post Dec 14 2009, 09:58 PM

2,096 posts

Its already HD now icon_rolleyes.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Dec 15 2009, 07:22 AM

1,976 posts

no, now the question is - When is Astro going to be perfect?

smileguy
post Dec 15 2009, 08:46 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 15 2009, 07:22 AM)
no, now the question is - When is Astro going to be perfect?
Perfect ? What For ? No need bro ! Yesterday Astro was supported in the Parliment, check the Papers. Astro's fees was found to be reasonable ! So with so much govt backing its not neccessary to be perfectlah we just keep barking thats all, even with HD if Astro practices upscaling SD to HD what can we do.? Astro wld say they did not upscale they recieved upscaled content from providers !! shakehead.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 15 2009, 09:49 AM

1,602 posts

Astro won't have time to upscale their SD channels la...it would result to more blurness and waste even more bandwidth to support such large resolutions. If people found their SD channels to be slightly improved, my best bet is that they have reduce compression on it, or allow a higher bitrate to the SD feed, OR a slight possibility is that maybe they reencode the SD channels to H264, where if they maintain the same bitrate now used on mpeg-2, it would definitely improve the picture quality
aerobowl
post Dec 15 2009, 05:33 PM

556 posts

it say RM20 per month for 12 months contract
my question is IF i get the new HD decorder and after 12 months i decide to switch back non HD can i keep the decorder? or will ASTRO come to swap my decorder/disc/remote/cable?

the reason is my current old decorder is kinda having problem maybe is the remote or the decorder
12xRM20=RM240 which is quite okay if i can keep the thing after 1 year later
smileguy
post Dec 15 2009, 06:01 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 15 2009, 05:33 PM)
my question is IF i get the new HD decorder and after 12 months i decide to switch back non HD can i keep the decorder? or will ASTRO come to swap my decorder/disc/remote/cable?

the reason is my current old decorder is kinda having problem maybe is the remote or the decorder
Looks like all old decorders wld be phased out, once hd box forever hd box ! icon_rolleyes.gif
Qash-M
post Dec 15 2009, 06:24 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

How about HD recoder? hmm.gif
twL
post Dec 15 2009, 06:29 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 15 2009, 06:24 PM)
How about HD recoder? hmm.gif
HD recorder are using same as the HD decorder,
they will launch the recording function on next year with external hard disk,
because on HD decorder have usb port...

neb
post Dec 15 2009, 06:35 PM

2,234 posts

I am guessing that HD recording function may need new decoder, search decoder manufacturer "pace" for model 865

This post has been edited by neb: Dec 15 2009, 06:36 PM
twL
post Dec 15 2009, 06:46 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 15 2009, 06:35 PM)
I am guessing that HD recording function may need new decoder, search decoder manufacturer "pace" for  model 865
y on astro b.yond faq page,
they are not written like this??
they try to "cheat" us?
neb
post Dec 15 2009, 06:48 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(twL @ Dec 15 2009, 06:46 PM)
y on astro b.yond faq page,
they are not written like this??
they try to "cheat" us?
relax, I am just guessing, wait and see what happen next year sweat.gif
twL
post Dec 15 2009, 06:50 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 15 2009, 06:48 PM)
relax, I am just guessing, wait and see what happen next year sweat.gif
haha, ok ok... smile.gif
i am waiting for my HD decorder only...
leyley
post Dec 15 2009, 07:36 PM

2,096 posts

How much to buy the HD decoder?
neb
post Dec 15 2009, 07:45 PM

2,234 posts

you can't buy it, astro give it to you for free thumbup.gif in exchange for old decoder set.

market value would cost RM1K
leyley
post Dec 15 2009, 07:48 PM

2,096 posts

There must be something behind this. Nothing is free. They increase our price monthly is it?
neb
post Dec 15 2009, 07:52 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Dec 15 2009, 07:48 PM)
There must be something behind this. Nothing is free. They increase our price monthly is it?
exactly, 20 ringgit on top of your original subscription
attap
post Dec 15 2009, 08:14 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 15 2009, 05:33 PM)

Better call astro and clear up with the new subscription fee for the HD channels.
sg999
post Dec 15 2009, 09:21 PM

1,027 posts

We refer to your email dated 11 December 2009.

Please be informed that not all programmes are available or produced in
high definition broadcasts at the moment. High definition is still a
relatively new and expensive system. Just like the transition from black
and white television broadcast to colour television broadcast, it will
take a little while more before we get to a stage where all channels are
in high definition. Nevertheless, the picture and sound quality of the
existing SD channels will be enhanced due to better aspect ratio
handling and a direct HDMI connection with the television.

We wish to inform you that currently the Astro HD channels are as listed
below:

* Astro SuperSport HD
* ESPN HD
* National Geographic Channel HD
* History HD
* HBO HD

Further to the above, please be advised that more channels will be added
from time to time and for more information on our HD service, kindly
visit our website at www.astro.com.my.

Should you have further enquiries in any other aspects, kindly contact
our Call Centre at 1300-82-3838 which is operational from 8.00 am to
12.00 midnight daily or email us at wecare@astro.com.my.

We appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely,

Sangari Veerasamy
Associate
Correspondence and Operations
Customer Service Division
lamusiqa
post Dec 15 2009, 11:44 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 15 2009, 09:21 PM)
We refer to your email dated 11 December 2009.

Please be informed that not all programmes are available or produced in
high definition broadcasts at the moment. High definition is still a
relatively new and expensive system. Just like the transition from black
and white television broadcast to colour television broadcast, it will
take a little while more before we get to a stage where all channels are
in high definition. Nevertheless, the picture and sound quality of the
existing SD channels will be enhanced due to better aspect ratio
handling and a direct HDMI connection with the television.

We wish to inform you that currently the Astro HD channels are as listed
below:

* Astro SuperSport HD
* ESPN HD
* National Geographic Channel HD
* History HD
* HBO HD

Further to the above, please be advised that more channels will be added
from time to time and for more information on our HD service, kindly
visit our website at www.astro.com.my.

Should you have further enquiries in any other aspects, kindly contact
our Call Centre at 1300-82-3838 which is operational from 8.00 am to
12.00 midnight daily or email us at wecare@astro.com.my.

We appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely,

Sangari Veerasamy
Associate
Correspondence and Operations
Customer Service Division
Sounds pretty reasonable to me. smile.gif
pirateguy
post Dec 16 2009, 12:12 AM

1,409 posts

Thread should be re-titled "Astro has gone HD since Dec 2009".

37 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 >Top

0.0275sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:32 AM