Official Microsoft Sidewinder Thread, Every Sidewinder - Framed and Reviewed

wingster
post May 9 2009, 10:05 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 9 2009, 08:35 PM)
The price is too darn expensive...and I believe that the function is similar with my current logitech BT desktop mx5000, built mainly for entertainment, and I have no intention to throw away my X8.
You are wrong bro .......
Function and performance is quite far for the Logitech MX5000 Cordless Desktop compare to 7000 and 8000 Entertainment Series

7000 and 8000 has more stable and high performance 2.4 Ghz Wireless dongle if you dun believe you can go do and compare they are very responsive and good performance as normal laptop keypad.

Likewise, LED Lighting is a great pawn and also the slim design and the rechargeable ability .......

Just the price 7000 Entertainment Series in Malaysia has almost costs around RM800 and 8000 Entertainment Series also costs around RM800~RM900 ....

For someone who wanna try a good performance wireless keyboard, I suggest you to own a Microsoft Wireless Desktop 7000 or a Wireless Keyboard 6000 ..... which gives great performance as normal keyboard but in wireless

Both Wireless Keyboard are in good performance in wireless even we know they are not gaming grade series also these wireless keyboards are in good battery lasting (can lasts around 3 weeks ~ 2 months depends on your daily usage) just without LED Backlight and Macro Buttons

Added on May 9, 2009, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(ayil @ May 9 2009, 08:34 PM)
nice pics! is it better than razer lachesis? interested to get 1..
err ... if you wanna compare to Lachesis there have each of their advantages

Compare to each of them :

Razer Lachesis
- 4000DPI
- 3G Laser Mouse
- Onboard Memory
- Very large sized mouse, majority of people would prefer it's comfort on RTS game but not-so-comfort on FPS game
- 7 Programmable Buttons (Excluding Left and Right Click)
- Grip Made
- Wired
- Rubberized Mouse Feet

X8 Sidewinder
-4000DPI
- Bluetrack Optical Mouse
- Large Size Mouse
- 5 Programmable Buttons (Excluding Left and Right Click)
- LCD Display Screen
- Instant Macro Record
- Intellipoint Mouse Software
- 3 Dpi button settings
- Wired+Wireless
- Charge and Play
- 3 in 1 Docking Puck
- Instant Gaming File Shortcut Button
- Non-Rubberized Mouse Feet
- Has 2 Spare Mouse Feet

This post has been edited by wingster: May 9 2009, 10:20 PM
silencer
post May 9 2009, 10:54 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 9 2009, 10:05 PM)
Function and performance is quite far for the Logitech MX5000 Cordless Desktop compare to 7000 and 8000 Entertainment Series

7000 and 8000 has more stable and high performance 2.4 Ghz Wireless dongle if you dun believe you can go do and compare they are very responsive and good performance as normal laptop keypad.

Likewise, LED Lighting is a great pawn and also the slim design and the rechargeable ability .......

Just the price 7000 Entertainment Series in Malaysia has almost costs around RM800 and 8000 Entertainment Series also costs around RM800~RM900 ....
For someone who wanna try a good performance wireless keyboard, I suggest you to own a Microsoft Wireless Desktop 7000 or a Wireless Keyboard 6000 ..... which gives great performance as normal keyboard but in wireless

Both Wireless Keyboard are in good performance in wireless even we know they are not gaming grade series also these wireless keyboards are in good battery lasting (can lasts around 3 weeks ~ 2 months depends on your daily usage) just without LED Backlight and Macro Buttons
Wireless Keyboard 6000
The thing is I have never experienced any lag with my current logitech mx5000,even during gaming, and the alkaline battery last for abt 4-5 mnths. By the way, i like one of the x6 fratures, where u can interchange the position of keypad to the left side.....

This post has been edited by silencer: May 9 2009, 10:57 PM
wingster
post May 10 2009, 10:22 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

hmm really because I'm have refer most of the review of Logitech MX5000 that it has many lagging issue and the LCD problem .... but those review has been 2 years ago due for the new release at that time

Hmm.... maybe ur's has updated the firmware and also the newer version that I heard fixed

silencer
post May 10 2009, 10:36 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 10 2009, 10:22 PM)
hmm really because I'm have refer most of the review of Logitech MX5000 that it has many lagging issue and the LCD problem .... but those review has been 2 years ago due for the new release at that time

