123 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

Pwnagetool/Redsn0w/Purple&Blackra1n Thread, 2G/3G/3GS Jailbreak[iPhone 3.1.2 is OUT]

rip_code
post Oct 7 2009, 11:05 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(lhk89 @ Oct 7 2009, 11:04 PM)
Was wondering..
my friend has this white iphone 3gs 16gb..
he used to jailbreak during 3.0.1..
later on, he "accidentally" update to 3.1.. =.=
issit possible to jailbreak again? currently.. not in future..
Cannot. Until devteam release jb for 3.1
hades86
post Oct 7 2009, 11:48 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ Oct 7 2009, 11:02 PM)
thanks a lot for the info bro. so it means that i jailbreak 1st and then only back up the ecid via cydia once the jailbreaking is completed rite? i didn't dare to start anything cos scared might screw up.. so i have to download the firmware 3.0 and place it in the pwnage folder rite so that i can't select that folder when redsnow ask which version i'm jailbreaking?
yes, jailbreak first thn back up ecid via cydia (by clicking "make my life easier" in cydia). yes, redsn0w will only accept 3.0 to be selected if u r jailbreaking either 3.0 or 3.0.1. good luck bro! thumbup.gif

mememe12
post Oct 8 2009, 12:06 AM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 7 2009, 12:32 PM)
Cool method will ask my friend to try it out. Guess like that 3.1 can be JB-ed already la.
3.1 cannot JB yet..

QUOTE(Wonka @ Oct 7 2009, 01:10 PM)
Means I can skip the Restore part and continue using Redsn0w to jb? But won't it be any problem using 3.0 on the 3.0.1?
yea.. i skipped too.. and mine is 3.0.1 like urs..

QUOTE(Wonka @ Oct 7 2009, 01:26 PM)
Yeah. Cannot go through the first step for 3.0.1 where u browse for the file. Then cannot lol. I will try later la. To restore using 3.0 firmware. Heheh.
dont restore to 3.0 =.='' just skip the restoration..

i share what i know here(for windows users) =.='' --------------------------------------------------

My phone: 3GS 3.0.1
Steps of JB-ing:
1) refer to iClarified website....
2) download RedSnow and the 3.0 firmware..
3) extract and put it in the folder like the website say..
4) SKIP the restoration, apple cant let u restore unless to 3.1
5) open RedSnow.exe -> browse -> choose 3.0 (that u downloaded just now, yes.. i know u are 3.0.1.. but nvm) then next!
6) follow the steps (choose Install CYDIA can already)
7) tada! finish u shud see an pineapple when loading..
8) important: when prompt up a window in ur 3GS then got one button saying "Make my life easier", please click it, if u open Cydia and the option is not there.. click changes below the Cydia page, let it update... then it shud pop up after update (for me it is like tat)
9) after that, on Cydia homepage, u shud be able to see one line on top saying that the request is pending...
10) after a few days, u will see, u hv 3.1 ECID SHSH on file..
11) it means that in the future, u can downgrade to 3.1 eventho apple stop signing it.. but u cant downgrade to anything below that version..
12) how to downgrade in the future when apple stop letting u downgrade to 3.1? i still learning tongue.gif

got it?

that is my method.. if got anything wrong.. pls correct smile.gif

This post has been edited by mememe12: Oct 8 2009, 12:08 AM
Learjet35
post Oct 8 2009, 12:20 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

i stuck at no 6..blank on my iphone screen.
previeosly,i was succesful jailbreaking 3gs.
this is my 2nd phone..any idea y it goes blank ?

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Oct 8 2009, 12:24 AM
realpesky
post Oct 8 2009, 03:20 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Oct 7 2009, 11:48 PM)
yes, jailbreak first thn back up ecid via cydia (by clicking "make my life easier" in cydia). yes, redsn0w will only accept 3.0 to be selected if u r jailbreaking either 3.0 or 3.0.1. good luck bro! thumbup.gif
thanks a lot for the reply. after i press on make life easy in cydia on my iphone, where will the backup be at? how do it transfer it to my computer?

Added on October 8, 2009, 3:31 ami was referring to this file 3.1 ECID SHSH

This post has been edited by realpesky: Oct 8 2009, 03:31 AM
cry4freedom
post Oct 8 2009, 03:40 AM

The Only Exception
938 posts

The ECID SHSH is stored in Saurik's server.
realpesky
post Oct 8 2009, 04:12 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(cry4freedom @ Oct 8 2009, 03:40 AM)
what's saurik's server? sorry if it's a noob question.. but i really have no idea. i'm really new to this
cry4freedom
post Oct 8 2009, 04:55 AM

The Only Exception
938 posts

Oh sorry for lack of information.

