when is ASTRO going digital (HD) ?, beyond 720p

nimrod323
post Nov 27 2009, 05:39 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Nov 26 2009, 10:02 PM)
i wonder how much is the price for the new HD decoder and new "bigger" one astro satellite dish... I thought just need to change decoder, suddenly need to change dish also... sad.gif sure must be expensive a lot...  rclxub.gif
aiya bro very simple analogy la, you got kelisa i got kelisa. If you want your kelisa faster than mine of course you need to add the extras like turbo,supercharger and other things just to make your car go faster, if im happy with my speed i'd just continue with my regular stock maintenance while you have to pay extra to maintain your turbofied car. All in all you are making an informed decision, you know the cost and accept it just to quench your thirst for speed or in this case HD.
neb
post Nov 27 2009, 05:48 PM

2,234 posts

HD decoder will probably cost us RM1k, but I guess astro will give out for free to loyal customers rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Nov 27 2009, 07:56 PM
desmondyap93
post Nov 27 2009, 06:56 PM

442 posts

Remember ask Astro about their 16:9 HD 1080i stupid security code...

how can we be a loyalty customer?

This post has been edited by desmondyap93: Nov 27 2009, 06:58 PM
SiriuslyCold
post Nov 27 2009, 07:17 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(desmondyap93 @ Nov 27 2009, 06:56 PM)
how can we be a loyalty customer?
They will check online forums and see who calls them stupid, or ASS-tro... and those guys are definitely out.

neb
post Nov 27 2009, 08:00 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(desmondyap93 @ Nov 27 2009, 06:56 PM)
Remember ask Astro about their 16:9 HD 1080i stupid security code...

astro will not change those stupid codes unless they received massive threatening complaint email
desmondyap93
post Nov 27 2009, 11:06 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Nov 27 2009, 08:00 PM)
astro will not change those stupid codes unless they received massive threatening complaint email
most of the customers juz keep quiet and nt dare to complain astro....
if astro located in hk, us or sg....their audiences had already complain the company until bankrupt... tongue.gif tongue.gif
neb
post Nov 27 2009, 11:33 PM

2,234 posts

vmad.gif you can make a difference, everybody please voice your dislike on the stupid security code issue, use phone/fax/web-form to remind astro they are earning our milk money, click the link below:

http://www.astro.com.my/service/contactus/

sg999
post Nov 29 2009, 08:22 PM

1,027 posts

we should stand up ANTI SECURITY CODE!!!!
apexg2
post Nov 30 2009, 09:33 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 27 2009, 07:17 PM)
They will check online forums and see who calls them stupid, or ASS-tro... and those guys are definitely out.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

me never say ass-tro or ash-throw etc...me ar loyal customer...give it for free for me...hehehehehe.... icon_idea.gif
u make me laugh la bro....

JasLyn
post Nov 30 2009, 05:52 PM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

is the Composite to HDMI converter cost around RM199-RM399 really help?
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 30 2009, 06:26 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Nov 27 2009, 07:17 PM)

that means everyone then!
myqd
post Nov 30 2009, 06:28 PM

2,247 posts

to all who might interested to know,Astro is not oways that bad lah,see below u will know tongue.gif

from the inside info,astro plan(plan only,not sure) to EXCHANGE the HD decoder FREE to all existing good royal customer in the 1st batch ( but not sure how they define that ).The official press launching will be sometimes Dec.1st they will introduce 5 HDchannels for FREE,later they will get another 5 HD channels,only then they start to charge customer( see,FREE 5HD channel at 1st,good ler tongue.gif ). The 5 HD channels will be EspnHD,NgHD,HboHD....The new ODU disc will be arround 65mm compare to pevious 60mm.Customer will need to change new cable ( but still RG6 ) that come together with the decorder.The max resolution is 1080i or 720p with the HDMI output.There's a Coxial digital output which support DD 5.1 ( no DTS,no DTS HDMA,of cos ).

Not say to praise Astro too much but it's really SUPERB when watch with 50inches Panasonic Plasma ( not fullHD ). It's in FULL SCREEN at ratio 1.185:1,not like some BDs which still see black bar on top/bottom at diff ratio.

