QUOTE(archonixm @ Oct 7 2009, 05:55 PM)
Haha..you meant the Koup? Not sure...Singapore just recently launched the Koup last month if I'm not mistakenKia Forte, When will this beauty launch in MAS?
Kia Forte, When will this beauty launch in MAS?
Oct 7 2009, 09:54 PM
2,775 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 7 2009, 10:58 PM
19 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(atah @ Oct 7 2009, 05:43 PM) you are right, this is how some of the systems works. waw...thanks for the details explanation.... somethings new learned...pro: - consistent temperature control, more comfort - cooling coil on all the time, able to remove mositure and keep the cabin air dry - temp regulation using radiator hot water, indirectly able to partially cool down the hot water - relatively better reliability, as the clutch no need to cut in and out frequently - can get warm air if outdoor temperature is cold cons: - more fuel consumption as the compressor runs all the time Added on October 7, 2009, 5:43 pm yup, problem on the first few batches but they have fixed it now. |
Oct 8 2009, 09:38 AM
605 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(leongwk15 @ Oct 7 2009, 06:03 PM) Is it better? Compressor running all time will shorten the life span of the compressor. not sure if countinous running the compressor will shorten the lifespan, maybe will wear out the bearings faster. If not mistaken, inverter air conds are running continously also, but maybe due to the running speed then the lifespan can be longer. maybe we should have inverter air cond for cars. If this is the case, will the maintenance cost for such cooling system higher than the normal cut in cut out type? FC will be affected for sure. Maybe the CKD version will be changed to the cut in cut out type. btw as mentioned, i totally agree that FC will be affected ...coz the air cond is also helping in taking away heat from the engine, so it uses more power. i feel that my spectra5 FC getting worse..just over 4K on the road. now city driving is about 10 - 11 L/100km , mostly jams and start stop situation . I was thinking of using those fuel additives to help boost the torque. I've use them before in my old iswara, it gives better torque ,but not better FC in such light car. But in spectra5 i think should give better FC. anyone tried? |
Oct 8 2009, 10:49 PM
633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere on a planet called EARTH |
QUOTE(bobbychin @ Oct 8 2009, 09:38 AM) i feel that my spectra5 FC getting worse..just over 4K on the road. now city driving is about 10 - 11 L/100km , mostly jams and start stop situation . I was thinking of using those fuel additives to help boost the torque. I've use them before in my old iswara, it gives better torque ,but not better FC in such light car. But in spectra5 i think should give better FC. anyone tried? just give esso ron95 a try. u might feel some wonders |
Oct 9 2009, 11:21 AM
329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
wonder wat the interest rate gonna be like...
Oct 9 2009, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(atah @ Oct 8 2009, 10:49 PM) maybe i should try out, coz outside my apartment got esso station but i never pump esso before, coz old stories ppl say esso not good, got mix kerosene. just switched to petronas from shell lately. city driving around 20cent...rm78 can go 400km. my gauge shows 13L/100km ..for my 1st 70km |
Oct 9 2009, 05:00 PM
haa... seriously start stop traffic not good to anycar... i am not sure of spectra 5, but i got some 15~18l/100km... in jam (for 2 hours like) cos.. it based on engine running time to travel dist to calculate that..
400km / tank i think its low.. somehow... but is that based on your manual calculation? or meter reading.? |
Oct 9 2009, 05:37 PM
manual calculation , from full tank to empty tank ..400km..used up rm 78 which is 43.33 litre, about 10.8L/100km , the meter reads about 10 only.
