when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

accs_centre
post Nov 25 2009, 02:05 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(carte82 @ Nov 25 2009, 02:03 PM)
Total digital FTA channel to be 19, including RTM and Media Prima. So there are some empty slot for new channel to be introduced.

RTM HD whenever trial run will be aired to whole Klang Valley. Thus any USB TV receiver with DVB-T will able to capture the signal, even now you can receive some trial channel in clarity and with EPG. Also some digital RTM radio channel.
RTM HD?
I thought they are still in SD..just digital signal via DVB-T
low98944
post Nov 25 2009, 02:06 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 25 2009, 02:04 PM)
yah, sport package is more important, since we have other *choice* when come to movie and TV, HD sport package is the real selling point for HD rollout.
Some how, I only watch 1 time per month for the Astro Sport Channel. sweat.gif
robertngo

4,027 posts

QUOTE(carte82 @ Nov 25 2009, 02:03 PM)
Total digital FTA channel to be 19, including RTM and Media Prima. So there are some empty slot for new channel to be introduced.

RTM HD whenever trial run will be aired to whole Klang Valley. Thus any USB TV receiver with DVB-T will able to capture the signal, even now you can receive some trial channel in clarity and with EPG. Also some digital RTM radio channel.
they need to add 7,000 hour of content per month, 80% local, i wonder how can RTM pay for these content and will there be enough ads revenue to cover it.
accs_centre

4,840 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 25 2009, 01:59 PM)
By any chance are the other channels sports channels?
If not mistaken, Yes.. but maybe not all sport channels
robertngo
post Nov 25 2009, 02:08 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 25 2009, 01:51 PM)
side news from retailer  tongue.gif

ASTRO HD will be having around 5 HD channels with resolution 1080i..
They included National Geo and HBO..

Thus, only viewer who take those packages can install the HD decoder from ASTRO..
The freq required for HD signal is very high.. Those using Main disc in apartments cannot use the HD service as it need special bigger disc..And those with bad quality wall conceal coaxial cable (usually developer wanna save cost then use china mada wire) also will having problem to use it..
damn, that mean my condo will have problem with this HD reception.
accs_centre
post Nov 25 2009, 02:12 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 25 2009, 02:08 PM)
damn, that mean my condo will have problem with this HD reception.
Yes.. just pray your apartment management allow u to install your own satellite disc outside your apartment..
robertngo
post Nov 25 2009, 02:17 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 25 2009, 02:12 PM)
Yes.. just pray your apartment management allow u to install your own satellite disc outside your apartment..
that is totally unacceptable to the Gestapo that run my condo with an iron fist sweat.gif
carte82
post Nov 25 2009, 02:17 PM

85 posts

YES! RTM broadcast beijing olympic in HD last yr, 1080i, 15mbps over DVB-T!
de_lasoul
post Nov 25 2009, 02:31 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 25 2009, 01:51 PM)
side news from retailer  tongue.gif

ASTRO HD will be having around 5 HD channels with resolution 1080i..
They included National Geo and HBO..

Thus, only viewer who take those packages can install the HD decoder from ASTRO..
The freq required for HD signal is very high.. Those using Main disc in apartments cannot use the HD service as it need special bigger disc..And those with bad quality wall conceal coaxial cable (usually developer wanna save cost then use china mada wire) also will having problem to use it..
So what kind of disc and cables will be required?
accs_centre
post Nov 25 2009, 02:34 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 25 2009, 02:31 PM)
So what kind of disc and cables will be required?
cable will be same 50 ohm coaxial..
disc i dunno the look..just wait another month and u will see .. hehe

anfieldude
post Nov 25 2009, 02:35 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 25 2009, 02:34 PM)
cable will be same 50 ohm coaxial..
disc i dunno the look..just wait another month and u will see .. hehe
I thought the current RG6 is 75ohms?

Edit : Maybe I'm confused , I think it is RG60 which is 50ohms...