Last but not least,all infomations mentioned above are not officially confirm and might have some minor changes after their offcial press launching. thumbup.gif
pirateguy
post Nov 30 2009, 08:15 PM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 30 2009, 06:28 PM)
to all who might interested to know,Astro is not oways that bad lah,see below u will know  tongue.gif

from the inside info,astro plan(plan only,not sure) to EXCHANGE the HD decoder FREE to all existing good royal customer in the 1st batch ( but not sure how they define that ).The official press launching will be sometimes Dec.1st they will introduce 5 HDchannels for FREE,later they will get another 5 HD channels,only then they start to charge customer( see,FREE 5HD channel at 1st,good ler tongue.gif ). The 5 HD channels will be EspnHD,NgHD,HboHD....The new ODU disc will be arround 65mm compare to pevious 60mm.Customer will need to change new cable ( but still RG6 ) that come together with the decorder.The max resolution is 1080i or 720p with the HDMI output.There's a Coxial digital output which support DD 5.1 ( no DTS,no DTS HDMA,of cos ).

Not say to praise Astro too much but it's really SUPERB when watch with 50inches Panasonic Plasma ( not fullHD ). It's in FULL SCREEN at ratio 1.185:1,not like some BDs which still see black bar on top/bottom at diff ratio.

Last but not least,all infomations mentioned above are not officially confirm and might have some minor changes after their offcial press launching. thumbup.gif
But what about the stupid codes?
DarkNite
post Nov 30 2009, 09:04 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

The official press launching will be sometimes Dec.1st they will introduce 5 HDchannels for FREE,later they will get another 5 HD channels,only then they start to charge customer( see,FREE 5HD channel at 1st,good ler tongue.gif ).

That's the mentality Asstro wants! way to go! thumbup.gif

AjkR06
post Nov 30 2009, 09:30 PM

that's me
1,549 posts

to all who might interested to know,Astro is not oways that bad lah,see below u will know  tongue.gif

I think, the "royal" customer surely who are already subscribing astro since their first launch (1996)
for me who start subscribing astro from 2001, already out of list i think... cry.gif
zajun80
post Dec 1 2009, 08:42 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Nov 30 2009, 09:30 PM)
I think, the "royal" customer surely who are already subscribing astro since their first launch (1996)
for me who start subscribing astro from 2001, already out of list i think...  cry.gif
wah...too bad lo vmad.gif
i oso start subscribing astro from 2000.. cry.gif
robertngo
post Dec 1 2009, 09:49 AM

4,027 posts

the aspect ratio of BD most of the time is the same with what you see in the cinema, it is the aspect ratio the directory intended for the film to be the view in. changing the aspect ratio to 16:9 to fit the tv sometime made the image look a bit unnatural.
Jack28HT
post Dec 1 2009, 10:39 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Dec 1 2009, 09:49 AM)
the aspect ratio of BD most of the time is the same with what you see in the cinema, it is the aspect ratio the directory intended for the film to be the view in. changing the aspect ratio to 16:9 to fit the tv sometime made the image look a bit unnatural.
I believe it usually zooms in and crops boths sides of the image to make it full 16:9. It's fine but sometimes it's just missing the cinematic feel..especially for those epic movies.
apexg2
post Dec 1 2009, 11:00 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

ok..like this, we have to change our mentality icon_rolleyes.gif ....y not we support astroo and not blaiming them....they sure will like beside we oni comment a bit abt upgrading wut we think its not suits for malaysian market....so, win-win situation....later if astro people see our thread, then maybe they will listen to us....stop Ass-tro / Ashthrow them...hehe......for our goods oso...

erm, hd channel is around the corner.... icon_idea.gif

"Not say to praise Astro too much but it's really SUPERB when watch with 50inches Panasonic Plasma ( not fullHD ). It's in FULL SCREEN at ratio 1.185:1,not like some BDs which still see black bar on top/bottom at diff ratio.
Bro...u watch oledi ar this astro HD???? shakehead.gif
Qash-M
post Dec 1 2009, 11:30 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

Some new HD channel is added:

WeTV
United Classica HD
Life Inspired
Food Network HD
sundance channel drool.gif

37 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top