33 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?

air_mood
post Jan 29 2011, 12:38 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Jan 29 2011, 12:19 PM)
Pics or GTFO. Koh koh.
Keh keh keh...malu la I

How about a picture of the ticket with "stick it up your bumhole, hidzwan" written on a paper in the background instead? (which can only be sorted out Monday as I have the ticket still stuck to the notice board of my office cubicle). Keh keh keh....
boxsystem
post Jan 29 2011, 12:54 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

Now now boys. Be good. laugh.gif
aressandro10
post Jan 29 2011, 04:40 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(lfcreds91 @ Jan 28 2011, 10:48 PM)
+1.........i see this thread moving with "a lot" of misinterpretation of glory hunter

1st of all, I AM A GLORY HUNTER.........whichever way you put it
2nd.......i started supporting Liverpool from the MATCH THEY LOST 3-0 to EVERTON
3rd.......even so, the anthem you'll never walk alone was sung at goodison road, which captured my attention
4th.......the history of the club fascinated me
5th.......even though they are in a bad shape atm, i stood by them.......just as MALAYSIA.........i never criticize them even when they were losing 5-0 in the AFC cup
6th.......WHO THE HELL SAID THAT WE DON'T SUPPORT OUR LOCAL FOOTBALL, i watch every match just as i believe the rest of us do
as long as you support the team that represent your indentity.. you are not a glory-hunter to me... i dont care if you have side dishes...

Added on January 29, 2011, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(minority @ Jan 29 2011, 01:11 AM)
1) Your view are suitable for fans from before the 80s, when local clubs were really local. Clubs now welcome a large, non-local fanbase. If Liverpool (or any club for that matter) accepts these fans, then who are we to define whether they are "adequate" in their fandom?

2) There are fans who've stopped going to their ground, e.g. because they've got a family, or have relocated. Do they revert to glory-hunter status?

3) What about fans who attend away games more religiously?

4) What about the firms in English football (or Italian ultras)? Some of them never gave a rat's ass about the football, they were just aching for a fight and some knifings. Yet, they attend day in, day out. What are they?

5) If the club belongs to the fans because they're money is vital, then you must accept that matchday income is not everything in the balance sheets. Globral revenues are fast catching up.

6) And if monetary contribution is important, then the guys who rent out them corporate boxes are sure big fans, even if they don't really care.

7) How bout those who attend the Reserve League and FA Youth Cup matches in the English league? Or those who would drive down to London Colney and watch Arsenal train on open days? Are they more genuine than regular attendees?

8) So we've established that those who go week in, week out are not necessarily interested in the football (which surely, we can agree is a requirement). We've also established that not everyone gets involved as some other people (e.g. attending reserves or youth matches).

9) The question is then, where do we draw the line? Does attending all home matches cut the grade? Or do you need to have been to Away ones as well? Or how about attending all Away matches? Or keeping up with Youth development?

10) In conclusion, we can all have our own threshold of what counts as a "non-glory-hunting fan" and all of them are arbitrary and no one is obliged to accept them.

And that's me channeling my inner Mahathir done. It was eerie.

To me, the term "glory hunting" is a by-product of any situation in which old fans of a smaller thing try to assert their seniority on the newcomers. I felt the same, having watched the Arctic Monkeys (big band in the UK) when they were indie and then suddenly seeing a massive surge in fans when they got big. I felt that these newcomers didn't know shit, but I grew up and grew out of it. "Glory-hunting" is more often than not used by these very same groups to defend their territory, a territory that was suddenly so much larger and had so many more people in it.

In any case, even though some of you might not be able to stand it, do attend the Malaysian leagues sometime (I will not call them by their current names because I f***ing hate it when they keep changing the names). While not the best, they are definitely steps above the evening games most of us punters here go to as they are after all, pros.

And who knows, you might catch the growth of Malaysian football in its infancy, and then we can call all those who weren't there to witness it earlier, "glory hunters".

cheers
we dont have to be too rigid and technical about attending-the-match-week-in-week out thing... whats more important is the spirit and will to attend is there.