Hmm.... maybe ur's has updated the firmware and also the newer version that I heard fixed
U r 100% rite abt that....esp with the released of new logitech setpoint, and the build in compatibility support in windows vista. It was pretty haywire when i first bought the device.... mad.gif
TSEnigmare
post May 11 2009, 11:06 AM

Microsoft SideWinder™ Maverick
550 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 9 2009, 10:05 PM)

Added on May 9, 2009, 10:20 pm

err ... if you wanna compare to Lachesis there have each of their advantages

Compare to each of them :

Razer Lachesis   
- 4000DPI
- 3G Laser Mouse
- Onboard Memory
- Very large sized mouse, majority of people would prefer it's comfort on RTS game but not-so-comfort on FPS game
- 7 Programmable Buttons (Excluding Left and Right Click)
- Grip Made
- Wired
- Rubberized Mouse Feet

X8 Sidewinder
-4000DPI
- Bluetrack Optical Mouse
- Large Size Mouse
- 5 Programmable Buttons (Excluding Left and Right Click)
- LCD Display Screen
- Instant Macro Record
- Intellipoint Mouse Software
- 3 Dpi button settings
- Wired+Wireless
- Charge and Play
- 3 in 1 Docking Puck
- Instant Gaming File Shortcut Button
- Non-Rubberized Mouse Feet
- Has 2 Spare Mouse Feet
I think you're comparing 2 mice of different category and price range too. Mainly, the Lachesis is a WIRED mouse, and the X8 is WIRELESS. Either way, let's hope the Mamba will be here soon for real competition. laugh.gif

eternity4av
post May 11 2009, 11:26 AM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

@enigmare, if you don't mind why not pinned up the price that you are selling at the first page?
TSEnigmare
post May 11 2009, 12:22 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ May 11 2009, 11:26 AM)
@enigmare, if you don't mind why not pinned up the price that you are selling at the first page?
I only have a few for sale, just click on my siggy dude. wink.gif

Added on May 11, 2009, 12:37 pmMember's List Updated! Price list (for reference) Pinned on First Post!

This post has been edited by Enigmare: May 11 2009, 12:37 PM
silencer
post May 11 2009, 01:35 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ May 11 2009, 12:22 PM)
I only have a few for sale, just click on my siggy dude. wink.gif

Added on May 11, 2009, 12:37 pmMember's List Updated! Price list (for reference) Pinned on First Post!
arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..i just wasted rm90 in less than a week... cry.gif
wingster
post May 11 2009, 01:43 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

luckily I was RM1X =3 difference but still .... XD anyway

sell 15RM cheaper than kingcom from the first stock he sell .....

Added on May 11, 2009, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(Enigmare @ May 11 2009, 11:06 AM)
I think you're comparing 2 mice of different category and price range too. Mainly, the Lachesis is a WIRED mouse, and the X8 is WIRELESS. Either way, let's hope the Mamba will be here soon for real competition. laugh.gif
if want to compare mamba ... both of them have similar function just
Mamba is:
-5600dpi
-Onboard Memory
-[b]Lighter Battery than X8

-Rubberized Grip
-Slim Wireless Port
X8 is:
-Bluetrack Optical
-Non-Rubberized
-Intellipoint, NO ON BOARD Memory
-All in one punk, no sepearation

This post has been edited by wingster: May 11 2009, 01:53 PM
TSEnigmare
post May 11 2009, 01:58 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 11 2009, 01:35 PM)
arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..i just wasted rm90 in less than a week... cry.gif
laugh.gif The market price IS RM350 dude. Relax. wink.gif

Added on May 11, 2009, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(wingster @ May 11 2009, 01:43 PM)
luckily I was RM1X =3 difference but still .... XD anyway

sell 15RM cheaper than kingcom from the first stock he sell .....

Added on May 11, 2009, 1:51 pm
if want to compare mamba ... both of them have similar function just
Mamba is:
-5600dpi
-Onboard Memory
-[b]Lighter Battery than X8