i think thats the bad part of having a heavy car in start stop condition. |
Oct 9 2009, 11:15 PM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(Burgerlim @ Oct 9 2009, 05:00 PM) haa... seriously start stop traffic not good to anycar... i am not sure of spectra 5, but i got some 15~18l/100km... in jam (for 2 hours like) cos.. it based on engine running time to travel dist to calculate that.. Hei Burgerlim,400km / tank i think its low.. somehow... but is that based on your manual calculation? or meter reading.? I think u ve wrongly mentioned 15~18l/100km ....... is very bad FC. Cars that can achieve FC below 9l/100km for city driving is consider very gd. My Vios FC for city driving is below 9l/100km and highway is below 7l/100km. But again Vios is a very light car. Burgerlim, could u pls reconfirm ur FC? Sory I ve to ask u coz' looks like u r the only one who owns a Forte that is responding/answering/helping us out here. Really apreciate your time. BTW, could u pls check whether ur compressor cut out when is cool enough and cut in when its hot? I still can't believe or understand why the compressor is required to run all time for CBU car with heating system. Regards |
Oct 9 2009, 11:33 PM
for my part, i really thinks that the compressor did not cut out. the reasons are as below ;
1) i didn not hear the "TIK" sound of the bimetallic sensor 2) i didn not feel changes in the air temp from time to time 3) the temp of the engine seems to be stable no matter i go up or down hill 4) the temp changes very fast, from very cold to very hot when i turn the control knob in my oppinion this air cond system gives bad FC, but its comfortable to drive in as the temp is stable. This post has been edited by bobbychin: Oct 9 2009, 11:35 PM |
Oct 10 2009, 12:16 AM
3 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Same engine with Kia Spectra...?
Oct 10 2009, 05:19 PM
1,050 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL |
Oct 10 2009, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(bobbychin @ Oct 9 2009, 05:37 PM) manual calculation , from full tank to empty tank ..400km..used up rm 78 which is 43.33 litre, about 10.8L/100km , the meter reads about 10 only. I think so, then... depending on the traffic... 10l/100km is really about there for all start & stop condition. ~9l/100km is quite common during my drive... i think thats the bad part of having a heavy car in start stop condition. QUOTE(leongwk15 @ Oct 9 2009, 11:15 PM) Hei Burgerlim, Yes, confirmed.... some bad time caught in massive jam in causeway... I think u ve wrongly mentioned 15~18l/100km ....... is very bad FC. Cars that can achieve FC below 9l/100km for city driving is consider very gd. My Vios FC for city driving is below 9l/100km and highway is below 7l/100km. But again Vios is a very light car. Burgerlim, could u pls reconfirm ur FC? Sory I ve to ask u coz' looks like u r the only one who owns a Forte that is responding/answering/helping us out here. Really apreciate your time. BTW, could u pls check whether ur compressor cut out when is cool enough and cut in when its hot? I still can't believe or understand why the compressor is required to run all time for CBU car with heating system. Regards due to the meter calculation, running the engine without moving car really kills... i once chatted with some buddy in car for 45mins.. and the fc..shoots up like 13l/100km from 9l.. so hope you see how the reading is based on... pretty accurate.. i trusted the meter up to neck with remaining of 30+km to go! Bro, hope you are referring to auto... think manual can be better?... according to some Forte EX owner.. 15" really gives better FC.. ~7.5km.. here attached some reference (this is SX!!) but really as with any C seg compact.. its not start / stop / jam friendly... for extremist.. whenever stops > 30 secs.. turn off engine! haaaa.... some even removes spare tyre!!! OMG.. ![]() See this, driving behaviour really makes different.. Shell Fuel Challange.. Bro, for this i am not too sure now... something i am trying to get how kia climate control works... should compressor running all the time.. then.. there are few thing i am in doubt.. 1. a/c temp setting is affecting my FC, i.e 23deg to 19deg.. makes some different... (it may however runs at different pressure.. i dont know..) 1.1. Manual is saying 23deg is optimum for engine and FC..??? 2. for home installed a/c.. with heater (in come country... the process (IIRC) is to swap evaporator and condenser.. ?? no? 3. at times, car feels heavier... and some times esp when temp is set higher.. it just dun feel the compressor is working hard... (again still verifying..) Anyone has any link to "KIA climate control system"? finally, i had a disappointment just last friday, when the a/c were not cool under s/hot day...and it wasn't cold...(but didnt set to maximum... i donno. will have to check with AD... will update and oh..ya.. brands of the compressor too... Added on October 10, 2009, 9:27 pm QUOTE(bobbychin @ Oct 9 2009, 11:33 PM) for my part, i really thinks that the compressor did not cut out. the reasons are as below ; Hi, bobby 1) i didn not hear the "TIK" sound of the bimetallic sensor 2) i didn not feel changes in the air temp from time to time 3) the temp of the engine seems to be stable no matter i go up or down hill 4) the temp changes very fast, from very cold to very hot when i turn the control knob in my oppinion this air cond system gives bad FC, but its comfortable to drive in as the temp is stable. just to get your version right..? is spectra 5 looks as follows?' ![]() For the AC i am still sourcing around for how kia climate works. but just to check... is yours looks as follows? ![]() i am really not too sure cos forte FC is really v.good considering of its size.. i was told its much better then previous cerato... V2... (as above.. not too sure if == spektra 5..) This post has been edited by Burgerlim: Oct 10 2009, 09:27 PM |
Oct 10 2009, 11:54 PM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
The FC for non moving car should be very much lower than moving.