I myself confess i only watch Terengganu matches in Klang Valley only. i regret that i cannot watch home matches more often. But i had to accept that the way it has to be... and i dont feel i am less of a fan than Terengganu fans who watch all the home matches because they can..

Added on January 29, 2011, 5:52 pm
QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 28 2011, 05:46 PM)
can i say something here? i find it funny where those who support teams abroad, are considered to be not supporting local clubs or national team. Where does this assumption comes from?  rclxub.gif

i am one of those who believe, if u are born in 1 place then u should have a feeling of affiliation to that team, for example i always think as a Malaysian you should support Malaysian football. Nobody is denying that. It is the same as, if u are born in Madrid then maybe u will support Real Madrid or Atletico. This is the point that Alessandro10 is pointing out mainly, and i agree on this. I am sure many of those debating here also agree.

But i did not say, as a Malaysian you should support Malaysian Football ONLY. If Manchester United were to play Malaysia in a friendly at Bukit Jalil, of course i will want Malaysia to win. But other than that, is there even any possibility that these 2 footballing entity will have a competitive link that makes supporting both of these conflicting? Also, does supporting Manchester United means i am unable to profess the same or greater magnitude of support to Malaysia football?

Also, just because you support Malaysia football doesnt mean u arent a glory hunter as well. Ask around, how many only started supporting the National team after they have won the Suzuki Cup? from the throngs in the airport when they come back, how many are truly there to give a clapping "welcome back", or to be there just to meet "stars"? The many Facebook status updates, how many only started posting "Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku" or "Harimau Malaya" after a successful run which i believe started roughly around the victory over Vietnam? Good for them if they started realizing the joy of supporting local football. But that means they only started supporting because of glory and thus, a glory hunter.

And about affiliate issues, it is not just limited to "where you were born and live". There are many ways of affiliation. Many Koreans support Manchester United and Bolton because their countrymen played for these clubs. In fact, it is their strong support and affiliation to their own countrymen as a mark of patriotism that leads to them supporting these overseas clubs. So how can you tell me, you cant support both local and foreign entity?

my key word here is ONLY.

But if those who are anti-foreign club still thinks the bunch of us are glory hunters, then i guess i am. No doubt i start supporting Manchester United because of hearsay and as a 12 year old not knowing any better in asking myself why, i was caught. I once said and was even quoted by a fellow forummer, "most of us started as a glory seeker, but its how much you progress in wanting to know more about the club that matters". Applies to any local or foreign clubs/country.

Then i will also add this: if liking an entity outside country because of the "glory" they bring means you're a glory hunter, then those who watch Arsenal play their attractive football (the glory part) and like that style (the like part) and continue to watch their matches if there's one though not necessarily supporting the club (the affiliation part) then that is a glory hunter as well. Might not be as big as us who chant and spend time knowing the club and player, but still...a glory hunter.

And you know what? even if i am born and raised in Sarawak and i watch Sarawak FC football, i still want them to win right? I want them to have glory. So at the end of the day, i am still a glory hunter. Coz i am hunting for Glory, be it from Manchester United, from Malaysia National football team or Sarawak FA, so i am and will forever be a glory hunter. that makes 100% of us who watches football then.
good post here pyro and i understand your sentiment.

i would only like to point out that the act of "glory-hunting" has been hampering development of football not only in Malaysia but also in Asia in general in 2 ways.

1. In Europe, they manage to create a culture where people must support your local team. this will give all football clubs automatic fan base to remain competitive and relevant all the way to the lower-leagues. That's why after hundred of years of continues support at every level, they can come out with a quality football and league.. but in Asia, there is no such unwritten rule, so Asian are let to be allowed to think that they can 'choose' whichever clubs to support that good for their benefits without consideration of the club's struggle. They are content to be 'fan-of-the-struggle' instead being 'what-the-struggle-is-for'. So smaller clubs or teams in Asia has to compete on the same plane with the likes of Manchester United for fan which will always be a losing battle.

to progress, we must create a culture of "people must support the club that represents them " on our own.