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Nov 25 2009, 02:40 PM
sg999
post Nov 25 2009, 07:35 PM

1,027 posts

i hear that next month

Added on November 25, 2009, 7:43 pmi hate the code alwaus jump out at the screen
later got hd oledi also like that
so LAME

This post has been edited by sg999: Nov 25 2009, 07:43 PM
pirateguy
post Nov 25 2009, 08:20 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Nov 25 2009, 07:35 PM)
]i hate the code alwaus jump out at the screen
later got hd oledi also like that
so LAME
I absolutely HATE it too. Why the hell do they do it?

sg999
post Nov 25 2009, 09:09 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Nov 25 2009, 09:20 PM)
I absolutely HATE it too. Why the hell do they do it?
yes
it is sucks!
so blocking
they use this RUBBISH system to catch illegal user
that the only reason mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

========================

Thank you for your email of 12 October 2009.

In response to your query pertaining to the on screen codes that appears at your TV screen, we wish to clarify that these codes are part of Astro's efforts to enhance the security of our customers' smart card. As such, we regret for any inconveniences caused.

We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your continued support.

Best regards,

Cyndi Tan

Executive

Service Recovery Unit

===================================
GO DIE la
what a LAME and RUBBISH system rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sg999: Nov 25 2009, 09:11 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 25 2009, 09:18 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Nov 25 2009, 09:09 PM)
yes
it is sucks!
so blocking
they use this RUBBISH system to catch illegal user
that the only reason mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

========================

Thank you for your email of 12 October 2009.

In response to your query pertaining to the on screen codes that appears at your TV screen, we wish to clarify that these codes are part of Astro's efforts to enhance the security of our customers' smart card. As such, we regret for any inconveniences caused.

We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your continued support.

Best regards,

Cyndi Tan

Executive

Service Recovery Unit

===================================
GO DIE la
what a LAME and RUBBISH system rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
hmmm.. interesting, always wanted to know about that.

whats the mechanics behind it? couldnt it 'verify' fake cards 'internally'? why the need to 'display' those codes?
pirateguy
post Nov 25 2009, 10:00 PM

1,409 posts

Yeah, its ridiculous. They could have put the code at the corner of the screen where it would be barely noticeable.
SiriuslyCold
post Nov 25 2009, 10:04 PM

1,976 posts

two words: "alpha channel"
petrofsky77
post Nov 25 2009, 10:05 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

I've heard rumours that Astro might be coming out with a new decoder that supports 720p broadcast in preparation for the upcoming World Cup 2010 ... the new decoder will have HDMI out but as mentioned, signal will only be up to a max 720p (not too sure bout other channels like HBO tho) ... this is just rumour, dunno whether really will come out or not ... but if out, then better lah ... at least won't look horrible anymore on my LCD TV .... heheeh ....
sg999
post Nov 25 2009, 10:58 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Nov 25 2009, 10:18 PM)
hmmm..  interesting, always wanted to know about that.

whats the mechanics behind it?  couldnt it 'verify' fake cards 'internally'?  why the need to 'display' those codes?
the code must be see by public
the concept is like this
they now divide to 2 package
one is public another is home
for public..like bank, mamak, restoran...their price is higher..
astro will have "worker" go check it
and copy down the code and verify see izit subsribe public package or home package
if use home package,then they direct cut it and ask them use public package
just that
conclusion: LAME and RUBBISH system[COLOR=red]

Added on November 25, 2009, 11:00 pmim now curious about their security "LEVEL"
since their said to enchane the secutiy.
so
when they need to stop?
enchance until when???
lol

This post has been edited by sg999: Nov 25 2009, 11:17 PM
desmondyap93
post Nov 25 2009, 11:00 PM

442 posts

Astro On Demand double line Chinese subtitles is reli sucks!
I had already ask them y dont use single line subtitles just like hk...
their reply is OUR COMPUTER SYSTEM WILL AUTOMATICALLY ARRANGE THE SUBTITLES TO DOUBLE LINE.
astro computer system cant do setting 1....sucks...

37 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:40 PM