iPhone 3G/3GS after warranty-repair where?, Warranty/Repair [Discussion]

saksoba
post Dec 3 2009, 10:10 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(bobmali @ Nov 24 2009, 12:48 PM)
My phone got bricked last week due to my jailbreaking activity. Sadly it still freeze during the restoration. No choice but to send to Maxis as the phone is still under warranty with Maxis.

I am using iPhone 3G 16GB white with Celcom sim but the phone is registered under my wife name and maxis 012 number of my daughter.

Went to Maxis Sunway Pyramid and told them about my problem. At this stage the CS just try to fix it and don't even ask whether my phone is under warranty or no. After confirmed that it can't be fixed, she told me that they will request for a replacement from Apple (as there is no stock for this model available there). May take 2 weeks to 1 mth replacement). Only during that period she asked me for the warranty card, which i gave to her and the Maxis phone number that the iphone is registered to. I did mentioned the phone number and told her that is my daughter phone (no IC photocopy or full details of my daughter nor my wife mentioned). Then she proceed with the replacement process, and on the service form, I filled up all my details (name, IC, Celcom contact number).

As such, I believe they only need your warranty card and the phone details of the one that bind to the iphone contract.
I think, it all depends on who serve you. As for from Maxis Customer Service, they need all those details, else, they will not entertain you. maybe need luck. tongue.gif
soonlee33
post Dec 9 2009, 03:14 PM

2,677 posts

anybody knows where to update the latest firmware for i3g?
shiniraz
post Dec 10 2009, 10:56 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Dec 9 2009, 03:14 PM)
anybody knows where to update the latest firmware for i3g?
just plug in to your laptop/PC -> launch itunes -> update !

Current FW : 3.1.2
saksoba
post Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM

478 posts

up to day : 1 months n 5 days after send to maxis. still dun have any news. sigh sad.gif
PeeEl
post Dec 16 2009, 06:49 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM)
up to day : 1 months n 5 days after send to maxis. still dun have any news. sigh sad.gif
Have you contacted them? If not, I suggest you do so, then follow up. If there is still no development, put your complaint to them in writing perhaps even 'threatening' to approach the authorities if they do not let you have the replacement unit by a certain date.
saksoba
post Dec 16 2009, 06:54 PM

478 posts

@PeeEl
Yeah. That girl said, she will ask the "i-forget-the-name",who handle the warranty for iphone, as she busy with customer at the maxis centre.

according to her initial statement, next week was the expected date to get back my iphone. but, i dun think so. if need replacement, y it took so long. sleep.gif"

"maxis doesn't have iphone 3g stock as they focus more on 3gs". aiya. but then, still, there are lots of people who wait for their 3gs.

This post has been edited by saksoba: Dec 16 2009, 06:55 PM
PeeEl
post Dec 16 2009, 08:42 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 16 2009, 06:54 PM)
@PeeEl
Yeah. That girl said, she will ask the "i-forget-the-name",who handle the warranty for iphone, as she busy with customer at the maxis centre.

according to her initial statement, next week was the expected date to get back my iphone. but, i dun think so. if need replacement, y it took so long. sleep.gif"

"maxis doesn't have iphone 3g stock as they focus more on 3gs". aiya. but then, still, there are lots of people who wait for their 3gs.
Well, like I said, follow up with them diligently. But it would do you no harm to write them a complaint mail now to hopefully speed things up for you.
saksoba
post Dec 17 2009, 12:55 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Dec 16 2009, 08:42 PM)
Well, like I said, follow up with them diligently. But it would do you no harm to write them a complaint mail now to hopefully speed things up for you.
Thanks for the advice. I will wait for another week and go bug them at maxis centre if they keep delaying my iphone. better i send to repair then wait so long. plus, i hate my current phone. lol.