2. Even fans of local club also give conditional support to their team depending on on-pitch performance which is also another type of glory-hunting in itself.. Where they only flock the stadium if the team are at the top level of the league or at semi-final or final stage of cup competition. In Malaysia, teams below 3rd on the table will play below 5000 attendance week in week out. Losing 3 matches straight, even the the team first on the table also will have attendance problem. This type of glory-hunting also hurt development of small team in the whole of Asia..

and if both of this attitude are emulated by football fans in England, EPL also will collapse as all people have no reason to support any team out of the big 4. and when the small 16 dies, the big 4 will also dies..

This post has been edited by aressandro10: Jan 31 2011, 09:35 AM
pyroboy1911
post Jan 29 2011, 06:34 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

I think your frustration comes from many who supports overseas clubs but fail to support local football, or at least the national team. This, I agree with you. Countless of times I heard people say "why would I support Malaysia? Watch MU better" which definitely is a sting to local football.

But as much as there are many of these fans, there are also many who loves local football as much as they enjoy European football. In fact some of the strongest supporter of the national team that i know around in this forum, are strong supporters of their respective English clubs as well. After all these years of supporting MU, I learnt that supporting a club doesn't mean only watch them win but to know more about the team and all of those stuff, and I realize I should do the same to national football as well. So in a way supporting overseas clubs helped me learn my "responsibility" to support my own country as a Malaysian.

Speaking of attending matches day in and out to be a true supporter mentioned by other poster earlier. I am not at SNBJ when Malaysia play Vietnam and Indonesia last month. Some people know la the reason, suffice to say all I can do is to watch live stream. Does that mean I am less of a fan compared to those who done jerseys and go to stadium in throngs and chant and shout to support the team? Coz I am "unwilling" to travel to stadium?

So there are more to the definition of "glory hunting" than generalization such as "doesn't attend matches at all" or "supporting a successful club with no affiliation" etc.

But I also agree with you, if all of us can show the commitment of those Europeans to have season passes to watch their team play every time, only to our local clubs, it would greatly benefit the local scene. I am no such fans yet (I doubt i will go Old Trafford every week if I stay in Manchester anyway) but hey, supporting something will always be a lifelong learning experience. Who knows what kinda fan I might be in 10 years time. smile.gif
Duke Red
post Jan 30 2011, 10:33 AM

6,112 posts

I'm off the opinion that if you support a team, you support what it represents. I believe that most start out supporting their local team by default, since they can identify with their respective home towns. I myself used to follow Selangor religiously before the league turned pro. It was a combination of two factors, perceived or not that I stopped following local football. First, I discovered Liverpool and over years, I grew more and more in what the club stood for, something I won't elaborate on. Sure they welcome fans because they need our cash injection and they capitalise whenever they can but so does any other club or stadium tickets would be given out for free. As my interest for Liverpool grew, my interest for Selangor declined. This brings me to my second point. I no longer liked what Malaysian football as a whole stood for. Greedy politicians looking to fill their coffers, taking for granted that fans would always flock to stadiums despite a failure to inject cash back into the game for developments sake, preferring instead to use clubs as a channel of revenue for the state and themselves. This coupled by the fact that these very same politicians represent a party whose policies I do not agree with made me give up on local football. You can say that I should support my local side regardless, but I find it hard to force myself to support something I don't believe in. Am I wrong? I'll let you be the judge. All I ask is that people try to understand before being so judgemental.

