somemore.
Means, the Korean Wii in Malaysia are hard modded or soft modded?
ramz
post Jan 20 2010, 02:43 PM

21,306 posts

mostly softmodded (as in nearly all)
TSKyoyagami
post Jan 20 2010, 02:44 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

US version, for wii remot and nunchunk, RM 300 and more. Not kidding.

125 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:15 PM