Added on December 19, 2009, 11:34 pmMy fren face the same problem with me.. but he bought in japan.

softbank just replace his set.. only take 2 hours. y maxis take more than 1 month? isk3

This post has been edited by saksoba: Dec 19 2009, 11:34 PM
pikaphebat
post Dec 21 2009, 10:26 AM

199 posts

Does anybody know if Maxis offers to replace void warranty sets for an amount of money ? Like Singtel, if your set warranty void , you can pay SGD 350 and they'll replace it with a repaired/refurbished set.

Previously i did exchange mine because they found out my set water sensor on the earphone port was red. So it failed the water test and its out of warranty.

Does Maxis have that?

And, why does Maxis takes a long time to replace.. Singtel you can do it on the spot and get the unit .
tinkerbel
post Dec 21 2009, 01:55 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@pikaphebat,
I haven't heard of such replacing services but it won't hurt U to ask. Also, replacement units are probably slower on Maxis is because there's still a shortage? *shrugs*
bobmali
post Dec 22 2009, 12:12 PM

166 posts

Me too took along time for replacement (yes replacement not repaired .... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif )

I send my iPhone to Maxis for replacement on 19 November 2009. and to-date have yet to get the replacement set. During repair time, the CS said it will take 2 week to 1 month for replacment as my white 3G 16 Gb stock is quite limited (the same excuse doh.gif again and again).

Since last week I have been chasing her for the status and she was not very helpful either. Called her on the phone and she said she will check and get back to me. As I heard nothing from her till the next day, I called again and she said she can only check my status after work as she was busy with a customer at that time (what a system and process flow ????). I wait until the next day but still there was no news. I shot an email to her and she replied "will check and revert to you asap".

That's was last Thursday. Yesterday, I shot another email and reminding her that the "asap" already become ASAP aka smoke. Called her in teh afternoon, and she said that normally for white 16GB iPhone, it will take 2 months for replacement (@##$%). I really get annoyed as I believed she just said without checking in details with the respective iphone dept. I asked her to forward me the manager in-charge number for me to lodge complain but as usual no reply from her as promised. So this morning, I decided to call the Maxis' 1-800 number to highlight about this issue. The CS at 1-800 promised to get the person in charge of iPhone warranty to call me. I will wait and see what happen next. mad.gif

I believe need a lot of improvement on its repair service

- They should have better system for us to check the repair status. Believe it or n ot, my repair receipt don't evene have a reference number. In fact MAxis Sunway service center detail was only stamped on it (without the phone and fax number). The numbers were also missing from the Maxis website. Only Maxis know the reason for this exclusion.

- They should follow Singapore and Japan (as our forummers highlighted), where replacement is done on the spot. I did own a palm unit before, where the service center is in Singapore but somehow I manage to get immediate replacement right here in Malaysia (through agent).
saksoba
post Dec 23 2009, 12:49 AM

478 posts

Y my case totally same with u ar? blink.gif

I send my iPhone to Maxis for replacement on 19 November 2009. and to-date have yet to get the replacement set. During repair time, the CS said it will take 2 week to 1 month for replacment as my white 3G 16 Gb stock is quite limited

Same. I send my iPhone on 10-Nov-09. CS said to me replacement gonna be 1 month as stock for 3G 16Gb is limited due to new release of 3GS.

Since last week I have been chasing her for the status and she was not very helpful either. Called her on the phone and she said she will check and get back to me. As I heard nothing from her till the next day, I called again and she said she can only check my status after work as she was busy with a customer at that time (what a system and process flow ????). I wait until the next day but still there was no news.

Same. Does she use "reply to all" excuse meh? Same excuse, busy with customer and gonna check for me later. But no news at all.

They should have better system for us to check the repair status. Believe it or n ot, my repair receipt don't evene have a reference number. In fact MAxis Sunway service center detail was only stamped on it

Does she wrote on paper? and tell you the system was down so this is not the usual practise. She said to me like dat one lor.

They should follow Singapore and Japan (as our forummers highlighted), where replacement is done on the spot.

