when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

attap
post May 2 2009, 06:57 PM

199 posts

Astro HD will be launching on 3 quarter of 2009.
attap
post May 4 2009, 06:10 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 3 2009, 05:40 PM)
Reliable source? Rumours say it will be in 2012
Astro is planning for its HD service rite now. You can ask any astro installer.
attap
post Oct 26 2009, 10:37 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Oct 26 2009, 08:26 PM)

BTW....the coming-soon-HD astro, will we still be using the current rg6 cabling?
Quite likely it will be RG6! Make sure no cheapo RG6 cable for your new house.
attap
post Nov 2 2009, 07:42 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(MrM @ Nov 2 2009, 07:17 PM)
SG has cable TV, malaysia only satellite leh.. satellite a lot costly for investment. Each satellite also limited transponder ..
Analog HD should be faster to implement then Digital HD .
I guess my relative is receiving SG Analog HD TV channel at JB.
Err! What do u mean by analog HD?
attap
post Nov 3 2009, 12:27 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 3 2009, 12:22 PM)
what? no ... it never rains on the top execs homes.
Those VIP are getting direct feed from satellite downlink ke tongue.gif
attap
post Nov 10 2009, 05:49 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(king_kenny @ Nov 10 2009, 03:17 PM)
ok, from what i read, u need to lay RG6/11 cable, preferable two cable, from your proposed satellite dish location to your decoder location. from decoder to tv, use HDMI most probably..

http://www.city-data.com/forum/house/39297...ble-wiring.html
Get a good quality RG6 3GHz cable and you won't go wrong.
attap
post Nov 11 2009, 08:22 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Nov 11 2009, 08:08 AM)
about RG6 3GHz cable, how much is that cost and where can we find it...sorry if stupid question..
I have seen some RG6 3GHz cables selling in the market. Price is around RM3xx for 1000ft.

If u have no clue where to look for the cable, PM me for the contact. BTW I am not associate with the dealer.

This post has been edited by attap: Nov 11 2009, 08:23 AM
attap
post Dec 10 2009, 05:53 PM

199 posts

Wondering if astro charged over RM200/month for full package with some HD channels, do you think it is worth it?
attap
post Dec 10 2009, 06:30 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(kobe24bryant @ Dec 10 2009, 06:04 PM)
If I have to pay RM 20 monthly on top of a new decoder and new wiring, I'll wait until it's more feasible.
If your cable is good then it should not be a problem. But I heard it is compulsary that the installer must change the cable otherwise no deal for HD.

Again if you cable is bad, then the HD program may end up like pirated vcd

attap
post Dec 15 2009, 08:14 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Dec 15 2009, 05:33 PM)
it say RM20 per month for 12 months contract
my question is IF i get the new HD decorder and after 12 months i decide to switch back non HD can i keep the decorder? or will ASTRO come to swap my decorder/disc/remote/cable?

the reason is my current old decorder is kinda having problem maybe is the remote or the decorder
12xRM20=RM240 which is quite okay if i can keep the thing after 1 year later
Better call astro and clear up with the new subscription fee for the HD channels.

0.0302sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:43 PM