-Rubberized Grip
-Slim Wireless Port
X8 is:
-Bluetrack Optical
-Non-Rubberized
-Intellipoint, NO ON BOARD Memory
-All in one punk, no sepearation
laugh.gif The X8 has one advantage - Get a 3200mAh Super-Duty alkaline battery for heavy weight, get a cheapo Tesco battery for light weight. Hey, it's weight adjustable just like the original Sidewinder! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Enigmare: May 11 2009, 02:01 PM
wingster
post May 11 2009, 02:09 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

but the weight compare to Razer Mamba is damn far away. I know because the battery catridge is same as the Logitech G7 .... swap and charge also light but less battery lifetime

just mamba has insane price and X8 has decent price

at costs of rubber and non-rubberize between two of it

wireless charge & go all in one and wireless with light receiver + heavy charger

5600 and 4000

bluetrack and 3.5G Laser

This post has been edited by wingster: May 11 2009, 02:14 PM
silencer
post May 11 2009, 08:40 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 11 2009, 01:35 PM)
thnx for the head-up.... thumbup.gif Life goes on...
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 11 2009, 09:03 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Enigmare @ May 11 2009, 01:58 PM)
laugh.gif The X8 has one advantage - Get a 3200mAh Super-Duty alkaline battery for heavy weight, get a cheapo Tesco battery for light weight. Hey, it's weight adjustable just like the original Sidewinder! laugh.gif
3200mAh its nimh (rechargeable) battery not alkaline.

And Tesco battery (alkaline) would'nt last long, and if u forgotten that ur using a non-rechargeable battery and u plug-in yer cable-charger.. "KABOOM!".. lol tongue.gif

Cheers whistling.gif
wingster
post May 11 2009, 09:06 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

Will it be "KABOOM!" so serious o_O .....

well I guess the better case might melt off the whole battery ....

oh yea I discovered the Razer Wireless port =_= is nice look but the port also quite big through ....

yes I disappoint that Razer Wireless port is just slightly small sized than Sidewinder ..... also the cons is cannot play while charge so you need to plug into wireless dock .... for charging and yet they have been receive the battery is pretty fast to run out as I did say before

Oh well still loved my Sidewinder and instead of getting just a-like of Mamba with a same tracking engine as Death Adder ... people will get Death Adder instead of Mamba with that 130 US Dollar price ......

and yet finally the research from YouTube due from the outer sea Mamba users, they take almost 4-5 hours for charging which is a big lose against the sidewinder X8 which only takes 2 hours (I did tested out for 1 and half hour for a full charge, also super long lasting)

Since the first day I charge, I would never charge for my mouse until now ..... o_o

This post has been edited by wingster: May 11 2009, 09:45 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 12 2009, 12:39 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 11 2009, 09:06 PM)
Will it be "KABOOM!" so serious o_O .....

well I guess the better case might melt off the whole battery ....
It will explode but not like the whole mouse "berkecai" lah.. lol

Imo, the battery will just burst (like capacitors pops) and leaks out into the mouse and make it unusable.

oh yea I discovered the Razer Wireless port =_= is nice look but the port also quite big through ....

yes I disappoint that Razer Wireless port is just slightly small sized than Sidewinder ..... also the cons is cannot play while charge so you need to plug into wireless dock .... for charging and yet they have been receive the battery is pretty fast to run out as I did say before

Small size meh?.. Sidewinder X8 much smaller and less bulky than Razer Mamba's charging-port.

Razer Mamba oso can "play while u charge" lar..

Razer Mamba actually has 2-ways to charge.

First way its... (u can charge while u play), which its a plug to attach on, like Sidewinder X8 does, but more finicky due the attachment its pretty big and must properly place to get connected (i saw a exhibition on Razer Mamba, even the promoter having problem attaching the charging cable to the mouse.. lmao.. sweat.gif) , unlike Sidewinder X8's magnet plug, its simple design yet extremely easy to attach on the mouse.

Second way of Razer Mamba to charge, its use its charge dock (aka docking station).. just like those digital camera charging dock, as u know that dock its just for show / blingbling, and the dock has 3 compartments/drawers built-in, for u to put some small stuffs into it.

Oh well still loved my Sidewinder and instead of getting just a-like of Mamba with a same tracking engine as Death Adder ... people will get Death Adder instead of Mamba with that 130 US Dollar price ......

Razer Mamba its not using the same tracking engine as DeathAdder leh..

Razer Mamba its using 'laser', and DeathAdder using 'infrared'.

And abt the high price of Razer Mamba, imo due its "showcase design" aka "charging-dock" to showoff the mouse in a display box way.

and yet finally the research from YouTube due from the outer sea Mamba users, they take almost 4-5 hours for charging which is a big lose against the sidewinder X8 which only takes 2 hours (I did tested out for 1 and half hour for a full charge, also super long lasting)

Since the first day I charge, I would never charge for my mouse until now ..... o_o
Yea, same here.. So far all the reviews i read abt the charging time and battery life of Razer Mamba been pretty bad, from long charging time to short battery life (first few batches can't even charge the mouse doh.gif).