Believe or not, due to wifi problem, Japan carrier just took 2 hours to replace my fren unit.

Maxis vmad.gif

They do heavy promotion, but, after sale service sucks. What are they expect of this warranty claim? aiya.

Soon, I will continue my study at Perak. It's hard for me come to CS Sunway just to take the iPhone.

bobmali
post Dec 23 2009, 09:04 AM

166 posts

What a coincidence. But I believe my luck is better than yours rclxm9.gif

After the complained to 1-800 CS yesterday, I got a SMS from the Sunway CS giving me the e-mail of the Sunway's PIC for iPhone replacement. I immediately send him a nasty mail highlighted my disappointment aver the delay of replacement. An guess what, within 2 hours, I got a call from him that my iPhone my replacement phone was ready for collection. thumbup.gif

Now I am bz with my iphone again and it's brand new (not refurbish unit - IMHO)

This post has been edited by bobmali: Dec 23 2009, 09:05 AM
yvonnesoo
post Dec 23 2009, 11:24 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

hw do u kno ur phone is nt a refurbish unit? may i kno hw do we check it?? thx

QUOTE(bobmali @ Dec 23 2009, 09:04 AM)
What a coincidence. But I believe my luck is better than yours  rclxm9.gif

After the complained to 1-800 CS yesterday, I got a SMS from the Sunway CS giving me the e-mail of the Sunway's PIC for iPhone replacement. I immediately send him a nasty mail highlighted my disappointment aver the delay of replacement. An guess what, within 2 hours, I got a call from him that my iPhone my replacement phone was ready for collection.  thumbup.gif

Now I am bz with my iphone again and it's brand new (not refurbish unit - IMHO)
eternity4av
post Dec 23 2009, 08:23 PM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 23 2009, 11:24 AM)
through usage or different part number perhaps?
bobmali
post Dec 24 2009, 08:45 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 23 2009, 11:24 AM)
Don't ask me how la sweat.gif ...it is just my instinct.
Based n the observation of the sparkling new replacement unit, tightly wrapped in a plastic, no scratch even a minute one, screen laminated with plastic...... Maybe yes and maybe no...whatever it is I am a happily using my iPhone now.... rclxms.gif

Just jailbreaking it again yesterday night. This time I need to be extra carefully not to mess up with firmware or ROM files (the reason why my iPhone dead last time). Anyway if it happen again, I will ask for another replacement nod.gif . So I better jailbreak it while under warranty whistling.gif
Mackiddo
post Dec 24 2009, 11:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(pikaphebat @ Dec 21 2009, 10:26 AM)

And, why does Maxis takes a long time to replace.. Singtel you can do it on the spot and get the unit .
coz Malaysia is consider a 3rd world country in telecommunication and customer service blink.gif ...
saksoba
post Dec 24 2009, 12:09 PM

478 posts

Just call Maxis CS and Sunway Pyramid Maxis CS..

A Maxis Pyramid CS guy ask me to wait until 1st or 2nd week of new year for my replacement set.. grrrr.. by dat day, it almost 2 month since my claim..

y y y y y..

Patiently waiting sad.gif
yvonnesoo
post Dec 25 2009, 02:42 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i sent my phone for warranty as well .. in Gardens.. CS totally bad service plus lazy.. i guess they r quite lazy to do the replacement warranty. took me around 2 hrs in total including waiting..to complete my warranty procedure.

