Nintendo Wii Discussion Thread V3, FAQS and queries go right here!

DarkTenno
post Jan 19 2010, 10:58 AM

347 posts

why does unmodded WII are more expensive than modded one doh.gif shouldnt it the other way around? can those softmodded wii be revert back to stock?

DarkTenno
post Jan 19 2010, 11:57 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 19 2010, 11:41 AM)
coz
1. u buy a game for 180rm, play once and immediately sell it off. u think u can sell it for 180rm?
2. if softmodded the cost is zero, only labor required
3. if hardmodded the chip is usually old and cheap
4. its 2nd hand. some of the stocks they use are really 2nd hand. as in used. who will find out? buyers don't expect it to be untampered, coz after all its modded.
5. it comes with issues (there is no such thing as a perfect mod), so should be cheaper lor for the hassles u will get later on.
I asking about why does the CONSOLE price differ between modded and unmodded, Umodded selling around RM1.2k+ modded selling RM799 the diffrent is hugeeee

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 19 2010, 11:41 AM)
if u don't get those korean transexual units, yes can revert. else can't revert. for the nonkorean modded wii, its very simple. just update through nintendo to the current version 4.2 firmware. 4.2 will remove everything foreign and u will get an unmodded wii again.
So if I bought let said US modded set I can just Update to the lasted firmware to revert it back to original firmware just like those psp firmware?

THANKS!
DarkTenno
post Jan 20 2010, 11:47 AM

347 posts

thanks for the useful information smile.gif btw how to distinguish between console region set? by it serial number? sticker? i never seen a WII at close before tongue.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 22 2010, 02:51 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 22 2010, 02:49 PM)
manual connection
wireless
ip address 192.168.1.6
gateway 192.168.1.1
subnet mask 255.255.255.0
dns both 192.168.1.1
mtu value 1500

and its works biggrin.gif
maybe you dhcp ip pool setting in your router already full so it wont give any ip to new machine anymore it just a guess if manual connection work auto should work to unless something wrong with the dhcp services
DarkTenno
post Jan 22 2010, 06:57 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Jan 22 2010, 06:03 PM)
I'm using the TM's Screamyx Rigger Wireless ADSL Modem... manual config... the connection is sometimes work sometimes don't work...  rclxub.gif
dude I throw that modem out of my windows from 7 floor useless! it reset every 10 minutes with heavy usage
DarkTenno
post Jan 26 2010, 09:21 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(JimBeam101 @ Jan 26 2010, 01:54 AM)
its my bro's fren, my bro just tested the machine in his house few days ago. so far so good. saw all the games. Looks original as well. unless the person goes to the extend to put all these games in cd boxes. which i think for a person who drives a BMW, own all three Wii, PS3, and Xbox360 would not even care about RM600.
wow lucky you then rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 27 2010, 10:39 AM

347 posts

anyone own a japan set here? where do you guy game for it? someone is selling a jp set for rm600 biggrin.gif urging to buy it
DarkTenno
post Jan 27 2010, 07:13 PM

347 posts

homebrew is good like making custard pudding at home tongue.gif j/k biggrin.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 28 2010, 09:17 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 28 2010, 09:13 AM)
oh yeah, is wii possible to play any videos ?
yes i guess but .... usually when ppl talk something detail about mod it will disappear whistling.gif lol can the person saying he was in jakarta PM me tongue.gif cool2.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 28 2010, 10:09 AM

347 posts

try searching MPlayerWii or MPlayer_CE smile.gif
not person from jakarta dear person that said he was in jakarta with his wii tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DarkTenno: Jan 28 2010, 10:12 AM
DarkTenno
post Jan 28 2010, 10:55 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 28 2010, 10:49 AM)
oh, thanks ;D

and i still dun get it with the jakarta stuff laugh.gif
he go overboard with the mod thing and when missing whistling.gif so I dont quite remember his username tongue.gif that why asking him to pm laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 28 2010, 11:05 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 28 2010, 11:01 AM)
oh laugh.gif
anyway its seems the player need to do some mod and stuff rclxub.gif
lazy la wan install tongue.gif

i tot just plug-play
laugh.gif no lar all homebrew need you to do/mod install something to your wii tongue.gif life is hard brows.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 29 2010, 11:34 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 29 2010, 11:21 AM)
why nobody answer my q. what can u do on a modded wii that u can't do on a pc? in terms of function. not in terms of content. for example i know u can play certain hbc games u can't find on pc, but that is content. if u say for example, can play blue ray dvds on wii then that is what i am interested.
i think it better to stick to pc or htpc for movies i'm not realy sure wii can play those 1080p full HD bluerays movie but hey maybe i'm wrong smile.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 29 2010, 09:41 PM

347 posts

what is the disadvantage with korean set or just the same as JP set? from page 1 i see some of you guys don't like korean set tongue.gif but no complaint about JP set i wonder why smile.gif
DarkTenno
post Jan 30 2010, 01:11 AM

347 posts

yeah the only thing i see the different is no gc support that all other than that is soft mod issue, coz now i just got hold a virgin korean set will original firm untouch, havent decide to mod it or not yet, what is the actually region for korean wii anyway? NTSC or PAL? japan is NTSC-J and NTSC-U for US
DarkTenno
post Jan 30 2010, 02:38 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 30 2010, 01:31 AM)
aik..last time u said it was a jap wii? that one flown away?
sadly yeah PB but found one korean virgin set much cheaper than before tongue.gif PB! YM! thumbup.gif
DarkTenno
post Feb 1 2010, 03:26 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Feb 1 2010, 11:55 AM)
slim. 3 kg of slimness, not mentioning my 5 kg of 19 inch hd tv. 8 kg of wholesomeness. no choice, otherwise i will cari perempuan, which is more expensive then my ps3, and heavier too.
great work out scheme you have there lol thumbup.gif now i know why korean set is suck although it support homebrew but w/o the availability to backup it NAND installing homebrew may pose a risk well i got it for super cheap below market price so can't complain much whistling.gif , but still considering looking for US set doh.gif

so where the guy that bring his WII to jakarta tongue.gif i wanted to ask what usb hard disk he use for the WII hmm.gif

This post has been edited by DarkTenno: Feb 3 2010, 08:37 AM
DarkTenno
post Feb 3 2010, 12:23 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Feb 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
yes there are, and they are available in malaysia, especially in malaysia. but i think this is not the place to talk about it, coz it get really ugly when u get into the "why do u want to do that?" question. there are proper forums for that.
the reason is clearly stated tongue.gif thumbup.gif well for me i plug my hdd for movie video files gotta love GeeXboX installed yesterday on my 4.2k biggrin.gif work great i wish i have a US set that can do nand backup no more worrying about bricking with homebrew whistling.gif

EDIT: missing post make me look like making a double entry doh.gif

This post has been edited by DarkTenno: Feb 3 2010, 02:08 PM
DarkTenno
post Feb 4 2010, 10:42 AM

347 posts

yeah tongue.gif all goes in "flames" biggrin.gif
DarkTenno
post Feb 4 2010, 01:49 PM

347 posts

why does i think you get a better deal here? btw garage thread do have someone selling shipping nationwide tongue.gif

0.0508sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:47 PM