Pwnagetool/Redsn0w/Purple&Blackra1n Thread, 2G/3G/3GS Jailbreak[iPhone 3.1.2 is OUT]

dzerg
post Jun 25 2009, 10:55 AM

168 posts

halu.
i noticed that BossPref and SBSettings did not turn off EDGE completely on my Iphone 3g 3.0 Fw.
anybody here got any solution for this. i search through numerous webs and forums (modmyi.com, iclarified.com, etc),
but no hit at all. i need solution as my celcom bill is almost 300..
i turn off my all notification already and inactivate all email acct on my Mail.app..
i already tried the method on iphonenodata.com, but still, EDGE still active.
all the APN setting are left blank and no profile installed.

pls..anyone..help..i almost cannot afford to pay the bills..
sad.gif
dzerg
post Jun 25 2009, 11:45 AM

168 posts

@ray899
@calvin_gsc
@psyntium
thanx for all your suggestion!
notworthy.gif
dzerg
post Jun 25 2009, 12:37 PM

168 posts

guess what?
i use iphonenodata.com trick and it works finally!
i installed the fake APN settings and then turn off both 3G and EDGE connection at SBSettings at it stays off even after
i respring countless times. i test by went into Safari and no connection available.
but..i learn through the hard way as my bill is almost at my limit (RM290!!!) cry.gif

but..if i turn on back both 3G and EDGE at SBSettings, the connection is restored and I can surf the internet again without even have to
remove the fake APN profile that I installed using iphonenodata.com trick.

weird though....urm....

btw, im a celcom user.
dzerg
post Jun 25 2009, 03:11 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(coolg4 @ Jun 25 2009, 02:09 PM)
Thanks for the info, dzerg. I'm on Celcom also, been looking for this solution also for awhile now.

I just tried it, seems to work (no edge data coming in), BUT also found out that once you activate this profile, you will lose the tethering option in the network settings.

Since there are two profiles installed, is there any way that we can choose a profile accordingly in Settings/General/Profile/ instead of installing one that we want every time we need it?
Your most welcome..

yup, the option for internet tethering will not appear if this method was used.
for me i did not really keen on using internet tethering as surfing on the iphone itself is already
giving me desktop environment.

i also searching for method that allowing me to choose which profile i want to use instead of installing
new profile each time i want to use the internet.
dzerg
post Oct 8 2009, 12:48 PM

168 posts

great news guys..
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2009/10/0...devices-on-3-1/
dzerg
post Oct 8 2009, 02:48 PM

168 posts

GeoHot is one genius kid...
No wonder he can easily create purplera1n while he was just 18 years old at that time..
Mybe his upcoming blackra1n will bring a lot of joy for those 3GS users..

Go Geohot!

dzerg
post Oct 13 2009, 06:57 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(zulazhan @ Oct 13 2009, 04:44 PM)
I have upgraded my iphone 3g (singtel unlocked set) to fw 3.1.2. Windows is Vista.
This is what I have done.
1. Before running blackra1n, set the property to run as "WinXP compatible", and "run as administrator"
2. Run blackra1n and iphone goes black (entering dfu mode/recovery)
3. itunes pops up saying it needs to check carrier setting while iphone screen shows usb cable and itunes logo. click yes to continue
4. Blackra1n stucks here...
any solution?
i think you must kill ituneshelper.exe process before clicking "make it ra1n".
hope this solve the problem.
dzerg
post Oct 13 2009, 09:45 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(zulazhan @ Oct 13 2009, 07:37 PM)
dzerg,
done that also... not successfulll.

I have three iphones to work with. 1 x singtel 16GB, 1 x maxis 16GB, 1 x maxis 32GB

I switched to winxp then,
1. upgrade fw maxis set from 3.0.1 to 3.1.2
2. run blackra1n (after kill all itunes processes)
3. Success
Maxis 32GB DONE.

Then continued with singtel 3g set (after upgrade to 3.1.2). not success. Blackra1n stuck at running step, and iphone was on recovery mode.
Checked the blackra1n log afterward, found a few lines that says "usb port failed to open".
Then changed one usb port after another, result was unchanged.

Guess cannot jb the singtel set lor. Anybody get the same result?

Will continue with maxis 16GB later.
mine is also 3G Singtel set. I succesfully JBed it today..but after a few tedious try and errors. Mine was also stuck at the "running" part of the blackra1n at first. And then I killed ituneshelper.exe and AppleMobileDeviceService.exe and exit iTunes. After that i plug in my iPhone and click "make it ra1n" button. Then..WALLA!! My iPhone is JBed.

Hope this will help.

Cheers!
dzerg
post Oct 13 2009, 10:10 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(zulazhan @ Oct 13 2009, 09:55 PM)
Did you run it on vista or winxp?
If vista, did u set blackra1in to run winxp compatibility?
Im on xp.
dzerg
post Oct 22 2009, 03:44 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(ColourMan @ Oct 22 2009, 03:28 PM)
HOw do i know which custom firmware suit me?

my phone is 3g 8Gig phone,

Is there any link for me to download and restore?

I totally new in these thinging.

Hope to learn from you al expert.
Thank you
Connect your iphone to iTunes and and make sure you have internet connection for iTunes to activate your iphone (i assume your iphone is officially unlocked set).

Hopes this will help.

0.0193sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:13 AM