in d first place, jz c n inspect my phone n straight away say tat maxis won't take tis phone for warranty due to only slight defect.. n the CS dunno hw to make a decision. keep on asking another colleague opinion n etc..i was like gosh.. feel like wanna slap n scold the CS. trying to push it back to me n blame me didn't check properly the phone n i might be the culprit tat cause the phone defect.. i was so piss off n told them tat i haf checked the phone n it's normal. after few weeks, the defect arise. is tis counted as my probs?? guess wat the CS reply? it's impossible tat such case will happen n they didn't encounter it b4. darn!! doesn't happen b4 doesn't mean won't happen nw wat.. talk to them i feel so tension. suppose we speak nicely, then started to argue. cz can't stand d way they talk.. after sales service is totally bad

in the end, i insist to go for the warranty n they impatiently say tat they won't guarantee tat Apple itself will allow for the replacement. thn i say nvm.. at least i gif it a try.. thn the CS slowly do the necessary procedure for my phone replacement. hate such service. if i kno warranty such a hassle n hard, i won't buy iphone. no point get a phone but when come to warranty issue is such a trouble.. somemore mention tat haf to wait. MIN 2 weeks of working day.. max 3 mths.. really out of the mood..grrr

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 25 2009, 09:58 AM
saksoba
post Dec 25 2009, 04:25 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 25 2009, 02:42 AM)
i sent my phone for warranty as well .. in Gardens.. CS totally bad service plus lazy.. i guess they r quite lazy to do the replacement warranty. took me around 2 hrs in total including waiting..to complete my warranty procedure.

in d first place, jz c n inspect my phone n straight away say tat maxis won't take tis phone for warranty due to only slight defect.. n the CS dunno hw to make a decision. keep on asking another colleague opinion n etc..i was like gosh.. feel like wanna slap n scold the CS. trying to push it back to me n blame me didn't check properly the phone n i might be the culprit tat cause the phone defect.. i was so piss off n told them tat i haf checked the phone n it's normal. after few weeks, the defect arise. is tis counted as my probs?? guess wat the CS reply? it's impossible tat such case will happen n they didn't encounter it b4. darn!! doesn't happen b4 doesn't mean won't happen nw wat.. talk to them i feel so tension. suppose we speak nicely, then started to argue. cz can't stand d way they talk.. after sales service is totally bad

in the end, i insist to go for the warranty n they impatiently say tat they won't guarantee tat Apple itself will allow for the replacement. thn i say nvm.. at least i gif it a try.. thn the CS slowly do the necessary procedure for my phone replacement. hate such service. if i kno warranty such a hassle n hard, i won't buy iphone. no point get a phone but when come to warranty issue is such a trouble.. somemore mention tat haf to wait. MIN 2 working days.. max 3 mths.. really out of the mood..grrr
Guess so. In this case, Maxis CS regarding iPhone is really bad. They don't have definite answer.

Me : Where is my iPhone rite now? 1 monts 10 days d..
CS : With vendor..
Me : When can I get my iPhone? It's okay if u can't repair it, I demand u return my iPhone since this kinda stuff such wasting my time waiting for it.
CS : Probably new year. 1st week of new year. We will try very hard to get the replacement set for u..
Me : Are you sure?
CS : Maybe 2nd week. (wtf?). We will call you.

Although they assume u are the culprit, however they MUST check it first before any assumption. Is the correct business ethic to put such a blame to customer? Hell no. As the case never happened to them, well, there are lot of cases in Apple forum regarding hardware problem. They should prepare for the worst. Plus, Maxis are the exclusive telco for iPhone in Malaysia.

I d read the ToS of iPhone warranty, the highlight of it is, which I can assume, as long as u don't DIY stuff, open it etc, probably Apple will fix the broken part, replace ur set or give u the new set/ refurb.

For the max 3 months, I called Maxis this morning, they said, the maximum they took for repair/service is 1 month only. By 1 month, they should call you and inform u about ur unit.

Things to ponder is, we know, our Maxis iPhone is under 1 year warranty. After 1 year, does Maxis allow such warranty claim or repair the iPhone? I think, SingTel provide Apple Care which extend the warranty, m not sure about Maxis.

As for me, I will wait until new year then gonna meet them again later on. mad.gif

This post has been edited by saksoba: Dec 25 2009, 04:27 AM

19 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:39 PM