Discussion Glory Hunter, How you'd define one?

pyroboy1911
post Jan 11 2011, 04:44 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

oh not here too doh.gif rolleyes.gif
pyroboy1911
post Jan 27 2011, 04:48 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

Who's the annoying person now? rolleyes.gif
pyroboy1911
post Jan 28 2011, 05:46 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

can i say something here? i find it funny where those who support teams abroad, are considered to be not supporting local clubs or national team. Where does this assumption comes from? rclxub.gif

i am one of those who believe, if u are born in 1 place then u should have a feeling of affiliation to that team, for example i always think as a Malaysian you should support Malaysian football. Nobody is denying that. It is the same as, if u are born in Madrid then maybe u will support Real Madrid or Atletico. This is the point that Alessandro10 is pointing out mainly, and i agree on this. I am sure many of those debating here also agree.

But i did not say, as a Malaysian you should support Malaysian Football ONLY. If Manchester United were to play Malaysia in a friendly at Bukit Jalil, of course i will want Malaysia to win. But other than that, is there even any possibility that these 2 footballing entity will have a competitive link that makes supporting both of these conflicting? Also, does supporting Manchester United means i am unable to profess the same or greater magnitude of support to Malaysia football?

Also, just because you support Malaysia football doesnt mean u arent a glory hunter as well. Ask around, how many only started supporting the National team after they have won the Suzuki Cup? from the throngs in the airport when they come back, how many are truly there to give a clapping "welcome back", or to be there just to meet "stars"? The many Facebook status updates, how many only started posting "Tanah Tumpahnya Darahku" or "Harimau Malaya" after a successful run which i believe started roughly around the victory over Vietnam? Good for them if they started realizing the joy of supporting local football. But that means they only started supporting because of glory and thus, a glory hunter.

And about affiliate issues, it is not just limited to "where you were born and live". There are many ways of affiliation. Many Koreans support Manchester United and Bolton because their countrymen played for these clubs. In fact, it is their strong support and affiliation to their own countrymen as a mark of patriotism that leads to them supporting these overseas clubs. So how can you tell me, you cant support both local and foreign entity?

my key word here is ONLY.

But if those who are anti-foreign club still thinks the bunch of us are glory hunters, then i guess i am. No doubt i start supporting Manchester United because of hearsay and as a 12 year old not knowing any better in asking myself why, i was caught. I once said and was even quoted by a fellow forummer, "most of us started as a glory seeker, but its how much you progress in wanting to know more about the club that matters". Applies to any local or foreign clubs/country.

Then i will also add this: if liking an entity outside country because of the "glory" they bring means you're a glory hunter, then those who watch Arsenal play their attractive football (the glory part) and like that style (the like part) and continue to watch their matches if there's one though not necessarily supporting the club (the affiliation part) then that is a glory hunter as well. Might not be as big as us who chant and spend time knowing the club and player, but still...a glory hunter.

And you know what? even if i am born and raised in Sarawak and i watch Sarawak FC football, i still want them to win right? I want them to have glory. So at the end of the day, i am still a glory hunter. Coz i am hunting for Glory, be it from Manchester United, from Malaysia National football team or Sarawak FA, so i am and will forever be a glory hunter. that makes 100% of us who watches football then.

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jan 28 2011, 05:51 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jan 29 2011, 06:34 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

I think your frustration comes from many who supports overseas clubs but fail to support local football, or at least the national team. This, I agree with you. Countless of times I heard people say "why would I support Malaysia? Watch MU better" which definitely is a sting to local football.

But as much as there are many of these fans, there are also many who loves local football as much as they enjoy European football. In fact some of the strongest supporter of the national team that i know around in this forum, are strong supporters of their respective English clubs as well. After all these years of supporting MU, I learnt that supporting a club doesn't mean only watch them win but to know more about the team and all of those stuff, and I realize I should do the same to national football as well. So in a way supporting overseas clubs helped me learn my "responsibility" to support my own country as a Malaysian.