If the compressor is really running all times then I guess v know y KIA could not acheive good FC compare to Japanese car. Hope someone who owns a Forte could give us an answer? Hopeffully before the launching in Msia. |
Oct 11 2009, 12:48 AM
oh.. leong..
Nope, non moving car uses 100% fuel with no mileage!.. so.. it could be 100l/1km! rite? FC= fuel amount to distant traveled.. so hope this clarify your doubt. Again depending on design / system.. please know that its the system..i.e if climate control needs compressor to run all the time..therefore allowing the consistent air temp control..then its beyond.. brands, MIJ / MIK will deliver the same. That is why i am looking for the KIA climate system that they are using.. its really not about the brands. its the design.. just take for example. bobby spektraV5? while sharing the same base engine, it produces totally different FC, many more thing comes to play.. i.e, gear box, injection system. final ratio, ecu programming and so on... , just for your info too.. the engine comes with CVVT (aka Vtec? in honda) so maybe both car produces different torque curve.. hyundai elantra (avante here) for example continue to improves with minor adjustment and claimed FC increased from 12.1km/l to 14.1km/l now.. that explains why forte Jam/city (start stop) FC is so terrible considering the car must work on large wheel and 1.25ton body and needs some very low ratio to pull thru... instant FC meter shows..its uses >20l/100km.. so if you stick with 1st gear all the time.. then expect that kind of FC... nothing beats your own test drive... i think its too early to tell how good / bad msia version will be, but think you should draw your conclusion from there.. cheers! |
Oct 11 2009, 12:52 PM
hi burgerlim ,
yes, my spectra5 does look like the one you showed, but the front grill abit more macho. haha..interior design is different, mine doesn have digital display for temp. mine is just a knob .... 100%cold - 0 - 100% hot so i done know what is the running temp. I just changed my tyres yesterday ..new 4pcs under warranty.sadly i forgot to ask the service person about the air cond. but i did ask about strut bar and ARB ..hehe..they say will not void warranty if installed. sadly cannot install turbo as it needs modifications. after 5 years can, coz after warranty. Btw, i 'm already started removing unnecessary loads from my car.... i think after my next oil change and gearbox oil change i gonna add in additives like X1R for better power and hopefully a better FC or else investment wasted. |
Oct 11 2009, 10:13 PM
329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
how factual is this? This post has been edited by hAnn: Oct 11 2009, 10:15 PM |
Oct 11 2009, 10:23 PM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kay Ell |
QUOTE(leongwk15 @ Oct 10 2009, 11:54 PM) The FC for non moving car should be very much lower than moving. if the FC is your main concern...If the compressor is really running all times then I guess v know y KIA could not acheive good FC compare to Japanese car. Hope someone who owns a Forte could give us an answer? Hopeffully before the launching in Msia. i don't think this forte can give FC as good as Vios... why don't u go for vios then? price is similar and no need to wait. |
Oct 11 2009, 10:45 PM
727 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak(Great Place) |
QUOTE(hAnn @ Oct 11 2009, 10:13 PM) fix for you and every1 to watch here btw, I consider it as true, bt mayb nt 100% accurate, cause it an advertisement, so you know lo Really considering this car, shame they not bringing in the 2.0l version of the Forte, cause I think due to power to weight ration, I think the 2.0 engine would have a better FC, specially if driving at high speed, and it would be easier to overtake cars too. This post has been edited by jim18992: Oct 11 2009, 10:51 PM |
Oct 11 2009, 11:13 PM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kay Ell |
#1 - #5 i believe is not 100% true...
the #6 most important thing is... build quality... no matter how good is the features.. but doesn't last long is pointless too... hopefully this forte build quality can be better than the previous kia. |
| Change to: | 0.0191sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:31 PM |