But one thing Razer Mamba and not much other mice has it, its "upgradeable firmware", so all these problems might be fixed by just upgrade its firmware.

Updated :
By think of it.. it might not the case, as Razer Mamba its a laser mouse, so theoretically it uses much more power to power up the mouse hence short battery life (as referred to Logitech G7 which its a wireless laser mouse and short battery life).

Cheers tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 12 2009, 02:07 AM
wingster
post May 12 2009, 07:50 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

does it can charge while you plug in the USB ....

I heard the people said, while you plug in ... the battery will not be charge isn it? oh well maybe I'm wrong .... Mamba looks cool but I still grab for X8 because I love for full long period of wireless freedom XD

actually many people has tested that the Razer kind of infrared is almost the same as the laser actually, to tell that they still using the same engine ..... unlike Bluetrack

also from the research I saw, the real eating battery is the razer LED light (can switch off on Mamba as I know) and the high DPI settings also the light weight battery shows the short lasting of battery capacity

This post has been edited by wingster: May 12 2009, 07:59 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post May 12 2009, 02:29 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 12 2009, 07:50 AM)
does it can charge while you plug in the USB ....

I heard the people said, while you plug in ... the battery will not be charge isn it? oh well maybe I'm wrong .... Mamba looks cool but I still grab for X8 because I love for full long period of wireless freedom XD
It will charge, just like Sidewinder X8 does.. Just that earlier batches having problem charging the battery.

actually many people  has tested that the Razer kind of infrared is almost the same as the laser actually, to tell that they still using the same engine ..... unlike Bluetrack

Sure boh.. same engine?.. as one using "infrared' and the other using "laser" woh..

Its understandable if u say it tracks as good as 'infrared 3G' tech..

Razer DeathAdder ('1800dpi Infrared 3G')
Razer Mamba ('5600dpi Laser 3.5G').

Actually, alot ppl prefer Razer's Infra-red 3G, as its proven better tracking than laser (compared to most laser mice).

also from the research I saw, the real eating battery is the razer LED light (can switch off on Mamba as I know) and the high DPI settings also the light weight battery shows the short lasting of battery capacity
Abt the LED light, as shld be able to turn off thru software like DeathAdder does.

And battery its light due using those battery pack (lithium ion) like the ones on mobilephones.

Light doesn't means better performance (in addition to the weight of the mouse), its more to personal reference.

Altho, i kinda miss the 1000hz pollingrate of Razer mice.. heh

Cheers tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: May 12 2009, 03:34 PM
TSEnigmare
post May 12 2009, 05:02 PM

550 posts

Which makes me wonder why Razer stuck back to 3.5G laser in the first place... laugh.gif Is the BlueTrack technology Microsoft patented?? huh.gif
wingster
post May 12 2009, 06:20 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

Maybe the laser engine suites to hit up 5600 DPI ....

Difference of the tracking engine compare to the Death Adder infrared I think... so that they made Mamba since to be more comfort and stylish as their main point for selling

While X8 yeah Sidewinder should learn be more stylish like Razer Mamba but they hit on mid-budget ... actually in US their official selling is 99 USD while they can get the 75 USD price which Mamba couldn't

Comfort+Stylish and Ergonomic looks(improve after Sidewinder =X)

Also .... 5600DPI Laser and 4000DPI Bluetrack ....

well Lasers versus Blue Optical

thats why both hard to be compare... if I have the money I should own both ..... =X
TSEnigmare
post May 12 2009, 07:54 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ May 12 2009, 06:20 PM)
Maybe the laser engine suites to hit up 5600 DPI ....

Difference of the tracking engine compare to the Death Adder infrared I think... so that they made Mamba since to be more comfort and stylish as their main point for selling

While X8 yeah Sidewinder should learn be more stylish like Razer Mamba but they hit on mid-budget ... actually in US their official selling is 99 USD while they can get the 75 USD price which Mamba couldn't

Comfort+Stylish and Ergonomic looks(improve after Sidewinder =X)

Also .... 5600DPI Laser and 4000DPI Bluetrack ....

well Lasers versus Blue Optical

thats why both hard to be compare... if I have the money I should own both ..... =X
I'm planning on buying the Mamba soon, wanna join me for bulk? laugh.gif

28 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:35 AM