Speaking of attending matches day in and out to be a true supporter mentioned by other poster earlier. I am not at SNBJ when Malaysia play Vietnam and Indonesia last month. Some people know la the reason, suffice to say all I can do is to watch live stream. Does that mean I am less of a fan compared to those who done jerseys and go to stadium in throngs and chant and shout to support the team? Coz I am "unwilling" to travel to stadium?

So there are more to the definition of "glory hunting" than generalization such as "doesn't attend matches at all" or "supporting a successful club with no affiliation" etc.

But I also agree with you, if all of us can show the commitment of those Europeans to have season passes to watch their team play every time, only to our local clubs, it would greatly benefit the local scene. I am no such fans yet (I doubt i will go Old Trafford every week if I stay in Manchester anyway) but hey, supporting something will always be a lifelong learning experience. Who knows what kinda fan I might be in 10 years time. smile.gif
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

i choose to eat nasi kandar because i believe of all nasis (nasi lemak, nasi goreng, nasi briyani) nasi kandar is the best to eat. Opps, im a glory hunter.

I like The Simpsons over other cartoons because they are the most successful franchise and are nice to watch too. Oh, another glory hunter point to me

I think Najib will still be PM next year. Aduiiiiii....such a glory hunter i am.

OHMYGAWD, im such a lowlife cry.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jan 31 2011, 02:29 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 02:39 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 31 2011, 02:36 PM)
Season 16 onwards were pretty bad though.

Season 3-10 was the best.
quite true. Now i am enjoying Family Guy and to some extend, The Cleveland Show. must be jumping ship. but oh well, as a glory hunter thats what i must do~

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Jan 31 2011, 02:37 PM)
"I'd rather be at a club with a great history. It may weigh heavy upon us but I'd rather have that than be at a club with no history at all."

-Sir Alex Ferguson-

btw, is sir alex glory hunter? XD
Yes he is. So is Barrack Obama, coz he wants glory for USA.
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 02:57 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Jan 31 2011, 02:49 PM)
that line explain all you jokers reaction now  tongue.gif
apa ni?

u give a definition and i tried to apply it to my life. I discovered i am a glory hunter after all. Now you call me a joker? i am confused rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on January 31, 2011, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Jan 31 2011, 02:57 PM)
anyway, what club do u support?
Udinese nod.gif

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jan 31 2011, 02:58 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 03:05 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

no problemo biggrin.gif u could have asked Corez to come as well tongue.gif

pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 04:21 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

There is no guilt at all on what i am doing, simply because i dont consider what myself is doing is wrong. And i support Malaysia football as well because i chose to do so for it is also the right thing to do. Not because i'm "cleaning" myself.

I guess at this point we can agree to disagree then, coz we all have different opinion on what a glory hunter is, or to be more accurate, what is "right" or "wrong" as a football supporter. But if really you do not condone foreign entity simply because it is not our own, then be true to yourself. Stop watching Hollywood movies. Stop listening to foreign music, like Linkin Park or Justin Bieber, depending on your taste. Stop eating pizzas or burgers. When buying stuff in market, if you see the word "MADE IN CHINA" put it back onto the shelves.

pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 04:35 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 31 2011, 04:30 PM)
Justin Bieber.....pfffftttt....

People should stop listening to Justin Bieber irregardless.

Of all the example you could give, you give Justin Bieber??