This doesn't however affect how I feel about our badminton team. I was at Stadium Negara when we last won the Thomas Cup back in 1992. The team back then represented a united Malaysia. I still have in my mind vivid scenes of Siti Hasmah standing on her feet next to Roland Choi. She never took a break, she was and still is badminton's no.1 fan. As Punch Gunalan led the squad out, a chorus of "Inilah barisan kita" broke out and we drowned out the hundreds of Indonesia fans. The team comprised of Rashid Sidek, Foo Kok Keong, Pang Chen, Razif & Jailani Sidek, Soo Beng Kiang & Cheah Soon Kit. Soo Beng Kiang's winning smash brought a nation of different races together as Malaysians who were strangers hugged on another. Some claim that the Chinese abandoned football because there isn't enough money involved. Well, how much does a badminton player earn? Insiders tell me that a top player like Lee Chong Wei earns a meager allowance of RM 2,000 - RM 3,000 from BAM. His cash winnings are also split with the BAM so one can imagine how little backup shuttlers like Darren Liew earn. So now, is it really about the money or something else? Maybe there are people out there who feel the same way I do.

I like the Malaysia I see in badminton more than the Malaysia I see in football. I don't ask for anyone to agree with my point of view, I merely ask that you respect it because of the reasons I gave. I cannot support obvious bias. I cannot support racist policies i.e. the NEP. Does this make me a bad Malaysian? To want that all Malaysian be treated as Malaysians, or does it make me a better Malaysian if I just suck it all up and support it despite the injustice I see?

Moving forward, I mentioned before that privatisation of the league will be underway. Kelantan have just signed a sponsorship deal with Happy, a product from DiGi Telecommunications. As the back of their kits, you'll notice two more sponsors, both companies belonging to Tan Sri Annuar Musa. No more blanket sponsors although Maxis have bought their way into sponsoring the MSL. When more and more teams become privately owned, you'll see more and more sponsors come in especially since the MSL has signed a deal with ASTRO no doubt part of their rebranding exercise. If you look at the MSL committee, it comprises of young individuals with a vision, led by Tan Sri Annuar Musa (http://thestar.com.my/sports/story.asp?file=/2010/8/24/sports/6906345&sec=sports) What you won't see on the list of committee members there is that the CEO is a friend of mine and he's only in his early 30's. This is positive as Tan Sri has already begun to realise his vision through Kelantan, being the Chairman of KAFA. If they had a commercial team, they would have assigned sponsorship values to everything in the manner more developed footballing nations have. You'd have to pay to have your name on the dugout, the scoreboard, a-boards, etc. When this happens, football teams will be removed from the jurisdictions of the states. I'm not saying this will make it any less political because only the rich can afford teams and many politicians are rich. You'd also likely see your AKs and TFs of Malaysia come into the picture. KJ already did with MyTeam. When the rebranding is complete, and funds are made available to improve individual teams, the standard of football will go up against and just maybe, clubs will have their own identities and not be a reflection of our politics. Now I may not know a lot of about local football, but I am definitely not completely ignorant as was suggested earlier.

This is a summary of how I feel about supporting my local side once again. If you cannot identify with anything I've said, fairplay. The point I wanted to make is that I simply cannot put this all aside and support my local side blindly anymore. Some can, well I can't. I don't ask for your consent. I ask for you understanding.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 30 2011, 10:43 AM
aressandro10
post Jan 31 2011, 12:18 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 11:23 AM)
Talk so much is still GLORY HUNTER lol!

let me give u a simple reason why i call you as one.

there are 20 teams in EPL dont you see 90% of us abroad fans only fancy about 4 teams..precisely Man u,Arsenal,Liverpool n Chelsea.The balance 10% made up by other teams due to some other factors.

So can i ask why there are no regular supporter on the other 16 teams that compete on premier league each season?
Then who suppose to support these teams? Why still have thousand of stupid fans still seen on stadium support these teams like fulham or wolves who you rarely seen a die hard malaysian fans supprt them?

The asnwer is bcos they are local! No matter how louzy their team they support the local team.I think they can still fancy some of the big teams across europe why not..as a football fan.But local must be prioritize still.
But today i branded you as Glory hunter bcos you put those club that not belongs to you as your priority.
Dont have to worry ..you are not alone...its already a culture where most of the people follows EPL than local football.
But all i can say is Glory hunter still.