Saurik is the individual who is responsible in pioneering Cydia.

This is a good read written by him.

http://www.saurik.com/id/12
realpesky
post Oct 8 2009, 05:07 AM

404 posts

thanks a lot for the info bro.. really appreciate it

Added on October 8, 2009, 5:39 am
sorry. another noob question. if the backup files are stored in saurik's server, how do i recover it when i need it?

Added on October 8, 2009, 5:40 am
sorry. another noob question. if the backup files are stored in saurik's server, how do i recover it when i need it?

This post has been edited by realpesky: Oct 8 2009, 05:40 AM
tnsai
post Oct 8 2009, 10:18 AM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ Oct 8 2009, 05:07 AM)
thanks a lot for the info bro.. really appreciate it

Added on October 8, 2009, 5:39 am

Added on October 8, 2009, 5:40 am
Basically its like this, the ECID SHSH thing is sorta like the "signature" you get from Apple that allows you to restore using the firmware.

What you do is, you change the hosts file to make gs.apple.com point to a specific ip (saurik's server.. can't remember). Once that is done, using ITunes 8.2, shift-restore and select the 3.1 firmware (in this case). ITunes will go through the motions, verifying with Apple's servers which is now actually Saurik's servers... which will send you back the ECID SHSH thing which will make ITunes think that this is the valid firmware and your restore will commence. If i am not wrong this only works on ITunes 8.2 (shit+restore)

p/s : You asked TWO noob questions! (same question twice in the same post).. PREPARE TO BE DESTROYED! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tnsai: Oct 8 2009, 10:19 AM
poyol
post Oct 8 2009, 11:49 AM

481 posts

guys, my 3GS is 3.0.1 OTB, so in order to Jb..

I just open redsn0w..select 3.0 firmware, and then go through the steps and I'm done?

after JB-ing my firmware will still read as 3.0.1?
harmeet15
post Oct 8 2009, 12:19 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Oct 8 2009, 11:49 AM)
guys, my 3GS is 3.0.1 OTB, so in order to Jb..

I just open redsn0w..select 3.0 firmware, and then go through the steps and I'm done?

after JB-ing my firmware will still read as 3.0.1?
yup, tats da plan

dzerg
post Oct 8 2009, 12:48 PM

168 posts

great news guys..
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2009/10/0...devices-on-3-1/
aCCeBeR
post Oct 8 2009, 12:55 PM

52 posts

hey ~ sifus out there ! i would like to ask ~

I have a friend has iphone 3G not 3Gs~ He update via itunes to 3.1.

then he wanted to restore back to 3.0 but once he restore .. there is only emergency calls ! and the "restore" button in the itunes is missing ! ~

can 3.1 actually be downgraded? because now he don't have the restore button to downgrade ! lol~

thanks in advance !
=Hanxz=
post Oct 8 2009, 01:35 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

if he initially have jailbroken his phone using redsn0w or pwnagetool
he can actually jailbreak 3.1 using a mac as well with pwnagetool 3.1.3
Voxe
post Oct 8 2009, 01:38 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

How to jailbreak an iPhone 2G running 3.0 firmware?
aCCeBeR
post Oct 8 2009, 02:17 PM

52 posts

@=Hanxz=

but he dun own a mac to do so ~ lol! what a pity ~
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 8 2009, 02:28 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Oct 8 2009, 12:48 PM)
Best news ive heard all week.
dzerg
post Oct 8 2009, 02:48 PM

168 posts

GeoHot is one genius kid...
No wonder he can easily create purplera1n while he was just 18 years old at that time..
Mybe his upcoming blackra1n will bring a lot of joy for those 3GS users..

Go Geohot!

ffmichael
post Oct 8 2009, 05:38 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Oct 8 2009, 02:48 PM)
GeoHot is one genius kid...
No wonder he can easily create purplera1n while he was just 18 years old at that time..
Mybe his upcoming blackra1n will bring a lot of joy for those 3GS users..

Go Geohot!
lets just hope he's the saviour of 3.1~ cross your finger and pray hard hard!! xD

123 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:05 AM