Keh...keh....keh....
i think i covered the whole range of personality, from the masculine to the not-so-masculine tongue.gif
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 06:25 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Jan 31 2011, 05:55 PM)
tah pape, dari bola sepak masuk movie pulak. Macam2 alasan di cari sebab x nak support bola sepak tempatan. Macam tu kau makan je la nasi lemak kt tepi jalan, jangan sekali2 makan kt McD, KFC, Starbuck dan franchise2 yg ada kaitan dgn luar negara.

ps: dh la aressandro stop je, hati mereka dh gelap nak sokong bola sepak tempatan, hendak seribu daya tak hendak seribu dalih. Tp sekurang2nya post2 bro dh bukak  mata & hati sesetengah peminat2 tegar bola sepak luar negara cm aku ni. Dan aku sure ramai lg sebnarnya.
takde orang yang tak support local football di sini, the question is only this: "Why cant we support football teams abroad", thats all. I support MU doesnt mean i look down on Malaysia National football team. get your facts right before commenting.

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Jan 31 2011, 06:26 PM
pyroboy1911
post Jan 31 2011, 06:53 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

that, nobody deny. We all should try our best to emulate them in the positive side of local football. But u dare tell me none of them support European football as well?
pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 02:30 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

Dah la, everyone glory hunter la.

When it comes to kids all you have to do is to say words that will make him happy and move on.
pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 02:54 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Feb 1 2011, 02:36 PM)
No!

Someone has to be the non glory hunters. Who's going to do the finger pointing then??? Keh keh keh...
everyone points la, but like this:

Isnt that what Mr. BENCHMARK here asked us to do? point to ourselves and proudly call ourselves glory hunter. So yeah, why dont just everyone just admit we are glory hunter, and call it and end.

I start first:
Saya, Pyroboy1911, dengan sukacitanya memaklumkan kepada member2 LYN bahawa, di bawah akta Yukieliew yang dimartabatkan sebagai definisi Pemburu Kejayaan ataupun dekenali di dalam Bahasa Inggeris sebagai "Glory Hunter", adalah seorang Glory Hunter. Pengakuan ini dibuat setelah saya mendapati saya menyokong Kelab Bolasepak Manchester Bersatu ataupun dikenali di dalam Bahasa Inggeris sebagai Manchester United Football Club. Penyokongan ini bermakna saya telah memenuhi syarat2 akta yang berkenaan, dimana penyokongan kelab-kelab bolasepak yang telah memenangi sekurang-kurangnya SATU (1) piala adalah ciri-ciri Pemburu kejayaan. Sekian, maklum.
Sorry if my format karangan is not right blush.gif
pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 02:58 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Feb 1 2011, 02:56 PM)
Haha funny but credit to you for your confession..what is wrong with that..
support a big team hunting for glory..nothing is ever wrong with that biggrin.gif
serious la beb, apa funny funny rclxub.gif

nothing wrong la. so we can all go in peace knowing this issue is resolved right? thumbup.gif

Bolehla kita bersurai secara aman. dah la, blah blah!

This post has been edited by pyroboy1911: Feb 1 2011, 02:59 PM
pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 03:05 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Feb 1 2011, 03:03 PM)
You're late, I've started this years ago in this thread
that one is akta lama la. Yukieliew has come in with enough credibility in his name to change the definition. I mean, who can say he is wrong right? after all, his word is the law.

pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 03:14 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(Quick` @ Feb 1 2011, 03:12 PM)
you guys do know who is yukielow right?  sweat.gif
introducing master of all destruction, beandy the great
casanova also need to bow down to him
mad.gif mad.gif dont you disgrace the all almighty, the creator of all rules as he pleases!
pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 03:24 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

see? kan dah cakap...tell him what he wants to hear and everything will calm down biggrin.gif
pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 05:19 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 1 2011, 05:05 PM)
most of locals in manchester support manchester city instead of united... get my point ??  brows.gif

pyroboy1911
post Feb 1 2011, 05:35 PM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 1 2011, 05:29 PM)
wow....so fast come out with facts... just my observation when I was there...
Maybe u are at a particular location where there are more City fans than United. Greater Manchester is pretty big i would say. Or maybe psychological, other place u only see United fans and none City fans, and suddenly u reach Manchester and more people wearing blue, that will of course make you think "wah, there are more City fans here."

0.0394sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:10 PM