Oh yeah and i just want to tell you this season i think im going to support Udinese due the exciting football they are playing currently.Im a glory hunter i wont deny.What is the shame..why do you need to write 5 page of nonsense just to worry you are being brand as glory hunter?LOL!
You are no matter what if you support any football team which its not your origin...a glory hunter indeed.

Added on January 31, 2011, 11:35 amJust to add one more thing.
Your argument will never be valid unless there is a fair share of all 20teams that we Malaysian support.Then you can say you love a team for their culture their place and so on.
The actual fact is there are only 4 GLORY TEAM all you glory hunter is looking upon to...
In our eyes you might not be one bcos most of us are in the same category..but in their eyes you are one..at least in the eyes of the other 16 PL teams and the rest of the England other divisions teams...You are plastics! Glory hunter!

probaply what i would say also if i has an in-your-face kinda style of writing..
air_mood
post Jan 31 2011, 01:44 PM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 11:23 AM)
Talk so much is still GLORY HUNTER lol!

let me give u a simple reason why i call you as one.

there are 20 teams in EPL dont you see 90% of us abroad fans only fancy about 4 teams..precisely Man u,Arsenal,Liverpool n Chelsea.The balance 10% made up by other teams due to some other factors.

So can i ask why there are no regular supporter on the other 16 teams that compete on premier league each season?
Then who suppose to support these teams? Why still have thousand of stupid fans still seen on stadium support these teams like fulham or wolves who you rarely seen a die hard malaysian fans supprt them?

The asnwer is bcos they are local! No matter how louzy their team they support the local team.I think they can still fancy some of the big teams across europe why not..as a football fan.But local must be prioritize still.
But today i branded you as Glory hunter bcos you put those club that not belongs to you as your priority.
Dont have to worry ..you are not alone...its already a culture where most of the people follows EPL than local football.
But all i can say is Glory hunter still.

Oh yeah and i just want to tell you this season i think im going to support Udinese due the exciting football they are playing currently.Im a glory hunter i wont deny.What is the shame..why do you need to write 5 page of nonsense just to worry you are being brand as glory hunter?LOL!
You are no matter what if you support any football team which its not your origin...a glory hunter indeed.

Added on January 31, 2011, 11:35 amJust to add one more thing.
Your argument will never be valid unless there is a fair share of all 20teams that we Malaysian support.Then you can say you love a team for their culture their place and so on.
The actual fact is there are only 4 GLORY TEAM all you glory hunter is looking upon to...
In our eyes you might not be one bcos most of us are in the same category..but in their eyes you are one..at least in the eyes of the other 16 PL teams and the rest of the England other divisions teams...You are plastics! Glory hunter!
So did you run a consensus on every single football fan in the country?? Or are you picking figures out of your ass again to suit your agendas?? Just like picking facts out of your ass pointing out posters never been to stadium before ehh??

Let's get things straight here. You're a multiple club supporting prick, who also at the same time shifts team at will and when you please. Don't try to put people who supports and backs the club that they choose wholeheartedly in the same category as you. Irregardless of which you club you supposedly support, if you apply the same method of so called supporting i.e. shifting teams at will, you will always be in the lowest of the lowest in the supporters food chain, be it here, in the EPL or in Timbaktu. A lowlife supporter if you will.

Capiche??

There, in your face enough for you??
air_mood
post Jan 31 2011, 02:04 PM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 02:01 PM)
before i need to reply to your low class post first let us know which glory team you are?
so we can talk  rclxms.gif Let me guess.. United or Arsenal?
Keh keh keh. The cheek of labelling someone's post as low class when we have bullcrap posts about "levels of glory hunting".

FFS.
mhyug
post Jan 31 2011, 02:07 PM

1,553 posts

mm this thread have reached new heights of page 24.lets see if reaches its next landmark.carry on carry on smile.gif
evofantasy
post Jan 31 2011, 02:13 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

glory hunter = some1 who support whichever club tat is winning and swap club when that club is losing for another winning club
IcyDarling
post Jan 31 2011, 02:22 PM

1,372 posts

how do I loose myself from the "glory hunter" nametag if I am supporting a team full of glory right now, Yukieliow. I'm very interested in listening to determine how u nametag a gloryhunter
IcyDarling
post Jan 31 2011, 02:28 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 02:23 PM)
Replied abovr  rclxms.gif
if u are meaning the posts above in this page, i cant find it. I want to know how to loose myself of the glory hunter nametag , not how to be labelled as nametag.

someone who swap team when he find that team he use to support keep winning.

I dont have "use-to-support" team

someone who start to support a team who he find the history of that club interesting,

gosh, i find Manchester United's history very very interesting. So what do I do? Find ways to insult the history so that I am not amused by it anymore?

someone who start to support bcos he love certain top player in that club..or use to play for that club

how do we not develop a love towards certain players especially when he is a top level player? I mean, look at Christiano Ronaldo for instance, how do u not develop a love towards him? Even though he left, i still admire him, but i dont support Real Madrid instead.
and the most popular one usually is he thinks that this club have potential to win league this or next season.
i see Manchester united potentially winning every season. So what do i do then?

pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

i choose to eat nasi kandar because i believe of all nasis (nasi lemak, nasi goreng, nasi briyani) nasi kandar is the best to eat. Opps, im a glory hunter.

I like The Simpsons over other cartoons because they are the most successful franchise and are nice to watch too. Oh, another glory hunter point to me

I think Najib will still be PM next year. Aduiiiiii....such a glory hunter i am.

OHMYGAWD, im such a lowlife cry.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM
IcyDarling
post Jan 31 2011, 02:30 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM)
i choose to eat nasi kandar because i believe of all nasis (nasi lemak, nasi goreng, nasi briyani) nasi kandar is the best to eat. Opps, im a glory hunter.

I like The Simpsons over other cartoons because they are the most successful franchise and are nice to watch too. Oh, another glory hunter point to me

I think Najib will still be PM next year. Aduiiiiii....such a glory hunter i am.

OHMYGAWD, im such a lowlife  cry.gif
i Lol'ed my guts out. Literally laugh.gif
air_mood
post Jan 31 2011, 02:36 PM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM)

OHMYGAWD, im such a lowlife  cry.gif
Season 16 onwards were pretty bad though.

Season 3-10 was the best.
IcyDarling
post Jan 31 2011, 02:37 PM

1,372 posts

"I'd rather be at a club with a great history. It may weigh heavy upon us but I'd rather have that than be at a club with no history at all."

-Sir Alex Ferguson-

btw, is sir alex glory hunter? XD
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 02:39 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 31 2011, 02:36 PM)
Season 16 onwards were pretty bad though.

Season 3-10 was the best.
quite true. Now i am enjoying Family Guy and to some extend, The Cleveland Show. must be jumping ship. but oh well, as a glory hunter thats what i must do~

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Jan 31 2011, 02:37 PM)
"I'd rather be at a club with a great history. It may weigh heavy upon us but I'd rather have that than be at a club with no history at all."

-Sir Alex Ferguson-

btw, is sir alex glory hunter? XD
Yes he is. So is Barrack Obama, coz he wants glory for USA.
air_mood
post Jan 31 2011, 02:44 PM

4,150 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 31 2011, 02:39 PM)
quite true. Now i am enjoying Family Guy and to some extend, The Cleveland Show. must be jumping ship. but oh well, as a glory hunter thats what i must do~
Yes he is. So is Barrack Obama, coz he wants glory for USA.
Boo!! South park is clearly the way forward.
boxsystem
post Jan 31 2011, 02:53 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 02:49 PM)
that line explain all you jokers reaction now  tongue.gif
We are definitely not. I can see you're in the same bracket as that dude that supported Chelsea and Munchen. Most of us here are 1-club man. I can see you're trying so hard to put things into perspective. You are, well in my guess, somehow feel offended when we were questioning the guy's loyalty.

And the name calling. Jokers, this and that. You are one good troll, I must say.
IcyDarling
post Jan 31 2011, 02:57 PM

1,372 posts

anyway, what club do u support?

33 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:35 AM